USA Forum

Popular Posts from Gaa Fan

Kerry V Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Jaysus Michael but you sound like a very angry man. I can appreciate great skill but just don't go all weak at the knees when a fella drags a ball back and then side foots it into the net. You'd see young lads out playing and training do stuff that would be equally as skilful and what about it. He scored another goal against Monaghan which was very fortunate to go in as it went through a couple of players from an acute angle and it was being hailed as a masterpiece. Fact of the matter was he got lucky. Anyway, I'm sure he'll continue to score goals but let's not be getting carried away."
Think that 3-5 or 3-6 in any county game by any player is noteworthy.

Gaa Fan (National) - 17/05/2021 21:44:01

Dessie Farrell To Remain On. - 5 Like(s)
Great to see this man getting a vote of confidence from the Dublin County Board. He has quietly done a wonderful job with the teamI wish him continued success.

Gaa Fan (National) - 18/08/2022 16:14:37

All Ireland Championship 2019 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Thanks kingdom boy. A great day again for kerry football.. I see 37 had the history books out again."
After watching all, and re-watching some, of the U-17 and U-20 games on view this weekend it was glaringly obvious once more the mistake made in changing the ages of the groups. The U-17's looked exactly what they are and should be......youngsters not nearly mature enough to be compared to U-18's. Their glaring mistakes in their passing and tackling is due to their youthfulness and lack of experience. None of them, except the Kerry goalie, are ready for the U-20's now or in the next two years. The same applies to the U-20's. The best on view was probably O'Mahoney from Cork and he is nowhere ready for the step up to senior. The present U-20's will have to sit around for about two years with no organized age group to compete in. In my opinion the sooner the return to U-18 and U-21 the better.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 29/07/2019 17:21:37

Kerry V Derry - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "No he can't stop in mid air but not many players do a spin around in mid air and lead with their hole."
Goalie came out hard, went high for the ball, got it, and turned his body to avoid striking his opponent with his knees. I don't see how he could just hang there and not collide with the player. If you get the ball first and the collide with a player, without going out of your way to do so, it cannot be called a charge.

Gaa Fan (National) - 16/07/2023 19:16:44

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "He should have ensured a player left the field before restarting play."
You are correct. One of the duties of the referee is to ensure that the correct number of players are on the pitch at all times. Did a club pull a fast one here? We will never know only and can only surmise. Therefore the club cannot be held faulted. What is indisputable is the fact that the match officials are to blame.

Gaa Fan (National) - 01/02/2023 16:04:44

Off Season Discussions Thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Lost the Streaming after 10 minutes and cannot re-connect."
Streaming back on after ten minutes and excellent afterwards. Good game and a great job by the referee, you would not know he was on the pitch.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 27/09/2020 17:19:58

Off Season Discussions Thread - 3 Like(s)
Lost the Streaming after 10 minutes and cannot re-connect.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 26/09/2020 19:25:42

2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ur joking right they were awful couple of fluky goals killed the game that and Derry did the same as against Galway last year give up when 4 or 5 behind. Wasn't impressed at all with dubs yesterday Highlight of the weekend was mayo players diving repeatedly and ref buying it every time His not fit to ref high standard games."
Not joking. Most goals scored are as you put it "fluky". Dublin saw the weakness in the Derry team and exploited it to perfection.

Gaa Fan (National) - 03/04/2023 14:51:55

Off Season Discussions Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To aidan64:  "Massive 2nd half by the U20s. Ruadhri o beagleach left it all out on the pitch."
The fresh legs proved to be the difference. Thought Quilter was most impressive.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 04/03/2020 21:39:18

Remote Kerry GAA Pub Chats - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "No I think the the time frame allocated for inter-county will remain in situ. The extended or earlier start will afford more time to the club structure which in fairness is correct and more appropriate. In fairness to the gaa they have acted correctly. It's isn't often they get credit this this regard. I see here locally a lot of club are meeting during the week to replan out the year and advise of new directives and guidelines. The light a the end of the tunnel is getting brighter. On another matter watched the 75 final over the weekend, Christ Churchill's Pat McCarthy had some final on Bernard Brogan. He outfielded him on numerous occasions and was a horse of a man. He really disappeared off the scene after 76. He was a young man like the rest of the panel - What ever happened him?"
Pat McCarthy was another player who was not treated honourably by the Kerry selectors. He was with Churchill in 974 and played for Sallins, Kildare, at the same time....... he was working up there. When Kerry saw that he was badly needed for mid-field for his strength, fielding ability, and powerful play he confessed his sins in Kildare in November 1974 and was suspended for three months as was the Sallins club secretary a Kildare County player. Neither missed any playing time. You saw what he was capable of in the 1975 final. The selectors never used him after that as the manager had very little time for players who were not at his beck and call.....Vincent O'Connor another example. Kerry lost the 1977 All-Ireland semi-final with Pat sitting on the sideline and was not introduced until the last five minutes. Kerry were blown away at mid-field all day, Paidi and a young Jacko. Pat left after that and played for Sallins.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 21/06/2020 21:07:18

