Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from Joxer

Armagh Vs Galway - 17 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Armagh were dreadful. Retreated back to the bad old days of backwards, sideways nonsense and losing possession. Discipline was poor as well. Galway deserved it."
A great game ruined by another disgraceful brawl involving Armagh. I'm sure that you'll be banging on about the anti-Ulster "Dublin based media" when it's all over the press tomorrow. LOL

Joxer (National) - 26/06/2022 16:10:26

Dublin GAA thread - 16 Like(s)

Replying To commander:  "Show us where Glen blamed the ref. If you bothered to read or listen to his interview he actually said the ref had a good game..."
He's had so many rants about everything it's hard to know who he's blaming. In Carlow last week he blamed the ref for doing them "no favours". He also blamed the officials in Carlow for not telling him that the throw-in would be delayed by 10m. He had the same moan about yesterday's game due to extra time in the earlier game. Most of his whinging yesterday was at the non-ref officials. His players were asked to put their gum shields in and stand back from the line. He thought that the Flynn ball wasn't out, how far away was he from that one compared to the official? He's clearly feeling the heat. The scoreboard doesn't lie at the end of the day. If you're 4 points up putting a car park in front of your goal against a misfiring opposition and you still manage to lose by 2 then you look in the mirror instead of blaming officials across the country. He has a point about familiarity but Croke Park has to be somewhere and perhaps raise that with his county board.

Joxer (National) - 02/05/2023 13:26:47

Gods or what - 16 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Some old stalwarts like dhorse, ballboy, loyal2daroyal, JayoCluxton. Hard to believe the original post was in 2008! Well over a decade wasting company time on Hoganstand! lol"
Loyal and Ballboy. Two incredible WUMs. Did Ballboy resurrect himself as Liathroidboy at some stage? Paddyogall as well. Those were the days.

Joxer (National) - 19/08/2019 14:11:35

The Drive For Five! - 16 Like(s)

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "[quote=Fionn:  "Some kerry posters are really getting their knickers in a knot... Calling for Dubs to be split in 3 or 4 etc etc.... no games in croke park, funding cut.... etc etc Unbelievable whinging and moaning... embarrassing really from a kerry point of view You would think they would have enough confidence in their own panel and upcoming panels that they can beat Dublin next year and beyond, but no. Surprising considering how well kerry did this year. Let them at it - giving me a right auld giggle reading their posts.. Onwards and upwards for us next year - the monkey is off our back and the pressure of the 5 in a Row is now gone. I think we will actually improve next year and will have some fresh talent pushing us on again. In the meantime, I will keep smiling thinking of what we have just achieved.... FIVE IN A ROW.... ;o) Atha Cliath Abu."
If Kerry played almost all championship matches in kerry over the last 15 years, got 10 times your funding or had a 10 fold population advantage you can be fairly sure Dublin fans would do likewise. They're people just like you, put yourself in their shoes."]But Jack you were in Portlaoise to witness Meath v Carlow. Meath have 9 times the population of Carlow and presumably their funding is much greater too. Is it not very hypocritical of you to keep harping on about a perceived Dublin slanted population and funding advantage when you yourself promote a Meath one? Should Meath not be split also? I mean how can you on the one hand bang on about Dublin and on the other financially support this imbalance by traveling to Portlaoise? You've been very silent on Meath's advantages against these smaller counties. Why? I mean it's all relative isn't it? Just sayin.

Joxer (Dublin) - 21/09/2019 20:06:04

Dublin GAA thread - 15 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Glen's rant was nt against the ref persais but more Croke park officialdom. He was on about different rules for different teams and feel his team not treated the same. He was on about the dressing rooms etc. Dublin have had their choice of dressing room for years and when a complaint was made years ago they said it was done in alphabetical order to have the choice. When Cork played I think in 2010 and looked to have choice of dressing room as C before D they were told its Gaeilge and Dublin are Áth Cliath (Not even Baile Átha Cliath) só Dubs got choice again. I d love to know what happens if they play Ard Mhacha. Anyway the dressing rooms won't alter a result of fame and the time to complain about neutral venue is before a game. Now With Dublin and Kildare now more than likely in same qualifier group and Kildare have home venue it will be interesting to see where game is on as I believe Newbridge is not available."
Dublin has always been Átha Cliath (Coiste Contae Átha Cliath). You know you're in trouble when you're moaning about what room you are in before throw in. Maybe the tactics board is bigger in the home dressing room. The Leinster Council (Kildare included) decide on venues. Of course you only become familiar with any pitch by playing on it. If Ryan wanted to deny his players the chance to play in Croke Park in a LSFC semi then he should have stated that before Sunday. I'd much rather see Dublin at Parnell Park than Croker in league and champo. I wonder which option opposition players would prefer. Dublin's record on the road is excellent. I don't think they mind where they're told to play by other counties.

