Westmeath Forum

Popular Posts from borisdblade

Anti GAA Agenda - 5 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "It seems every media outlet you turn to is bad mouthing the GAA , many in the Dublin media in particular live in some left wing cocoon and generally detest anything that resembles a traditional Ireland . They failed with all their surveys and twisting of the figures to stop senior intercounty but now they want to stop minor and other underage County fixtures . Not a word about under 17 league if ireland fixtures etc , it's just a attack on gaa dresses up as Covid concerns ."
Yeah.. every media outlet is part of some left wing cocoon bad mouthing and plotting against the GAA by twisting figures.. NPHET and Dr Holohans main agenda is to attack the GAA as well and are using Covid as their excuse. Theres even a forum on Hoganstand titled "the corona virus and possible side effects of matches" but they must all be in on it too because of all the negative comments.. Let's set up a new forum called "anti gaa agenda".. I love a good conspiracy theory but you have to make it somewhat believable.. Sure its nothing to do with the GAA being greedy, nothing to do with money, nothing to do with starting a mickey mouse championship 6months behind schedule in the middle of the worst period of a world wide pandemic coinciding with a 6wk lockdown despite several outbreaks already within various county squads....

borisdblade (National) - 23/10/2020 15:43:34

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 4 Like(s)
Thomas O Se criticising Sligo for giving a walk over. What's that about? They were right. They were already massive underdogs with a full squad so what would they gain being by playing with peripheral players. The so called weaker countys are already struggling to keep players interested. Getting a hammering isnt going to do anything for them especially for those peripheral players who would have ended up playing if it went ahead. They need to keep those lads interested and hopefully in a couple of years will be breaking onto the first team.

borisdblade (National) - 04/11/2020 14:41:33

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "There's alot of negativity coming from people whos counties will be out in the first or second round."
Silly comment really and it doesnt even make sense. Dublin are the most dominant team in the country and the general consensus there is that it shouldn't go ahead. But every other county is the same. You're view is only taking into account what you believe the GAA community think and not the general population, GAA community prob accounts for 30% of population(at most) from diehards to casual supporters and they themselves are divided on this. What about the other 70% who have no interest in the sport??? Its an amateur sport and although the players are elite dedicated ppl, they dont get paid and have to earn a living. Many players are teachers coming in contact with between 20 and 100 students a day 5 days a week. Professional sports are continuing under very strict guildlines and the athletes are instructed to cocoon outside of the sport which they can afford to do. All of this just to play a half ***** effort of a championship in terrible conditions...

borisdblade (National) - 20/10/2020 12:13:54

Anti GAA Agenda - 3 Like(s)

Replying To wexico15:  "I wonder will the anti GAA mob on social media be also calling for rugby to be called to a halt due to the 12 barbarians players breaking covid protocols and their game against England been cancelled.somehow I doubt it Firstly I'm aware amateur and professional have to be viewed differently and personally I'm fan of rugby the same as I am of GAA and soccer so don't want rugby to be viewed harshly, but the opportunism of the anti GAA mob on social media is obvious as much as it is tiredism, I wouldn't rule out alot of these people complaining possibly breaking restrictions in their personal lives having friends over for dinner etc."
The 12 Barbarians are getting slated by the rugby media and they will certainly be punished and will most likely be hit with a significant fine. They will be made an example of. The majority of anti GAA mob are anti sports and share similar views to Soccer and Rugby. The club celebrations hasn't helped the situation. Any time someone makes point questioning the GAAs decisions, the response always reverts back to making comparisons with rugby and soccer..why? Are we not able to think for ourselves?

borisdblade (National) - 24/10/2020 09:51:14

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Tomas OSe questioning so called weaker counties pulling out of games...ok for him to say with a panel of where you can replace anyone one player with someone else, no disrespects to Sligo or any other so called weaker county, they dont have that option, another way of looking at the situation is, are the so called weaker counties being more responsible than the so called bigger counties "playing anyway"....its amazing how the bigger counties with bigger populations dont seem to be "affected" by covid much at all..."
Exactly, easy know he played in a team where the first 5 subs were often all stars and had 15 all irelands medals between them.

borisdblade (National) - 04/11/2020 15:03:28

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 2 Like(s)

