Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Buzzcagney62

Lads Off To The AFL - 6 Like(s)
Best of luck to them, the lure of the Aussie sunshine versus a muddy field in rural Ireland in the middle of winter is a no brainer. Plus get paid todo something you enjoy , you only live once.

Buzzcagney62 (National) - 06/11/2021 12:28:44

Lack Of Ambition. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To po3nmotion:  "I find it depressing that our co board constantly select managers from the old boys club. Nothing against Benny but was hardly a success with the seniors and did nothing of note before or since as a coach/manager and yet is bestowed with county under 17s. Why do we keep making the same mistakes?"
You have a short memory of that brilliant win over Louth in the qualifiers and putting up a decent show against Monaghan in his last 2 games. Compare that with getting hammered by Clare in the qualifiers last year.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 20/11/2019 13:22:38

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "So what? So the level of competition is better than if you were playing a club team from Waterford, wexford, Carlow, Wicklow etc making it harder to win games in the provincial championship. No? Roscommon. Galway and Mayo have club team winning the competition or getting to the final. Do you understand? Hyland was going on about the standard being much higher in Cavan. Is it? Cavan club record is equally as bad as Leitrim's. Negativity out of Hyland from day one. It's refreshing to hear Andy Morans positivity."
History will be kind to Hyland in time as the most successful Leitrim Manager since O Mahoney. He led a limited bunch of players out of Div 4 and yes he spoke his truth about the state of Leitrim club football. It was hard to hear but sometimes the truth is hard to take when some one of us think that everything is wonderful. Best of luck to Moran at the helm, at least with B Championship no more batterings (we hope) Players always have a responsibility to show a bit more desire and bravery and pride in the Leitrim jersey and get us out of div 4.

Buzzcagney62 (National) - 22/10/2021 08:49:50

Hero's Of 94. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To LetItInHigh:  "I wasnt around in 94 but the fact this thread is still quite active and the recent article about the over 40's shows an all too common mentality in Leitrim football that the young lads will never be as good as the players in the good old days."
Win a Connacht championship and the young lads will be as good as the old lads.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 30/09/2019 15:46:41

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Yondu:  "Leitrim have made zero progress under Andy Moran. Be better off bringing in someone local than carrying on with him again next year. Strength, Fitness and conditioning way off from where it needs to be for Leitrim. Leaving themselves so wide open 2nd half against such a free scoring Galway was real rookie management."
Not Andy Moran's fault. He cannot make new signings like a new soccer manager does and bring in new players. Andy can only work with what he has and that is a very limited bunch of players, who just aren't good enough. London/Waterford is about our level and that is the reality. However we can now give the Tailten cup a go and see where it takes us.

Buzzcagney62 (National) - 08/05/2022 19:27:54

Tier 2 For Leitrim? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Think Its a good move all round. The Div 3 and 4 teams are still in the hunt for SAM if they make Connacht final, not such a big ask with both Sligo and London doing it in recent years from division 3 and 4. DIV 1 and 2 teams who go the qualifier route will find it tougher than before with no chance of meeting a "minnow" as could happen up to now, for example Mayo V Limerick 2018. The tier 2 final must be held on a big day in Croker, perhaps double header with All Ireland semi final."
I d back Roscommon to win tier 2 final.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 21/10/2019 09:48:33

Footballers 2018 Season - 2 Like(s)
Congrats Carlow and well done on your promotion from division 4. All your hard work and commitment has been your worth it. Congrats again from a very envious Leitrim supporter.

