Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from leitrimlhady

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "It's going to be painful to watch. We had 5 years of it. 14 players behind the ball."
not based on the Mayo game!! Or the challenges they've played in the last few weeks...... Maybe ye just didnt have the players to play a more expansive game :-)

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 17/01/2019 16:44:55

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)

Replying To offyertrolley:  "Thanks for that. Some bitter memories of Kilmallock from 2008. We were relegated to Div 4 on that ground. We shouldn't have lost that day. It would be good to set the record straight this time."
was there that day........ greatest robbery ever. John Mc keon kicked the ball from midfield just before the referee blew for half time; the ball ended up over the bar from his kick but the whistle went while it was in the air and the score wasn't counted! Ridiculous decision; we ended up losing by a point and in Div 4 instead of Div 3...... Was gutted that evening. Now a chance to put it right at long last!!

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 15/02/2019 14:07:09

Connacht Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Robroy1:  "Jesus no wonder players walk if this is the support they get in the county. Emlyn has had plenty of opportunity to walk before or indeed play for another county but never even entered his head , he always stated he would only play for Leitrim ... does it not look apparent to everyone Hyland style is way out there , and maybe he gave no respect to the older players who played through the barren years. Even when Hyland spoke on Sunday game it was all them and Leitrim no 'us' from him was so apparent he wanted to distance himself from the whole thing ... he has worked no miracles he inherited a team who hammered a division 2 in Louth and spend a half going toe to toe with a division 1 team and didn't look out of place last year plus add in the aughawillan players who would not play for their county last year (that no one seems to mind) and of course we have a strong playing hand .... we got promoted because we have the players to do so and he was the first manager in years to have a full hand... but a lot of wins in the league were papering over cracks.. If Mulligan left I have no doubt he felt he had no other choice and it was a difficult decision but a corner back been put on ahead of him at centre forward couldn't have helped and Reynolds not even getting a run when we were being cut open.... S&C is crap talk majority of these lads have been on panel for 3 years , a lot of Roscommon players same time on s&c programmed , we can't always be 4 years behind , tactically we were sent out to slaughter ...we have good footballers and the ones that left have never done it before so why now ... and finally Mulligan did not go to the papers or go public that he left he obviously tried to keep it quiet so the media and publicity comments are very unnecessary... a brilliant player , I hope he enjoys the time away and comes back fresh next year because he is a long way off finished"
Robroy... you say "Even when Hyland spoke on Sunday game it was all them and Leitrim no 'us' from him was so apparent he wanted to distance himself from the whole thing". That's just simply not true...... You can listen to his interview on the RTE player...... in terms of describing the team, he says "Leitrim" or "they" twice , and says "we" or "we'll" or four times. Full text was "Leitrim is probably four or five years physically behind these lads in conditioning and you could see that as the game wore on. But look it they've a lot to work on but at least we know where we are and what we have to do to get better. And we'll work from there" Stick to the facts please. Youre generally a level headed and informed commentator so don't let unchecked assumptions ruin that. It's been a hard enough week without people just regurgitating stuff without checking the facts and in some cases (though not you RR in fairness) exaggerating stuff and trying to create a divide between players and management. It was a bad day at the office; some lads aren't happy they weren't picked and have decided to pack it in. So be it. I agree with your points on Emlyn and his service to us; there's just a couple of jealous trolls out there that don't want to admit he was a great servant, or deal in facts. Don't stoop to that level

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 17/05/2019 16:10:31

Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Last week was simply a great day to be a Leitrim fan - yes the sending off changed things but I felt we were getting on top even before that anyway. What it did, more than anything else, was force us to push up one on one. Everyone I met at half time said the same thing........ if we play man on man we'll win this handy. And boy did that turn out to be the case........... Tomorrow will be very different unfortunately. We are facing a serious team with serious players at a level we are nowhere near ready for yet (D Hughes, Mc Manus and O'Connell were all on a 24 man Ireland panel in Australia last winter as an example). Our progress wont be measured by what happens tomorrow...... it'll be measured next Feb and March in the league; it'll be measured by whether that panel returns en masse for 2019; it'll be measured by whether the likes of Conor Cullen, Pearse Dolan, Niall Mc Govern, Shane Moran are involved next year. However in the interim, we also need days like tomorrow; days when Leitrim football is relevant again, days when kids get to see their local heroes on the big stage; days when Leitrim men realise that yeah, Monaghan are good, but they're also human. Days on which we will probably fail, but days when we will gain the experience and know-how to fail better (or not fail at all!!) next time around......... It's a process folks.............. best of luck to all the lads tomorrow and a big welcome to all the Farney men and women to our Field of Dreams Liatroim abú!