Replying To hopballref:  "Tomas O' Shea is 100% right what he said. Guaranteed it will be the weaker counties who fail to fulfil fixtures. Any team with a chance of winning a provincial or all Ireland will turn up with a healthy squad on matchday because they are better prepared, better managed and want it more. And for those of ye who claim it is a disgrace for the championship to ahead - will ye get a grip. It's the only thing keeping people going at the moment especially the elderly."
Im assuming you dont have any close relatives who are in the vulnerable category otherwise you have zero common sense. Weaker teams will be more likely to fail to fulfill fixtures if they have a covid outbreak for obvious reasons, if they are a weaker team then obviously they have an even weaker squad. Why take the risk when there is an existing outbreak in the squad and why put your team through what would most likely be a humiliation when they are down several first choice players? As regards the stronger teams turning up healthy and wanting it more, of course they would especially if an All Ireland title is on the line but there is a problem there too. As Sean Cavanagh eluded to a few wks ago, I'm sure they would be prepared to do whatever it takes to have a full squad on matchday even if it means keeping a player with symptoms to stay quiet so the manager can have a full squad. Tomas o se is a very good pundit and analyst but he was wrong with his comment on Sligo. You should be happy your county doesnt have to play Sligo. There was always a risk a Sligo player could have had the virus even after being tested negative. Now you are already in a connacht final without playing a game..win win

borisdblade (National) - 04/11/2020 18:01:43

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ifindoubt:  "If its only professional sport then only rugby should be allowed as they are full time pros. The League of Ireland would have to stop as a lot of players are only semi pro."
True and maybe Rugby is the only professional sport that should be allowed continue then. There is plenty of Professional soccer on TV to keep people entertained anyway. That said the League of Ireland are at the closing stages of a long campaign due to be completed in the coming days hopefully. In fairness they are not proposing to start a new competition in the middle of a lockdown. Even if the league of ireland season was due to start next week, would they go ahead with it or would they hold off until after level 5 lockdown??? I'd have my doubts.. Dont think winning a provincial title or AI will have the same feel after trudging through a waterlogged pitch with no spectators anyway....

borisdblade (National) - 20/10/2020 16:37:38

Westmeath Senior Football Championship 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To westmeath4321:  "Do you really believe even if those higher ranked teams are in decline that moate or caulry are near good enough to contest a final ? One of them will likely still be relegated and the standard is not so low that they can get to a final"
Well if tyrrellspass were fit to contest a final last year then yes. I didnt mean specifically moate or caulry. I meant any of the most recently promoted teams so moate caulry Rosemount shandonagh or Athlone. Athlone weren't far off reaching final last year and could just as easily have ended up in relegation play off. One of those teams are likely to be relegated but equally there is an opportunity for any of them to reach a semi final and possibly a final.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 22/08/2021 17:41:22

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Well said. Fair play. Total lack of respect shown to these Dublin players. Role models but still just normal guys who have to balance so many things outside of the GAA. Says it all when so very few mentioned the Dublin players laying that wreath after the game, in memory of those who were murdered on Bloody Sunday. As has been said so many times before - you can throw a wad of cash into a donkey but you still won't make it into a champion thoroughbred... These Dublin players have more than earned Respect for what they have achieved. But some people will never show it to them. It is a sad state of affairs...! But us Dubs will be forever in their debt for what they are giving us. Legends."
Thats true, they all seem well grounded and play for each other. Gilroy rooted out the rot and Gavin wasnt one for stroking a lads ego. Anytime a player got ahead of himself he was brought back down to earth fairly quick. That's said while its admirable how good they are, its soul crushing when they are playing your own county. There is a problem in Leinster. Its easy say it's up to other counties to catch up but it seems they are getting further apart. I dont know what the solution is but nobody should detract from what Dublin have done and are continuing to do.

borisdblade (National) - 22/11/2020 14:21:22

Westmeath Senior Football Championship 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To the21yardline:  "Huge shocks over the weekend in the championship. Not to many seen Athlone getting a result v Rosemount . I highly doubt the Rosies will be too happy with Frankie after the early season promise. Great win for the Downs. The first big scalp for that team. Fair play to them. Garrycastle wont be to happy. They might have to dip into the transfer market again over the winter. No big surprises for Lomans or Tpass. Shamrocks escaped the embarrassment of a relegation final. Big turn around for a young Caulry team. They were bet by 20 odd points the first day out? Result of the weekend. I fancy Cdaly to just pip Shan and stay senior."
Take it your not a Gcastle fan with that transfer dig. Their team in last yrs final was made up of 14 home grown players and Matthew Guiheen who is now in his 9th or 10th season playing for them, he is no journeyman. They played well but got beaten by a better team the other day. Im sure the will be back, they dont need transfers but lm sure like any club they wont turn a lad away that wants to play ball at any level..

