UK Forum

Popular Posts from Soma

Never Heard Of Him! - 8 Like(s)
It's amazing to see someone so proud of their ignorance. I always got the impression you only started watching football around 2003 Ulsterman, nobody would expect you to know of a fine footballer who played in an All-Ireland final before then.

Soma (National) - 15/07/2017 14:42:33

Galway v Tipperary - 6 Like(s)
An outstanding game of hurling between 2 teams who have demonstrated everything that is great about sport in general and hurling in particular. 2 teams who fully believed that they had the skill and ability to beat their opponents in a full blooded battle. 2 teams managed by gentlemen and who reflected this in how they played the game and accepted victory and defeat. Anyone who wants to talk about the referee after a game like that is probably better suited to watching reality tv where they can boo the pantomine villain. Ireland does not know how lucky it is to have events like this to savour each summer.

Soma (National) - 06/08/2017 23:01:42

Monaghan V Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To monaghanmad:  "I remember the super 8s game in saltill, Shane walsh was taking frees and the whole stadium rang round in jeers and boos, I think he missed a few that day too walsh. Some of the Galway supporters were amazed and disgusted at the monaghan supporters booing walsh taking the frees. I just thought that they were so soft after that, if only some of the Galway supporters were in omagh that year and seen the abuse Mc manus was subjected to from the crowd and even Murphy in the ulster final that year or any ulster final. It was a whole different mindset where monaghan supporters thought it was natural to support their team by jeering whereas the Galway supporters wanted a minutes silence. In essence that is the reason why we have the resilience to stay in div 1. Hopefully the clare, offally, and roscommon players don't say anything to the poor lad from the aran Islands next year or else he will never come on the mainland again!!!!"
I'd admire the Galway supporters for that, there is a difference between supporting your own team and jeering or abusing the opposition. The Galway supporters haven't made anything about the refereeing in the build up to the Monaghan goal on Sunday either, considering it was the vital moment in the game they would be well entitled to be on here moaning about it. Maybe it's this type of thing that sees Galway teams and their clubs as contenders most years for most of the All-Irelands there to be won.

Soma (National) - 18/06/2021 16:41:48

Well done RTE - 5 Like(s)
Not often RTE get praise on here but they should be applauded for deciding to televise the 5 remaining games in senior camogie this year. The players are long overdue this type of recognition and anyone who cant see the football this Saturday due to it being on Sky will at least have the chance to watch what should be 2 very competitive camogie games. Lets hope its a sign of better things to come.

Soma (National) - 04/08/2017 12:31:19

Would AOS or COC be a Dublin regular? - 5 Like(s)
If Eoghan O'Gara is good enough to make it then there are a huge amount of footballers in the country good enough to make it.

Soma (National) - 20/09/2017 14:44:24

Elite Sport - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "All your posts boil down to you being a rugby man on a GAA site. GAA's your second sport whereas GAA is the NO 1 sport in Ireland. We had to wait our turn unlike other more privileged sports."
GAA isn't Killing Fields 2nd sport at all. The posts he is putting up here under the AfricanGael username show what he thinks of GAA, I don't know why he is given so much attention.

Soma (National) - 09/05/2021 17:24:13

'The People's Game' - 5 Like(s)

Replying To keeper7:  "Possibly...mocking our association, no doubt."
Generally the 2 games are referred to as bogball and stickfighting on rugby forums. I think there are some sectors of society embarrassed about the GAA and the role it plays in Irish culture, which is why adds promoting Ireland don't include the sports and also why it is not played or even banned in some schools.

Soma (National) - 19/03/2018 14:17:36

Lions 2021 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Nice trolling Soma. Thought you were better than that"
Sure my post is mainly repeating what Tony Ward wrote in his column, I don't know how you could consider it trolling unless you think TW himself is using his piece in a national paper to troll? If there is something you disagree with in the post challenge it, I think your meek response suggests you acknowledge it is fairly accurate though. AfricanGael might come in to debate it with a bit more gusto hopefully.

