Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from republicofcloone

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 14 Like(s)
Hope all the Mayo fans on here are delighted to be getting patted on the head by Dublin posters.

republicofcloone (National) - 19/12/2020 19:33:34

GAA on TV - 10 Like(s)
That Cora Staunton is hard listened to. Does she think everyone knows Mayo players by their first names?

republicofcloone (National) - 06/12/2020 16:26:38

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 10 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Exciting stuff now Galway await the winners of Mayo v Roscommon in Connacht final, no joy for New York, Leitrim London or Sligo this year. Galway might need a good challenge match against the likes of Tyrone to get up to speed for the final, playing Sligo even at full strength wouldn't have done them a pile of good, there needs to a 2nd and even a 3rd tier Championship to give the likes of Sligo and Leitrim something to play for instead of getting walloped every year, it's not fair on them, no wonder they are reluctant to fulfil fixtures, a bit like children feeling sick all of a sudden on the day of an exam."
Well in 130 years of championship football Donegal haven't really set many lights flashing when it comes to taking home major competitions. Perhaps you would also be more successful in a third tier competition. Or another option is to join the AIL rugby competition, suit all that backward hand passing youse indulge in.

republicofcloone (National) - 04/11/2020 20:47:46

Football Is Finished - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "After trying to watch Dublin V Cavan, the word "turn over" word used yet and yet again, showing that Dublin may as well go and play rugby such is the fear of loosing posession, People will come on here and say they are great and professional and all that, and they are at the game they play, but they have football destroyed, I think even with a crowd in Croke Park this evening (where the game should not be played by the way as far as I am concerned) that game was as shocking to look at as any other Dublin game...rather than loose posession, they would kick the ball the whole way back down the field, again, fair dues its within the rules, but they are as boring as hell at this stage, the referee in the main "walking" around the field such was the time he had on his hands...I hope, for the sake of football, Mayo or Tipperary win, and if this crap Dublin are offering up continues and they continue to dominate as a result, the rules need looking at, as teams are genuinely going out to try and play against them (as Cavan did) but Dublin were more interested in just getting the ball, hang onto it for the 3/4 minutes it took to get into a shooting position (hoping to be fouled if possible)...if that is football, good luck, because I and I think may more are fed up with it..fair enough Dublin have it down to an "art" as people say, but the art is as boring, and over played now..thank God no other team has mastered it or we would be finished (Cork managed luckily to beat Kerry with it this year, and tried again unsucessfully against Tipp)....hopefully soon we might get two teams who will go out and decide to play football for the first time in years, because this is finishing football...Dublin winning 6 All Irelands possibly playing that type of "football"...let them off....hopefully football will be back in the years to come..."
Pundits won't say or are afraid to say it. The ball was in midfield and it ended up back with Cluxton in the square. If that was soccer the team would be lambasted, but nary a word because it's Dublin. I think gaelic football is in serious bother at a number of levels, both skills wise and competitive wise. When we play the Australians in that compromise rules they give us an exhibition of kicking that the Irish lads cannot match which is fairly embarrassing. There's old clips of AI finals on youtube from the 1930s and what strikes you are the low skill levels and how much kicking the ball on the ground was done, it was of its time though, but we aren't far off that type of skill level again. I think it's good enough for the GAA though. They better hope that Dublin fans still attend games because no one from other counties will be going to watch.

republicofcloone (National) - 05/12/2020 21:59:49

European Super League / GAA - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Not clutching at anything though strawers.... hahahahaha And nothing to suggest normal service has resumed with Ireland New Zealand"
Last world cup, New Zealand 46 Ireland 14. When it really mattered Ireland collapsed...as usual.

republicofcloone (National) - 23/04/2021 09:36:47

Time To Allow Crowds In - 5 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "You should be in charge of things lad. You're a great buck for telling everyone what's wrong with everything.Unfortunately though you haven't a clue how to fix anything."
That's what a forum is about, giving ones opinions. And you do it in spectacularly bad fashion with your multiple accounts. Aren't we all entitled to do so as well. Why don't you post under your real county profile name on the main forum. Not enough wisdom or analysing to be done I guess. What do you need me to fix sugar? I'd make a better fist of running the country than a bunch of medics, I expect medics to keep people healthy, not to dictate policy. That's my opinion. What's your opinion on it?

republicofcloone (National) - 13/06/2021 17:55:57

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 4 Like(s)
Disgraceful tweet from Tomas O'Se re Sligo withdrawal and then questioning other weaker counties such as my own and my neighbours in Longford. I bet if it was his own county or Dublin withdrawing he'd be blubbing about what a shame it was and not calling into question any motives behind this. Scandalous

republicofcloone (National) - 04/11/2020 10:19:19

Houses In Order? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To witnof:  "Leitrim have never been contenders and never will, this was the same 100 years ago as it is today. No monies are going to change this. Only way a Letrim team is ever going to challenge is amalgamating with other counties....like Roscommon :):):)"
You could amalgamate the best players in all of Connacht and that combined team wouldn't beat Dublin. Amateur v professional is never going to turn out any other way.

republicofcloone (National) - 01/03/2021 18:01:34

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I wonder will NPHET be singling County Longfird out for a scolding?"
They'll stay well clear of that, just like the two recent funerals in Leitrim, wasn't a peep about that from them You can't do the big teacher act pointing the finger at certain sectors of society it seems.

