Westmeath Forum

Popular Posts from Ban

Dean Rock Free Taking Project - 6 Like(s)
People give out about Managers receiving underhand payments People give out about players doing things in an official format There's no winning! Fair play to Rock. Have massive admiration for this guy. He has worked his ar*e off and deserves anything that comes his way. I hope its a big success.

Ban (National) - 08/07/2020 20:53:40

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To thegadfly:  "I really hope Tyrone followers don't embarrass themselves by bringing this banner to the Ulster final at the weekend. It's hard to fathom the mentality behind it. I believe Millwall soccer hooligans were the first one's to use it. I can only surmise that the majority of Tyrone men and women like myself cringe when they see it at the matches. I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties. If that's the case it's unfortunate. I hope it doesn't continue. As irish people we should be trying to distance ourselves from that type of attitude. It doesn't belong at GAA games. Let the hooligans across the water use slogans like that but don't let it into our games and our culture. There's no place for it here."
I don't think its the most offensive banner a person could bring to a game! May be a little contradicting. If they don't care that nobody likes them then why feel the need to point say it?

Ban (National) - 28/07/2021 21:13:31

"I'M Finished With That Now, And Life Is Already Much Better" - 6 Like(s)
Its ironic, If a manager (who is paid) walks away its generally fine The unpaid amateur walks away, he gets it in the neck, mostly from his own!

Ban (National) - 22/02/2018 13:47:18

Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final - 4 Like(s)
Why not just enjoy the next round of matches, discussing actual fixtures?

Ban (National) - 26/07/2017 10:02:02

Supermac's Call For Investigation Into Galway GAA Sponsorship Spending - 4 Like(s)
When the same people are in charge for long periods it lends itself to miss-management. If there was was a regular turnover of the key roles it would become very evident during transition if there was any wrong doing.

Ban (National) - 04/10/2019 11:34:17

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 4 Like(s)
Never saw a game to be defined so clearly by a red card! Barrett should have gone earlier for his assault on Hogan. That said, Richie has to take full responsibility for his actions. I dont think the ref was left with any other decision than to send him off. Very poor game. Tipp grew in confidence once Kilkenny went to 14. There was only going to be one outcome.

Ban (National) - 18/08/2019 21:27:46

Eoghan O'gara - 4 Like(s)
He certainly can retire with a smile on his face. To be present on the greatest panel of players ever to play the game is no mean feat. Always stuck me as a real workhorse who got the most out of himself. A lesson for us all - well done

Ban (National) - 05/11/2019 21:10:01

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "How's it not fair? A game in Croke Park, an away game, and a home match, the same as every other team! Maybe Donegal should play them all at home, maybe that's fair"
I don't consider Donegal's game in Croke Park a neutral venue. Its a home game for Dublin which means an away game for Donegal. This means Donegal have 2 away games, one home and no neutral. I consider this a disadvantage to Donegal.

Ban (National) - 04/07/2018 13:36:54

Football Championship 2021 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "There are 16 counties with larger populations than Mayo. We have more natives living outside the county bed around the world than we do within."
Do you think Mayo and Leitrim is a fair game when you consider population and resources? I'm curious to see how people feel about this? Everyone is quick to point to Dublin's advantages! The way I see it, there are advantages everywhere and if splitting Dublin is seen as a solution then why focus on them alone?

Ban (National) - 12/07/2021 09:46:07

Westmeath V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Rode by the ref!

Ban (National) - 25/06/2017 21:12:19

Jim Gavin Steps Down - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "Nearly 20,000 posts you have...and I'm the mouth. Go out and get a bit of exercise for yourself. Maybe going to one of Philly's gyms. Do you good."
You really think you know a person based on the number of posts they've made here?

Ban (National) - 05/12/2019 15:58:01

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 4 Like(s)
Meanwhile - Over in Connacht Mayo Population = 130,507 Galway Population = 258,058 Leitrim Population = 32,044 Are we going to split Galway and Mayo? Surely they have an advantage over Leitrim. And this is just one of many similar examples in the Country where Population is not even..!

