Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from zinny

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 7 Like(s)
The begrudgery on here is nothing short of shameful. Its a massive disrespect to the Mayo players who for 3/4s of the game showed every other county what they need to do, the fact is they didn't have the subs that could make it happen and Dublin did. Kerry the team that took Dublin to a replay last year will look at this and learn from it and will come out next year going at it harder than ever and Mayo to will be back. I cannot understand posters on here from the top football counties who seem to have already written the epitaph of their teams when they go out and play Dublin. In fairness despite some of the Mayo supporters on here, not one Mayo supported I know ever believes they cannot beat Dublin. I have no doubt that nobody is giving up playing Gaelic in Mayo because they are afraid of Dublin, if anything it will inspire them to get to the next level and win. That is in contrast to some posters here from big football counties who seem to want nothing more than spread doom and gloom, how would any of these counties hope to get to the top is you lads have anything to do with it. You should be ashamed of yourselves and hopefully you have nothing to do with anything to do with underage GAA as based on your posts here the kids under your charges would learn nothing and would end up being miserable playing the game, resulting in them giving up.

zinny (National) - 20/12/2020 05:05:58

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "I mightn't know that much but the country didn't come to a stand still for the 9000 deaths from cancer each year or the 10000 deaths each year from heart problems, not counting drinking , suicide and so on. Would you tell someone to stop smoking or drinking because their putting health service under pressure? I'd think not."
None of these are communicable diseases. And yes people are told to stop drinking,smoking, lose weight etc because they are putting the health service under strain and it's getting worse. There are constant warnings about obesity and the impact it's having on the health service. Every country is trying to do something about it, sugar taxes, size limits etc.

zinny (National) - 09/10/2020 12:07:25

Diarmuid Connolly - 6 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Your speaking reality but posters on here will not like the fact that you aren't buying into the myth. A player who had great athletic/ natural ability. He hit some lovely scores in some games. In truth he was not as effective as other Dublin players on his team or as you felt he should be due to his natural ability (Did Lee Keegan, who was his marker, outscore him in at least 1 All Ireland final?). He was wound up too easy and opposing teams knew this and this often led him to lose focus or get sent off. The Dublin management obviously felt this and that's why he has been a bit part player for a while."
Got wound up too easy. Its amazing that a back who gets sent off its never for being wound up but when a forward gets set off he is. Connolly never took a step back which is different to being wound up, forwards are supposed to lay down and get kicked - god forbid they stand up for themselves.

zinny (National) - 02/10/2020 12:12:27

10 sent off in Castlebellingham - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Never heard of 10 sent off in a game before? Is it a record? There was 7 sent off in a club game in monaghan last year. You have to ask what was the referee doing? He obviously had no control of the game whatsoever"
You are having a laugh? Ten players sent off at different times and it's the referee who had no control? Says everything about what's wrong with the game.

zinny (National) - 22/10/2017 02:14:51

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Can you provide any source that can confirm this?"
I thought it was pretty clear by now that the poster saynothing , knows nothing and makes it up as he goes along.

zinny (National) - 08/10/2020 14:03:44

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thanks for that carlovia, some interesting wage figures being mentioned there, anything from €24,000 to €38,000 to €76,000 and there is some on a level above that again, how can the gaa justify those kind of wages for some and nothing for thousands and thousands? I know nobody has a gun to our heads and we don't have to volunteer and it's all about pride of place and we all do it for the love of the game and coz it's what our families have always done but I'm surprised that people arent asking more questions. All of a sudden I'm getting the urge to listen to the song wake up by rage against the machine."
So you think the people in HQ do the same work as the volunteers in clubs? that they could have other jobs and volunteer to do the work that they are doing right now as well? some people need to get a grip on reality but that seems in short supply down your way.

