Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from Liamwalkinstown

New Admins at HS? - 24 Like(s)
To Admins, and whoever else see's this...? Whats the craic with the new ULTRA conservative administrating of this forum? Threads and posts are disappearing all over the gaff lately. On the Eamonn Fitz comments thread last night you deleted half the posts! There was nothing incriminating or libellous in any of it, but it seems if you so much as whisper anything thats not ultra positive, your posts are deleted! Compare that to some of the stuff that has been left on in the recent past re Tiernan McCann, Diarmuid Connolly, Aidan O'Shea, Philly Mc ETC Whats the story Admin. Ye want people to use this forum, ye want us to post, so please explain to us what it is that is upsetting ye that see fit to remove posts re Eamonn Fitzmaurice etc? And dont say it had become personal because it absolutely had not! Do we, as your faithful users not deserve this much? Hard to be positive about a forum that just chops and cuts at the whim of one moderator over another. Yours, LW

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 06/04/2017 12:26:16

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 13 Like(s)
I am going to get slated, disowned and ridiculed for this, but....sometimes you gotta be honest and say what you see. Re funding I don't know enough to make an educated comment but, on the face of it, it DOES seem unfair Playing all our home games in Croker absolutely is wrong and playing purchase neutral game in super 8s in Croker plus our home game IS wrong. We do get special benefits, we do have unfair advantageso and hand on heart, our current dominance IS compromised. I tool this view in recent years hence my lack of involvement on HS in recent years Breaks my heart to admit that

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 28/06/2019 23:33:39

The Beast From The East - 13 Like(s)
Great to see Diarmuid Connolly back in a blue shirt over the weekend.........

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 26/02/2018 12:11:23

"Why Should Anybody Have The God-Given Right To See All Games On Television?" - 12 Like(s)
Completely disagree See, this attitude which I note is in the majority here, it completely misses the point of the actual GAA itself. Ye are viewing the GAA as being the same as soccer, rugby etc; ie just another sport. The GAA and coverage of same however is NOT just another sport, it is so so much more than that, and to many many people means so much more than that. It is an Irish institution, no less than the 6 o clock news and the late late show. The attitude that "sure so what if the old lads in the nursing homes can't see it, sure didn't they grow up not seeing it" or the ol "Sligo are never on tele anyways" completely insult everything many GAA people would have believed all their lives. That attitude is a classic example of "i am alright John" Those same "old lads" deserve to be able to watch their county, or for that matter, any county play a big game like a Super 8 clash. For many, GAA would have been an integral part of their lives growing up and into adulthood and beyond. To simply wipe away their needs with a "what of it" is incredibly insulting and just bloody wrong I am in the minority on this one, I get that, but it gals me to see so many GAA fans, who I have no doubt all have the capacity to either go to the match, or to the pub to watch the match, just deride older GAA people's entitlements to enjoy the sport this nation was bloody founded on. And if you decry that and you throw your eyes to heaven at that, then you fail to grasp the importance and cultural significance the GAA has and has always had to this country since its inception, and to the older generations in particular Perhaps the GAA is just another football team/Hurling team to you, but its so much more to so many, and many of those same people are in their dotage and deserve to be looked after. But sure look, so long as ye got to see the games, eh lads..........

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 06/08/2019 15:42:09

Andy Moran retires - 10 Like(s)
Credit to his county Happy Retirement Andy

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 27/08/2019 15:36:27

Boycott Leinster Championship 2020 - 10 Like(s)
I think no Dubs game should be in Croke Park before Leinster Final. I think Dubs should only have one home game in super 8s. If the GAA can't see the chasm they are facilitating then maybe a boycott possibly IS a good idea. We are good enough to beat anyone, anywhere. We would beat Meath in Navan, Kildare in Newbridge. We would beat Kerry in Killarney or Donegal in Ballybofey. Get the Dubs out of Croker bar the biggest games. Level the field. Kill the excuses

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 02/07/2019 00:42:46

Stephen Cluxton - 9 Like(s)
Maybe he will retire Maybe he won't Regardless, this is the man. He is THE man. We have never seen his like. We may never again. Peeeless. The greatest Dublin footballer of all time The greatest goalkeeper of all time Clucko, it's been a privilege to watch you since 2001. A genuine privilege. He means so much to Dublin people and I think to football people in general. He transcends the sport. Legend. Hero. Icon Captain our captain God bless you Stephen Cluxton.

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 15/09/2019 19:41:20

Egg on James Horans face - 7 Like(s)
The way he poo pooed Galway on Sky, Newstalk and the Star really came back to haunt him. He was incredibly arrogant. What was he thinking. Double figures he said !! Ouch!