Joxer (National) - 02/05/2023 21:48:41

Gods or what - 15 Like(s)
"What good is yer champ now". Words that will stand the test of time.

Joxer (National) - 18/08/2019 12:30:21

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 15 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people. I've seen it over on the Kerry forum by "guests" coming in to "commensurate" with us. Apparently if we point to the well know facts and figures we are dismissed as being "obsessed" with Dublin and are probably an "embarrassment" to genuine GAA people in our county. It's very interesting seeing how the arguments, deflections and rhetoric of Dublin supporters on places like this and on social media are evolving. One thing is for sure, it's getting more aggressive, more defensive and by implication they know public opinion has well and truly shifted and they can't hide behind words like volunteerism and once in a generation any longer. The horse has bolted. Also of course this isn't some reaction to the 5 in a row, for several years now people have rightly been asking questions about what has been allowed go on with Dublin by the GAA. We have the GPA, every major media outlet, every second poster on here and the majority of GAA supporters up and down the country raising these issues now. Are we all paranoid or obsessed or can Dublin supporters finally concide the simple premise that where there's smoke there's a fire. What's beyond doubt for me is that there's a semi-professional team playing 31 other counties and playing all but 1 or 2 of their games in their own ground. They are a talented, truly excellent group of players with an incredible manager but don't tell me or anyone else their dominance hasn't been greatly aided. In the past week we have heard how the Dublin senior team is able to engage in high-altitude training, no wonder they can keep running while other teams are out on their feet when the clock hits 70l! I'm sure the Dubs have enjoyed the 5 in a row, personally I don't think they being first to do it negates the wonderful tradition and history of my own county. History will judge this decade in the long run and the contexts of what went on will be set out. Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter."
History will also judge those facile Kerry AIs won with just 3-4 games. Meaningless titles and so the roll of honour will have a huge asterisk against them. This Dublin team won 9 games in the championship this year. Four of their AI final were won by either a point or went to replay. That's how hard fought they were. The money of course is games development money that is pushed down to the lower levels and not IC but it does give ammunition to the uninformed begrudgers. It's been a tremendous hard fought run from Dublin, 9 games this year, 8 games last year to win Sam and almost halted 3 times by Mayo x 2 and Kerry x 1 but it's a measure of this team's greatness that they should come through. It must pain some to witness their great success.

Joxer (National) - 22/09/2019 15:12:03

The Drive For Five! - 15 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Not sure i wholly agree with you lads Joxer and realdub. Kerry are a good team with good players who can hurt no doubt. But up until he sending off they were hanging in there in my opinion i think we outscored them in the second quarter but at least 1 -3 and the game was following a familiar pattern taking a 5 point lead in at half time, on the way to a convincing win. They were on the rack, Sean O Shea and some lucky free and a few 45 kept them in it rather then anything created expansively. I think the narrative around this game has been really interesting, there is very little acknowledgement of the numerical advantage n much of the reporting or how Dublin were well ahead up to it. Ive heard it reported that Kerry missed an awful lot they could have scored, but they did miss it, a lot of it was good skill by defenders making them pot shots and living legend in goal. What i haven't seen reposted is that we also could have had a couple of goals, Con's one in particular and also kicked a very un Dublin like amount of wides. In my opinion, people are refreshed by the drama of the game and the fact Dublin were run close and arent really acknowledging the nuances or the context of the game. The turning point was the sending off as we were cantering up until it. In a game of football anything can happen and you need a bit lof luck to win an all Ireland Kerry got that the last day and didnt press home the advantage. They have a slim chance certainly in my opinion, if luck is with them again. But i think in a 50/50 game i think we are winning 95 times out of 100, i think we are a good bit better then them. Kerry are a good side certainly, i think they will hang around now until we regress, which could be this winter with retirements etc. If they do it ill come on and congratulate, the Kerry lads and say fair play, im just very confident 15 Vs 15 we will win."
Yeah no doubt the reporting has been all about the underdog and how great they were to run us so close. We were "let off the hook" and Kerry "left it behind them". That's all well and good but on another day... - Spillane would have been done for over carrying for his goal - the 45 that Kerry got in the second half that wasn't would have been a kick out - O'Sullivan would have seen a straight red for his head high dangerous tackle on Small They may count themselves lucky. We need to take lessons from the game. We can't afford to cough up those kind of goal chances. We need more discipline and much higher intensity. Personally I think we need a bit more threat up front and I'd be tempted to sacrifice Scully. A little shake up needed. So far at the business end we've been playing to a predictable formula, a winning one that has served us well but no harm in throwing a curve ball and giving them something extra to think about. They'll be happy enough to see Howard and Scully names, sitting deep and carrying that ball over the halfway giving the duvet time to smother the attack. Throw Dermo in the half forwards or Berno into the corner. Lot of media talk about Walsh starting. I wonder will Keane bow to the pressure? I hope he does as Walsh doesn't have 35 in his legs never mind 70.

