Galway Forum

Popular Posts from SamandLiamSoon

NFL Division 1 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I dont care about Galway winning in navan - its the disgraceful pulling and dragging of players let off by the ref I had an issue with - same as RD. I was beside some Mayo people in a storm in navan last game and had no issue with them winning - another close game but they won fair and square. And I generally do like galway football but was quite surprised today considering all the good things we had heard about them."
Galway haven't been involved in much pulling and dragging in games up to now but decided today was the day to do it? Interesting change of a game plan when the previous tactics were working so well. If you don't think Meath were equally involved in the s***e that went on then you're deluded.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 01/03/2020 18:01:29

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 8 Like(s)
Which pundit got the Louth lad suspended for 12 weeks?

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 27/06/2017 18:54:38

Andy Mcentee And The Referee - 8 Like(s)

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Ah, come on that's OTT. I wasnt at the Kerry game so cant really comment about the black cards which I think he moaned about. However, the end of the Mayo game where the ref added on zero time and yesterday where Galway showed a level of cynicism that Tyrone would be proud of and got away with it leaves me with some sympathy for Andy."
For every incident of Galway cynicism in Galway I can back it up in spades with the same for Meath. Sean Kelly was booked in the first half when the ref had his backed turned and Kelly ended up with no jesery on him and yet he got a booking!! And after recent events what has intercounty teams "learned"? Get into a grapple with Kelly again with a player who is not booked, Both get a booking and Kelly gets sent off. This happened three times with Kelly in the second half. Thankfully whether Croke Park have spoken to refs or not they didn't fall for it yesterday. Paul Conroy gave a cynical pull of a jersey for a kickout. Ref brought the ball forward to the spot of the Conroy foul. Cynical. Advantage Meath. It happnens. Meath did the exact same thing for a Galway kick out. Ref does the exact same thing. I'm sure the great Andy can explain how Galway tricked them into fouling. Another incident Johnny Heaney is galloping like the fine breed of a racehouse he is up towards the Meath goal on a counter attack but according to the Meath forum Heaney got distracted by a fillie in green and rather than continuing his gallop up the pitch he decides the best course of action is to mount the Meath lad and have a bit of rough and tumble on the fine Navan sod. I'm sure in some poeples head it makes sense. It was a stop start game and like the Conroy incident above Galway were involved in enough of it but it was not a one way street by a long shot. The face to face confrotation as was seen by the Meath lad squaring up to Joyce on the sideline was evident across the pitch maybe it was down to the do or die nature of the game for Meath not helped by the elements. For me as a Galway fan if I was Andy McEntee the biggest mistake of the game was an absolutely bizzare attempt by a Meath player to try a cross field ball in front of his own goal into a strong wind. Two passes later it was in the Meath net. That's what cost Meath the game. Without it Galway were in trouble. Division 4 mistake (probably being unkind to Division 4 teams to be honest it was that poor a mistake). Fix things you can control such as mistakes like this and poor free taking. Relying on refs to get everything right will always end in tears. Wish Meath well for their last two games. This bellyaching is beneath ye as fans and certainly below a manager trying to lead a group of players.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 02/03/2020 15:24:49

On The Edge Or Reckless Endangerment? - 7 Like(s)

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Game over Kilkenny won the match. Am not talking from "sour grapes" point of view BUT There is an element of the game becoming not just "on the edge" but completely beyond the bounds of safety. Re Did not see the the cause of injury to Declan Hannon or Barry in detail. Wonder if it could be isolated and put on YouTube for further review ,debate. May be perfectly innocent but may prevent future injuries to all players in all codes. Maybe Croke Park needs to be awoken from its slumber.. How about it?"
How about you start with how you feel about the incidents and don't come out with such a wishy washy post. You got an issue post it. You don't know happened find out. Then come back to us. You won't lack for media attention or replays anywhere online if that's what you need.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 28/07/2019 13:41:43

Pearse Stadium - 7 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Felt really sorry for two good teams having to play at the side of the ocean today. Salthill is just not suitable for games. Two good teams. The one big reason for the game being poor was the conditions. All for a city like Galway having cship games but every second game in salthill is ruined by the conditions"
You won't find any disagreement for any Gaa going Galway supporter.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 26/05/2019 22:06:48

