Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from updwell

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 11 Like(s)

Replying To Tod:  "Neither is safe in my opinion but at least with a pub its the persons business and living, people play GAA as a hobbie so it can and should be cancelled fir the year"
Look Toddy your talking nonsense, your 19 times more likely to get Covid indoors than outside-no comparison in other words. You might not understand but a lot of people enjoy hobbies and pastimes to make their lives more enjoyable and worthwhile. This lockout of sporting crowds will have little or no effect on the overall fight against Covid, if sporting crowds were the issue I would 110% support this but it isn't.Focus on nursing homes, lowly paid close contact job's , pubs, Direct Provision and house parties and that's where the problems are.

updwell (National) - 18/08/2020 22:11:41

Anti GAA Agenda - 8 Like(s)
There's nobody in the media calling for the Irish rugby team or the provincial rugby teams to stop playing. Italy are playing Ireland at the weekend and Ireland is heading to France after that- that's a lot of moving around and rugby is a true close contact sport unlike GAA where its more bang-bang.And what about provincial rugby where Munster have had 2 Covid outbreaks already, do they not have family and vulnerable relatives the same as the GAA players.

updwell (National) - 21/10/2020 12:01:03

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 7 Like(s)
Well done to Cork for honouring great Irish men who had to die for all our freedom. There comes a time in the history of all nations where the ultimate sacrifices are required to set people free from tyranny. In Ireland at the moment there is large section of society who want us to apologise for Irish people having to fight and kill and die for our freedom. Every nation on the planet has had to do this at some stage and they should all honour these heroes and they do. To not honour all these people is disrespectful and selfish and this is not to disrespect the defeated but we shouldn't have to apologise for our patriots.

updwell (National) - 22/02/2020 19:06:09

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To FoolsGold:  "It's not the size of the venue which is the problem. It's people carpooling to games, congregating before and after games.."
Your right Foolsgold 4 or 5 white vans passed me this morning with 2/3 men in front wearing high viz jackets probably on their way to a match, I saw 10 workers outside a hospital congregating having a fag probably on their way to a match and I passed a convenience shop with men getting their breakfast rolls having a chat outside probably going to a match aswell.If we stop 100 fans going to a game in the fresh air the virus will disappear-yesterdays list of actions are sure to stop the spread of Covid.

updwell (National) - 19/08/2020 14:17:48

National Hurling League 2022 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Rockies:  "If Putin invades, he'll take one look at Limerick and retreat!!"
Like your boys in AI last year!

updwell (National) - 21/02/2022 21:07:18

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Tod:  "Havent been on in a while, but just looking at the home page and seeing all the clubs that have suspended activity due to covid makes me think it is time the GAA top dogs made a decision for the good of all members especially vulnerable members and suspend all activity straight away, there is no doubt no matter what people say that GAA activity is helping the spread of covid in the communities, it is not critical that this activity continues, hopefully the government will make the decision for them as the GAA top brass will never do it as there is still the chance of a few quid being made, hospitals are starting to be over ran with cases again, i see it first hand where i am, all none critical hobbies need to be stopped"
How is the GAA to blame for the increased Covid numbers in any way. When was the last time there was a match in a mushroom factory, a training session in a meat plant or an underage match at a house party. This is only window dressing and won't solve anything - it's individuals own behaviour which needs to be addressed. I wear a mask 8 hours a day at work in a factory and then I see fellow workers take off their mask outside the factory and walk side by side to the shop or go for a stroll as if it was 12 months ago. I see employees and shoppers in shops with no mask on. I hear a story off 4 leaving cert students gettin5 off a plane in Shannon from Spain and going to a beach party and infecting Limerick and Clare.This is where the big wins here are not in stopping fans goin5to a match.

updwell (National) - 18/08/2020 16:26:00

Limerick GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Great result in a great game yesterday. The hitting and tackling was ferocious and Clare certainly tested us in every way possible but we answered the questions. Nicky got nothing to do while the backs were outstanding, TK aside we dealt with their forwards. The midfield didn't control the game but their workrate was it's usual high standard and they chipped in with a few scores. Flanagan was outstanding cleaning out Rory Hayes(best cb in Ireland I don't think), Gillane very good once the ref copped on to the tactics being used on him and Morrissey is getting better each day as the championship progresses. Hegarty had his moments and worked very hard as it was obvious he was Clares number 1 target to tie down while O'Neill did as well as 20 year old could do in that cauldron and will have learnt a lot from it. Reidy was good and greatly helped us get the win while Boylan and English did their bit. Our discipline yesterday was outstanding considering the stuff that was thrown at us and hopefully Clare players will be judged and scrutinised to the same degree that out players are-seeing former Clare players moaning about the Sunday game highlighting these incidents shows a hypocrisy that is unbelievable, what's good for the goose is good for the gander. Going forward we usually improve after Munster and getting Casey and hopefully Lynch back will give us that bit extra to get to a final and win it. As for Clare we may see each other again and there would be nothing sweeter than beating them in a final.

