All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Tickets for both terraces back on sale earlier. Don't think any stand came back. Good take up from Dublin so there'll be about 17 of us.

What time is kick off :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 23/06/2023 07:56:35    2488533

Replying To midlands:  "Assaulting an elderly man after a game is horrific in any circumstances, and thankfully I haven't seen anything like that. However, having a train stopped due to fighting is not purely a Tipp issue - offhand I can recall two similar instances after GAA matches You've ignored the other part of my question. Have you seen supporters from other counties fighting among themselves, indulging in racial abuse or "saying vile things"? I certainly have, but maybe you see only what you want to see.

Years ago, I was seriously assaulted on the streets of Dublin because I was carrying an O'Neill's football. On other occasions I was told "go home ya f**king culchie" simply because I was carrying a hurley. Do I have a problem with Dublin people because of that? Certainly not, and in fact I have high regard for the overwhelming majority of Dublin GAA people, and especially their hurling followers who must be among the most loyal and dedicated supporters in the land. We can all invoke incidents from our own past experiences but even if we are still scarred by the memory of such events, maybe we should keep our thoughts to ourselves and refrain from labelling a particular county because of the anti-social behaviour of a minority.

You don't need to apologise to me because you did not offend me personally, Countyman, but it's clear that you offended Tiobraid, one of the most honest and fair-minded participants in this forum. I also believe that you may have offended the sense of fair play of the many decent contributors to these discussions."
I was in Athlone once and got beaten up when they heard my accent because they still blame Dubs for starting the Rising in 1916 and eventually leading to the closure of the town's main industry - the British barracks :-0

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 23/06/2023 08:10:22    2488537

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Can anyone summarise the last 2-3 pages for the uneducated?"
Lads get very offended by other people calling out other people, in this instance Tipp GAA, for their attitude towards racism during the course of a bit of intercounty slagging.
And some lads don't like a fella they never met for what he posts on an anonymous forum, and he couldn't care less whether these lads he never met like him or not.
Does that cover it Exiled?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16580 - 23/06/2023 08:11:47    2488539

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I was in Athlone once and got beaten up when they heard my accent because they still blame Dubs for starting the Rising in 1916 and eventually leading to the closure of the town's main industry - the British barracks :-0"
: D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16580 - 23/06/2023 10:01:30    2488577

Replying To daveboy:  "Clare v Dubin Johnny Murphy
Galway v Tipp John Keenan"
John Keenan is probably the best ref to let it flow so Tipperary and Galway will have the makings of a classic if Galway can bring the physicality that they brought to the All-Ireland Semi Final last year, and we know Tipperary under Cahill are well able to take care of themselves in the physicality stakes.

If feel Johnny Murphy will spot the little infringements that happen in every game so I would expect a more start stop kind of game, plenty of frees, yellow cards etc. I hope a red card doesn't decide this game both sides need to be careful

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 193 - 23/06/2023 11:05:09    2488593

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Tickets for both terraces back on sale earlier. Don't think any stand came back. Good take up from Dublin so there'll be about 17 of us.

What time is kick off :-)"
There'll be a few neutrals shouting on the Dubs you can be sure of that.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 23/06/2023 11:34:40    2488604

Replying To Viking66:  "Lads get very offended by other people calling out other people, in this instance Tipp GAA, for their attitude towards racism during the course of a bit of intercounty slagging.
And some lads don't like a fella they never met for what he posts on an anonymous forum, and he couldn't care less whether these lads he never met like him or not.
Does that cover it Exiled?!"
Great!
I'm not a Garda detective and couldn't follow the debate. It read like Brick Tamlin in Anchorman "I don't know why were yelling this much"

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1437 - 23/06/2023 11:58:36    2488614

Replying To daveboy:  "There'll be a few neutrals shouting on the Dubs you can be sure of that."
My Tipp cousins at least. No lovers of Dublin but, well... I don't need to go any further :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 23/06/2023 12:07:51    2488621

Anyone else find it funny how in terms of style of play alot of people were suggesting hurling was in existential crisis during the league and now a few weeks later people are suggesting the game has never been better.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 24/06/2023 10:25:27    2488757

