UK Forum

Popular Posts from GaaGaa78

Things more likely than Carlow beating Dublin - 13 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Me scoring Jennifer Lopez in that Union Jack bikini on the curvy girl link below the hs front page."
You know all the ads etc. that show up on the site are based on our search history don't you?? ;)

GaaGaa78 (National) - 31/05/2017 17:59:11

AOS - player of the year? - 9 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "They'll have to beat Kerry. He's definitely the front runner IMO but a good semi final and final from a player who wins the all ireland would probably see them get it. Similarly I don't think canning has been galways best player this year but if he gets them over the line in the final he'll probably get Hitler of the year."
I'd love to see what you must be typing if Hilter is what comes up in your predictive text for 'Hurler' :)

GaaGaa78 (National) - 08/08/2017 09:38:04

Threads that constantly reappear - 7 Like(s)

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Had a good laugh reading the list , this site is not for lovers of the game it's for whingers , paroical defenders , there are the odd good threads but few and far between , if anyone disagrees with me have a look at the post ratio positive v negative and there's your answer , few actually want to discuss the games , ormobannerman from Clare who I don't think has ever weighted in on anything other than a rugby/ professional v GAA debate at this stage I don't think he even goes to games Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts:4172 - 02/06/2017 16:18:00 Dont be so petty and miserly. I am always commenting on GAA issues but dont let that stop you having a rant. I certainly do go to games. When i can and if not working. And before you have another go at me. Learn how to use full stops/commas correctly!!"
Since we're all about correcting people, any chance you could learn how to use the reply function correctly?

GaaGaa78 (National) - 02/06/2017 17:39:33

Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Right Mayo. We had a falling out in 96 but the hatched is buried. Please please please do this for yourselves and the good of the game."
For the good of the game?? So the best team in the country winning would be bad for the game?

GaaGaa78 (National) - 28/08/2017 10:48:27

Joe Mc Quillan for football final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He is a fair ref who makes mistakes like any ref. Wait for the outrage from both sets of supporters highlighting various incidents from various games over the last few years. Painful stuff."
Already seen 30+ tweets referring to him as 'Dublin Joe'. Pathetic.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 04/09/2017 18:41:03

Ballyragget - 4 Like(s)

Replying To gotmilk:  "Have to say fair play to the lads, they let their hair (among other things) down. Some of the reaction is ridiculous! Lads win trophy, lads go on a bender, lads have the craic. To those who question them or criticise them I say dry your eyes and grow up."
So you think it's acceptable that they had 'strippers' going down them on them while being videoed? Lads who are supposed to be representing their clubs, lads that are supposed to lead by example for the younger kids coming through the club. You're alright, i'm perfectly happy being outraged by this because their behaviour was outrageously disgraceful.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 26/10/2017 16:31:32

Croke Park Hotel Bistro - 4 Like(s)

Replying To border Gael:  "What a disaster. Someone should have told them that a full house was expected in Croke Park today. We were inside their door at 12.50. Queuing for 1 hour and 20 mins to get into the bistro. About 20 in front of us ( including children). Got a table gave our order. 2 course special. Waited 40 minutes on the first course and had to leave 10 minutes before throw in of first match while still waiting on our dessert. Never again. Called into A wee country restaurant coming home. Half the staff and they had carvery going and dessert and were serving bus loads coming from the matches in a fraction of the time."
This is my favourite post of the week, well it's a toss up between this and the one complaining about the carpark on Clonliffe Road. What in God's name do you expect from a hotel/bistro (and car park) located within spitting distance of a ground that holds 82k AND is a sell-out? Rookie error you won't make again. As for the wee bistro you stopped off at on the way home. Maybe they had less staff on (and a quicker service) because they weren't catering for 1000s. Just a wild guess.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 06/08/2017 14:20:12

Mayo need to save football - 3 Like(s)

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "How long does this have to continue before someone shouts STOP? 5 in a row? 10 in a row? 15 in a row? Because when one team has every advantage handed to them there is only one inevitable outcome and that will lead to the destructuon of the sport Look at the Leinster Championship which was traditionally the most vibrant and exciting Championship to watch as a neutral is now dead as both players and fans have turned their backs to it as they know it's is eons away from being a fair and sporting competition well the same will happen on a national level Is that what people want....................."
These posts coming from Kerry people are absolutely hilarious! Bet you weren't waiting for someone to STOP when Kerry were dominating.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 29/08/2017 14:11:03

Dublin or Mayo - In ONE word - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Dead right. Deserve has nothing to do with it. If we can get our population up to about the two million, have lots and lots of dosh to play around with and get to play all our games at home we might give it a good shot. Until then I'm afraid we're just making up the numbers. Dublin by as much as they want!"
You do realise you spent more 'dosh' than any other county last year right? If it's all about spending the most why haven't you won by now?