Buzzcagney62 (Carlow) - 19/03/2018 12:47:11

Next Leitrim Manager. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "What I would like to see from a new leitrim manager, is to get the team fecking FIT. Leitrim haven't been physically fit enough to complete in years. What is going on with the S & C in the county? Why are we not producing athletes? It's a huge worry, the modern game is all about PACE AND POWER and we are always way off the pace."
Good point, too many butty men in Leitrim.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 03/08/2021 13:31:44

Leitrim v Carlow qualifier - 1 Like(s)
Midfield were bullied out of it on Saturday in second half. Carlow played and looked like Div 1 team and time and time again overturned possession. Massive hunger and belief in Carlow based on win over Wexford/London and giving Dubs a fighting game. Our lads came into game after a pasting from Rossies but in fairness did very little wrong in first half. However midfield again too easily brushed aside in second half and then the usual heads drop etc etc. Hopefully Mulligan fit for league and championship next year as he is worth at least 3-4 points per game and was a massive loss. Leitrim abu.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 10/07/2017 09:41:37

National League 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Would agree this has been another wasted year i would reckon if we had our strongest squad available and properly organized we'd definitely be as good if not stronger than Carlow and indeed Antrim too. Fair play to carlow they got there house in order and are reaping the rewards and good luck to them. The league is gone now all our focus has to be on getting out of New York with a win and if its true about more players returning that has to be a plus."
I watched Carlow VS Leitrim, the main difference in my opinion was their midfield .Carlow have power and physical presence that Leitrim don't have in that area. they even troubled the Dubs in the first half of last years championship in that area. Our forwards with Mulligan, Kennedy etc back and if they get the right service will trouble any team, however defence and midfield is and continues to be our weakness. Carlow won 6 games on the bounce , that's no fluke and as you say good luck to them.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 21/03/2018 16:19:18

Leitrim Seniors 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To the_creeler:  "I'm hearing of massive walkouts in the panel. Anyone else hearing that?"
There is a pattern of this over the years. Good riddance.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 23/06/2021 19:59:45

Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Corofin were missing atleast 7 players that started the All Ireland so it is not as good as a result as it looks especially when you consider the Corofin lads left Ireland at 7 that morning and played at the equivalent of 2 Am Irish time. No doubt that New York still have some impressive players mainly Clarke. But they also have Collins that was full back for Ross a few years back and Cullinane who was a Kerry U21 player in the not to distant past. We need to pray that Paddy MaGuire doesnt suffer an injury playing in a derby game for St Brigids against Castleknock in the DSFC tomorrow as I believe he is our only man marker capable of getting near Jamie Clarke. Biggest championship game for a Leitrim team since we lost in a replay to London a few years ago. This is a must win game. Loose and the ramifications for this young team is stark."
Lose and the ramification's not just for this young team but for every Leitrim follower on the planet would be stark. I am old enough to remember the history Leitrim created in the 70's by losing to London and the embarrassment that caused. Losing to NY would be even worse and a bit of history we can well do without.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 30/04/2018 10:15:05

New Leitrim Manager - 1 Like(s)
Players also need to take more responsibility and at least show a bit of pride and passion for the county jersey. Carlow the other day never gave up against Cavan although they lost by 7 points in the end. Our boys beaten in the first 10 minutes against Sligo, heads down no fight. Fitness levels need to be a priority as current team unable to last the pace of county football. Players need to stop coming out on the media, in an attention seeking way talking utter crap about e.g. "we all eat the same spuds" or system is unfair and "Leitrim need more game time" Do the talking on the pitch and get the crowds back to Pairc Sean and if Leitrim do lose at least do it with a bit of a fight and win the fans respect back.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 15/07/2016 10:50:50

Leitrim Football 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To journeyman11:  "Can someone tell me is Leitrim Roscommon on this Wednesday, if so, where and what time?"
7pm in Annaduff.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 02/01/2018 14:50:56