Lets be honest this was a poor game made close by Galway trying to lose it. They were 15 points a better team. Makes you wonder about Liam Cahill teams and how they can be completely flat on a given day. Of course he is trying to blend old and new. The only ones who can do that is the cats.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3137 - 24/06/2023 20:27:52    2488906

Lets be honest this was a poor game made close by Galway trying to lose it. They were 15 points a better team. Makes you wonder about Liam Cahill teams and how they can be completely flat on a given day. Of course he is trying to blend old and new. The only ones who can do that is the cats.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3137 - 24/06/2023 20:34:45    2488910

Replying To Premier28:  "Tipp v KK final
Tipp to win"
Looooool

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 24/06/2023 21:21:31    2488931

Replying To Canuck:  "Lets be honest this was a poor game made close by Galway trying to lose it. They were 15 points a better team. Makes you wonder about Liam Cahill teams and how they can be completely flat on a given day. Of course he is trying to blend old and new. The only ones who can do that is the cats."
yes, poor finishing by Galway especially. The pundits talked Tipp up for 2 weeks.
I couldn't believe this was the team they were on about.
They were terrible today. so much for the experts.
I don't care for modern hurling as much as when lads were marked.
Galway have much to improve on though.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1759 - 24/06/2023 21:35:26    2488940

Back weekend for Dublin and Tipperary...maybe better luck next year.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2667 - 25/06/2023 01:15:10    2488981

Replying To Canuck:  "Lets be honest this was a poor game made close by Galway trying to lose it. They were 15 points a better team. Makes you wonder about Liam Cahill teams and how they can be completely flat on a given day. Of course he is trying to blend old and new. The only ones who can do that is the cats."
Honestly I disagree. Tipps goalie made it close. It was always going to be a close match due to it being Galway vs Tipp but that TIPP GOALIE was awesome.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2596 - 25/06/2023 01:37:54    2488982

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "yes, poor finishing by Galway especially. The pundits talked Tipp up for 2 weeks.
Galway have much to improve on though."
The all Ireland is weird.... I don't think Musnter as a whole had been as weak since the late 00s, I do think Leinster is great either but if I had to rank the teams it's Limerick clear no.1 and then Galway/Kilkenny 2 and 3 and the rest of the teams are God awful, I don't think Galway and Kk are wonderful but still better than the rest of them, I don't think I've seen as weak a group of pretenders ever.....if those munster teams couldn't beat Limerick now, there's no hope for them.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 25/06/2023 04:20:25    2488986

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "yes, poor finishing by Galway especially. The pundits talked Tipp up for 2 weeks.
Galway have much to improve on though."
Yes Tipp terrible and Galway as usual trying to find a way to self destruct but how bad are Offaly who Tipp trounced last week.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2538 - 25/06/2023 04:21:45    2488987

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Looooool"
LRH, even Sheehy and other Prominent Tipp Hurling, Nicky English were talking up this Tipp team. Like you, I could not see where all that optimism was coming from. There was an interesting full page Article in yesterdays Irish Examiner. Written by a Tipp man, it posed the question 'Why do everyone Hate Tipp?'. It may be due to the fact that they can gt so cocky, when they have little to be cocky about.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4517 - 25/06/2023 09:27:01    2489010

If we shoot like we did yesterday in the first half, kilkenny will be out of sight by Halftime. Scoreline flattered us at HT as the dubs defence opened the door and let us run through at ease.
We can't afford a drop off

That game could be the making of Galway.

Hard to call the finalists at this stage .

Good things to come from yesterday.
Not having to listen to P28/Thurles blue anymore

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 127 - 25/06/2023 09:41:05    2489015

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "The all Ireland is weird.... I don't think Musnter as a whole had been as weak since the late 00s, I do think Leinster is great either but if I had to rank the teams it's Limerick clear no.1 and then Galway/Kilkenny 2 and 3 and the rest of the teams are God awful, I don't think Galway and Kk are wonderful but still better than the rest of them, I don't think I've seen as weak a group of pretenders ever.....if those munster teams couldn't beat Limerick now, there's no hope for them."
Nice attempt at a wind up. Few of ye from Wexford these days with too much time on your hands

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 25/06/2023 09:58:44    2489018