Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from green.and.gold

Qualifiers 2019 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "We should be all behind both Leitrim teams at this time, no point in creating a divide. And hopefully the fans maintain their excellent behaviour at both games"
Tashy and spirit of Eslin back under new identities!

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 10/06/2019 15:42:53

Media Mayo Mourning - 4 Like(s)

Replying To maximus02:  "I'm sure you'll have many that agree with you but very easy for you to say that when Dublin have won 3 in a row and 5 in the last 7. Imagine if you were from Mayo or if the dubs had suffered such near misses over the last few years. Congrats to Dublin , super team and deserve all the accolades that come their way. From a neutral point of view, Mayos journey through the summer and how they are the only team that have been able to put it up to ye has provided the majority of entertainment to what had been a damp squib of a championship. Love how the dubs play but you'd get fed up watching their 10+ routine hammering of teams and don't get me started on Tyrones style of play."
Totally agree. I was close to tears at the final whistle even though im not from Mayo, they have been so close for so long and now it looks like great player's like Andy Moran , Keith Higgins , Alan Dillon to name a few will probably finish up without a all Ireland medal and a lot of people are sad about that it must be soul destroying to get so close so often and not get over the line just once, nobody is disputing what a magnificent Dublin team this it they showed their greatness by winning that game yesterday when any other team would've folded. Congratulations to Dublin deserving champions and every mayo fan on this forum as well as their players and manager accepted this as hard as it was for them to take.

green.and.gold (National) - 18/09/2017 21:48:26

FAO Kerry, Mayo, Dublin + Tyrone fans - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I don't like a number of your current panel and don't want to see them win. Sorry, bluntly honest there."
It amazes me the amount of anti Mayo posts on here ,it seems like a lot of people take great pleasure in seeing them falling short. As a Connacht person id dearly love to see Mayo win the all Ireland, the resilience that team has shown despite all the setbacks down the years amazes me, most teams would have thrown in the towel a long time ago, they keep coming back every year with no guarantee it will have a happy ending and they may never get that elusive all Ireland. They have a huge task ahead against a fine kerry side Just to get to a final and even then Dublin or Tyrone (both great teams) would have to be overcome as well as all the mental baggage with losing finals over the years , the odds suggest its a bridge too far but the unquenchable spirit of this team means its not impossible. Connacht has only won two all Ireland's in the last 50 years i would love to see Mayo bring Sam across the Shannon, good luck lads

green.and.gold (National) - 08/08/2017 22:56:59

Roscommon v Leitrim - 4 Like(s)

Replying To festinog:  "*PHEW* I was really worried this game would be over looked. Potentially the game of the weekend, with some great players on both teams. Like yer man from Manorhamilton. And the other fella from the other town in Leitrim. Lovely county by the way, would highly recommend it for a visit. Beautiful scenery and some really stunning archaeology; notably some Elizabethan tower house types not commonly found west of the Shannon. Really an under-rated tourist destination that should get more attention. The total opposite to their current football team unfortunately. Roscommon to win."
Maybe after Sunday you'll have a better knowledge of Leitrim players!! A little bit of respect wouldn't go amiss from you. In the main for the last 30 years we've being fairly competitive against all our connacht neighbours including your own county . We've taken some hammerings but no more than many other counties , we're small in numbers but our spirit will never die. As for Sunday we've picked a young team with plenty of good footballers but Sunday is probably a few years too soon for them. Roscommon to win but it may be closer than expected. Best of luck lads.

green.and.gold (National) - 16/06/2017 18:25:21

National League 2018 - 3 Like(s)
Would agree this has been another wasted year i would reckon if we had our strongest squad available and properly organized we'd definitely be as good if not stronger than Carlow and indeed Antrim too. Fair play to carlow they got there house in order and are reaping the rewards and good luck to them. The league is gone now all our focus has to be on getting out of New York with a win and if its true about more players returning that has to be a plus.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 21/03/2018 10:55:07

