Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from SurelyToGod

Donegal V Armagh - 9 Like(s)
The topic is Donegal v Armagh. Meath are, just as they have been for the last 20 years, irrelevant.

SurelyToGod (National) - 04/11/2020 15:32:56

Donegal GAA thread - 8 Like(s)
Donegal totally outwitted. I blame the anonymous trolls online calling for Bonner's head.

SurelyToGod (National) - 12/06/2022 17:06:13

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I needed a good laugh. And you provided it. Btw 75% of voters in the second Lowest turn out in our democracy (one sf only recently recognised) didn't vote for them."
100% of the voters in the six counties didn't vote for Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.

SurelyToGod (National) - 24/08/2020 13:25:59

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Are ye well? The county board have had AMPLE opportunity to give their side of the story. Give over, it's a shambles and a resignable matter for the chair.

SurelyToGod (National) - 10/03/2023 17:32:44

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I love the way some of our nordie friends keep going on about foreign games , rugby , supporting another country and all. Yet they turn up at football games wearing Celtic tops, waving a Palestinian flag (a area that is unbelievably corrupt, women's rights are non existent, and it is actually illegal to be LGBTQ's and is punished by a death sentence. Honestly if they weren't so delusional it would be funny."
In your mind being LGBTQ is a death sentence to Palestinians. In real life being a Palestinian is a death sentence to Palestinians.

SurelyToGod (National) - 14/10/2020 17:47:38

Best Of This Generation - 5 Like(s)
How did a thread about Michael Murphy and Stephen Cluxton being the best players of the generation become about Kerry?

SurelyToGod (National) - 05/10/2020 15:35:11

Football Referees - 5 Like(s)
Deegan had a shocker. Both Mayo goals featured 12 step runs. We definitely need two referees at inter-count level. It beggars belief that we haven't already opted for that system for Championship. An inter-county referee may cover 9-12km in a 70 minute match. Two referees would mean that this could potentially be cut to 5-8km. It would give the referees more recovery time which means that their decision-making is not being hindered by fatigue. A second pair of eyes on the field goes a long way to deterring players from getting involved in off-the-ball incidents. We have a small panel of inter-county referees. This could be expanded if the required fitness levels of referees could be relaxed somewhat, and as a result the overall standard would be improved due to having the best decision makers on the field. The game's simply too fast for one man to keep up with. It always has been. We've been giving out about referees since time immemorial. Same goes for hurling.

SurelyToGod (National) - 01/07/2019 12:29:01

Donegal V Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Soma:  "If Donegal win Ulster they will have played 4 games, if Kerry win Munster they will have played 3. They start off against the Munster champions, then probably a game against a Clare side who could be promoted to Div 1 by then, and a final against a Cork side who knocked them out last year. Yes being in the preliminary round means Donegal have 1 extra game, but there seems to be a real feeling of self-pity in Ulster football now that is doing the province no good. When Ulster teams are beaten in Croke Park it's because they are not good enough, not due to any schedule."
I'd struggle to believe that any of Tipp, Clare, or Cork would be amongst the top 6 teams in Ulster...

SurelyToGod (National) - 04/06/2021 13:53:58

Donegal Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)
I think there might be a somewhat enthusiastic interpretations of the rulebook regarding the Brennan incident on here. The idea that lifting your hand is an automatic red is a fallacy. Players lift their hands all the time, to push, pull, hit, play, protect, and yes, sometimes to strike. The rulebook says it is a red card offence to strike or to attempt to strike your opponent with arm, elbow, hand, or knee. If you interpret what happened yesterday to be a "strike" then I think you need to re-evaluate why you even bother watching Gaelic Football. Every single tackle attempt at all levels U8s up is more of a "strike" than that was. It was a clip round the ear with an open palm. Yes it's annoying, yes it's unsporting as such, but calling that a strike is simply not accurate. A strike requires force or violence. Asking why McQuillan gave a yellow card does not prove that Brennan struck McKiernan. It's secondary to the fact.

