Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from PatOLogical

HS Readers' Hurling Team Of The Year - Defenders - 5 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "2.Conor Prunty, 3.Daithi Burke, 4.Aidan Harte 5.Padraig Walsh, 6.Tadgh De Burca, 7.Padraig Mannion"
while grief is a necessary part of healing and recovery, when it may be time to seek counseling when it eats away at your soul for too long. But, take heart if counseling does not do the job.. a brand new season and new reasons for despair are just around the corner.. Hope you will find some solace in those words while digesting the Christmas pudding.

PatOLogical (National) - 22/12/2020 11:30:22

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Heftydickonem:  "My point was all these points have already been made over and over and he comes in a spews out stuff we've heard pages back with little relevance to discussion that preceded his post So I'll address them again The bottom line is it was a sending off of fence and Hogan got sent off - yes, most on here agree All the whataboutery and other bullsh1t about fellas being astounded by the red card is of no significance other than to create a bit of a smokescreen for the collapse - this is nonsense, there was a post describing the shock in the stadium since no one expected the sending off (incidentally on TV they did not either) This has no bearing on whether or not the red was warranted, but to suggest it is a smokescreen is Jim Corr level stuff Kilkenny had their chances in the first 20 minutes to be 6/7 points up and didn't take them - they went 5 points up, were the better team for 17 minutes of the 33 that elapsed at the time of the sending off. Tipp had a enjoyed a purple patch from 17 minutes to the sending off. It was far from game over already at 33 mins before sending off Disappointing the way Cody came out with his stuff about Owens taking to long as I would prefer if a referee used all the time and advice available in order to make the right call and that's what he done - I suspect this is more about how exactly did Owens come to that decision rather than the length it took, of course you want a free to take the time required to make a correct decision but it was clear in the stadium that neither he or his linesman saw or reacted to it. So, the question about how they decided on the sanction has implications for every county Similar daft attempts by Tyrell and Shefflin to say it was this and it was that. It was a red. End of and the referee got it spot on - Yes the rules were applied in this case, whereas they hadn't been all season or the previous seasons. Tyrrell and Shefflin could have handled the situation much better by admitting with the rules applied in this instance Hogan can have no complaints, but highlighted the inconsistency in the application of the rules Probably deflected some of the attention from the pointless tactics of constantly knocking in high balls and hoping for a miracle - yes, as has been discussed for pages now, Kilkenny's tactics in the second half were completely ineffective All been dealt with before, around and around we go"
I'll summarize so ,Kilkenny had their chances to be more ahead and missed more than you would expect. Cody said Owens took a long time to make up his mind and you would want to be sure before sending a player off,so ,no, it wasn't about how he came to the decision. Rules being applied will never be consistently applied as we regularly see from league to championship and referee to referee,that's par for the course. There's no case to be made for Hogan but a lot of attempts being made to make the whole episode a bit greyer."]Yes a lot of attempts being made to the episode greyer. It could also be inferred that what we are witnessing is is the Kilkenny propaganda machine in full swing (no pun) in trying to influence media and refs, and gullible public. The entire post All Ireland dialogue s being swallowed up in this smokescreen, ad nauseum. Perhaps we could avoid all of those with a simple amendment to the rule book, stating "All GAA rules apply to counties EXCEPT kILKEENY. "Rules do not apply to Kilkenny and should henceforth be ignored and dispensed with. That's where this whole jibberish is heading. To drive this point home let's put Eddie Keher out there in his "Sunday best telling us "what a lovely lads Richie and the boys are" and should be exempt from any punishment for reckless, endangerment. This has been my view for well over a decade.. and written about on here several times. . Now can we talk about that brilliant artisty of Nall O'meara in engineerint the goal which, as someone else pointed, out was the real pivotal point in the game. Change the discourse lads ,ye were beaten at ye're own game. And Jesus wept..