Gods Could Be On Mayo's Side - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Wet windy day will suit Mayo and AOS and COC will enjoy throwing themselves about like they are on a diving board, but the Dubs are just too good, they can adjust whatever the situation, GTOAT? Dubs by as much as they want is my prediction."
God your hatred of Mayo is deep rooted , bet you'd rather Dublin win 10 in a row than see Mayo win just one. I have huge admiration for this Mayo team however I feel just like on previous occasions Dublin will be just too good. Nothing against Dublin , a magnificent team the best I've ever seen but as a Connacht man I'd dearly love to see Mayo to win an all ireland

green.and.gold (National) - 07/08/2019 16:45:41

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "There is a calculated risk in reopening the economy that could likely cost lives but one that has to be taken as the long term effects on the economy and mental health may cause deaths going forward. While I miss sport terribly (Liverpool should be lifting the premier league trophy today and Mayo should be playing Leitrim) is it worth more than life ?"
Was really looking forward to the Mayo game. A team we don't play that often ( only 3 times since we beat them in the 94 Connacht final) and they would bring a big crowd to Carrick and it would be great for local economy and be a good learning experience for our mainly young team. Doubt very much it will happen this year unfortunately hope ye all keeping well in Mayo yew

green.and.gold (National) - 09/05/2020 20:52:02

Greatest Goals - 3 Like(s)
James Glancys volleyed last minute goal for Leitrim v Donegal in a 2007 qualifier brought the game to extra time in which Donegal scraped through, don't think it's on YouTube but it was a magnificent goal.

green.and.gold (National) - 01/06/2020 16:33:05

Leitrim v Roscommon May 22nd - 2 Like(s)
Can't say i was surprised by the result , we've been poor for several years now , but the fact we were hammered by a understrength Roscommon team playing in second gear is very demoralising. Here are a few points id like to make just personal opinions on my part; 1. Tactically we were awfully naive, its all well and good having men back but they have to be closing off space and tracking runners from deep, none of which happened on sunday we had roscommon walking through for easy scores the goal been a prime example. We sacrificed our best forward Kevin conlon to play this role complete madness. It seemed to me we had no idea how to play this system as roscommon either burst through the centre at ease or hit donie shine with the high ball from which he had a field day on a much smaller man isolated one on one with a team with a decent defensive system would not allow this happen regularly we were very naively set up and it didnt change at all during the game. Management to blame here 2. I don't like criticising players who i know put in a massive effort and all credit to them for that but our senior players apart from conlon and Maguire didn't stand up last Sunday. Our captain already had a talking to for a lazy tackle should never have put himself in the position where he had to pull a man down and get a black card the two lads who got reds just total indiscipline and definitely Sweeney is experienced enough to know better. Our midfield is capable of much better than that but it's been a long time since weve seen a big game from them we were cleaned out by a supposedly weak rossie midfield on sunday. Emlyn hasn't been in great form since he returned and s mc dermott had him on the back foot all day. With most of our key players not playing at all well we had no chance. Players need to look at themselves there. 3. It was infuriating how often we put high ball in on small forwards and continued it despite it never working i was sitting beside management and they never shouted in to stop it or put one of our midfielders in there if they wanted to persist with the high ball in. No plan in the forward line at all from what i can see. Management have to take the blame for that 4. Other posters say there is a team out there in leitrim not involved in the present set up that could beat present team name it so? Outside of conor beirne , fergal clancy , wayne mc keon and mark plunkett, all who are not involved due to various reasons who else is there? 5. I do believe we're getting there with underage system but we started a long way behind most other counties but i feel the coaching is much better and that standard of players coming into county teams is definitely better it will take a few years to see this at senior level though. That's my views for what's its worth opinions anyone ?

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 26/05/2016 19:42:13

Kerry v Mayo - 2 Like(s)
It's do or die for mayo now in my opinion they have to get over the line tomorrow or it will i fear the lack of ruthlessness that let kerry off the hook last Sunday and Dublin last year could return to haunt them. I love this team for the unquenchable spirit and the excitement they bring but i wonder if all the narrow losses over the years have drained them of the belief to see games out against the likes of Kerry and Dublin. I admire and respect Kerry football but even if they lost tomorrow they will be soon winning all Ireland's again with the talent in their ranks. Another replay defeat will be very hard to come back from for Mayo as there is only so many times you can go to the well with the same players without success hopefully that may drive them on to get over the line. The last thing mayo need is another winter been patronized about how close ye are to getting over the line that must be soul destroying at this stage. Best of luck mayo

green.and.gold (National) - 25/08/2017 13:04:12

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Pick the top 16 teams in the country, open draw knockout from that to decide the All Ireland football 2020, all games on RTE, you could do the same with hurling, 8 teams likely be enough in hurling though."
What about the teams not in top 16?

