Galway Forum

Popular Posts from kiloughter

Mayo V Galway - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Gator:  "For the sake of football I hope Mayo come through this. However its gonna be tough. Loss of Keegan is huge impact."
'For the sake of football' Look get real. Any ills with football by and large is countrywide. Cannot be laid at one door which I suspect you are implying. I do agree we at times have been not pleasing on the eye and believe me no one is more annoyed than the core of Galway football folk. However with the player talent we have if we were more full press and direct you would see a different Galway. People though conveniently forget some of our previous performances where we shot the lights out (Ros Connacht final replay in 2016, Donegal round 4 qualifier in 2017 and last year's shoot out in the Super 8's with Kildare in New bridge). Fair enough untikely to change this wend under KW but very disingenuous to be throwing out the 'for the sake of football' line.

kiloughter (National) - 04/07/2019 11:37:39

NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)
Pulling and dragging has been endemic in the game for years. I can understand Royal frustrations as certainly it was a game Meath could have won. Often we have been regarded as 'too nice' but the pulling and dragging can be as much down to the interpretation of a fussy ref. For instance I came away from Salthill in our first match frustrated with the 2nd half performance of ref Deegan notwithstanding Monaghan kicked some really impressive points from distance in that game. Then against Kerry there was the faux pas by the ref in not letting our sin binned back in and Kerry got the winner in the time in question. Maybe these things balance out but as I said in another post the conditions did not help today.

kiloughter (National) - 01/03/2020 18:48:51

Armagh Vs Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "First of all regarding Armagh and the perception of them instigating melees, We have played this Armagh outfit as much as anyone if not more in recent years, and I have seen no issues in that regard. They do however have an all for one, one for all ethic engrained in them, with their current management team you would expect little else. This can be a good thing, but must be in a more controlled manner. For me this is an issue for their management going forward , full stop. Regarding sanctions, it goes without saying the eye gouging incident needs to be dealt with in isolation as it is a new departure tbat must be nipped in the bud straight away. The problem with imposing appropriate sanctions on each team is that they will not result in equitable sanctions, in that imposing bans on Armagh players is not the same as imposing bans on Galway players. There can be no doubt that a Galway player instigated the melee, it was plain for every fair minded person to see that he jumped on top of an Armagh player from behind leaving the pitch, this is not just a physical assault but is a degrading act. If sanctions are to be imposed as per the rules he is in trouble. That being the case Galway may have two very important players missing on either end of the pitch for the all ireland semi final at least. If Armagh have four or five banned, while it may be appropriate, it is not equitable The GAA have an issue here and now is the time to regulate sanctions more equitably. Let's say for example both teams were docked 2 league points for next year's league campaigns, that would be equitable, or that red cards be carried over to next year's championship. Just examples There is also the culture of pushing and imposing physicality on opponents rampant in the game. This is an issue for referees and no one else, the rules are there and are simply not implemented. If a player comes on the pitch and pushes, or is pushed by, an opponent that's a yellow card simple as, do it twice and you're off. I noticed during the warm ups on Sunday players actually practicing pushing each other so as to mentally and physically prepare themselves for the inevitable. Referees, apply the rules, its not up to you to keep players on the pitch, it's up to the players themselves and management. For example Monaghan played Dublin in the League this year and the referee refused to allow any pulling or dragging of players off the ball, early on, Players knew early they weren't going to get away with it. One of the best forward displays this year was witnessed by those attending that day because of the contribution of that referee, I have no doubt on that. Apply the rules and property regulate sanctions and our games are still the best in the world Thats all I'm going to say about that"
Not sure which Galway player you are referring to but clearly Damien Comer did not instigate the melee. Himself and Shane Walsh were targeted from the get go and I am now questioning what role have linesmen other than manning the line. On numerous occasions both of these players (Walsh particularly) had off the ball stuff thrown at them. Yes Comer was involved in pushing and shoving (one incident with Raftery during the game) and then the full time situation where he was involved. But let nobody be misguided. The eye gouging brought this to a whole new level. Yes one of our subs could be in trouble as he certainly threw a hand/fist at TK. Other than that it was hard to see were any other punches thrown although our no. 4 Jack Glynn seemed to be set on at one point by an Orchard crew. Yes unsavoury but most handbags which unfortunately happens quite a bit.