PatOLogical (National) - 22/08/2019 03:15:15

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "I think it is bullying and iv contacted the Lynn media group to complain. My views are genuine . That a poster can get away with reposting my posts about a completely different topic is wrong. The moderator should take them down. Im screenshotting the page and I ll take it further if necessary. I'm posting about hurling here not politics . Politics is separate."
Bullying indeed. Its ironic that some joker can make a mockery of the forced starvation of over a million and a half people, and be highly offended when they are called out on it. Moderator indeed pls take note. BTW crossposting between forums is a frequent occurrence. Or maybe just another classic case of Murphy's dog: "great to give it but he can't take it.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 03/06/2021 22:19:01

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "A referee must call fouls instantly when the incident is in his line of vision. Their is no need to consult with any other officials on what you saw and what you called. If you need to verify that what you saw in front of you, was what you saw,then you do not belong with a whistle in your mouth. Consult yes when things out of your line of vision are brought to your attention."
The biggest infraction, foul, injustice or whatever you want to call is not the referee's consulting with his officials. The greatest here is that a team and management group who are above reproach were chastised and disciplined. The rules are for other teams only. What else can be understood manager says he is not interested in players who will die for him, only interested in players who will kill for him. There is an unwritten and carefully cultivated "license to assault " has been at play for decades and it needs to be addressed before serious injury results.

PatOLogical (National) - 20/08/2019 17:49:00

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Clubgaa:  "I cant believe that Kilkenny are appealing the red card. This needs to stop. Its one thing the player believing that he was not at fault and did'nt deserve his red card but now the county board are dragging the sorry saga out longer then needs be. For a county that has been great for the game and the game has rewarded them well over the years they are making a bad call here. The incident happened, the ref made the correct call and the best team in Ireland this summer are the All Ireland champions. Move on."
... or as Mr Jackie T , himself would say: they(Kilkenny ) are making a too much of meal out of it,

PatOLogical (National) - 22/08/2019 12:24:25

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "One of the few who cant wait for our terrible National anthem.. I think they should replace it with the Sunday Game theme tune...Dah Dah da da da da.."
What?? Jokester? Or are you calling from another planet, such as Mars or Uranus?

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 16/05/2019 23:14:38

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "What about Colin Ryan he is another who should be to be recalled to the panel too a fine hurler."
Absolutely he should be brought back if still fit and ready. The incident a rush of blood after a whirlwind, exhausting and mentally draining few days in New York. I realize the other 35 did not get into an altercation burt maybe they weren't exposed to the same silly flashpoint. Hypocrites on here will preach and condemn from on high and mighty perch ignorance and anonymity. Colin Ryan always made things happen for Limerick when introduced. I would welcome him back!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 18/04/2021 00:51:45

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "Sarcasm my friend. I felt barrett got away with murder, should have got the line, a fella you'd never give the benefit of the doubt to. Richie was billing, went in to lay him out with a shoulder no doubt about it, but ends up catching him in the puss with the elbow instead, red card all day long. Ruined the match as a spectacle but sure that's how it goes. But to listen to Jackie Tyrrell last nite trying to defend it was painfull, shefflin I wouldn't expect any different from to be honest. I'd expected more from jackie though, always came across as a guy who talks sense. Maybe Cody might have to start blowing the whistle in training from now on."
"Maybe Cody might have to start blowing the whistle in training from now on. " Agree with the above comment...so many ways the incident can be taken. Was it in Jackie T's book or somewhere else I read that "Brian Cody" isn't interested in players who will die for him, he wants players who will kill for him". . Maybe the incident will force Croke Park will take a more active role in eliminating the "back-alley-mugging " that has become accepted part of the game, with the explanation of "they're all doing it". Would it still be OK if it was your son, daughter or brother? KK should have no complaints with the call by the referee because they have been doing that for decades and then couching it with comments like "le the game flow", it's a physical game". , no one should be put off, because no one got killed" ", or " it ruined the momentum of the game ", etc. approach to the great game. Pathetic also to hear certain pundits try to muddy the waters and explain it away. Yes, a new whistle for Brian Cody, should definitely be on top of Santa list. "Live by the sword, die by the sword"

