Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from blackspot91

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 8 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Congrats Tyrone hard luck Mayo, in truth no one gave Tyrone a prayer. That curse is a real curse its in Mayo's head. Tyrone enjoy your crown."
No one gave Tyrone a prayer is a ridiculous statement.

blackspot91 (National) - 11/09/2021 19:10:39

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 4 Like(s)
It's amazing how Tom Morrisey seems to have this ability to 'quietly' score 5 or 6 points in a game. How he wasn't man of the match is beyond me. He always does something positive against the run of play when we need it most. He has such a defiance about him. It's like he gets angry when things aren't going well and demands the next score. With out a doubt the hurler of the year so far in my mind.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 09/08/2021 13:54:19

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "All the "money", "unfair funding", "population" cannot be blamed for a team not having the ability to kick very scorable chances and frees. Meath shooting is shocking and adds weight to the GAA's view of counties looking at their own coaching of basic skills. Today's match shows something beyond "unfairness" is an issue in Leinster. Cutting Dublin's €1.3million will not result in other teams having the basic skills to compete overnight. What has happened a big, successful, traditional county like Meath? I'm afraid the GAA are correct when questioning coaching practices in some counties. You cannot blame Dublin for this!"
So your saying, because coaching is poor in other counties, the GAA should continue to fund Dublin far more than other counties.. makes sense. It's not like extra money will help counties produce more skillful players or anything..

blackspot91 (National) - 23/06/2019 17:52:50

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To e45lotion:  "Declan Hannon has just come on for Adare ... Some lads had the wrong info it seems."
Impossible... Fedamore77 assured us he was out for the year!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 14/05/2017 18:53:25

Allianz Hurling League Prediction Thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "Limerick win, well done to them. I am not a fan though. I think they were "gifted" an All Ireland last year by the GAA hierarchy. Galway had lots of matches with dubious reffing and lots of draws and extra time coming into the final. Also All Ireland ref last year, James Owens is not Galway hurlers favourite ref by any stretch. Joe Canning was flattened last week - and did not receive a free. He is out now for 3 months or so."
Nobody take this bait..

blackspot91 (National) - 31/03/2019 17:03:30

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "I think Murphys form has noticably dipped the last couple of seasons. Padraic Mannions point hit the top of the cross bar. He almost cost KK last year vs Wexford and P Mannions point came off the top of the cross bar on Sunday. Hes still one of the best but not the best anymore in my opinion."
Yeah, don't know how he was considered better than Quaid last year to get the all-star..

blackspot91 (National) - 04/05/2022 09:36:11

2021 Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "" but glad to see neutrals think ref was very harsh on limerick" Sorry CTGAA10, I must be missing something, but could you point me to all these 'neutrals' who think the ref was very harsh on Limerick?"
Michael Deignan for a start bur did you want him to name everyone?

blackspot91 (National) - 08/08/2021 05:32:25

Dublin-The elephant in the room - 3 Like(s)
elephant in the room? every second thread on this is about dublin football.. yawn

blackspot91 (National) - 07/07/2016 09:18:33

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I think Flanagan's downfall was being sent off against Wexford. Yes he did pick up an injury or two along the way but i think his confidence took a knock after Wexford Park. I certainly wouldn't drop Casey or Mul. Two of the hardest working players in the game. To be the devils advocate, if I had to drop someone it would be Tom Morrissey. I thought he had very poor first 35min in at least three Championship games this year. Then he has very strong finishes albeit when we are reasonably well ahead. Problem is Flanagan is a full forward line player as are Mul & Casey?? Our cover for the half forward line has very little game time. If Hayes, Hego or Morrissey picks up an early injury we could be in trouble. We know Dowling has a serious impact in the last 20min. He isn't a 60 - 70 min player. Boylan, & Reidy have very little Championship experience. David Dempsey seems to have fallen off the radar a bit. Am I correct when I say that Hayes & Morrissey have started every Championship game since JK took over? And I'm pretty sure all from the half forward line too. So if KK took Hegarty out of it in the first 5 min we could be in bother."
Tom was excellent throughout the munster final. Won a lot of ball and set up 2 goal chances for gillane and hego (which should have been taken) in the first half by winning difficult ball, looking up, and delivering excellent passes under pressure with incredibly quick hands. Something cian lynch failed to do in the same position. I think Tom is just as nailed on as anyone. Just because all his scores were in the second half, doesnt mean he did nothing in the first..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 24/07/2019 11:25:33