green.and.gold (National) - 21/04/2020 23:30:02

GAA Pay Cuts - 2 Like(s)
The lack of income from the championship which even if some championship does happen which is highly unlikely, is coming home to roost for the Gaa. They must not have the cash reserves people think they have when they are planning to do this. A lot of county boards and clubs are in for tough times with fundraising gone for the foreseeable future. Really missing the games but it's a necessity to shut it down the problem is until a vaccine is found its difficult to see how games can be got going again

green.and.gold (National) - 01/05/2020 19:22:01

Club Championship 2016 - 2 Like(s)
Hard luck to Ballinamore , their bad start killed them 1-6 to nil down 20 minutes in , there was no way back for them but it has been a great year for them and id expect them to be competing for a senior championship in the near future. Just seen the U21 A final between St Manachans and the Fenagh /Gortletteragh combination is down for next weekend . Its ironic that this competition was moved to summer to avoid a repeat of recent years where the finals were played in terrible conditions in the depths of winter , yet here we are playing the final in the depths of winter again after a lot of unnecessary messing that could easily be avoided. Not a great way to treat our up and coming young players in my opinion.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 21/11/2016 12:07:14

Connacht JFC Final 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Great win by the lads tonight, well done to team and management. A very rare but welcome Connacht title. Any day you beat a Mayo team on their own patch in a provincial final is a good day!

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 17/05/2017 21:01:49

Footballers 2018 Season - 2 Like(s)
Well done lads on your promotion delighted for ye. Best of luck for the rest of the year.

green.and.gold (Carlow) - 19/03/2018 21:06:56

Leitrim Hurling 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Well done to all associated with Leitrim Hurling on a great win yesterday and getting to croke park for second time in 3 years. Delighted for the small band of hurling people who have kept hurling alive in Leitrim over the years with little support. Hope they can bring the cup home in 2 weeks.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 09/06/2019 09:55:02

Best Performance You Witnessed By Your Own County - 2 Like(s)
1994 was our greatest year, but we had a good team at that time and success was almost expected even though it would always be so hard to achieve it with a history of failure. However beating Roscommon in the 2000 Connacht semi final in the Hyde was our greatest single victory in my time following them. Completely written off before the game conceded three first half goals and could have easily conceded 3 more. Came out in the second half and turned the game around with Dermot Reynolds scoring a vital point and Seamus Quinn scoring the winning point with the outside of the boot and almost on his knees. That was like winning the all Ireland for us the celebrations after on the field was mad we were well beaten in the connacht final by Galway but that day was a sweet one. For counties like Leitrim winning a big championship game like that is our all Ireland as someone said once in Kerry they celebrate when they win the all Ireland in Leitrim we celebrate when we win! We had some great battles with Roscommon in those years never more than a kick of the ball between us oh how times have changed!

green.and.gold (National) - 19/04/2020 19:05:45

32 County Football Open Draw Knockout 2020 - 2 Like(s)
Whatever system they use there is no doubt a knock out championship is the best case scenario for the Gaa now in both inter county and club championships

green.and.gold (National) - 21/03/2020 19:41:53

John Morrison RIP - 2 Like(s)
Rip John he is fondly remembered for the work he done in Leitrim sad news.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 12/02/2019 19:15:20

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
Well done today lads, a great win in bad conditions in a tough venue . Impressive the way we dug the win out, when it seemed to be going away from us , we would have lost that game for sure in years gone by. Our scoring power and our strong bench is definitely pushing us on a level this year, now we need to keep our feet on the ground and make sure we don't slip up next weekend against Antrim ( who may have no points but they are a team we always struggle against) and go into the break with full points. So far so good but more fences to be jumped yet.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - 03/02/2019 19:44:59