kiloughter (National) - 28/06/2022 13:13:53

Galway GAA Convention - 5 Like(s)

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "this is thread is hard reading for any Galway hurling fans. I suspect the same for football fans. I really think the two sports need to be split at an admin level. I, as a hurling fan and club member (of a hurling club) have zero interest in the running or performance of Galway football. On the issue of sponsorship I somewhat resent that Galway football should benefit as a result of the Hurlers success of the last decade, which is why I would be much happier for a split again. Obviously there are some synergies which would benefit such as training gyms and facilities but administration and finances should be totally separated I feel."
Yes but prior to the mid seventies the only reasonable success for hurling fans in terms of a top team to follow were the great football teams we produced in the 1930's, '50's and '60's. Like it or not there is a tradition you cannot deny whereby football has greatly promoted Galway as a strong GAA brand and plenty of hurling people had no issue with the piggy backing on the economic benefits accrued from the last great Galway football side of twenty yrs ago. Moreover the centre of excellence was originally a football facility only so I think the football people are well entitled to argue that they have greatly contributed to us being a strong GAA county. Swings and roundabouts and a true fan IMO would acknowledge this even if they are aligned to one code over the other.

kiloughter (Galway) - 30/12/2019 19:10:47

Mayo V Galway - 5 Like(s)
I think Dublin Joe should be renamed Mayo Joe. Very pro Mayo in first 17 mins.

kiloughter (National) - 06/07/2019 19:18:00

Kildare Vs Galway - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Why I wonder were Galway people shouting that at ye? Was it anything to do with your own obnoxious behaviour on the day? They were right by the way, ye haven't won Sam! PS; Its Pearse Stadium."
My memories of that was some Mayo folk taking selfies of the final score on the stadium scoreboard and Andy Moran giving it loads. Probably harmless stuff to most Galwegians but i sensed a few took umbrage as it did feel like a case of 'being kicked when down'. Personally my take is on this if you cannot be magnanimous in victory you need to look in the mirror.

kiloughter (National) - 20/07/2018 15:59:14

Joe Canning for Hurler of the Year - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You could have misinterpreted the 'objectivity' there, Killarney? Kiloughter comes across on this forum as Galway's quintessential 'football man'. A few of those people couldn't take 100% enjoyment from the hurling success in recent weeks. I'm not saying Kiloughter was one of those for a moment. What I'm saying, is that on Galway football matters, he's a glass half full guy, on hurling a glass half empty. He has majored on the mental weakness of the Galway hurler & Mayo footballer for years, on occasion seeming to hint that there was just something better in the top six inches of the 'Galway footballer'. He was certainly a subscriber to the Sam would come before Liam brigade in Galway, after both the '12 & '15 final losses. Notable that he introduced Jamie Barron as 'the dual player' in his commendation too!"
Yes i am a dual supporter. Pity more Galway folk were not. The fact Barron plays football has nothing to do with me giving him a slight nod for POTY. Completely separate issues in fairness and if one cannot be objective on these things what is the point. As for if i am more football than hurling so what. At least i follow both and yes i do sometimes get miffed about a small element of the Galway 'hurling only' crew who don't see the big picture. On the flip side there are many many decent hurling folk who have been supporting the code for many years and the same folk you see at any type of club game. The glass half full vis a vis glass half empty argument i certainly would not entertain. When i contributed a few yrs ago on some of the hurling threads some posters just did not want to see the reality if it differed from their only rose tinted opinion.