Joxer (Dublin) - 07/09/2019 10:09:10

Dublin Vs Kerry - 15 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Had to laugh at Eamon Fitzmaurice on the SG last night trying to show that Donegal still had a blanket defence at times, Kerry were pulling every man back they could all day against Dublin but he wouldn't highlight that, oh sure Kerry are the purists after all, shows you too how lame the RTE pundits are he thinks it's Ulster v Leinster in the semi finals this year."
La Rochelle would have been proud of some of those Kerry tackles alright. It was a clear tactic in the second half to stop the Dublin runners who had cut them open so easily in the first. Rugby tackle them down to give the backs time to retreat and get the duvet in place. You have to hand it to them, it worked.

Joxer (National) - 24/05/2021 16:22:00

GAA on TV - 15 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Man I don't hear anyone denying the claims.. Its the same lot that continually vote to keep Dublin in Croke Park and opposed Donegal's motion to remove Dublin for their Super 8 games Is it that surprising?"
Ye couldn't make it up, assuming Gilroy is right that is and there's no reason to think that he isn't. He was right about the low number of registered players as well.

Joxer (National) - 07/12/2020 13:20:23

Stephen Cluxton - 15 Like(s)
It's always hard to comment on a Dublin player and not be accused of having the blue tinted glasses on but he is a one of a kind IMO. I watched him yesterday pluck a kid out of the Cusack stand, little guy handed over by his dad, and Clucko walked him around with him around with the team and then jogged the kid back over to his dad from the Hogan stand. He stopped again there for photos and to sign autographs. He could have been centre stage with the lads and the cup but instead he spent the victory lap with the kids and their parents. Apart from being a great shot stopper, his commanding presence in the air (fisting away, fielding), his revolutionising of the kick-out, his penalty stopping record, his ability to take 45s, his perfectionism and training ethic, the guy is just a great leader and class act. A true legend and I really hope that when he does hang up the boots that he becomes a member of the backroom team. His leadership and experience would be invaluable.

Joxer (National) - 15/09/2019 21:25:43

Mayo V Galway - 15 Like(s)

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Well, sin sin. The soft early goal put us on the back foot straight away. The first half was a familiar sight unfortunately. Slow build-up and a complete lack of support any time we won a ball inside. We started to finally look like a better team when we went man for man and pushed up fully on their kickout. We have no business in the last 8 this year, and it should be the catalyst for a change of the management team. The best of luck to Mayo in the Super 8s. They'll give Kerry a much better rattle than we would have at the moment. On a separate note, I'm not one to usually call out players, but Cillian O'Connor was a shining example of so much that is wrong with the game today. He takes playacting to a level I haven't seen before, be it diving, faking getting hit and constantly trying to get his marker booked. I'm well aware that he's not unique in this regard, but the regularity of it is ridiculous in his case."
O'Connor is a blight on the game. He is constantly in the referee's ear, niggling at the opposition and then when he gets a tap he's on the deck glancing up at the ref looking for a free. His antics should be held up to every kid in the country as an example of how not to act on the field of play. On the game itself, cracking entertainment compared to the earlier snoozefest. Both team tried to play open football which was great, none of the endless halfway line hand-passing nonsense. Galway paid for those early goal concessions. Comer could have been the answer but they didn't seem to know how to play him. Mayo's experience and game management shone through. That's going to be some group in the S8s.

Joxer (National) - 06/07/2019 23:07:42

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 14 Like(s)

Replying To mayo_123:  "12 steps who else but Dublin would get away with it but that said fair play great achievement congrats"
How many steps did Killian Spillane take for his goal in the drawn game? 8. I don't remember you on here whinging about it though.