Soma (OtherSports) - 04/08/2021 09:22:40

Monaghan v Longford - 4 Like(s)

Replying To border Gael:  "See this been a very one sided affair. We will be trying to get back on track and have a very strong and experienced team."
Should have had more faith in yer lads, ye ended up giving them a really good game! Well done to Longford, another excellent win for them and hopefully they start getting the credit they deserve. I'd imagine an evening like this evening would be cherished more by them than any silverware they might win in a B competition.

Soma (National) - 09/07/2016 20:12:05

Gordon Kelly: Facing 3 Month Ban - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I didn't say anyone was a "true Gael" note quotation marks. Merely that if it even existed I believe Gavin would hold the virtues of such. You've simply misunderstood something Not to worry.. it happens. Perhaps I wasn't clear enough. That could well be the case. No harm. You see that's the trouble. If it was Connolly Id be able to provide you with multiple clips in slow mo from various angles.. but this incident happened last weekend and it'll be the first time many people have even heard of it.. Selective condemnation and all that"
If Diarmuid Connolly scored a brilliant individual goal in a summer championship game it would also probably have far more replays and tv angles than a Clare footballer doing the same in a February league game. If anything this shows the disciplinary system may be working fairly across the board - 2 players not red carded but reported afterwards for minor interference with an official and banned for 12 weeks. You should enjoy your well earned success and not be looking for conspiracy theories around every corner.

Soma (National) - 15/02/2018 19:02:47

NFL Division 1 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Aibrean:  "5.13 To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a Match Official.. PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS - (i) Order the offender off by showing him a Black Card."
You didn't mention he was aggressive, and clearly the referee didn't think he was aggressive either. Rule 6.1 says if a player challenges the authority of a referee, linesman or umpire then he should be given a yellow card. It's amazing how many people think they know the rules better than experienced referees who are examined on these things every year.

Soma (National) - 10/02/2020 23:09:33

Advice Needed - 4 Like(s)
I have no idea about Navan or Tralee but Meath and Kerry posters are plentiful on here and can surely help? This place is gone a bit weird that even the posters request gets 2 red thumbs. Enjoy the trip anyway Martin, you have a bit of driving ahead of you but should get 2 good games.

Soma (National) - 21/01/2020 14:14:37

Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan - 4 Like(s)

Replying To JayP:  "Look, Andy's a decent lad and no doubt he had a moment of madness. Nobody died, very little in it. But there was very little in the Connolly incident and he was made out to be a hothead, and demonised. Certain analysts made it their business to hang him out to dry. The same guys didnt feel the need to quote from rulebook last night. Last year I said that this was only enforced as it was Dublin, and Connolly! If the GAA are transparent in their enforcing of the rules Andy Moran needs to get a 12 week ban. I dont think he deserves it, but a precedent was set with Connolly last year and it would be unfair not to enforce the rules because people like Andy."
A Clare footballer is currently serving a 12 week ban for squirting water at an umpire. A Tipperary footballer got a 12 week ban last year for knocking the book out of a referees hands. There is no big Dublin conspiracy, it's just rules being applied.

Soma (National) - 19/03/2018 11:21:31

Clonkill - 4 Like(s)
I think this thread should be closed. Most of the posts have wrong information in it and some posters are now telling a club what the right way to deal with unimaginable grief is. The decision had to be Clonkills alone and their decision was to play last night. They put in an extraordinary effort in the circumstances and deserve the respect of everyone. Well done to Ballyboden on their win and the solidarity they showed in the build up and on the night.