Andy Mcentee And The Referee - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=waynoI:  "Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!! Im fine with Meath being rubbish. Long may it continue."
Defo just my opinion, i know many other Dubs think the same way you do. For me its hard going not having a competitive game until the end of July if even Wayno, Leinster has turned into a dirge, something to be endured rather then enjoyed. Im at the stage that id relish a different challenge. Ha maybe im misty eyed, but some of those games the crowds and games in Leinster are better then the fare we are seeing in the quarters and Semis. Whatever about Meath, both Leinster and Munster need a shake up. Id make a super province Div 1 & 2 teams in Munster and Leinster in one provincial draw and 2&3 in provincial, the numbers probably arent evenly split but something along those lines."]You write a lot of s***e. Maybe your just trying to be all things to all men. Any player management and fans have one goal. Winning. And after winning, winning by a lot. Hammering, destroying wrecking carnage on anyone who steps in front of them. Simple nature of sport. And when it comes to your nearest neighbour's and biggest rival I doubt you'll find many who wish them well or want to see them going toe to toe again. If Galway win the next day and relegate Mayo I hope we celebrate it like 1998 and 2001 take the week off and go on the absolute tear. Might somehow ease the pain of 2013 and how much we still hear about that match. When Mayo are in Division four and a Trump Wall is built around Headford we might rest easy in the city of the Tribe. Until then the teams of Connacht will continue to do what we always do. Inflict as much misery on the opposition as possible.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 03/03/2020 13:11:42

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 7 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "They specifically only choose to analyse and highlighy one incident. when Carlow Brendan Murphy got his matching orders he verbally abused the same linesman leaving the field. now the Sunday game choose clearly not to highlight this or analyse it. that's a clear lack of balance and a clear indication that it was because of who Connolly is that they went after him on the programme and not give the same condemnation of Brendan Murphy"
Brendan Murphy must of crossed you in a former life Hill!!! Every reply you've had for the last couple of weeks has been about Brendan Murphy!

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 27/06/2017 13:15:58

Galway Hurling thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Not included are the points scored from frees given away by the two Corner Backs.......I make it 7pts from play and 5frees"
Having watched the game back I have to ask what fictional game were you watching? Talk about making stuff up. A TD in the Dail wouldn't be a patch on you! Frees conceded: P. Mannion x 2 R. Glennon x 2 K. Cooney x 1 J. Grealish x 1 Thats the 6 accounted for so where or how exactly did the corner backs concede 5 Frees? Take in to account Reidy's 3 points (one of the 3 GMac was picking him up) and Galvin's two points we have now reduced your magical 12 points down to 6!!! 50% reduction! If only I could do the same to my electricity bill...... The days of spouting rubbish and it not be called out are gone. Every game is easily accessible online. Like the two corner backs. Up your game.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 13/03/2023 16:40:24

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Are you on the Kerry CB?"
You might want to take a break from the computer. When posts become this nonsensical I would worry for your health.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 15/08/2019 22:07:27

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "God knows what it will be next week that the journos drag up to try sling a bit of muck at Dublin. After a weekend of cracking GAA action this clickbait clown decides to write this piece of nonsense!!"
You would seriously have to wonder how any editor could let a piece like this through. Hawkeye will be the next thing to have its morality questioned.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 01/07/2019 15:37:09

Louth's Burns banned for 12 weeks - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "And how many IC games will he miss in this 12 week ban ......but how many will DC miss with the same punishment....... Fair??"
Um what? Everybody has been bleating on about consistency. Whole point of consistency is everyone receives the same treatment. Doesn't matter if you're a Dublin God or a junior F player waiting for Jim Gavins call. Minor physical inference means he will play no gaa football at any level: training or matches. Because Louth are knocked out should have no relevance to the suspension. The punishment is the punishment no matter who you are.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 27/06/2017 21:02:43

Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews - 6 Like(s)
I don't get what Gavin said. How was his "good name" affected by what Spillane said? That whole piece on the Sunday Game that night was very boring. All they did was show a few replays and read out of a rule book. At this stage I'm sure Spillane wishes he had said what he truly felt as he's getting hammered for it anyway. And he said very little worth getting upset about.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 26/06/2017 20:45:59

Mayo V Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Spoddgy:  "That because you are. Mayo gaa are living rent free in the head of yours!"
And the rest of the Mayo population are paying rent in Galway.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 01/07/2019 11:32:49

12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To JayP:  "Can of worms now opened! Now the CCCC can reverse the decisions of officials. Now every decision can be overturned. Expecting a Summer of bans now. And you know what, its what you all asked for. Connolly got burned, but dont whine when it happens to other county stars. Cant wait for the "hes not that type of player brigade"."
I must be watching different games to you because I rarely if ever see the players touch a ref.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 10/06/2017 16:40:28

Galway Vs Dublin League Final - 5 Like(s)
What is this exhibition game all about? We topped the league. Give us our medals and let us stay home next week and do a bit of farming.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 25/03/2018 21:43:23