Joxer (National) - 14/09/2019 23:29:54

Munster Footballers Revolt In 2013 - 14 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "As I mentioned in another thread: "In October 2013, the players of Clare, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford threatened to boycott the 2015 Munster Football Championship. They were rightly annoyed with wrong decision to seed Kerry and Cork in opposite semi-finals. It was about time these counties grew a pair to sort the mess. After extensive meetings, it was rightly agreed that Munster finalists would be seeded to the semi-finals in the following year but could be drawn against each other. Tipperary benefitted from this seeding a few years back. The seeding is now earned on the field of play." Is this an example of what players in other provinces might have to do if they are unhappy about injustices or imbalances?"
Fair play to those counties. Did it benefit them? Who won Munster in 2013?..... wait I'll just check. Ah, ok, Kerry won it Surely this new found courage delivered in 2014. No looks like Kerry again 2015 hard luck, Kerry again 2016 surely this time. No, Kerry 2017 it has to be or what was the point. Kerry again 2018 for the love of God come on other counties. Oops it's Kerry again 2019 no way. It can't be. It is ye know. Kerry yet again. Fair play to those counties. They should ask God for the time wasted on it back.

Joxer (National) - 02/07/2019 19:20:15

Dublin Vs Kerry - 14 Like(s)

Replying To tonguey:  "Funny and Jim Gavin don't really belong together"
I'm sure he laughs when looking at the trophy cabinet in his sitting room and listening to a Cavan man talking about football.

Joxer (National) - 24/05/2021 16:12:57

Dublin GAA thread - 14 Like(s)
Ultimately the league table doesn't lie. We deserved to go down. Some baffling decisions from management. Fitzy was being destroyed, not at the races at all, and no reaction from the bench. Ironically it was our defence that hurt us yesterday when in previous games our forwards were causing us problems. I would have expected more experimentation from Farrell in the league. It didn't happen. A win in Clones would have seen us finish out on a decent run. We've still got the firepower to do damage in the championship though. Get John Small back into the half backs with James and Howard and if we get Con and Paddy Small back I think we'll be a tough prospect for any team. We're a long way off Kerry and Mayo at the moment though. D2 next year with the other metropolitans, Cork and Limerick. Some nice trips ahead. Target needs to be a Leinster win and then a drive at the AI series.

Joxer (National) - 28/03/2022 13:59:52

Dublin Pull Out Of The O'Byrne Cup - 14 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well we pay for our own holiday down here in kerry anyway as we pay for everything out of our own pockets, our county board put a €10 levy on allireland final tickets that goes towards the holiday."
If you ever win an AI again I'm sure that the KCB will pay for you to go to Center Parcs. It's not like they can't afford it with all of the dollars coming in from Kerry Group, the myriad of sponsors, the US and of course Minister Brendan Griffin.

Joxer (National) - 10/01/2020 18:15:12

Dublin 2015 - 2019 - 14 Like(s)

Replying To Tizcold:  "The Man City of the Gaa....."
Must try harder.

Joxer (National) - 18/09/2019 12:44:39

Kerry 4 In A Row V Dublin 5 In A Row - 14 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Yep its true, the GAA couldn't do anything while the dubs were going for the 5 but it's ok now . But in fairness it should have been done from the start."
Yes it should make a huge difference alright. Dubs have a 100% record in away games in Super 8s. It's hard to see their neutral game stats being much less inferior. The business end games will still be in Croker and sure Croker has to be somewhere. Any truth in the rumour that Kerry will get a bye to the Super 8s next year? After 81 titles in a hurling province it looks as though the penny is finally dropping with HQ. Munster football is a write off.

Joxer (National) - 20/09/2019 15:29:04

Dublin GAA thread - 14 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Kildare only scored 6 points from play. That they were even close says more about how wasteful Dublin were than it does about them. How Ryan thought the ref who handed Kildare four handy close in frees that kept them in it was biased is best known to himself! Teams who play retro noughties blanket defence will always give average teams a close game, but will seldom if ever turn over a good one. And I'm not sure which category Dublin fall into!"
Spot on. It worked for Harte's team against Offaly but it did't for Kildare, as Dublin counterattacked at pace for a deadly 15m to outscore them 5-1. Kildare were out on their feet towards the end. That blanket up and down nonsense requires serious conditioning. You only need a couple of lads to drop off the pace and space starts to open. A good side will use that space and punish. You can whinge all you want about gum shields, extra time in other games, the environment, soft frees and your granny's cooking but when you're 4 pts up parking the bus and still bottle it to lose by 2 then you've only yourself to blame. Dublin were absolutely shocking, terrible shot selection, were outmuscled, out-fielded in midfield, too slow transition, fielded a suspect starting 15. Farrell has a lot of work to do.

Joxer (National) - 01/05/2023 15:13:44