Leitrim Football 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Castelfore:  "In light of the positive result in McHale park tonight and its important that we keep this forum as negative as possible in case any glimmer of encouragement emerges. SO we'll play a game of Find A Fault Bingo. For every negative/complaint comment made about the game you get: - 2 points for making a negative comment - 5 points for finding a negative about the players that represented the county - 10 points for a fault with how the management approached the game / management in general - 20 points for a fault with how the Co. Board handled/travelled/ organisation for the fixture. There is also a bonus 50 points for anyone who can include all four above and a further 50 points if you can mention the players that are not playing for us. N.B. Points will be deducted if you are a member of the supporters club / club cairde cos that's been positive toward the county team."
Get a grip , Leitrim supporters on this forum are entitled to be as constructively negative as they wish. God knows we have suffered enough over the years with false dawns, humiliations and disappointments. Supporting Leitrim would make a skeptic even out of the most positive person. Yes last night was encouraging but for both teams it was a glorified challenge match with both teams fielding a lot of youngsters. Yes last night there were glimmers of encouragement but lets not get carried away.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 11/01/2018 10:53:12

Leitrim Senior Team - 1 Like(s)

Replying To OnTheBank:  "On the actual game yesterday, it was both encouraging and frustrating in equal measure. We were the better team but goals win games. We have now shown over the last few years we have the ability to register high scores but we are leaking to many easy chances. The hope is now that we have the attacking talent that with good coaching our defence will improve. First of all we need to congratulate and recognize how good Paddy Maguire is. It's not an exaggeration to say that if he was around in the Dessie Dolan era he would be regarded right up there with McKeown and McGuinness and I for one can't give a better compliment. He nullified Conor Sweeney yesterday who is considered one of the best forwards in the country and has played International Rules for Ireland. We also kept Quinlavan quiet which is impressive. Donal Casey deserves enormous credit. He has been talked about for a while but he slotted in yesterday with little fuss and did not look out of place. I thought Mark Plunkett was looking good and linking up play very well when he moved to 11 before he was taken off at half time. Please god that he is not injured for next weekend. Donal Wrynn was exceptional at Midfield yesterday. As always he gives his all and it is good to see him settled in one position. Ryan O'Rourkes injury is the main concern before next week. It looked like a bang more than a twist/tear which is good news. When he got on the ball yesterday he was electric. However, whether it is just rustiness or poor strategy how we were using him or not using him was so frustrating. We could not get him on the ball in areas of the pitch where he would really impact the scoreboard. The same thing has happened in big games before where teams just crowd him out. Terry needs to find a system where he is isolated against just one man if possible. Now to the frustrations: Our hand passing was dreadful. Constantly putting the intended target in bother. We were so lateral and passive in how we tried to attack - Constantly coming to the game line and having to pass side ways or backwards which is a killer. It shows we are not moving the ball fast enough or receiving the ball at a standing start. Mayo will eat us up and spit us out if we carry ball into contact on a regular basis. Even though we scored 15 points we really should have had a lot more we kicked some desperate wides. A lot of these problems can be put down to rustiness but with Mayo in a week…. Our depth is a real problem Leitrim simply can't do without the likes of Shane Moran, Dean McGovern, Fergal McTague and Ray Mulvey - Along with Michael McWeeney not being in the country. Terry doesn't seem to fancy Pearce Dolan either which is hard to figure out when you watch club football in the county and then see some of the players he continues to trust. There's no point in talking about it until we are out but there are a number of players not on the panel currently who we simply can't do without even just for an impact off the bench. Jack Heslin, Gary Plunkett and Oisin Madden being three that jump out. Praying that we keep it competitive next week but I am very very worried. There is no doubt there has been enormous progress in the last few years and we were very competitive in Div 3. We need to build on this now."
I cant see any thing encouraging as we are back in division 4. The damage wasn't done with Covid but losing 3 games on the trot after the encouraging draw with Derry all pre Covid. Yes there were encouraging performances by individuals like Wrynn but too little too late and some of those big other "star" players found division 3 too much of a step up. . In fact Leitrim deserve to be be relegated and i would be surprised now if Hyland stays on. Fair play to him for getting us promoted but maybe he has brought this team as far as they can go.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 26/10/2020 10:40:16