PatOLogical (National) - 19/08/2019 16:19:36

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Would you give over. Every team in the country has players who get sent off. Human nature is the same everywhere and doesn't change with county boundaries. You've a 'pathological' hatred of Kilkenny. Those type of phrases about killing are common in all sports don't take them literally. For example Johnny Giles quoting a football manager 'would he kill his granny?'. For an uncompromising player. Bill Shankley 'football is not just a matter of life and death, it's more important than that'. Try Compromise Rules against the Aussies for some serious clothes line tackles etc. Here's a nice Limerick/Clare hurling brawl for you.. https://youtu.be/4nOmN6G3XXY Here's the Limerick county final 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ic_QMP3YYDY"
I'm over it and agree with you 100% that every team in the country has players sent off. Why then can' t was Richie dismayed (oustretched arms) and why was s Brian Cody "amazed " by referees decision and why are heroes of yesteryear trying to put an inocent spin on hat was essentially a mugging. RE rule highlighted at he beginning of the year that any strike or any attempt to strike at he head is a red card. Eddie Brennan whoudn' t have lasted 5 minutes in 07 All-Ireland ..jabbing a 19 year old Seamus Hickey through facemask and causing him to be stretched on the ground . ( Accidental? I think not.... ditto..Stephan Lucey) What's amazing is that Fast Eddie is now pontificating about proper decorum on Sunday game and twitter. That' s what is amazing today.. that's the power of a squeaky wheel with access to a microphone. Eddie is very vocal to the point he may be campaigning.. "Get on with it".. Indeed!! I agree with you again.

PatOLogical (National) - 20/08/2019 18:54:10

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Douglas_44:  "How many times did Ger canning and Kevin McStay mention "Jack McCarthy" and "James McCaffery"? At one stage in first half, McCarthy had the ball and passed to McCaffery, Canning said "Jack McCarthy, inside to the other Jack, Jack McCaffery"! Did anyone else notice this? Very annoying!!"
Obviously, Ger Canning has an uncle who is a Bishop or an aunt who is Reverend Mother with strong influence in the broadcast booth. His entire varnacular and cadence is much more suited for a flower show than a fast-paced hurling or football match. He mentioned at one point that Kerry are trying to prevent a 5 -in-- row. Ever hear of Seamus Darby ?? "Oh Dear!" .. Put him in a corporate box, out of the way,the from here on. We the viewing public deserve better.

PatOLogical (National) - 01/09/2019 22:35:24

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PremierGold:  "Not at all its your money! I dont know lads I think there is a feeling in Limerick that all yer geese are swans, this guy will come in and do that, they have injuries so this , if that fellow does this it will mean that, I have seen less question marks in a game of trivial pursuit!! There is also an implication that Tipp were flat out 2 weeks ago in Thurles which was far from the case. I think Limerick simply have to win on Sunday after the pressure they have places themselves under but I can still see the Rolls Royce overpowering the Citroen myself. Then its off to Croker where this Tipp team always play 5-6 pts better! Ye have to win on Sunday lads......whose driving the Citroen?"
Just consider, what if Tipp's "high energy " race has been run with 4 wins in a row and the serious stuff hasn't started yet. Horses for courses and all that... They may be riding home in the senior citizen's bus on Sunday, instead of the Rolls Royce. Will Tipp be staying in Limerick hotels on Saturday night to conserve as much energy as possible after long journey to Gaelic grounds ? Thanks for the laugh.. we'll "g'up (show up) anyway! Come On Ye boys In Green!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 24/06/2019 17:44:31

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Is the extent of Richie English's known yet nothing has been confirmed from the Limerick camp wether it's long term or will he be back during the season surely he would have gotten a MRI by now. If English is out for the season options could be a straight swap for either Aaron Costello or Tom Condon to replace him ,Condon would probably be ahead of the Costello but come championship time in good weather on hard ground I would fear for Tom Condon marking an Alan Cadagan or a Bubbles O'Dwyer, Or move Mike Casey to the corner and move Dan Morrissey to full back or I would be open to trying out Barry Nash full back."
Very sorry if Richie English indeed is out lon-term. Would consider him to be an unsung hero who covers his own position and shows up up to help clean up across entire back 6 . Hope he's back soon.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 21/02/2020 02:51:53