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 02/09/2020 14:58:28

Replying To Thechick:  "Maybe he is a Lomans supporter ,maybe not ,but his reply makes sense in comparison to yours. Say i'm a county standard footballer from where ever and because of work or a girlfriend i am coming to live in Mullingar. I should go to the county board and they will tell me to go and play with a junior club out the country that haven't made a final in twenty years. I will say that fine ,thanks. Or i will google and look at a all the current top clubs records ,there facilities ,how they are performing underage, what chance have i to play at a high level and perhaps win something and base MY OWN decision on that. If that Jones guys girlfriend was from one of those country clubs and she played for them then he would be there most likely. Your solution would work in a world of merry go rounds and candy floss but not in Senior football championship and guys with ambition"
Well its strange that they are all going to Lomans rather than shamrocks or a suburban club, Several players have relocated to towns and joined a club on the suburb but it generally depends on the GAA persons that THEY THEMSELVES first connect with. These Lomans lads all happen to be very capable players and are pushing decent local lads off the team which has knock on effects to their second team. Look they are probably doing nothing wrong and are trying to be successful but is it possible now that they could field a very strong team in the Junior final??? Is this possible? Im not that familiar with rules re named players etc It would be a tough blow for Tubberclare if they dont win final..They would have been eyeing up senior football not so long ago

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 15/09/2020 17:16:22

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Nugent played with Clann Na nGeal up until u16 or minor. Played county underage too for Roscommon from what I recall."
Really, Im sure I can remember him playing with garrycastle when he was tiny, must have been u10 or u12s at most unless he joined gcastle at that age? if so you will find examples of that in nearly every club of where a family move in to the area and get their kids involved in sports. I think 21yardline was suggesting that Garrycastle were recruiting established adult players who are in the peak of their powers and that is completely untrue. They've had Sheerin over the past couple of yrs but he is mostly used as a sub. Ger Heneghan and Mickey greene transferred more recently but them boys are near 40 so I think they are just happy to be playing a bit of ball at lower level and maybe make the odd appearance late on as a sub in senior. They've also lost players through transfers. Some people begrudge what gcastle have done over the past 25yrs. Dessie dolans heroics always overshadowed the teams achievements but the second half of the final last year showed exactly what gcastle are made of and dessie wasnt on the pitch.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 02/09/2020 18:29:46

Club Championships - Football 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Tg4 show the Galway and Donegal county finals because there are Irish speaking areas in both those countys and a large proportion of their regular viewers are from those counties"
Yes but TG4 is a national broadcast and non Irish speaking gaa counties are well aware of GAA beo and would tune in to watch a local team. Corofin are probably favourites for the all Ireland or close to it and if they go on and win it out every game since their county semi final will have been televised. The county team wouldnt get that coverage. There maybe some logic in TG4 favouring Gaelteacht regions but there is no explaining RTE covering 7 Dublin and 3 kerry club matches in favour of county finals going on everywhere else. The GAA are constantly having to defend themselves against being bias toward Dublin when it comes to funding etc. RTE covering 7 games isn't helping their cause. It irks me a bit and I'm only a casual GAA supporter from westmeath.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 25/11/2019 16:01:17

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "There we go again. How would Professional soccer keep a person entertained? Heats still in ground so better to watch grass grow."
There we go again what?? Think you jumped the gun there a bit. Sure I dont find soccer entertaining but soccer fans do and if "The League of Ireland would have to stop as a lot of players are only semi pro" as a poster suggested, "there is plenty of pro soccer on tv to keep those people entertained"... Plenty of heat still in the ground up in Tyrone??

borisdblade (National) - 20/10/2020 21:54:09

Replying To Iarmhi04:  "Pretty sure Guiheen played for Garrycastle underage before moving to Kerry, and upon relocating back to Athlone he rejoined Garrycastle"
Someone told me that before a few yrs ago but I cant say because I dont know. If youre right then their starting team for final last yr were all home grown lads which makes 21yardlines snide remark null and void... That said there is nothing wrong with a player transferring clubs if it makes life much easier for the sake of playing ball....

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 02/09/2020 21:36:29

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 1 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "That's a funny one, if i remember rightly when Meath were winning and competing for All Irelands i seem to remember most of their games being Croker. I think the year Kildare got to the final n 98 almost all of their games were in Corker to. Cant really remember with Laois or Westmeath when they were competing nationally a few years ago.. I often wonder about Croker and are Leinster Counties at a disadvantage in terms of infrastructure development and capital funds by the GAA because Corker is on their door step and without The Dubs and other Leinster teams is basically a bit of a white elephant. Think there is an argument there that most indigenous stadiums in Leinster are in rag order bar one or two and probably because Croker offers an easy alternative rather then capital investment. I think a significant amount of capital investment happens outside of Leinster. Anyway be no good to Sligo this year, an awful set of circumstances and sad to see them being kicked for notoriety and media profile on twitter when they are down."
In 2004 westmeath played all 6 games in croker. I suppose some of those games were double headers so it might have made sense. Back then Dublin weren't as dominant and I think most county teams wanted the experience of playing in croker so it suited them and the GAA. Now teams in Leinster need every advantage possible since dublin have won 14 of the last 15 leinster titles with ease. Westmesth have home advantage v Dublin but have to play in portlaoise I think because there are no lights in cusack park. I'm sure other counties in Leinster are the same. Id say it's time to do a championship draw of all counties and forget about provincial titles. Certainly it would improve the enthusiasm of the Leinster teams anyway and bring them on. It would help the likes of Sligo/Leitrim and clare/limerick/tipp not having to face the likes of mayo or Kerry in the first round either. They would have a realistic chance of winning 2 or 3 championship matches every yr. GAA prob missed a trick by not doing it this yr since it's already a bit different anyway.