updwell (National) - 06/06/2022 15:23:57

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 6 Like(s)

Replying To zinny:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "No of course GAA players don't deserve the vaccine before the elderly, the sick or various frontline workers but the CEO of a private hospital thought school teachers in his kids private fee paying rugby playing school did. KillingFields,whether you like it or not, this CEO and his actions represent to a lot of people what the upper class and the rugby community do in this country. They think they shouldn't have to wait in line like the rest of us and can use their money and old school contacts to get ahead. Hockey, tennis and rugby are their sports of choice. updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 444 - 27/03/2021 21:07:16 Rugby has nothing. Absolutely nothing to do with this. No reason to bring it up. The actions here do not represent what the rugby community does in this country. Tennis in most of the country is far from a posh sport/old school contacts. same with rugby and hockey. to clam they are anything different to GAA, soccer is rather pathetic"
Yea look some on here have completely lost the plot. The government are trying to get millions vaccinated through different ways as there is no central system that could manage it all. To expect there something like this wouldn't happen is simply not realistic, it could just as easily been a few lads who know each other through a GAA club. It wasn't too long ago that we had a massive supporter of the GAA who had money resting in his account but it wasn't for his use.To get something like this done you are going to have to accept level of error, we hope it doesn't happen but that is not human nature."]But the school involved was a rugby school not a GAA one yes or no. It's not a big part of the story but it is part of it . The wealthy in this country have a sense of entitlement and as in this case have no problem jumping the queue ahead of the ordinary person who has to shut up and get in line-as somebody said here earlier it's like the wealthy man getting off the sinking Titanic before the poorer women and children. Like it or not rugby is their game. You can see that rugby arrogance even here on this thread with KillingFields yapping on about pro 14 and rugby being professional and rugby bubbles and the GAA has to wait it's turn before it can resume (-rugby has had far more cases than the Intercounty GAA had last autumn) and even claiming LOI soccer can control Covid better than the GAA could.

updwell (National) - 28/03/2021 20:37:01

It's funny reading the rugby heads on here and the way they are going on about 'bubbles' and how safe they are it's a joke. There not living on Tory island getting food and equipment delivered in by a drone- they are living and moving around in the community the same as the rest of us, how else have they had clusters in their 'bubbles through out the winter. How many professional soccer players are making their living in the League of Ireland? I would guess 100 max. Playing their matches they will be cris crossing the country just like GAA players would be. As for the club celebrations last autumn, the pubs are closed(and should remain closed for a long time) and this was the cause of those outbreaks just like they were the cause of the Christmas outbreaks Check when pubs opened and see the number of cases shooting up in the weeks afterwards and when they close the numbers start to come down again. The government are going to lose the people again as they aren't giving us an outline of what's going to happen when the numbers come down. It looks like we are going to be lockedown for most of this year even if we have 70 to 80 % of the population vaccinated. Is the vaccine nor going to protect us?

updwell (National) - 11/02/2021 16:48:12

Martin McGuinness RIP - 6 Like(s)
May he rest in peace, as a politican and a man we in the South have no-one to match him, ye were lucky to have him up in the North

updwell (National) - 21/03/2017 18:34:57

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 6 Like(s)
2 games in a row now where Clare fellas clearly dived to get an oppositionplayer sent off, obviously something Lohan is teaching them. Terrible to see it and embarrassing for the county of Clare and hurling.