Promoting our National Pastime and Player Burnout - 2 Like(s)
To Croke Park: CC: GPA How can we seriously pretend to be concerned with player welfare when we the busiest, most demanding time of the year for our young players is late January to end mid-March. When will we stop asking them to play 4-6 games per week in the worst possible weather. This is nothing short of sheer lack of respect for the effort players are putting in in today's game. I cite Gearoid Hegarty in below example due to familiarity but condition exists for all 32 counties(Fitzgibbon, O'Byrne, McKenna Cup ,etc) and is for the most part met with a no more than a token comment until we tall ourselves out and go away for another year. Let's have the Croke Park committee STAND in uncovered stand for one or two games each weekend and perhaps it will give them a "fresh" perspective if not a severe case of the sniffles. Let's show some serious respect out young players by making August, September, October our busiest months . Frorm Hogan stand today Feb 17 Limerick GAA star Gearoid Hegarty is in the middle of a hectic schedule at the moment. Hegarty lined out for UL in their defeat to IT Carlow on Wednesday afternoon, while he will be in action for the college's football team as they take on UCD in the Sigerson Cup semi-final on Friday. Should they be victorious, they will play the final on Saturday afternoon in the Connacht GAA centre. On Sunday, Hegarty is expected to line out with the Limerick senior hurlers as they take on Kerry in the Allianz NHL Division 1B clash at the Gaelic Grounds. The 22-year-old is vice-captain of the senior hurlers and an integral part of the county side. PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts:657 - 17/02/2017 10:33:56   1957672

PatOLogical (National) - 17/02/2017 11:27:42

Galway V Limerick - 2 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "A good and important win for Galway today. Score 26 points to 1.17. Solid performances all round. Cathal Mannion, Niland, Niall Burke and in defence Ger McInerney all played well. Limerick looked a bit unfit, some really big men eg Aaron Gillane trundling around a bit. Anyway onwards and upwards for the match against Tipp next week."
"Limerick looked a bit unfit, some really big men eg Aaron Gillane trundling around a bit." You forgot to mention a couple of classy points by Gillane after coming on......keep on trundling.

PatOLogical (National) - 17/05/2021 11:54:09

2021 Hurling Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Why is everyone still talking about the "antics"? Antics or no antics those incidents would hurt any man. I havent heard one Tipp man say the incidencts cost us the game but also I havent heard one Limerick man say Gillane and Flanagans antics are getting worrying. They both have been involved in multiple sending off incidents over the last couple of years. Is that not a worry? If you're going to keep dragging up these incidents then discuss them as a whole and not concentrate on the opposition."
Barrett's antics are the source of the annoyance. It has also been noted that he almost "needed a saddle to get up on Gillane's back from the time he came on. "sauce for the goose" and all that, my friend, but thanks for showing up on the Limerick thread, try backing off on your customary negativity. Cheer up...NEXT YEAR!

PatOLogical (National) - 22/07/2021 18:45:34

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To blackspot91:  "I'm suprised at how little has been mentioned about hegarties performance. Immense. When was the last time a Limerick half forward did that much damage. 3 spectacular scores. If a tipp or galway forward played like that people would be on their knees. Won frees, won an amount of ball, set up a goal chance. It's crazy that 2 other limerick players were higher in the pecking order for man of the match. And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field."
Blackspot comment re Hegarty, so very true: "And it's not so long ago that people were questioning his hurling ability or his position on the field." Several comments on here saying he is not a forward, "what's wrong with Kiely trying to make him a forward., some even said he's not a hurler, and should not be on the panel. Some of same people said Quaid is not good enough for goals and only there because he's a Kiely favorite....look at that flick again, I'm still replaying it... and his accuracy with puckouts going to Limerick forwards or backs ......( (Eoin Murphy move over) Casey not good enough for fullback.. ask Galway , Tipp , Clare, Clare,(Conlon did fare well but would have done as well against Finn McCool) , Kilkenny, and Cork.. Dan Morrissey not fit for the team (after slipping on wet surface in inintial game ve Tipp and beaten by none other than Seamus Callanan.. but Kiely persevered with Dan and.....who was man of the match v Kilkenny and also a powerhouse v. Cork Declan Hannon ... "not a center back and never will be...what's wrong with Kiely??" , or "cleaned out against Cork" according to one poster in past few days on here- WHILE IN FACT HE cleared a mountain of ball , placing forward beautifully in the process, while at the same time sitting deep to cut off supply to Horgan at full ...TL forward.. did not just happen...this was planned. The other Morrissey.. "does not have it, should not be on there." How now? Gillane... "does not have the intensity to be on the team" How now? (Michael Duignan .. )look closer when you talk of him "dropping the hurley " and observe Kilkenny or Cork actually holding his hurley... but then Micheal is probably till taling about Kilkenny and Cork , "mistakes" rather than Limerick's ability. Brave Michael, it seems can now do 180 degree piviot in his commentary, faster than Nadia Comaneci or Olga Korbut in their hayday) Graham Mulcahy.... "too small ...too light , can't believe he is even on the panel". How now ? 80% improvement in his scoring given change in supply of ball he gets.... turn , twist shimmy, duck, feint as good or better than Joe Deane. in his hey day... ( also now, reminiscent of his clubmate Shaughs) Shane Dowliing : 1-4 tally after coming on in 58th minute.. I recall one highly revered poster informing us a few years ago at end of league that " Dowling won't even be on the the championship panel when it is announced" .. So much for thos who would have us believe they have "God's ear" . Anonymity allows for boundless courage!! Pat Ryan, Mike Casey ... cool efficiency under pressure when coming on in last few games.. Sorry if I omit someone from winners circle. Single greatest attribute of this team that I see is , coolness under pressure and refusing to blink. Long may it continue. Great team performance.. has to be result of talent combined with vision and foresight to pick a panel who can perform at high intensity and then introduce subs who can deliver 2-6 when introduced. Well done to team and to John Kiely for not only his own management style but also his insight to surround himself with backroom capable of complementing him. Am still trying to digest that we are in an All Ireland final in less than 3 weeks and waiting to to see who our opponent is . This did not come about by accident. Great to hear our young men speak with such coolness and maturity which even some some of the most cynical pundits have noted, as in, "We are not coming up to march behind the band." Well said by Dan and Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Gearoid Hegarty, Aaron Gillane, Declan Hannon. Come On Ye Boys In Green