Ban (National) - 07/12/2020 21:22:15

Government Intervention - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Crossgaa:  "The reasons Dublin are so strong is because the population is bigger. this is where most of our industry is located. Most people around the country will go to work and live permanently in Dublin. It's where the best paying jobs are at. So you can't blame the GAA people of Dublin for taking full advantage of a huge population, money etc. the players still have to commit to the panel and train extremely hard. Around the country people are being shoved into small towns because of difficulty in attaining planning permission in the country. So if I want to build a house on the brothers farm I will face planning permission problems. It's true for most counties. So in 20/30 years from now club football will be dead in most country areas. The towns will be the strongest. So I think it's up to the Irish government and local councils to step up to attract more jobs and businesses to urban areas and small towns around the country so people can live and raise their family's without migrating to Dublin. Otherwise our clubs will hurt badly."
Is it the same reason Mayo and Galway are significantly stronger than the likes of Sligo and Leitrim in Connacht?

Ban (National) - 22/12/2020 14:00:16

Mayo Request To Play League Final On Saturday - 4 Like(s)
I can understand the request. The league final/first round of championship dates are ridiculous and they are looking at the options to manage that. Not sure this makes them selfish..

Ban (National) - 24/03/2023 11:38:26

Diarmuid Connolly - 4 Like(s)
Really enjoyed watch Diarmuid play. Out of all the high profile players to call it a day in recent times, this one stuck a cord.. Best wishes and thanks

Ban (National) - 03/10/2020 20:20:47

Football Is Finished - 4 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Mighty men from cavan the answer is very simple the dubs are a professional out fit looked after with all that money can buy and money can pay for. To look at there players they look the same as the aussie rules boys and the aussie are all paid professionals so as I and some of my county men have been saying for a while dublin are playing and living as prefessional sportsmen. There lays your answer to the dubs superperior fitness because it surly is. Not there abundance of skill over any other county. I'm sad to say one of the people responsible for this fiasco is our ex president our own Sean Kelly. Good luck to you my cavan gael friends. Keep the faith and keep playing Gaa for the right reasons the promotion of our country. Ciarrai abu"
Jack McCaffrey must have had extra hours in the day if he was living the life of a professional Sportsman over the last number of years! Easy number training and practicing medicine! ..and he was one of the best of them!

Ban (National) - 06/12/2020 10:26:29

Greatest Midfielder - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Aye but the lads in the 90s were able to enjoy them selves and have a social life. I read that Paul mannions club coach said he won't play for dublin again because he's enjoying his life now. Jack mccafferty spoke of his disgust at having to go to a replay in 2019 as he just wanted it all to be over. If the lads in the 80s/90s done what lads are doing today they'd have been just as good if not better but I bet they wouldn't swap."
I'm sure Jack and Paul enjoyed the majority of their Dublin career! They are only two of that great side so I doubt if playing for Dublin was and is as miserable as you make it out. I've heard of many great celebration stories from Dublin players down through the recent years.. I guess you see what you want to see.. Maybe there should be a tread for greatest midfielder who played with a team that had a great social life. I might make that one myself..!

Ban (National) - 23/11/2021 16:21:30

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 4 Like(s)
Michael Murphy for me. An outstanding player Clifford is a class act with serious potential.

Ban (National) - 15/07/2019 19:37:03

Hurling All-Stars - 3 Like(s)
Very hard to please everyone with these things. A team could be 2 points up 3 minutes into injury time in an All-Ireland final. If they hold out they get a good haul of All-Stars, concede a goal and lose the game and the script changes significantly..

Ban (National) - 08/12/2021 11:31:59

No Live TV Coverage For Round 1 Qualifiers - 3 Like(s)
I believe this is the result of very poor viewership numbers on early qualifier games in recent years. Considering the amount of giving out we do here about the quality of the early stages of the Championship, I dont think too many will be unhappy about this.

Ban (National) - 28/05/2019 16:01:49