zinny (National) - 18/07/2020 10:27:04

Non-Gaa Forum - 5 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "According to the Census from 2022. Just under 20% of population of state was non Irish. That has gone up since Ukraine etc. It is a statement of fact, enough said."
Fact? or are you being multiplicated? Here is the headline. Almost 20% in 2022 do not claim to be exclusively Irish or in 2022 12 % claim to be non-Irish. You chose the former and decided it was the latter. Now either you did not check the headlines or you want to deliberately misrepresent the headline to suit your own bias. The number of non Irish as a % is slightly lower than it was in 2011 so are we been overrun? So what is your problem with all of this? that Connolly or Pearse wouldn't have wanted it that way? how would you know what they would have wanted in todays society - the only thing they knew at the time was immigration they would never imagined an Ireland so prosperous that someone from outside it would ever want to come and live in it. Here is a stat for you 77% in 2022 identify as white Irish - does that make the other 4% fake Irish as they must have come to Ireland after Pearse and Connally dies and given all Pearse's guff about where the Irish came from etc these people wouldn't really be Irish now would they. Finally in the same way that Irish people who l have immigrated would attempted to hold onto their Irish identity as long as possible so too do the immigrants to this country - do you have a problem with that?

zinny (National) - 06/12/2023 07:37:16

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Sorry but your sense of logic needs readjusting. The payments are being made because people cannot work, they cannot work because of COVID and the lockdown, hence if we keep going into lockdowns we keep needing to make the payments. We need to learn to live with it and have people at work - its a crazy idea but it has to happen and if that is to happen. Now your an expert on everything so I assume you have a ready made answer for how we are going to live with this virus going forward or are you one of those people who think we can eradicate it altogether ? zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 952 - 25/10/2020 01:44:21Many of the people on the payments will be getting the payments even if we dont keep going back into lockdown as there jobs were lost and will not be coming back simply because we are out of lockdown. You have to minimise risk. And you seem to know how we are doing it all wrong so why dont you provide an answer as to how we should be living with it."
So, let me see I have said we cannot keep locking down the country as a way of living with the virus. I believe everyone needs to wear masks and we need to repurpose our healthcare systems and perhaps build covid specific treatment centers as a way of preventing this virus from causing even more damage. We need to ensure that people working in high risk areas are regularly tested and supported if they are out of work if they have the virus. We need to change our labor laws such that support is given to people who are directly affected by positive cases not everyone in the country. If a viable vaccine is produced, then it should be free and anyone who does not take it will not get financial support if they get the virus. That's just a few but end the lockdowns. There is no one answer but the question needs to be addressed and it not being at the moment. So tell me since you are on here criticizing everyone who says that we have to change the way we are doing this, tell me how the country continues to pay for all the payments and how people who need to get medical care other then covid are going to get it, or is your solution to hide indoors forever. Your logic is that because some jobs will be lost as a result of covid and how we have responded to it - lockdowns, that we should stay in lockdowns as its not worth coming out of them. Brilliant idea.

zinny (National) - 25/10/2020 16:18:40

When Your Team Is Out Who Do You Most Root For? - 4 Like(s)
In hurling it would be Waterford from Munster and Dublin in Leinster, I would like to say Carlow but too often they are not at the top end to make a difference, so if anyone were to win an All Ireland in hurling it would be Dublin or Waterford. Football - given how quick these days Wexford go out there are a lot of teams to choose from however I perhaps would still go for Dublin and that was every before they started winning, unlike the time when Kerry were going for 5 in a row I was supporting Dublin. However the reality is I don't dislike any team and when watching games I can switch depending on how the game is being played. Its amazing how an incident in a game can change your view on who you want to win as all you want to see if a good game and fair play.