kiloughter (National) - 22/09/2017 12:40:54

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 4 Like(s)
Proves Meath are not a Div 1 team. A county I always admired but no Div 1 team as far as I can see would capitulate to Dublin so meekly two years running. The population point by an earlier poster is off the mark. Meath are largely a one GAA code county with a decent population. Other one code counties (where football is king am thinking of Mayo, Donegal and Kerry) remain competitive and like Meath don't have administrative wrangling and historical preferences of two relatively strong GAA in their counties. However you would never see any of those counties massacred by the Dubs 2 yrs in a row. Leinster is a basket case. A few years ago Kildare seemed to be making progress but appears to have stalled. Meath though it appears learned nothing from 12 months despite from all the perceived advantages the Dubs have.

kiloughter (National) - 22/11/2020 08:13:05

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "One of the worst displays in years.. No kickout strategy, no Midfield, holes right through our defence, no one laying a hand on runners, no one supporting our man in possesion, a very limited bench.. we are in disarray. Molloy J Daly with ball in hand or only bright spots."
I can tell you straight the Offaly performance was worse than today in terms of being lethargic etc. Performance today better. Kickouts last week all short. At least Conor Flaherty varied it today. Defence was solid and turned over an amount of ball. Ref quite picky. We do lack forward depth and would be worried where we will get scores if Shane or Damo are not firing. For all the negativity on these types of fora we are top of the division and cannot really ask for much more than that.

kiloughter (National) - 13/03/2022 16:39:49

Galway V Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To renoir:  "Very deluded post. I thought he looked a long way off the pace."
Time will tell on JL as he has only had two appearances. A lot was expected from Martin Farragher as well but he has not kicked on and probably has regressed a little on his club form. Still both are relatively young so there is still time for them to make an impact. In fairness to Farragher he was sort of thrown in to a rather chaotic set up in Limerick last year with the mess over the goal keeper situation and bringing on Damo who was barely half fit I would suggest. Cooke was our stand out guy that evening and we could do with him for 2021. On this season we still have good options and in with a decent chance of winning Connacht. That match in Tuam last Sunday week will have little relevance and if anything our guys will be hurting if we get to a provincial final.

kiloughter (Galway) - 28/10/2020 17:44:15

Mayo vs Fermanagh - 4 Like(s)
Awful decision. O Se should be reprimanded for the next match for a stonewall dive.

kiloughter (National) - 09/07/2016 16:57:43

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To JahTribe:  "Tyrone packed the defence and we dont have lads able to take points from distance so its recycle and recycle and a very hard watch. I thought Heaney, Tierney, O Flaherty, Maher, Fitzgerald and Finnerty did well. We ground out a win and the ref punished the recycling by blowing it up when Tyrone recycled it instead of taking a kick at the posts at the death, its a valuable 2 points and if we can beat Monaghan it might be enough to stay up. Hope Tierney and Conroy are ok and good to see Sean Kelly back."
I have noticed that about not having consistent accurate distance shooters. Conroy always was good and Finnerty and Heaney have it in their locker. I don't know is it a case of the instruction is not to shoot unless the % of converting is high or do they not trust themselves. Either way very important deserved win. 2nd half performance impressive and the O'Flaherty Sweeney axis on the left wing worked well.

kiloughter (National) - 18/02/2024 17:36:18

Galway vs Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galwayfball:  "My point about kyne is he gets stupid yellow cards. I don't think he shouldn't start just needs to be more disciplined. kerins, kyne and Sweeney should start and will start. I'll be supporting my team all of them . Up by ten points yesterday and power goes too far out the field according to Galway 'supporters' standing behind me who proceed to talk muck about him. The lad had saved a penalty and found a Galway man with almost every kickout at this stage. Some people can never be pleased."
Agreed on Power. He was scapegoated for the Tipp defeat last year but it was plain to see that the damage was done further out the field. If fans think Power travels too far they must have short memories as the man before him Manus B would give you heart failure with his sorties.