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 02/08/2018 14:01:22

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "While I rarely like what you post, this is possibly your best post ever on HS; this one did make me laugh. Even your poor spelling doesn't distract from the humor. LMFAO."
Thanks for your opinion, "teacher" Likewise I have taken glossing over feeble attempts at relevance by you and Derek McGrath. Where are you chiming in from today ... Tokyo,Florida...Mars?

PatOLogical (National) - 16/05/2022 15:17:00

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Yer wan Gránna Mcillwhine was egging up this type of 'analysis' afterwards too, and was heard to ask the daft question at one stage 'were Galway overconfident?'. What a daft notion, after the NHL campaign Galway put in this year, and the generally underwhelmed reaction of the Galway fanbase & the broader hurling fanbase to it."
Grainne, is a very impartial moderator IMO..it's her job to ask questions that will invite further comment and discussion. Fact is Galway did everything but gift wrap the 1 point share of the points yesterday,IMO. So don't blame Grainne ,the ref or diretionof the wind. Ye wrestled defeat from the jaws of victory...end of... no more whinging...

PatOLogical (National) - 17/04/2022 21:12:45

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Westfester:  "You are not alone there. Pity PsychoIllogical is slow to get the message. Hypocrisy doesn't earn anyone respect."
2nd member of the "omniscient trio" checks in.. The group of 3 whose posts would have us believe that they just off the phone from giving the lineout and game-plan to John Kiely and co. . 3rd member of this omniscient trio can't be far behind. Or, to put it another way: "Those of of you who think you know it all are ruining it fir those of us who do". Re Limerick - Look forward to seeing a lot more of Paddy O' Loughlin and Aaron Costello in coming weeks. The have been solid performers when introduced , IMO only.(operative word, IMO ) Come On Ye Boys In Green.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - 30/01/2020 11:14:20

Limerick Hurling thread 2024 - 2 Like(s)
Score pre throw-in: Galway 0-8 Limerick 0-0 Same as last year .. Limerick will start every season game 8 points down plus or minus , except for All- Ireland final 2023 when we won by 9 points due to 1st decent ref.. John Keenan. Reason reffing , media, prejudiced pundits and Croke Park obsolescent back- office - way overdue for a makeover there. New championship season.. same old shenanigans by the begrudgers Not fair to young men who give so much of their time and effort. Galway lucky to NOT get 3 red cards # 5 , #11 and 1 other? Henry will be very pleased with today's reffing. Red card to Shane O'Brien dubious.. who could see through the crowd xcpt for the Clareman but probably red card. Free against Gearoid and yellow card? .. for what?? How many times do Limerick players have to turn the other cheek? Looks like Limerick are still seen as intruders in the parlor of the big three and a few more now. .. Long may it continue PS Galway need to learn to behave themselves. PSS: Have since been informed that 3rd Galway RED CARD coulda, shoulda,woulda been to their #8.

PatOLogical (National) - 19/03/2024 22:25:59