Remote Kerry GAA Pub Chats - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "No I think the the time frame allocated for inter-county will remain in situ. The extended or earlier start will afford more time to the club structure which in fairness is correct and more appropriate. In fairness to the gaa they have acted correctly. It's isn't often they get credit this this regard. I see here locally a lot of club are meeting during the week to replan out the year and advise of new directives and guidelines. The light a the end of the tunnel is getting brighter. On another matter watched the 75 final over the weekend, Christ Churchill's Pat McCarthy had some final on Bernard Brogan. He outfielded him on numerous occasions and was a horse of a man. He really disappeared off the scene after 76. He was a young man like the rest of the panel - What ever happened him?"
Pat McCarthy was another player who was not treated honourably by the Kerry selectors. He was with Churchill in 974 and played for Sallins, Kildare, at the same time....... he was working up there. When Kerry saw that he was badly needed for mid-field for his strength, fielding ability, and powerful play he confessed his sins in Kildare in November 1974 and was suspended for three months as was the Sallins club secretary a Kildare County player. Neither missed any playing time. You saw what he was capable of in the 1975 final. The selectors never used him after that as the manager had very little time for players who were not at his beck and call.....Vincent O'Connor another example. Kerry lost the 1977 All-Ireland semi-final with Pat sitting on the sideline and was not introduced until the last five minutes. Kerry were blown away at mid-field all day, Paidi and a young Jacko. Pat left after that and played for Sallins.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 21/06/2020 21:22:57

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "So why didn't Dublin contest the game?"
Too much class, and were also probably notified privately that the game was over, move on. As for the post regarding McMahon walking across the field this is a cop out. The referee allowed the play to continue, and a free to be taken, with 16 Mayo men on the field. He should not have allowed play to continue until McMahon left the pitch and obviously was unaware that too many players were on the field. When he was made aware that Mayo had too many players on the pitch Dublin should have been awarded a free kick. Personally I feel errors by made by officials, EXCLUDING announcing/reporting the incorrect score, during a game, if not corrected IMMEDIATELY, cannot and should not be corrected later.

Gaa Fan (National) - 28/01/2023 20:30:57

Kerry V Galway - 2 Like(s)
"You'd see young lads out playing and training do stuff that would be equally as skilful and what about it." Doing it in training is one thing, having the composure to try, and pull it off, in a county game is far different.

Gaa Fan (National) - 17/05/2021 21:50:00

Winter Waffle - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ya know James. Good man to have at the helm"
I cannot see where a player who is not part of a new panel should be notified his services are no longer required. When the panel is being formulated I assume that the management contacts the prospective new team members and discusses matters with them. Anyone who does not receive this call must realize that their services are not required at this time. Amazes me when I read that a player states he will continue for another year before being asked..

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 28/11/2018 15:49:42

2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Yes Jimbo, a weird scoreline but a taste of summer in the air today, O'Callaghan was superb."
Dublin is the best looking team I have seen so far this year. Very strong, athletic, and extremely fit. They use the hand pass to great advantage and do not waste time just passing for the sake of passing. The long ball in was great to see and the result was reflected in the score. Expect to see them in the final this year.

Gaa Fan (National) - 02/04/2023 21:22:45

Kerry GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Indeed you don't. That has been checked out too. You probably can't lie straight in bed. You are a very sad sad poster and you have been exposed."
I wish that posters would discontinue this childish, and irritating, trend on the site. Stick to football matters and not "I said", and "you said", but "you are not who you would have us think you are". Who cares who anyone is as long as they have something to contribute or to open for discussion. Nothing constructive in these posts.

Gaa Fan (National) - 09/02/2022 17:02:26

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "First yellow was for persistent fouling.."
"Red card! A ludicrous second yellow card for Dublin's Michael Fitzsimons, who is sent off by Maurice Deegan. Peter Crowley (yellow) grabbed him but the Dublin defender did nothing." This what was reported on the Hogan Stand regarding the sending off of the Dublin player.

Gaa Fan (National) - 09/02/2019 21:34:14

Oscars For Diving Goes To.. - 2 Like(s)
Shameful to see a Roscommon go down like he was pole-axed, holdind his head, and the ref bought it and gave the Kerry player a yellow. If the ref saw a player strike another player it should have been a RED. Replays show he was never struck in the head.

Gaa Fan (National) - 19/03/2023 19:01:21

Off Season Discussions Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's right horse, I'm surprised he got it as I didn't have him in the running due to he lives in Laois but I'm delighted all the same."
Brendan Guiney brings a level of toughness to the team that I hope he can transfer to some of the players. Was one of the toughest, most fearless, players of his generation.

Gaa Fan (Kerry) - 26/11/2019 20:01:57

Galway Football thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Gaillimher:  "To win this years All Ireland has been a fantastic achievement by Jack O Connor, but Kerry had been knocking on the door over the past three years and only difference this year is they had that 'bit of luck' - everything fell into place for them - Tyrone gone early, Dublin without Con O'Callaghan in the semi-final and then meeting a young inexperienced team in the final. Jack knew that Kerry were ready this year - which is why he left Kildare in the way he did and then convinced the Kerry County Board to replace Peter Keane with himself. Jack is an opportunist. Where was Jack 3-4 years when no one wanted the job - fair play to Peter Keane/Maurice Fitzgerald etc, at least they took on the challenge when no one else was putting themselves forward, dealt with a pandemic that disrupted everyones plans and was only missing that piece of luck needed to win an All-Ireland. Jack being treated as some sort of 'messiah' is laughable in my opinion - have a look at his record with the Kerry U21's and the players from previous years minor teams that were available to him at the time."
I waited weeks to hear a mention of Peter Keane. Not a word from any of the Kerry Group but only on this forum. They soon forgot that he was the the man who nurtured most of the current group through the minors. Foley, a year older, settled into the full-back, Gavin White, a year older settled, into the half-back position, Graham O'Sullivan, a year older, settled into the corner-back slot, a more mature David Clifford, Diarmuid O'Connor also more mature. Keane had the players already in place. After watching hurling and football games for close to seventy years I must ask if any other manager would have not switched another back on to Shane Walsh in an attempt to curtail his ouput, a switch with Graham O'Sullivan, Paul Murphy perhaps. If Galway had won I'm sure the question would have been asked. I feel Keane was treated like Bonnar in Tipperary.

Gaa Fan (National) - 10/08/2022 17:27:50