zinny (National) - 22/07/2020 02:49:08

Replying To FoolsGold:  "He's there is. Stop trying to to be in denial because its Gaa. There was a break outbreak in Cavan after the local club finals. Players drinking out of the cup among other things."
I have been critical of the GAA over many things to do with COVID however we are now stretching things. Saying that the GAA are to blame because of the celebrations or drowning ones sorrows after games is like saying Guinness is to blame for lads going out on the piss. People who never wanted the games played because it would cause a rapid spread of the virus are now jumping on the last chance they have to justify their earlier opposition to the games being played. Lads getting pissed up in the pub has noting to do with the GAA, the GAA has as an organization done more than any other sports organization to try and distance itself from alcohol and other forms of addictive behavior. All the naysayers now want the GAA to police what happens in pubs - seriously can people get a grip on reality. This has nothing to do with the GAA. Not so long ago it was the church and being told to cancel communions and confirmations because people were having parties in their houses after. Some people in the country have lost the run of themselves all together. When will people stop blaming the organizations and put the blame where it should be on individuals. I saw today the post of the team for the Wexford minor football team who were do to play Louth in the Championship on Facebook and you had people coming on and saying it was a disgrace that they were playing and that the kids should be ashamed of themselves. There are a lot of idiots in the world and Ireland has its fair share of them too. Begrudges all of them, playing the club Championship brought a huge boost to the country and the people but you cannot see beyond your narrow view of the world.

zinny (National) - 17/10/2020 17:44:12

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No i dont think the top brass can volunteer their time but I also don't think they should be getting €76,000 or over, not a hope, never."
The GAA competes with the corporate world for talent as the GAA is run like any corporation, its naive to think that people will work for any less than what the market will pay just because its the GAA. If the finance director gets 100K is that too much and why when the average in the market is perhaps 100K.

zinny (National) - 18/07/2020 13:31:22

Dublin Vs Kerry - 4 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "You obviously don't understand the rules. On both occasions Spillane and moynihan travelled for 8 or 9 steps while being fouled. Referee couldn't allow scores because both players had over carried. Correct decision on both occasions was to award free kick to Kerry as the foul was the initial transgression. Excellent refereeing decisions."
Completely agree, there is no advantage if the player with the ball fouls the ball, it would be a free against him. Most people on here clearly do not understand the rules of the game.

zinny (National) - 23/05/2021 16:28:16

Shane Walsh Transfer - 4 Like(s)
Some people on here should really crawl back under the rocks the came from - what Walsh wants to do is his own business. Nobody makes these moves lightly and the best of luck to him in his future career.

zinny (National) - 30/07/2022 21:11:42

Replying To KillingFields:  "I agree, very little thought has been put into how we deal with this virus going forward, its like everyone is pinning their hopes around a vaccine to solve the problem and for me that's a false hope. I do think that in the next couple of months we will see a vaccine and perhaps one of the biggest health experiments ever carried out in the world on human beings. However even if it works perfectly it will not solve the problem and the world has to get into the phase of dealing with it on an ongoing basis. I was also discussing your concept recently with someone else and I think its the way things have to go. Build specialist hospitals (not in city centers mind you) as by now we know what is needed to treat people with this virus. This would allow regular hospitals to continue as normal - where before you enter you have to test negative (the testing will also improve as we go along). Living in bubbles and lockdowns does not work, a vaccine will not solve the problems and while it could lessen in time that time is no time soon. The problem is there is still too much emotion surrounding this virus and it has been used as a political football around the world for any sensible discussions on the way forward. Collectively the world has stick its head in the sand on this one. zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 948 - 24/10/2020 04:32:37Seriously what planet have been living on if youre thinking that little thought has been put into how to deal with covid. The irish government have primarily got things spot on with how theyve dealt with covid. Where does the money for specialist hospitals come from? How do you staff them? Where do the staff come from? All these billions that are being pumped into the HSE, surely we could build a big Covid hospital or make one hospital a specialist Covid only centre, people came through world wars and managed to cope with very little to care for the sick, surely to God with all this money it can be managed correctly and not wasted by the HSE. don't be quoting this post Killingfields for Gods sake, it's long enough as it is!! Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 931 - 23/10/2020 17:01:43I wasnt the first to quote it.... few more did before hand.... Where is there anything looking like this will weaken and become like the ordinary cold/flu? And going on about world wars? What nonsense. Where have you been living in you think we could build a covid specialist centre?"
If you read the post correctly its not about what has gone but rather what's to come and if you think the way things are being done now is how the world can live going forward then you are living in dreamland. Where does the money come from? - where does the money come from to keep paying for all the cash handouts the government are giving out now?

