Replying To Viking66: "Only the arrogant ones OTM; )" I know, I know,- as they in Wexford, Shure it is all only a bit of THERM.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4517 - 21/06/2023 16:20:35
Replying To Cockney_Cat: "Highjacked? What are you on about? By far, the most comments on here are from Limerick people, compared to any other county. Maybe you should look a bit closer to home when you start spouting nonsense about 'highjacked'." Would you agree with me now?
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 21/06/2023 17:03:40
Replying To Viking66: "If you visited our threads you would know Countyman isn't afraid of being offensive to Wexford people either!!!!" Okay Viking does that give him the green light to be offensive to other counties. You yourself are one of the best posters on any thread and the Wexford thread but you constantly keep making excuses for this poster. Like he winds people up. Yes he is entitled to his opinion but to most everyone else he is rude using a mild term. I call him the clown that is somewhat offensive but could use worse. He started off by berating Ballygunner, their players and then the useless standard of Waterford club hurling who just happen to have the second best club team in the country. ( no alligance to them either) He then has gone on to suggest that we are the dirtiest county playing and the only ones who get players sent off. Now he has moved on to Tipperary because we are no longer on the radar. You and your county men are better than this. I like most is feed up with this subject and this poster. Please all, do as I am and don't engage directly with him. That does not mean he gets away with being called for his nastiness.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3137 - 21/06/2023 17:40:07
Replying To countyman2022: "I have seen Tipp men strike an elderly man leaving Croke Pk. After roaring in his face and he trying to walk away from them. I've seen them wreck trains after matches which had toi be stopped. I've seen them fight among themselves behind the terrace in Thurles. I've seen them racially abuse a player. And I've heard them say some very vile things throughout matches. Have I seen a Westmeath person ever do any of the above? No. Nor a Kilkenny man or a Limerick man,. I am not preferring what I see or hear, I am telling you what I have seen. I don't belive this is racism no. And I agree with you on points most Gaa people and counties all over Ireland give us positive experiences." Countyman, I will ask you just one question, and whether you answer it or not I'll leave it at that, because it seems clear to me that you're the one with the agenda: Have you never seen so-called supporters from any other county indulge in any form of the misbehaviour you've listed? And yes, I have seen "supporters" fighting among themselves, I've heard racial abuse and "very vile things" from people from several counties, including my own, but it's not my place to label any county because of that. Tipp have a small minority of followers who have let down their county but from my experience they are no different to any other county. You seem to think differently and I have no intention of trying to change your opinion.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 619 - 21/06/2023 18:28:23
Replying To countyman2022: "I have seen Tipp men strike an elderly man leaving Croke Pk. After roaring in his face and he trying to walk away from them. I've seen them wreck trains after matches which had toi be stopped. I've seen them fight among themselves behind the terrace in Thurles. I've seen them racially abuse a player. And I've heard them say some very vile things throughout matches. Have I seen a Westmeath person ever do any of the above? No. Nor a Kilkenny man or a Limerick man,. I am not preferring what I see or hear, I am telling you what I have seen. I don't belive this is racism no. And I agree with you on points most Gaa people and counties all over Ireland give us positive experiences." OMG. I never going to go to a tipp game again, even though I been to a lot of tipp games and always had a good time.
Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 177 - 21/06/2023 20:51:17
Replying To countyman2022: "I have seen Tipp men strike an elderly man leaving Croke Pk. After roaring in his face and he trying to walk away from them. I've seen them wreck trains after matches which had toi be stopped. I've seen them fight among themselves behind the terrace in Thurles. I've seen them racially abuse a player. And I've heard them say some very vile things throughout matches. Have I seen a Westmeath person ever do any of the above? No. Nor a Kilkenny man or a Limerick man,. I am not preferring what I see or hear, I am telling you what I have seen. I don't belive this is racism no. And I agree with you on points most Gaa people and counties all over Ireland give us positive experiences." OMG. I never going to go to a tipp game again, even though I been to a lot of tipp games and always had a good time.
Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 177 - 21/06/2023 20:51:27
Replying To Canuck: "Okay Viking does that give him the green light to be offensive to other counties. You yourself are one of the best posters on any thread and the Wexford thread but you constantly keep making excuses for this poster. Like he winds people up. Yes he is entitled to his opinion but to most everyone else he is rude using a mild term. I call him the clown that is somewhat offensive but could use worse. He started off by berating Ballygunner, their players and then the useless standard of Waterford club hurling who just happen to have the second best club team in the country. ( no alligance to them either) He then has gone on to suggest that we are the dirtiest county playing and the only ones who get players sent off. Now he has moved on to Tipperary because we are no longer on the radar. You and your county men are better than this. I like most is feed up with this subject and this poster. Please all, do as I am and don't engage directly with him. That does not mean he gets away with being called for his nastiness." Tbh Canuck I try not to take offense to anything posted on this. It's only a forum. It's good for information and debate, and sometimes a bit of craic. But it's nothing too serious. And so shouldn't be taken too seriously.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 22:24:19
Replying To Canuck: "Okay Viking does that give him the green light to be offensive to other counties. You yourself are one of the best posters on any thread and the Wexford thread but you constantly keep making excuses for this poster. Like he winds people up. Yes he is entitled to his opinion but to most everyone else he is rude using a mild term. I call him the clown that is somewhat offensive but could use worse. He started off by berating Ballygunner, their players and then the useless standard of Waterford club hurling who just happen to have the second best club team in the country. ( no alligance to them either) He then has gone on to suggest that we are the dirtiest county playing and the only ones who get players sent off. Now he has moved on to Tipperary because we are no longer on the radar. You and your county men are better than this. I like most is feed up with this subject and this poster. Please all, do as I am and don't engage directly with him. That does not mean he gets away with being called for his nastiness." Tbh Canuck I try not to take offense to anything posted on this. It's only a forum. It's good for information and debate, and sometimes a bit of craic. But it's nothing too serious. And so shouldn't be taken too seriously.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 22:25:34
Replying To countyman2022: "I have seen Tipp men strike an elderly man leaving Croke Pk. After roaring in his face and he trying to walk away from them. I've seen them wreck trains after matches which had toi be stopped. I've seen them fight among themselves behind the terrace in Thurles. I've seen them racially abuse a player. And I've heard them say some very vile things throughout matches. Have I seen a Westmeath person ever do any of the above? No. Nor a Kilkenny man or a Limerick man,. I am not preferring what I see or hear, I am telling you what I have seen. I don't belive this is racism no. And I agree with you on points most Gaa people and counties all over Ireland give us positive experiences." You could say the same about a lot of counties. to say all this about one countys fans and say its not happened with any other countys fans is spite driven by an agenda.
KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3789 - 21/06/2023 22:47:40
And there ye were, thinking that it was bad enough for the Americans to be beating Irish counties in the Gaelic football. Well, we're also well primed now to take over the hurling world as well. Americá Abú!
https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/gaa/1228147/us-minor-hurlers-to-make-history-with-blitz-in-limerick.html
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 22/06/2023 03:23:09
Replying To Canuck: "Okay Viking does that give him the green light to be offensive to other counties. You yourself are one of the best posters on any thread and the Wexford thread but you constantly keep making excuses for this poster. Like he winds people up. Yes he is entitled to his opinion but to most everyone else he is rude using a mild term. I call him the clown that is somewhat offensive but could use worse. He started off by berating Ballygunner, their players and then the useless standard of Waterford club hurling who just happen to have the second best club team in the country. ( no alligance to them either) He then has gone on to suggest that we are the dirtiest county playing and the only ones who get players sent off. Now he has moved on to Tipperary because we are no longer on the radar. You and your county men are better than this. I like most is feed up with this subject and this poster. Please all, do as I am and don't engage directly with him. That does not mean he gets away with being called for his nastiness." 1.) Stated Ballygunner are a Superclub taking players from all over the city and also clubs outside of the city as far as Cheek Point. You disagreed with these facts and had a go at me. 2.) Pointed out the amount of red cards and discipline issues Waterford have had over the last number of years. Also very true but you had to have a go at me over that also. 3.) Described some of my experiences with Tipperary Gaa Supporters. Nothing to do with Waterford being no longer on the radar because they finished bottom in Munster again.
Canuck, you quite simply continue to have a go at me as you do not seem to like the facts I point out or want to believe them. It is not me you need to be having issue with.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 22/06/2023 09:15:31
Replying To midlands: "Countyman, I will ask you just one question, and whether you answer it or not I'll leave it at that, because it seems clear to me that you're the one with the agenda: Have you never seen so-called supporters from any other county indulge in any form of the misbehaviour you've listed? And yes, I have seen "supporters" fighting among themselves, I've heard racial abuse and "very vile things" from people from several counties, including my own, but it's not my place to label any county because of that. Tipp have a small minority of followers who have let down their county but from my experience they are no different to any other county. You seem to think differently and I have no intention of trying to change your opinion." I'll be honest midlands, I have not seen supporters from another county assault a man in his 80's leaving a ground nor have a train stopped on the tracks due to fighting. It's not an agenda, its pointing out my experiences. Sorry if that has offended you in some manner. I would not say its a minority of their supporters, I would go slightly further than that.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 22/06/2023 09:18:45
Replying To foreveryoung: "And there ye were, thinking that it was bad enough for the Americans to be beating Irish counties in the Gaelic football. Well, we're also well primed now to take over the hurling world as well. Americá Abú!
https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/gaa/1228147/us-minor-hurlers-to-make-history-with-blitz-in-limerick.html" Is not entirely appropriate FY that they play their first in the finest Hurling County in Ireland.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4517 - 22/06/2023 09:58:20
My brother was at the 01 he was 11 and an elderly man slagged him off. I was at the 19 game and there was a 6 or 7 year old was crying and a tipp supporter laughed in his face. There are decent people in tipp but there is also some … tiobrad I believe you are one of them but ya get them in all counties.
Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 22/06/2023 11:10:13
As regards the games this weekend have the referee's been appointed yet??
I think Clare will be tested against Dublin because the Dublin half forward line has been playing well. I do however feel that the Clare engine room but will ultimately have too much for Dublin in the last 10 min, and Clare should win the match with at least 5 points to spare, setting them up nicely for a crack off Kilkenny in the Semi Final.
As regards the the Tipperary and Galway match I would find it hard to separate them. Tipp have been very impressive and devastatingly good in patches but have also faded out of matches for spells and been punished. If they fade out Galway could punish them.
I think Galway have been inconsistent during the round robin but could afford to be. I think they were building towards a Leinster Final and could easily be Leinster Champions now, only for the last play of the game where 9 times out of 10 the ball may well have been cleared out. However their is no better team to test Galway backs then Tipp in full flight.
This has the makings of a classic I just hope we don't get a whistle happy referee that will turn it into a free taking contest.
Best of Luck to all counties taking part and for those travelling hope you have an enjoyable day out in Limerick
LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 193 - 22/06/2023 16:10:08
Replying To LimerickandProud: "As regards the games this weekend have the referee's been appointed yet??
I think Clare will be tested against Dublin because the Dublin half forward line has been playing well. I do however feel that the Clare engine room but will ultimately have too much for Dublin in the last 10 min, and Clare should win the match with at least 5 points to spare, setting them up nicely for a crack off Kilkenny in the Semi Final.
As regards the the Tipperary and Galway match I would find it hard to separate them. Tipp have been very impressive and devastatingly good in patches but have also faded out of matches for spells and been punished. If they fade out Galway could punish them.
I think Galway have been inconsistent during the round robin but could afford to be. I think they were building towards a Leinster Final and could easily be Leinster Champions now, only for the last play of the game where 9 times out of 10 the ball may well have been cleared out. However their is no better team to test Galway backs then Tipp in full flight.
This has the makings of a classic I just hope we don't get a whistle happy referee that will turn it into a free taking contest.
Best of Luck to all counties taking part and for those travelling hope you have an enjoyable day out in Limerick" Clare v Dubin Johnny Murphy Galway v Tipp John Keenan
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 22/06/2023 16:43:17
Can anyone summarise the last 2-3 pages for the uneducated?
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1436 - 22/06/2023 16:49:21
Replying To countyman2022: "I'll be honest midlands, I have not seen supporters from another county assault a man in his 80's leaving a ground nor have a train stopped on the tracks due to fighting. It's not an agenda, its pointing out my experiences. Sorry if that has offended you in some manner. I would not say its a minority of their supporters, I would go slightly further than that." Assaulting an elderly man after a game is horrific in any circumstances, and thankfully I haven't seen anything like that. However, having a train stopped due to fighting is not purely a Tipp issue - offhand I can recall two similar instances after GAA matches You've ignored the other part of my question. Have you seen supporters from other counties fighting among themselves, indulging in racial abuse or "saying vile things"? I certainly have, but maybe you see only what you want to see.
Years ago, I was seriously assaulted on the streets of Dublin because I was carrying an O'Neill's football. On other occasions I was told "go home ya f**king culchie" simply because I was carrying a hurley. Do I have a problem with Dublin people because of that? Certainly not, and in fact I have high regard for the overwhelming majority of Dublin GAA people, and especially their hurling followers who must be among the most loyal and dedicated supporters in the land. We can all invoke incidents from our own past experiences but even if we are still scarred by the memory of such events, maybe we should keep our thoughts to ourselves and refrain from labelling a particular county because of the anti-social behaviour of a minority.
You don't need to apologise to me because you did not offend me personally, Countyman, but it's clear that you offended Tiobraid, one of the most honest and fair-minded participants in this forum. I also believe that you may have offended the sense of fair play of the many decent contributors to these discussions.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 619 - 22/06/2023 18:52:54
Replying To Oldtourman: "Is not entirely appropriate FY that they play their first in the finest Hurling County in Ireland." Sure OTM, success recognizes success. We wouldn't have it any other way, nor indeed darken the door of any other stadium. I hear that we'd be so stuck in traffic at PUC that we'd never make it back to our beautiful land of the free and home of the brave, and that we'd want to be very brave altogether to venture into Tipperary, never mind Thurles, given the reputation of their supporters that I am recently reading about on here. As for CP, I hear that there's no atmosphere there anymore, only when Limerick play there, and we Americans, we love our bit of atmosphere; try attending a baseball game at least once in your lives, if ye don't get what I mean.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2347 - 22/06/2023 20:35:22
Replying To LimerickandProud: "As regards the games this weekend have the referee's been appointed yet??
Best of Luck to all counties taking part and for those travelling hope you have an enjoyable day out in Limerick" Ref for our game is your own Johnny Murphy. He reffed our final against Cats two years ago. Can't recall much of him. Which is usually a good sign!
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 22/06/2023 21:30:01