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To fedamore777:  "Reply to Daveboy I agree that Hannon is a class player but he doesn't have the steel needed for centre back I believe his position is corner forward. I think we all struggle tomorrow, we will lose centre field, Galway have a good half back line s our half forward line will have to be on their game. Galway are playing a more direct style this year and I fear our full back line and half back line will do well to break even. Limerick will need everyone on their game to win. But with Ryan and Mulcahy on I fear for us."
All this talk of hannon lacking steel or aggression... it's not the 90s! What great stealy 6 do clare have or even tipp! I wouldn't look at ronan maher as this big aggressive stealy man, just a great hurler with a brain. Besides I remember hannon smashing joey holden in croke park and other similar moments. If ye were talking about a lack of ability or physical attributes or something like that fair enough but to write it off because of a state of mind is crazy. Its urgency thats needed and I've faith in hannon to get stuck in in the heat of championship battle and make good decisions and he has all the ability to execute well. I also am 100% sure that kiely (even without all the access) know more than you lads... All that's ever talked about on here these days is flaws. Sick of it. I happen to have a good feeling about this year. Maybe not win anything but I reckon we'll have a simian year to waterford a couple of years ago. I believe in our players and management. Maybe it's blind but F it.. it's just sport and sport is all about fans blind faith!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 25/03/2017 14:34:53

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To flyinghigh:  "We are after beating Laois and Offaly.The despondency after Laois and elation after yesterday are out of order.We lost every game of importance last year.That defined our year.Let us judge this year on how we fare when the really important games come round.Are we going to get a different tune out of basically the same players? i think not.."
what a stupid post. Why is it when fans are chatting about a recent match on a forum that there has to be some superior voice to explain to us that championship is more important than league etc you don't need to tell anyone what matches are important. just because it's not championship doesn't mean we can't chat about if the team is going well or not. I'm pretty sure no one here is judging our season on these games but we can't see into the future so relax and allow us to talk about the here and now and how the team is going please. as for your last sentence, If youre suggestion that a young team that had several young debutants last year (lads with buckets of underage achievement) are incapable of improvement, then you don't know anything about any kind of sport, or just common sense really..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 06/02/2018 17:00:56

2021 National Hurling League - 2 Like(s)

Replying To skirge7:  "Something need to be done about the distance someone can puck the ball. A free is a point now. A unchallenged puck of the ball is a point. Scoring is way too high and not enough tackles. Everyone is at the gym every week now. Either make the ball heavy, the ball less aerodynamic or the hurleys lighter. Watching Limerick is so boring. The best game today was the two worst teams on TV - Antrim v Wexford. 90s was peak hurling."
Why boring? You bored of watching them win?

blackspot91 (National) - 06/06/2021 08:37:04

Kildare Maintain Underage Superiority In Leinster - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "But but the financial doping, population, Bertie's millions, referee decisions blah blah blah. How can it be that Dublin have been beaten by Kildare? I mean Dublin is a province isn't it? I mean that's the narrative isn't it? The millions upon millions of euros invested in Dublin. What's going on? This is impossible isn't it?"
Just because 15 17 year olds beat 15 other 17 year olds, doesnt mean the criticisms of Dublins advantages are null and void. I dont think amyone said it was impossible for any Dublin team to lose. You're strawmaning the argument.

blackspot91 (National) - 07/07/2019 07:34:00

Best and worst grounds - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ZUL10:  "I was really impressed with Pairc ui Caoimbh today. Its Croke Park standard inside and out but really contains the atmosphere. Pity about the location."
I think PUC is Disappointing. Bog standard geometric Stadium design. Absolutely no innovation or individualism. Most of it is the same as the old design from the 70s. Could have gotten a better architect surely. Seems like a stadium that would only be build in Ireland these days. Aviva and thomond park are the best stadiums in Ireland design wise.