12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I seen it today when the wexford player got yellow carded in the hurling he out his hand on the ref."
Can you tell which player? I'd be genuinely interested in having a look again to see what went on. And I hope it's not some lad about to be booked toddling over to the ref with a meek look on his face puts his hand on his shoulder and saying "sure look ref you can't book me for that every time I breath in that lads direction he's tumbling like a sack of spuds and sure me granny was only saying last night you were the best ref in Ireland and are a shoe in for reffing the All Ireland final" yellow card produced. Couple of pats on the shoulder to the ref. Game carries on. If that's your comparison this argument is finished. But if it's genuine I'd love to have a look.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 10/06/2017 22:48:34

Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Beat Laois and qualification is assured, that's the first priority. I wouldn't be too selective about any opponents we face if we make it to the LF, Dublin will give us plenty of it, they always tend to."
Winning Leinster. End of. Straight to AISF and potentially Limerick on the other side. All Ireland Final in reach. Catch Limerick in the final like they caught us in 18'. Night in the Burlington and a week of pub parish hopping in the warm glow of summer evenings.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 07/05/2022 14:49:48

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Chief.. That's all up to you. I haven't forgotten what it took to achieve this era of success, there's a revisionist narrative at play here that doesn't stack up to the actual games. You know the actual stats of play involved in determining who won what! Sort of important information.. the actual events year on year.. All those ridiculously close and competitive games where a single kick of a ball decided it all. All Played on the same pitch where only a few years before we couldn't beat a team outside Leinster even though we enjoyed the advantage of playing far more games at HQ compared to the teams that beat us with ease at times There was no Croke Park advantages then man! Unfortunately you seem to have forgotten. Nothing else I can say and tbh such a post was fully warranted in response to your own. I'm glad you feel disheartened for saying such. Because you're 100% diminishing the substantial efforts that these fellas have put in to achieve what they have just because you're not satisfied on a certain level. Feck off out of that! With all due respect I agree with what you're saying about the S8 games, but sorry the rest of it... nah. You're wallowing in some sort of self imposed BS. I remember what it took to win those games. It's a pity you don't. It's the only logical explanation, because if you remembered yourself you wouldn't be banging on like this. We won games we should have lost.. it's been that close.. game after game of legendary battles.. I listed them all, those games will go down as absolute classics, yet you're taking like this.... Daft."
Hmmm very close games ye should of lost but ye won.... playing at home.... And you don't see the problem? Across every sport in the world statistical analysis shows that team with home advantage over any period of time produce better results at home than they do away. Maybe sit back and think and I mean really think is it possible Dublin may have lost one of those close games if it was played in Castlebar, Kilarney or Clones? After spending a few hours on a bus to get there. Or spending the night before in a hotel. Might seem like minor issues but in very close games these issues do matter. Top teams in tight games the margins are very small and I know if I had Stephen Cluxton standing over a ball to win an All Ireland as a Dublin Supporter I would want him kicking in it Croke Park and into Hill 16.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 01/07/2019 08:32:42

The Myth Of 1B Being The Best Place For A Team - 4 Like(s)
1B suits Galway this year. I think Galway would of done similar last year and possibly still of won the League if in 1A last year as they were fully prepared for it (few months of training, competing in the Walsh Cup). It suits this year because they weren't back training till mid January. Same as Waterford. And like Waterford if Galway were in 1A this year they would of struggled badly against better prepared teams. So I think 1A suits nearly every team apart from the All Ireland Finalists if they take similar approaches post All Ireland as Galway and Waterford did. Galway are catching up quick but may not be quick enough for Limerick.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 27/02/2018 22:08:01

Disingenuous, Disgusting, Odious, Nasty!! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Just some of the words Ewan McKenna placed ina tweet about Jim Gavin over the weekend. I think that's very harsh if you dont know the man personally. Totally uncalled for in my view. If people want to talk about Dublin playing two games in croke park, their finances, population etc then fine I respect that, and if people feel jim gavin comes across as a bit patronizing and boring, fine, I accept that too, but surely McKenna went over the line in describing jim as disgusting, nasty and odious.. Or maybe he didnt? Am I just reading too much into it ? Seems very personal to me. No need for it."
He is simply trying to bang the loudest drum to try and either get a response or stay relevant. He has attacked everything when it comes to Dublin GAA if its not funding its playing in Croke park and so on. Whatever traction he had for some of these issues he has lost a lot of it with this latest "tweet". Even the lunatics are abandoning him after it. The fact he had to had take it down and revise shows how much it was in poor taste. I don't know anything about Jim Gavin apart from what I see on t.v. media ect and he comes across as a very dignified man and is obviously an excellent manager. I hope after this Ewan McKenna and his relevance will become less and less.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 22/07/2019 14:56:03