GaaGaa78 (National) - 28/08/2017 21:08:19

Dublin or Mayo - In ONE word - 3 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "professional v amateur..professional team wins"
Professionals against amateurs? Mayo sure spend a lot for an amateur team.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 28/08/2017 21:09:55

Dual Counties with Dual Supporters - 3 Like(s)
People that are listing Cork as a Dual sport county with support for both codes have to be having a laugh? Their footballers get practically no support. Even Dublin hurlers get more support than the Cork footballers.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 21/11/2016 10:04:14

Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Mayonman:  "A lot of ye that think Gooch is wrong don't seem to have any issue with the x players doing radio, TV, newspapers etc and making a few quid. This is just the same thing packaged differently. If ur against this then surely u should be against the others too??? Basically after dinner speaking."
Not even close to being the same thing. Doing punditry, radio gigs etc. are paid jobs. This is him hosting a dinner in honour of himself and charging people a fortune just to be there.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 27/09/2017 09:03:41

Financial Doping in the GAA - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "It's strange how the GAA was doing fine up to the starting of the spring series there wasn't a problem . Every1 was getting an equal share. By the way where did the Dublin county board get the idea for the spring series ? Maybe by coppying the premier league or afl? So ye didn't invent the idea ye adapted it . KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:4274 - 11/10/2016 Pretty sure the Premier League doesn't have a Spring Series. Think they might have gotten the idea from a ballet show in Philadelphia."
Well the dubs didn't invent it , that's what I'm saying and jumbo ye can't have a spring series with out all of us being involved. It's not just the dubs that draw the crowed"]Well it's certainly not Kerry that draw the crowd to Croke Park for the Spring Series, their fans don't turn up till the Championship starts.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 11/10/2016 16:31:41

€25 into Croker for Paddy's Day - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Micklow:  "I use to live near Arsenal's stadium in London. They knew attendance would be low at some League cup games and so, they would sell tickets for a tenner. Word got round and instead of playing in a less than half-empty stadium, the stadium would be at capacity. People that never went there before, had the chance to experience it. We are trying to promote our games domestically and Internationally. With so many visitor's to the capital, tomorrow would have been an ideal platform to do this. But again, it seems the people at the top of our organisation neither have the clout nor business acumen to do this. Big group of my friends are going into Dublin tomorrow and wouldn't mind watching the football but not for €25. The stadium will be empty, like every Paddy's day."
There were 32,000 there last year and just under 30,000 in 2015. Hardly 'empty' for what is effectively 2 club games. More than your average league game.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 16/03/2017 11:47:12

Ulster Boys making all the Noise on the Hill - 3 Like(s)

Replying To MonsFreshPrince:  "Ulster's Ultras have sworn to take the Hill. Pascal Sheehy...RTE News...The Auld Triangle, Dublin"
Cringe..

GaaGaa78 (National) - 01/08/2017 15:59:44

Dublin unreachable - fact or fiction? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Given their financial , marketing and population power economic advantages and thus the weakening state of rural Ireland I think its impossible for most if not all to compete realistically with Dublin over any length of time. Sure in a one-off game they can and will get caught but if we look at 3, 5, 10 year intervals they will be dominant in each going forward and I don't think the situation is going to better for the rest of the country unless there are significant changes brought about by the GAA. I dont think 1 team dominating for the next 50+ years is healthy for the game in general"
With all this financial, population and marketing power etc etc etc, how come we're not dominating at inter county level hurling?

GaaGaa78 (National) - 04/04/2017 15:59:47

Liam Rushe setting a fashion trend ? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Imagine if a Mayo player wore ankle socks...social media would implode."
You mean just like Twitter did yesterday for a Dublin player. Articles on independent.ie etc. Only happens to Mayo though of course...

GaaGaa78 (National) - 29/05/2017 20:16:54

Leagues over, now bring on the zzzzz........ - 2 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Oh boo hoo more whinging If ye don't like it go watch other sports that run that way. People whinges when league was on that it means nothing, if there was an Olympic sport for whinging this country would be odds on for good."
People are entitled to their opinions. No need to be so rude and condescending.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 26/04/2017 09:21:44

Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To redhanddefender:  "Whatever you want to call it it is what it is! Tough luck, where were all these dubs throughout the year!"
Where were they? Supporting their team as they always do. I'm sure there's plenty of Tyrone fans that didn't get tickets also but sure it's ok to charge people 3 times the price in your eyes so you've no issue with that I suppose.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 09/08/2017 16:07:25

Minute Silence - 2 Like(s)

Replying To wfkerry:  "I think its an absolute disgrace that the Gaa are going cutting the minutes silence to 20 seconds have a bit of respect for the person who have passed on its not all about money or TV rights everything about the Gaa right now is professional except the poor players who give their life to the cause not forgetting all the volunteers at grass root level.. I minute of their time is not too much to ask more than likely it will go from 20 seconds to 0 i think very soon they will have to remove the word amu"
Surely the fact they're showing respect in the first place is enough. Does it matter whether it's 20 seconds or 6? Respect is still being shown. Far better chance of it being impeccably observed the shorter it is too.

GaaGaa78 (National) - 28/03/2017 15:03:58