blackspot91 (National) - 23/07/2017 07:37:05

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbob50:  "Big ask of Dan and Barry on the FB line against very experienced class tip forwards, we really need the lads to keep the tipp goal tally to a minimum, yes I know that's obvious but won't be easy Tipp and KK forwards have always been more goal focused than Limerick teams over the years, I do think last Sundays game will stand to them. I would prefer flannagan or dempsy to start before Peter in this game for an extra high ball option especially given the weather prediction sounds like pretty passing hurling might not be an option this weekend, I hope Peter scores goals and I have to eat a shed load of humble pie. As always this should be a cracker, strange not being at the games, but so glad they are giving us something to cheer for the year that's in it. Best of luck lads and also to the footballers. Congratulations on promotion. Luimneach abu"
Peter is actually pretty good in the air for his size. Anyway, a corner forward shouldn't need to be tall if the ball in is good and it usually is. I get the horses for courses thing but, the way I see it, he is a better player than Flanagan and Dempsey so he starts.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 31/10/2020 12:04:02

Football Championship 2021 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Bejaysus if Dublin had beat Meath like this there'd be an outcry!"
Because Dublin have advantages. If a county without major advantages does it.. fair play to them!

blackspot91 (National) - 25/07/2021 17:59:56

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To McFan88:  "Yep - anyone watching Limerick club hurling over the last few years has been waiting for Casey to catch fire the way he did yesterday. He's been the best club forward in the county for a few years but hasn't always shown it for Limerick - great performance. Delighted to see Barry Nash come on and do well (although O'Loughlin must be disappointed) and also a massive well done to the Limerick minor team. Cathal O Neill is the standout performer in that group but others like Adam English, Pat Raele, Pat O'Donovan and Aidan O'Connor look to have a great chance of joining the senior panel in the coming years."
Ya, I may be biased as a limerick man but I still think Nash has the potential to be a starter on that team in the next couple of years if he keeps the head down, keeps working hard and improving. I was just thinking, the names of our 'main players' often touted around would be hannon lynch hegarty and gillane, and rightly so, but for me, kyle hayes is heading towards superstardom. Unbelievable what hes doing out there at 20 years of age. The complete package.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 01/07/2019 11:51:36

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Westfester:  "Every player did well after the sending off but Graeme Mulcahy and Seamus Flanagan were on a different level both in attack and as 1st line of defence."
and to think there's posters here who questioned if Mulcahy should even be on the panel. Player like him was never gonna thrive under previous management. Now hes finally getting the license to show the country how good he is.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 03/06/2018 10:50:47

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 2 Like(s)

Replying To M Lyster:  "The entire country needs to go to level 5 but the All Ireland Championships are still going ahead? Something not adding up here."
Not necessarily.. it's a tiny percentage of the population doing an activity in a highly controlled environment and the government recognises that its ability to give people a lift during a difficult time outweighs its risk. It doesn't have to be all or nothing... there are other exemptions too..

blackspot91 (National) - 20/10/2020 05:04:46

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Mads:  "Interesting comments by Jackie Tyrall this week. His predictions were generally on the money last year. He thinks clare, Galway and Tipp are ahead of us for the Liam McCarthy this year. He did say he wants to see more league games but he feels our lads are going too well for this time of the year. He basically thinks we'll run out of steam. Hard not to listen up to a fella that has won so many medals I personally think john Kiely is really trying to strengthen the team and the panel by introducing new lads. The introduction of a few new players is the best way for the team to keep improving. Still a little bit worried for the backs. Paddy O'Loughlin apart, the rest are the same for Kilkenny tomorrow. 1 or 2 injuries and we're in a bit of bother."
The man is a walking contradiction. He says stuff like he really likes what Clare are doing AT THE MOMENT and hence puts them in the top 3 in the country yet we are not contenders because we are doing well now? Cant have your cake and eat it Jackie..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - 17/02/2019 10:22:24