National League 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To OnTheBank:  "One of the few positives from these lockdowns is it provides the opportunity to look back and reflect. In my eyes there has been huge progress in our senior team over the past 3 years. Many people are giving Terry Hyland and his coaches the credit for this but I think that may be a little simplistic. The role of outsiders managing our club teams has in my eyes been the greatest influence on why the standard of football in the county is improving. This has had a particular effect in the teams which have dominated: Mohill, Aughawillan and Manor and a little in Ballinamore who have improved. We also have got huge turnover from our successful 2014 minor team which won the Connacht league and the Ballinmore PPS school team which had many of the same players and reached an All-Ireland Semi-Final. We have two outstanding players in Mark Plunkett and Ryan O'Rourke who would grace any team in Ireland and are backed up by the experience of Donal Wrynn, Shane Moran and Paddy Maguire. We now have a team who are physical and tall which is an area we have always struggled in. Although we now have excellent forwards but need some help defensively whereas in Des Dolans years it was the opposite. Great to hear Oisin Madden and Jack Heslin have re-joined the panel and the likes of Niall McGovern is on an extended training panel. Unfortunately, Domhnail Flynn has stepped away. We now have more depth and options than ever before. The 6 forwards we have will cause any defence problems and are all able to win their own ball and take scores. Heslin rejoining the team could be significant in my eyes as at times last year we missed pace in our transition from defence to attack and therefore got caught in possession and were stripped of the ball. Benny Flynn Oisin Madden Fergal McTague Paddy Maguire Shane Quinn Jack Gilheaney Cillian McGloin Donal Wrynn Pearce Dolan Shane Moran Mark Plunkett Jack Heslin Ryan O'Rourke Keith Beirne Darragh Rooney I think most people will agree with 12/13 of that selection which is a positive as it shows we are becoming consistent and players are sticking with it. Leitrim more than held our own in Division 3 and in different circumstances, we may have stayed up. We should have beaten Tipp in Carrick and we gave a good account of ourselves against Mayo while missing key players and we all know how far both teams made it. Division Four (if it goes ahead) will be tough this year as we will be facing 3 teams who have each appointed high-profile management teams! But from what I know the lads have really put their heads down and took on their S&C over the winter. Nothing more I'm looking forward to then getting out to Pairc Sean to support them in 2021"
Woulda coulda shoulda, face facts we deserve to be back in Division 4 and did not hold our own in division 3 the table doesn't lie. Despite all these promising players that seem to be coming through year in year out we always fall short when it really matters.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 23/01/2021 17:12:06

League 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dan_Toal:  "If we go further back before these 3 big clubs were on top, the 2 other teams to win Connacht club titles were Salthill Knocknacarra and Ballina Stephenites. What do these 5 clubs have in common?? They are situated in large urban areas or are suburbs of urban areas, they all have populations of 20+ thousand in their catchment areas. They are all well supported financially, Emigration dosnt effect these areas unlike rural Leitrim. Stats are there to be proved wrong but these suggest that it's nion impossible nowadays for Leitrim clubs to be successful at the top table in Connacht."
This immigration issue has been used by Leitrim team and club teams for years. Quite frankly its like a scratched record by now. Leitrim isn't the only county that suffers immigration , yet I cant remember any other county beating that drum as strong as Leitrim. How come a small club team like Mullingeachta in Longford can beat Laois champions and run St Vincents Dublin to a few points? Quite simply its coaching. fitness, and a good shrewd Manager who gets the best out of his players, sadly something that is lacking in Leitrim.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 20/04/2017 08:35:57

Leitrim Seniors 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To joeman123:  "Surely we can complete in the NFL. It will be tough but not without hope"
If we cant compete in division 4 of the NFL with London and Waterford we might as well give up.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - 18/04/2021 10:28:07

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I need a drink after that.... Great to get the win."
Great to get the win indeed. We should be beating London all day long with or without Beirne. I tell you, you will need more than a drink when Mayo or Galway are finished dismantling us.

Buzzcagney62 (National) - 17/04/2022 17:53:53