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 29/06/2018 10:25:36

Club Championship - 1 Like(s)
Fenagh were worthy winners yesterday and Annaduff can have few complaints. The game essentially came down to the fact that Fenagh took their goal chances and Annaduff missed theirs. Sean Mc Nabola seemed the one class act for Annaduff - plenty of endeavour from the remainder of the team but they are still reliant on an older cohort of players. For Fenagh - they totally dominated midfield; both Gilheany and Wrynne impressed. Wing back Keegan also caught my eye but star of the show was undoubtedly Ryan O Rourke who was simply unplayable at times. Overall, an enjoyable game, a great crowd (Ive seen Senior finals with less at them) and good to see both teams trying to play a more direct game. Well done to Fenagh; they will be an addition to the Senior ranks next year.

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 22/10/2018 10:37:45

County Panel 2019 - 1 Like(s)
A right proper performance yesterday - hard not to get excited about the year ahead. It wasn't that we drew with Mayo (we've done that and even beaten them before), it was just the all round quality. Still questions at the back but the way our new manager dealt with them on the fly, showed just why he was wanted so badly by Longford and others. Evan Sweeney was a revelation; Jack Heslin gets better every time I see him and when was the last time you saw Leitrim dominate midfield? My hunch watching yesterday is that Terry likes the big men - and that line-out was probably bigger than Mayo which was the biggest surprise of all. Wexford will be a HUGE challenge; but being at home will be a great help and hopefully the Leitrim support will return in numbers - as some one said in an earlier post, this team is seriously entertaining to watch. Their attacking play really is a joy More of the same please!!

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 07/01/2019 16:59:22

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
It was a good but not a great performance yesterday; we were deserving winners, but the margin of it was due to the Wexford keeper playing a big role in at least 2 of the 3 goals (if not all three!). But it's a good complaint - play bad and win well! Ryan O Rourke is just something else! I thought Domhnaill Flynn had a good game too, as did Sean Mc Weeney. Shane Moran in the 2nd half showed just how good he can be. The trip to Aughrim is huge - hopefully a big following make the journey and I have a sneaky feeling Wexford will do us a favour by beating Antrim in Wexford Park next weekend. They are a decent side (Wex) and the two malones (I think??) at wing back for me were outstanding. The lad at 15 too impressed me and the full back is a player for sure A win in Aughrim and we'll have some backing for the Antrim game.........

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 28/01/2019 12:26:26

Division 4 - National League - 1 Like(s)
Derry don't have a God given right to win the Division but they should have better players than most of the rest of us. I wouldn't write us off going up there but on the laws of probability, Derry are justifiably favourites. For us, we need to take one game at a time. There are NO easy games in this Division - none. Any game - including London, Waterford, Limerick - that we do not prepare properly for, we WILL be beaten. For now, the only thoughts should be of Wicklow. Get 2 points down there hopefully and then we'll look at the next one (Antrim) Its hard not to get excited at this stage (we've been starved of success for so long) but it is very very early days. Onwards to Aughrim and hopefully some of the injured lads will be back in the frame

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 28/01/2019 16:21:09

Qualifiers 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Sligo have a dual player which is why they are on separate days. I think it's a great days entertainment with the two games on - and allows anyone who wants, the chance to go to the Ulster Final on the Sunday between two of our neighbouring Counties (lots will go - the Northern half of the County with their interest in Donegal and the Eastern half and their interest in Cavan). Super weekend ahead

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 12/06/2019 10:18:01

Qualifiers 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "Make no mistake if both Dublin hurling and football teams were playing the same weekend, they wouldn't be played on the same day unless it was a double header at 'neutral' Croke Park. But if our county board are happy with this outrage who are we to argue"
while it's awful to let facts get in the way of a good whinge or a stab at the county board for being happy with this "outrage", unfortunately lonesomegoose (or whatever today's moniker is for your mutli faceted personality) the facts are Dublin are often playing on the same weekend and on the same day and at different venues. I do believe as recently as last March 16th they played in the Hurling league quarter final in Thurles against Tipp and in football the same day in Croke Park against Tyrone. Make no mistake about it

leitrimlhady (Leitrim) - 12/06/2019 17:22:48