zinny (National) - 24/10/2020 18:21:56

Michael Duignan on Sky coverage and the GAA - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Pinkie:  "You don't have an entitlement to free GAA into your home, should somebody going to the game get in for free in that case just because they are involved locally with the organisation?"
I spent my younger years either going to Wexford games or listening to them ón the radio. The only live games sé got in black and white were the semi finals and finals very few of which Wexford were in. Funny how everyone has now become entitled to watch the games on TV.

zinny (National) - 10/07/2017 15:51:05

Croke Park - The World's First Green Stadium - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "No worse than being triggered by a post on an anonymous Internet forum Breff. For the record it probably is phoney virtue signalling. Any stadium that invites hundreds of thousands of people to drive countless miles the length of the country in diesel /petrol cars and trains /buses every year for no other reason than to watch a game can hardly be praised for being green. It should by right be encouraging them to abandon travel and watch the game at home."
In the wider scheme of things using public transport is far better then cars the problem is that we spent billions on roads and sweet nothing on building an efficient public transport system - everyone wanted their car and their motorway. Croke Park cannot be blamed for choices of others. Each organization and individual have to make their own choices - the excuse that as an individual your contribution wouldn't make a difference is a cop out for not taking responsibility for the problems that you have created. There are big problems that need to be solved but it starts with individuals taking personal responsibility and then creating the change the whole way up along the line.

zinny (National) - 27/02/2024 03:18:52

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "That is very very very very unfair. The league will be played. Meath r relegated. We dont deserve to be in div 1. The league will be played. Its the championhip that is the issue. And as you say if not the finished this year the national league will be finished prior to a new season commencing. But overall the league will be finalised. Meath are relegated. That is a 100% certainty. No debate. That will happen. And should happen. Meath are relegated the league will finish. FULL STOP. If Meath were the only people calling for the championship to be called off then your point is true. But thousands and thousands and thousands of gaa supporters and Irish people and many of from the medical profession like Dr Niall Moyna want the championship called off. I think if you asked all the people on this island should there be a GAA championship the vast majoirty of the public would say no. It is not worth risking one life for the GAA championship, thats the simple fact of the matter. The GPA released the results of their survey asking players should the Championships go ahead. 52 % of the players said that they are happy to play in the current circumstances, 24% said that they wanted better guidelines, and 24 % said that the games should not be played at all. This meant that a total of 48 percent of the players were not happy to play as things currently stand regards the championship. 24% who said that they would only want to play if things were improved with the championship. That basically means the you have many GAA inter county players have serious issues regards playing the championship. 48% of players are not happy with either playing the championship or the current coronavirus situation. There is allot of inter counties who want the championship to be played, but there is also many like Westmeath John Heslin who dont. With cases increasing nationwide surely the risk is too large to continue with the Championships. What we have seen with county finals in the last few weeks to start up the GAA championship is a risk for the players and their wider families and the wider community in general. The gaa players are different to other sportspeople who are professional. GAA players are working full time jobs and then going back to work to their employees and rest of their work colleagues. There is a huge concern by employers of these GAA players that they are coming into workplaces after playing a game and travelling around the country. GAA players go into the workplace on Monday and some of these players have said that their employers are not happy with them coming into to work on a Monday morning after playing a game at the weekend and travelling the lenght and breath of the country. There will be young GAA players who are living with older parents or grandparents. They will be concerned at the risk within their own wider families.Gaelic Football and hurling is not an isolated sport unlike professional sport. GAA players cannot afford to form a bubble like mutli millionaire basketball players did in the US. The risk of playing the GAA Championships is just not worth people getting sick from and some people dying from. Thats the truth of the matter. The risk of one individual getting the virus and then dying from it is a risk I believe it is not worth dying from. Sport it is not worth one precious life. I love the gaa, I woud enjoy the championship immensly if it started. But championship is not worth one life dying. The All Ireland Championship or any sport is not worth one life. Gaelic football is not matter of life and death, but unfortunately the coronavirus is a matter of life and death. I will say it again with every part of my fibre worth The All Ireland Championship or any sport is not worth one life, one person dying. The risk of one person or ten or a hundred or thousand getting infected and many dying from it is a risk GAA possibly take if they play a championship. I dont believe playing the championship is a risk worth taking. And many thosuands and thousands of GAA supporters would agree and vast majority of the Irish public would agree. Over 60% of the Irish population want stricter restrictions then currently we have which means they want level 4 or level 5 and level 5 means no game if you look at the original government plan."
52% want to play regardless and 24% with increased restriction yet you make it out as if the majority of the players don't want to play. Fact is even based on this 76% of the players will play. Anyway we had similar things from the players association and it all was wrong as more club players than ever played this year. Nobody has every cited that any country player got the virus while training with the county or playing for the county against another team. This is all a replay of what happened at the start, everyone stating this and that without any proof whatsoever. All the proof that exists points to pubs, restaurants and house gatherings as the main source of the virus. Time for people to get a grip on what this is and how the world is going to have to adapt to it. I saw a post on twitter from Leo on the vaccine and the vile coming out of everyone about who they would never take it was unreal. If there was a vaccine widely available now, there would be a fairly sizable amount of the population that would never take it so then what to you do? stay in lockdown because they are getting it? The most effective way to stop the current spread masks and hygiene are not even being practiced by the majority of the population but yet playing inter county GAA is going to massively spread the virus. All the talk about its not worth one person dying is all sentimental rubbish, yes people have died from this however a lot of people seem to forget that people die from the flu and that they may have been the person who passed that onto them but hey that's the flu its not dangerous . The government launces campaigns to encourage people to get the shots each year but only about 50% do, I have a feeling covid would be the same. The world has to come to teams with living with this virus and the reality is it hasn't yet. The way we think of our own health has to change as well, our eating, drinking, smoking etc habits are all putting us in those categories of at risk people. Most of all we have to accept that our loved ones will face yet another challenge in staying alive but we have to adapt if not then the world will face bigger problems than this virus.

