The media and mainstream politics differ little from the "far left" on most issues. As proven by all of the key measures that have been passed over recent years, They've even folded to far left on their latest trans gender proposal.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 21/06/2023 08:18:46 2488011 Link 0 |
Was removed early enough yesterday. It seems its as bad calling someone a racist as it is being a racist these days. And before you start jumping down my throat for saying that I'm saying that as a half Asian lad myself.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 08:33:40 2488014 Link 0 |
Yes WD you will get clowns anywhere. In the the closing stages of the '19 Munster Final as Tipp supporters were leaving, as the game was in effect over, a group of clowns from my own county starting singing 'Cheerio'. They were all, as far as I could see Season Ticket Holders, and should have shown more respect to the Tipp supporters, but they were an even bigger disgrace to the colours of the their own proud hurling county. Significantly, among them they were a few lads, who seemed almost as old as myself. I am attending LK games with about sixty years and I am sure I never saw any of them lads at a LK match. It just goes to show the kind of clowns a team can attract when they are going well.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4517 - 21/06/2023 09:20:45 2488025 Link 2 |
I will apologise, however I must stress there have been a number of incidents involving said county over the years. Not sure why it is always them. However, sorry Tiobraid. There are a number of Tipp posters here including a wild pundit however that would not be a great representation of the county.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 21/06/2023 09:22:45 2488026 Link 1 |
They're unreal Viking. Basically deflecting and standing up for it.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 21/06/2023 09:44:42 2488029 Link 0 |
I'm sticking with Galway and Clare to win this Weekend. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2667 - 21/06/2023 09:58:54 2488034 Link 1 |
The post you put up said Tipp GAA not Tipp people as far as I remember it. I know many Tipp people aren't racist from my own experiences going to games and bike shows and pubs around Tipp. I've numerous friends there and have spent numerous weekends in Tipp drinking. The best craic I ever had watching an AI final was in Sullivans in Kilsheelan in 2010, apart from 1996 obviously. I was one of the 4 who liked your post after deliberating about it for half an hour. The reasons I ended up giving it a like were as follows- 1- At the time the remark was made to Lee Chin noone in the crowd of good GAA folk at the game seemed to have an issue with it. The only lads who did were Rory and the players. 2- Tipp GAA issued a stock statement and said there would be an investigation but claimed the lad in question was nothing to do with them..... 3- Since the incident they haven't even stated exactly what happened at the time. Was the lad even thrown out the grounds? What procedures did they put in place since to deal with future incidents like it? Are their stewards now instructed to eject patrons for racist remarks? Or not? Is this "investigation" still ongoing or is it going the usual way stuff like this is dealt with? Omerta and carpets? All that seemed to have been said after the incident was that the lad wrote a letter of apology to Lee Chin and got a ban. 4- the lad apologised which is only right. Same as you have done for what was a pretty blunt post! But he wasn't even named and shamed by Tipp GAA. Is this because they lied when they said in their initial statement that he was nothing to do with Tipp GAA? Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 11:00:24 2488062 Link 0 |
If GAA clubs and counties "named and shamed" every eijit that shouted abuse at a player, they'd need be doing nothing else, And if they abandoned every match where some eijit shouted abuse at a player or official from the sideline, few of them would ever end. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 21/06/2023 11:14:56 2488068 Link 2 |
Not much of an apology, in fairness You say "There have been a number of incidents involving said county over the years. Not sure why it is always them." That suggests that Tipp are the only county that have been involved in such incidents. Some of your felllow county men have been honest enough to admit that the player involved has been racially abused within Wexford but it seems you don't want to know about that. Surely you must realise at this stage that every county has been let down by a small number of clowns over the years. Posters from Wexford, Limerick, Tipperary and probably other counties have been big enough to acknowledge this, but you're implying that it's just Tipp when you say "Not sure why it is always them."
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 619 - 21/06/2023 11:30:37 2488074 Link 3 |
The match shouldn't have been stopped early. That eejit should've been caught by the scruff and ####ed out on the street. If you are abusive in a pub or nightclub that's what happens to you. And why wasn't he named? What are they hiding Barney?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 11:39:32 2488083 Link 0 |
The match shouldn't have been stopped early. That eejit should've been caught by the scruff and ####ed out on the street. If you are abusive in a pub or nightclub that's what happens to you. And why wasn't he named? What are they hiding Barney?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 11:40:06 2488084 Link 0 |
He doesn't like Tipp maybe? He doesn't have to.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 11:41:41 2488086 Link 0 |
You might notice how I said 'number of incidents'. Not just this type of incident. There has been quite a few I have witnessed. Some grotesque. I am not saying it does not happen with any other county.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 21/06/2023 11:43:19 2488087 Link 0 |
There a difference between racism and abuse. There is also a huge problem in deflecting away racist incidents.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 21/06/2023 11:44:22 2488088 Link 0 |
I'll let you know I'm a great representation of my county and the wider gaa community. I'm involved in coaching with my club both boys and girls u8 to u14 and also ladies football. I devote 6 days a week to my club for nothing.One thing I coach is respect for fellow players, officials and other management teams. I also coach other coaches as i am a level 3 certified coach. Just because you don't like that I called you out again you continue to have a go at people from Tipp. Your apology is pathetic by the way to Tiobraid. You have no basis what so ever to say I'm a bad representation other than its your personal opinion which I am perfectly OK with. Freedom of speech analogy again is it?
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/06/2023 12:05:55 2488100 Link 1 |
Abuse is abuse. Racial abuse is wrong. So is calling young Dublin hurlers the current "k" word that is doing the rounds. a common insult I've heard from lovely people from elite counties. The word being used as a description of working class Dubs in this case.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3688 - 21/06/2023 12:32:40 2488113 Link 0 |
The 'k' word? Genuinely have not heard that or know what it is. A new term?
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 21/06/2023 12:47:14 2488117 Link 0 |
No its an analogy of what I have seen from that county on numerous occasions. More so than any other county and I attend games in all provinces almost weekly. Not just my own. I have been around the block, I am just saying it as it is. I am sorry to Tiobraid. Genuinely.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 21/06/2023 12:49:37 2488118 Link 0 |
Therein lies the nub of the main problem facing the wider GAA community going forwards Barney. If the lad who racially abused Lee Chin was from a housing estate in Clonmel instead of being a "local businessman" would his face have been blanked out in the papers and would he have been named by Tipp GAA? Playing numbers are down across the country especially at underage. Clubs are having to amalgamate at underage and its only a matter of time before this trend starts occurring more and more at adult. The GAA needs to make a bigger effort at being genuinely inclusive as regards class, background and race. And tackling abuse would be a good place to start. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16577 - 21/06/2023 13:05:49 2488127 Link 0 |
I know there are a handful of fans in each county who tarnish the reputation but we're not all on the same page as those people. Every county has them. If by your opinion Tipp have more then anyone else that's your opinion but I beg to differ. Its easy to put one county above the rest if that's our perceived preference. Anyone can do that. I've had many personal experiences with fans of other counties too but I don't say that one is worse than the other because a few people have said or acted inappropriately at games I've attended. I'm certainly not one of those fans you label me I actually quite enjoy conversing at matches sitting in the stand with opposition fans about how the game is going etc. Some are more approachable than others I will admit depends on how game is going etc but I'm not in that category of fan you belive I belong to. Just for the record. Now over and out I'd prefer a hurling conversation and not hijack this thread any longer.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/06/2023 13:07:26 2488130 Link 1 |