kiloughter (Galway) - 23/07/2017 19:04:54

Mayo V Meath - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Just watched some disgusting behaviour from Meath corner forward on the Sunday game. Screaming verbals at his marker while he lay on the ground and after he scored. Really negative stuff and needs to be looked at by the powers that be."
If that is the Boyle incident in fairness Boyle half poleaxed the Meath guy. Look closer. Of course verbals are not nice but Boyle believe me brings it on himself. Great servant but niggly in every sense.

kiloughter (National) - 22/07/2019 08:48:24

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Great atmosphere and feel good factor around Galway, lots of maroon and white flags all over the place. Huge Galway crowd heading to Croke Park and the amount of people saying they think Galway will win. Confidence is high and the team are ready for this one."
Yes Katser. Big crowd going up from my area which is both hurling/football in pretty much equal measure. I know big support travelling from certain football heartlands. People who are just great GAA folk and will support all things maroon whatever the code. Have a quite confidence that our guys will carry the day tomorrow.

kiloughter (National) - 07/07/2023 18:32:07

Tommy Conlon On Sean Boylan's Meath - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "Good post!! Boylan provided Meath people with their glory days. Their record since and you could argue for decades before his arrival shows the magitude of the man's success. Meath is an average footballing county like 7 or 8 others - in a group with a few of the Ulster counties, Cork, Galway, Mayo etc. They'll always struggle to consistently maintain that type of success and in truth might never witness that relentless period of success again. I don't think anyone will ever match his success in Meath in the generations to come. A bit like Big Jack and the Irish soccer team, Meath people around during the Boylan years should count themselves fortunate."
Only thing one or two of the counties you mention in that group would have a better spread in terms of different periods for their successes. I get the kernel of your point though.

kiloughter (National) - 17/08/2020 19:12:13

Galway Vs Dublin League Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Any truth to Brolly assertion that the Corofin lads dont like playing for Galway due to the style of football lads? I know officially no one would ever come out and say such, but any basis for that. What the word on the gorund? Personally i think success is the great leveler if you have a chance of playing football in the latter stages of the championship, in the biggest stadiums deep into the summer months surely a players ambition would be do that regardless of the style of play. Seems odd Brolly keeps pushing that narrative."
Brolly probably only analyst who would say anything official or unofficial. Apparently he intimated the same in his Sunday column a week ago on the back of a chat with 2 Corofin fans at the Galway Dublin league game in Salthill. Am sure that comment by the Corofin folk was a side of the mouth one and would expect 4 Corofin players to start on Mayo 13th. RTE should really review their panel as they will lose ratings if they continue with Brolly in particular.

kiloughter (National) - 02/04/2018 15:26:06

NFL Division 1 - 3 Like(s)
Being honest O'Connor seems to be harsly treated for his contribution and certainly I would not see McManus (a great player in his own right) as necessarily better. However the biggest issue I have had with O'Connor has been his discipline. Moaned to refs lot over the years more than any other top forward I am aware of but in terms of contributing has been very significant for Mayo particularly up to 2017.

kiloughter (National) - 14/02/2020 21:57:19

NFL Division 1 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Is this what's going to happen after every game? "Ref awful......" why don't you get up off your backside and ref yourself if you think you can do better."
Call it as it is. Easy to cry foul when one loses but win or lose poor officiating needs to be called out as difficult as the job is for refs. And we are all entitled to opinions even if not palatable to you.

kiloughter (National) - 26/01/2020 21:10:24

Players opting out of County Panels - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bumpernut:  "Occasionally we get players who opt-in!"
Ah witnof you don't need facts to back this up. 52 players in Galway over the last 18 months either not taking up the invite from Mgt or dropping out of the panel should be fact enough. It is plain to the naked eye. Am definitely not in the Brolly corner but in relation to this issue he does make some valid points. Added to this is the fact that Football is so tactical and structured that very few players play with abandon anymore. In our case we know we have been left behind (our own fault obviously) but if you are telling me football is more enjoyable for the average footballer I think there is no more to be said.

kiloughter (National) - 03/06/2016 15:45:45