zinny (National) - 18/10/2020 10:18:30

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Trump2020:  "Amen….I'd settle for anything too though I must say the GaaGo thing is awesome. I work weekends so it's a lifeline for me. Galway Abu."
GAA go has been great. Once crowds are back I hope they keep all these games being covered. 21 games being covered this weekend. Its keeping everyone connected with the games no matter where you are.

zinny (National) - 22/05/2021 17:34:04

Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)

Replying To seadog54:  "Looking forward to Saturday, the two best teams in Europe, hopefully home advantage get Leinster over the line in front of full house."
It shows that games can be won and lost of small errors - two kicks direct into touch, they needed to lift the siege and instead opened the gates.

zinny (National) - 21/05/2023 10:24:57

Timekeeping - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Soma:  "Have a look on YouTube for the Ruan Pienaar conversion and see is that the type of stuff you want in gaelic games when you pay your money at the gate. There is far less cynical play in ladies football compared to the men's game but even there the clock is now being taken advantage of. Soccer is the most popular game across the world and they manage fine without a clock, and for the technology they have introduced there are now many supporters who would be happy to see it gone again."
I remember reading a book a few years back on home advantage where they had done an analysis on La Liga over a number of years and it really debunked a lot of the suspicions around home teams been favored in terms of frees and penalties however the one thing that they did find was the correlation between the amount of extra time played if the home team was winning or losing. Now in the GAA county games the majority of the extra time comes from the fourth official based on the formula given for cards and subs (cards in the GAA take a lot longer than in soccer to give) but there will always be that little bit where they can decide what to give. I would say however as ref its not just about being the home team, sometimes a team can really get under your skin and while you may referee the game an ignore that, when it comes to extra time its real guess work so the mind may be inclined to go one way or the other. A t the end of the day thats the human element of the game. If teams went out to play the game fairly, 100% certain there would be far less controversy.

zinny (National) - 12/02/2020 02:00:22