updwell (National) - 15/05/2022 20:04:41

Replying To bloodyban:  "'Crown Forces' ? Classic republican trope. Sounds like some evil StarWars type baddies. Very childish. I know plenty about Irelands history. I can look at both sides up there and look at them rationally. The troubles were terrible..civil rights issues were a catalyst to violence that achieved nothing only mayhem and murder.Ultimately I blame the IRA for that, not the British army. The education system in Ireland has alot to answer for. We come out of Secondary school blaming the UK for everything even though we were in it and fully in it. The Famine..800 years of pain..all one sided rubbish.You couldn't make it up . Its not healthy. You've wooly jumper che guevara,victim types walking around telling Indians that we too were a colony like you...we suffered your pain. And half the British army and civil service in India during colonialism was Irish..!!!"
The Irish you refer to in India were the 'Irish' like yourself aka 'West Brits' and 'soup takers'. None of us living in the South can know what if was to live in the North as a Nationalist for the last 100 years-it's best to defer to people who actually lived and suffered in that situation.

updwell (National) - 25/08/2020 19:46:35

Anti GAA Agenda - 6 Like(s)

Replying To mickcunningham:  "I have over 1600 posts on this so I'm no troll"
You obviously don't like the GAA so why are you on a GAA website? Trolling maybe? I think rugby is the most overrated , over hyped borefest soulless game imaginable but I couldn't be bothered going on a rugby fan forum trolling.

updwell (National) - 14/02/2021 20:17:34

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 5 Like(s)
Kyle Hayes on current form will be starting before Nash,Dempsey,Mulcahy- his workrate and tackling alone gets him a place on the team. Cian Lynch in the middle of the field had his best game in 2 years for Limerick the last day, leave him there to get the best out of his creative talent. We, the Limerick fans, also need to get behind this team and create an intimidating atmosphere like Wexford had for the first game in the league against us- cut out the negative comments and drive this team on

updwell (Limerick) - 13/04/2017 17:50:21

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)
People need perspective here instead of panicking and creating panic. The GAA championships involved about 5, 000 people all in while hundreds of thousands of people go to factories and construction sites every day for 8 hours a day. Where's the biggest risk?

updwell (National) - 20/10/2020 18:48:49

Replying To Tod:  "Embarrassing seeing the statement from the GAA looking for a meeting with Ronan Glynn, meanwhile the FAI release a statement with the following **The Football Association of Ireland notes the Government announcement today of new restrictions on indoor and outdoor events as the country continues the fight against COVID-19 and we acknowledge the part that our sport can play in this ongoing battle.** so they are playing their part in the ongoing battle against covid by instructing all their teams/clubs to abide by the new regulations relating to crowds at matches, they are not demanding a showdown with the cmo in the middle of an emergency, fair play to them, no surprise to see the GAA stance it has what the association has become.."
Ah Toddy when you're using the FAI to support your argument your losing.

updwell (National) - 19/08/2020 10:01:32

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Once you see the GAA going for another bag of taxpayers money to bail them out, it's only then will you hear about the championship plans. They are some crowd to blow money."
Not a patch on the FAI though.

updwell (National) - 29/03/2021 21:13:21

2021 Hurling Championship - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "No need. Aggressive fouls, rule 5.3, "to threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent" - yellow card offence. Deliberately stamping on an opponent's hurl to break it falls under "provocative gesture to an opponent" for me. Also, it shows absolutely zero class, which is one thing unfortunately JP can't buy."
Real class comment out of you there ballydalane

updwell (National) - 24/08/2021 22:06:50

Kerry v Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Well done to the ref today for referring Kerry the way every other county are refed, you could see Kerry management and players didn't understand not giving them everything as usual

updwell (National) - 26/08/2017 18:21:50

Anti GAA Agenda - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So you have gone from saying he has been ranting to say it should be cancelled to now saying he merely said it should be cancelled. He said he has been back and over in his mind and feels uncomfortable about the situation based on the results of the GPA poll and also the Louth player publicly speaking out about the issues especially in weaker counties. And if I have to explain the difference between the rugby and the GAA and how it is easier for the rugby to continue then you really haven't a clue."
If I could suggest Flaker you have a listen to Dick Clerkin on the Our Game podcast to get the GAAs side of the story on testing of players and what NPHET told them about the low risk of playing GAA. Why Newstalk and RTE haven't got the GAA side of the story I don't know. If rugby is so good in protecting it's players how come their has been outbreaks in provincial squads and with all the travelling to Scotland and Wales in the league on airlines and through airports and large rugby squads and backroom staffs I would argue that GAA players travelling on the day on their own and togging off in the stand has less risks. Rugby players might be living in 'bubbles' but unless their in outer space they won't be that protected from the public.

updwell (National) - 22/10/2020 17:50:09