Soma (National) - 07/11/2018 10:28:27

Inter County Player Failed Drugs Test - 4 Like(s)
I know from my time that taking Nurofen Cold & Flu tablets could be enough to fail a drugs test. But if I was going to bed at night with a bit of a cold and had to do a day's work the next day on a building site I would take them anyway if that was all that was in the house. There is no good excuse for professional sports people to be getting done for drugs, but I'd have real sympathy for an amateur whose first priority is to make a living at his job. I don't know what happened here, I'd be amazed if it was a lad deliberately cheating but I can well understand why he wouldn't bother contesting the ban at his age, I'm sure it wouldn't be cheap to start into that. The good news is that these tests are happening and must be a good deterrent for anyone who would consider doping just for improved performance.

Soma (National) - 29/04/2020 21:23:53

Joe Canning for Hurler of the Year - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Media hype this year is farcical. He hurled for 10-12 mins max against Tipp and he was Galways worst player in the first half. He got three fantastic scores but missed at least 3 easy chances in the first half. He was outscored this year from play by Niall Burke. He certainly wasn't a playmaker either. If he was then Galway would surely have scored more goals. I still stand by the fact that I don't think he can get an all star based on what I seen this year."
The biggest moment arguably of Galways season was in that first half when Canning put in a huge hit on Breen, sending him out over the sideline. Canning then put the sideline cut over the bar from 60 yards. It was a real statement and I don't think there is another hurler in the country who could have done it, but Joe gets measured by different standards by many.

Soma (National) - 20/09/2017 11:46:44

What's going wrong with Ulster teams? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To seanfinn:  "It was not competitive though. It does not matter if the game was lost by 3 points or 13 points. They lost. End of story. Competitive would say the winning streak was broke. It wasn't. I don't see a big difference in how any of the top teams play in the last few years...Maybe Mayo are a little more traditional at a push. Ultimately they all defend in numbers frequently and have cynical play throughout. Dublin are just a bit better than Kerry, Mayo. By current form, I would throw my own county, Donegal and Tyrone in there. As an Offaly supporter I expect you have more concerns than Ulster football."
So you wouldn't say Monaghan have been competitive with Dublin in the league in recent seasons?

Soma (National) - 19/04/2017 21:34:33

Irish Rugby Must Look To GAA's Top Talent For A Brighter Future - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bad.monkey:  "I agree with some of your post but you cant say it is Rugby that is a closed shop when clearly there are several non fee-paying school players on the Irish Team and players from all religions, political and social backgrounds. But yet there are no Unionists on any county Teams - even in counties where they are in a majority !... Doesnt seem that it is rugby that is the closed shop?"
When was this survey of the politics of all intercounty players completed?

Soma (National) - 05/11/2019 16:19:49

Michael Duignan on Sky coverage and the GAA - 3 Like(s)

Replying To mon:  "Is it just me or is it that Sky are showing more games live this year? Out of the next 12 televised games, Sky are showing 8. I cant remember it being like this in the last few years."
After this weekend Carlow will have had live games shown on Sky twice this summer. I wonder in total how many times a Carlow game has been shown live on RTE, in either football or hurling?

Soma (National) - 12/07/2017 18:15:30

2021 6 Nations - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "He had a contract with Connacht and lost it for wide range of reasons. His performances dropped considerably from a highpoint when Connacht won the league and he was better for changing to a new environment//team. It isnt that difficult to understand why it was a struggle initially for Niyi to get a contract or that his contract wasnt renewed with Connacht and that he had to leave. He wasnt good enough when cut from Leinster u19s and it was only with the excellent work Tony Smeeth, Hugh Maguire, did with him in Trinity that he progressed to get a contract with Connacht. He did very well with Connacht but his performances dropped off and he didnt deserve a contract over others who were preforming better than him in Green. Pat Lam took a chance on him when he signed him back in august on a short term deal until the end of the 19/20 league season and then that was extended. He wasnt better than the options in other provinces is why he didnt get a contract in Ireland before Connacht took a punt on him"
To believe your version of events I would have to dismiss Pat Lams. I woukd also have to believe that Connacht have a number of wingers on their books who would all be first team regulars for Bristol, the runaway leaders of the English premiership. I presume you can see the difficulty there?

Soma (OtherSports) - 22/04/2021 09:45:59