borisdblade (National) - 05/11/2020 18:41:16

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 1 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Here leave Leitrim alone you lol Great place, lovely people and they haven't subjected the nation to Donegal Catch humour ads for what feels like several decades"
Hes getting cocky knowing All Ireland quarters, semis and final will be held in December most likely. Conditions would suit Donegal football down to the ground...literally

borisdblade (National) - 05/11/2020 19:12:06

Westmeath Footballers 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Temple56:  "Roscommon have been a top 8 team for 3-4 years now. 4 Connacht Finals in a row. Have won it 2 out of the last 3 years. No one said they are as good as Dublin or Kerry they are on a different level to everyone else but they are on the same level as Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and Monaghan. On their day they would have beat any of these teams in the last 4 years... The reason they are having a poor season so far is because of injuries and players leaving panel. Roscommon is small county imaging if Westmeath were missing 14 player's we would be a Div4 team I really hope we beat them when we play them but I think it will be tough. They are managed by Anthony Cunningham if you ask people from Garrycastle he is one of the best managers ever in Westmeath football. 3 years he was involved they won 3 county championships 1 Leinster and lost an all Ireland final. Some record!!!!"
Roscommon are mid-table in division 2 so they are obviously not a top 8 team. They may be missing 14 players??? but they weren't missing when they got relegated from div 1. They did make progress but it appears to have petered out and future doesn't look as promising with injuries and lads dropping out...

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 18/02/2020 12:02:46

Club Championships - Football 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To westmeathman99:  "I believe there are a good few Hughs in the south of the county"
If you look up the birth records over the last 80 years in westmeath there have been exactly 2000 Hughs born in South Westmeath.. If you look up the Death records over the last 80 years of the amount of Hughs that died who were also born in that time frame you will find that there are only 1427 still alive. Recent surveys suggest that approximately 50% of westmeath males are interested in Gaelic football which reduces the number of Hughs to 713.5. Out of those 713.5 football supporting Hughs there are 71 living in the Caulry Garrycastle catchment areas so we can assume they will all attend both matches given the proximity of both clubs. This leaves 642.5 football supporting Hughs of which I would estimate 90% of these Hughs are casual supporters and will not attend for various reasons. This leaves 64.25 Hughs. So, (64.25 + 71 =) 135.25 Hughs will want to attend both matches. This is just an estimate. I haven't allowed for Hughs over 80yrs old or Hughs who have no interest in GAA but feel obliged to go as they are living in the representing clubs communities...

borisdblade (Westmeath) - 20/10/2019 18:10:03

Anti GAA Agenda - 1 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "Virtually every team sport has had to alter and change it's competition's to crown it's yearly winners. Champions league went to 1 off knock out matches on neutral grounds, rugby had teams dropping out from various competition's, various US sports reduced amount of games or reduced playoff teams and some soccer league's in Europe just stopped and crowned the league leaders as champions. The GAA is a tiny organisation by comparison but it has employees to pay and you may call it greed but they need to get money in to survive. Look at the IRFU with a 35million euro hole and the trouble they are in-they have created a new competition with other rugby unions, is that Mickey mouse and greed in your opinion. If it's greed you want look at the Premier league and their antics in the past couple of weeks Anyway as a Limerick fan I'm looking forward to the weekend and surely all sports fans can enjoy whatever sports they love and take pur mind's of Covid and the whole stupid blame game this country is involved in at the moment."
Your comparing professional sports to an amateur sport ran by a "tiny organisation" and that is the difference, its chalk and cheese. IRFU have to pay players big salaries and like any pro sport they had to come up with some alternative, thats survival not greed. Considering GAA players dont get paid, its hard to fathom how they are struggling to pay employees, if that is the case they have too many employees on the books and Im sure those employees would be entitled to Covid payments like the rest. There is surviving and there is greed.

borisdblade (National) - 24/10/2020 01:34:30