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 18/06/2016 22:49:48

Media Mayo Mourning - 6 Like(s)
This will make me as popular as a fart in bed but anyone else sick to death of the print and broadcasts l medias group orgy of sorrow and woe regarding Mayo?? Youd be forgiven for thinking Mayo were horsewhipped by the Gestapo ffs I have said my piece in here re my respect and admiration for Mayo and their fans but Jesus at this stage it's getting to famine esque levels of anguish in the media . Sorry lads

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 18/09/2017 19:45:47

All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For? - 6 Like(s)
This thread is surprising !

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 28/08/2019 16:24:52

Galway vs Mayo - 6 Like(s)
If a dub or Tyrone player carried on like a certain mayo freetaker today this place would go into indignant meltdown desperate stuff

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 11/06/2017 19:54:16

Sean Cavanagh - 6 Like(s)
Now is not the time to talk about the match. Sean Cav you are a legend. A genuine bona fide legend. I felt for you today. You did not deserve that. Thanks for the memories. Love from Dublin. Good luck.

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 27/08/2017 17:50:09

Hurling pundits v Football Pundits V CCCC - 5 Like(s)

Replying To AgainstTheOdds:  "I remember a Football player punching another on the ground repeatedly and getting away with it a couple of years ago......."
Are you talking about the time a certain Kerry legend boxed a limerick wing forward 4 times in the Gaelic Grounds and then went down like a sack of spuds when he got a push back and had his man sent off.... That time is it?

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 15/08/2017 15:11:05

Pete McGrath says "up the Dubs" - 5 Like(s)
Anyone hear him on Off the ball! Ulsterman will have a hernia if he listens back to the podcast! To summarise - ulster funal was shocking stuff, rubbish football and he prays the Dubs win Sam for the sake of football! How i loved it and smiled! A boy Pete. Yp the Dubs

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 20/07/2016 20:34:24

It's Cavans to lose in 2018 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To potnorwindow:  "After less than one year in charge Mattie will propel Cavan to an Ulster title, then win through All Ireland glory You heard it here FIRST"
Ye would want to start stocking up on the tin foil and the bread soon Bread freezes well. Tesco do a standard load for 59c Packet of luncheon roll about a euro, easi singles another Euro Ye will get the summer ouf of that sure

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 05/09/2017 10:52:53

Galway vs Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni39:  "Didn't see the game, but nothing would surprise me about a certain Mayo player. Sure I'm blue in the face trying to point it out on here. Butter wouldn't melt!"
Spot on. He gets all this sympathy and pats on his head, but he is as cynical a player as there is

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 12/06/2017 11:33:59

Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "You gave me directions through a rough part of Tralee where I'd get my head kicked in ! lol You've said plenty on here that you wouldn't say in the real world chief to a Dubs fan to their face Now fair enough you've had your say but for Jaysus sake can you never just accept the odd thing.. You and a couple others are the main cause of an awful lot of negative buzz on this site yet you always point the finger.. I'm not the first to point out as much"
He try sending you to the Bullring was it Jimbo?!?! Hermit, far from the ol loveable cute kerry hoor that we all know and get on with, you are just nasty at times. Westkerry my friend, just back from your part of the world again, the finest of people, the most beautiful of places. Ye are blessed Regarding what SC said, I will say this; when Kerry fan's see you as beneath them, they are the nicest people in the world. When they see you as a threat, the mask slips on some of them SOME

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 11/07/2019 16:36:38

Dublin v Kerry - 5 Like(s)

Replying To plike:  "Connolly should have been hauled ashore. Unlike the Gooch, he will sail again when he sorts his rigging out. As for Geaney, I'm not sure what the deal was. A draw would have been a fair result BUT I think Dublin would have won that anyway. The fitness levels, speed of movement and (to borrow a phrase) offloading by Kerry just isn't good enough at present. We're not far off though... and all those who talk of Fitz facing a mutiny should be keel hauled, at the very least (ie dragged off to slaughter in Rathkeale)"
Plike, u say Dermo should have been taken off......? Was that before or after he kicked the score of the day off his left in full stride to win the game???

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 29/08/2016 12:34:14

Teams Of The Year/Decade/Century, All Stars - 5 Like(s)
Buff is a clown

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 28/08/2019 12:24:25

Kerry V Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Charlie Redmond says Dublin GAA struggled to win Leinsters from 1995 to 2011. They only won 10. More then every other county combined for those years."
U might want to revisit that there Jack..............!!!

Liamwalkinstown (National) - 29/08/2019 09:28:01