republicofcloone (National) - 09/05/2021 10:19:29

"Level The Playing Field." - 4 Like(s)
There is no top tier in men's football, let's nip that one in the bud. There's one team with all the advantages way out ahead and there's two counties maybe on their coattails hoping to catch them on an off day that never happens. The rest are second tier. Some of the standard in ladies football is absolutely shocking, as it is in the mens. But the ladies seem to bristle more when that is suggested.

republicofcloone (National) - 21/02/2021 08:19:54

Dubs V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
Rte's attempts to downplay some of the Dublin tackles was as predictable as it was bewildering. Cora Staunton mentioned their cynical play...and was immediately shot down by Joanne Cantwell who consistently forgets she is there to present and not offer opinions, she's a terrible presenter. I understand they don't want to upset their meal ticket by criticising their play but it gets very tiresome. The excitement of the game masked the fact that play wise it was a terrible spectacle. Farrell can't be there next year, he has turned a great footballing team into a defensive cautious backpassing nightmare, which is good for the rest of the country I suppose. You can tell all isn't well there by all the players walking away. It was a master stroke by Horan taking off O'Shea, he was as is consistently the case in croke Park offering absolutely nothing and slowing everything down for Mayo. They started motoring once he was off. I think Kerry will take it now.

republicofcloone (National) - 15/08/2021 11:40:11

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 4 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Somebody should put a muzzle on Stenson. That is some embarrassing manure he is spouting. Again on about only having 14 players available for the Down game when he said himself some lads wouldn't go because they were working."
If it was the Roscommon chairman that said it you'd be praising him wholeheartedly

republicofcloone (National) - 05/11/2020 15:56:25

Time To Allow Crowds In - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "tribunals because the medical people are keeping restrictions to reduce the number of people who get sick and die.. yeah thats going to happen tribunal to look into what exactly? The UK may have tribunals to investigate inaction by government that saw far more people die than should have as well as the awarding of contracts for PPE etc to friends of conservative party leadership but we wont."
Screenshot your wee post there because in years to come you'll have an egg on your face. If you think the pandemic was handled well in this country you're not at the races.

republicofcloone (National) - 13/06/2021 13:14:27

Elite Sport - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Its the same reason amateur sports came back much later in other countries compared to professional sports because the financial realties are completely different and players in a pro squad are not going into schools, dozens of workplaces and then going training"
These 'elite' people don't need to bring their children to school, to shop for necessities etc? Come off the high bank there now.

republicofcloone (National) - 08/05/2021 13:16:29

Dublin V Cavan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tox73:  "This football season is nothing but a farce, unwatchable sh-ite, GAA has nearly run its course with the Football championship. Numbers are decreasing in rural areas, Rural Clubs can't field teams, people flocking to Dublin first or second generation. Most counties can't compete with Dublin full stop. Would we even have a watchable championship now with 4 teams? Imagine straight away in 2021 just write off 25/26 counties, they will be training for 6 months for very little or nothing. Players just won't commit and I don't think you could blame them?"
This tier 2 they're imposing on counties will probably become a better competition than the main event. But you won't hear a word of it on rte. It will be all plamasing Dublin on that organisation.

republicofcloone (National) - 05/12/2020 21:51:33

GAA Funding And Fairness - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimski:  "This tweet from Sean Kelly yesterday says it all Having been centrally involved in getting the funding to strengthen #gaa in Dublin, which @Dubs_gaa has used brilliantly, I can say 'mission accomplished', so why continue with the mission ?? Time for new mission - help other counties before it's too late! #dubvcav @officialgaa https://twitter.com/seankellymep/status/1335308433004916744?s=21"
He's a politician now. It worked out well for him.

republicofcloone (National) - 06/12/2020 13:00:22

AOS - Potential Bad Injury - 3 Like(s)
Tough on the player if true but I feel Mayo will play more expressively without him slowing down every play.

republicofcloone (National) - 22/04/2021 10:20:31

Limerick against Waterford. All Ireland Hurling Final 2020 - 3 Like(s)
Game is practically unwatchable with Morrissey waffling nonsense

republicofcloone (National) - 13/12/2020 16:32:25

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 3 Like(s)
There should be serious consideration from counties to form a break away competition. I can see that a comp that involved Leitrim, Cavan, Sligo, Fermanagh, Longford, Westmeath, Roscommon and Offaly would have much more meaning to win than a pat on the head tiered cup like what will be in place next year. This could be replicated in other regions of the country. Food for thought is that Leitrim beat Dublin in a national league game in the mid 90s in Carrick before the cash injection. That's only a generation ago. Now they'd beat us by thirty points probably...if we were lucky.

republicofcloone (National) - 20/12/2020 13:10:55

What's People's Predictions For The Football Semi Finals This Weekend! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Haha you clown we hammered ye practically every year. Ye will be absolutely hammered tomorrow so come down off your high horse. Ye won an absolutely brutal standard Ulster title. I would say ye are the worst team left by a long way. Good luck tomorrow ye will need it."
lol, surely a sour comment

republicofcloone (National) - 04/12/2020 12:20:21