SurelyToGod (National) - 02/11/2020 11:38:30

Those Peter Harte Black Cards - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tyroneed:  "Certainly the one against Cavan was never a black card. But another point. How can it be correct to have suspensions for 3 cards when teams don't play an equal number of matches. For example Cork to get to round 4 of the Qualifiers only played 2 matches whereas Tyrone played 5 matches to get to the same stage. You ain't going to pick up 3 black cards if you don't play 3 matches."
This is the only important comment that has been posted on this thread, and nobody has picked up on it.

SurelyToGod (National) - 10/07/2019 10:07:21

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 3 Like(s)
I've already made my opinion known, but at David Clifford's age, Michael Murphy had already been top scorer in the Championship in 2009 (outscoring Colm Cooper), and also won the Young Footballer of the Year award the same year. Club-wise he was the driving force on the pitch that cemented Glenswilly as a senior club. Glenswilly were Division 4 in the 1990s, Division 3 in the early 2000s, and in Murphy's second year for the seniors (aged 17) they won Division 2 and got to the Senior Championship final. The impact that he has had on club and county is surreal, and I would be confident that without him Donegal and Glenswilly would never have won All-Ireland, Ulster, or Donegal Senior Championships. He won it all by 23, as star and captain, and I think he's even better now than he was back then. When Clifford upstages peak Murphy in Croke Park, or when he wins the All-Ireland, and Kerry Championship, THEN I believe we can have this chat.

SurelyToGod (National) - 24/07/2019 12:32:54

Championship 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah assuming all fit and available you could have a back 6 of... 2. Morrison 3. Gillespie 4. McMenamin 5. McFadden-Ferry 6. O'Baoill (?) 7. Eoghan Ban or depending on the game you could have Mogan or R McHugh wing back. CHB is a position that needs attention I think."
Paul Brennan will be starting at CHB in 2021 if available. It would be nice to see those 6 men fully fit and performing, but even if they were all fully fit, I would be keeping faith in Brennan after his excellent Championship campaign. I would be very surprised to see DO'B take his spot at CHB.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - 19/01/2021 15:50:35

Donegal Have The Friendliest Supporters In The Country - 3 Like(s)
Donegal's GAA supporters are fantastic, but I wouldn't put ourselves above any of our neighbours. We were let down badly for a number of years between 2011-2015 when the goings were good. I'd imagine for the most part this was due to a sudden influx of younger fans who hadn't been to too many matches before. I'm glad for the most part that our fans have cut out the booing rubbish that had somehow started in those years. Of course we've seen the worst of Tyrone fans, and the same vice-versa. Still will always stay about cheer them on in a double-header against Munster/Connacht/Leinster opposition, like we would for any other Ulster team. I agree that Dublin fans are great. Again, the odd head-the-ball here and there, but very knowledgeable and passionate GAA people for the most part. We're all gaels at the end of the day.

SurelyToGod (National) - 17/07/2019 15:25:42

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Crinigan:  "Perhaps you should focus on matters in your own juridiction. I literally could not care less who runs the north so long as the Brits continue to rule it and pay for it. Sinn Féin are not fit to run this country and they will not run it. If they ever do, it won't be for long. The Defence Forces, Gardaí and judiciary won't tolerate it for long nor will the ruling class (not the Sinn Fein class - ie parasites that feed off the hard work of others). They can runs yours if they want and (not very well of course by looks of things but that's hardly a surprise) and I'm sure you and your pals are delighted with that."
That was quite a long-winded way of saying "I'm right, and even if I'm wrong I'm actually right".

SurelyToGod (National) - 11/10/2020 23:41:57

NFL Division 1 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Royalio11:  "Donegal didnt score a point from play until the 41st minute. 2 dubious penalties which were outside the square. Donegal the better team, deserved to win but if Meath had any idea to shoot it would have been a closer affair."
Did you even watch the incidents in the deferred coverage? On top of the two fouls inside the box that were given as 13m frees, the missed penalty, and Jamie Brennan having a shot brilliantly saved onto the crossbar. It could have been 6 or 7 goals.

SurelyToGod (National) - 03/02/2020 17:24:03

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "Sometimes you would wonder how the Gaa president comes up with his announcements. "Teams will be asked to withdraw from their respective competition in the event of an outbreak." That is the cue for them to hide any cases. So if one of the teams in the final has a case do the other team get the tittle? These off the cuff statements do not inspire confidence and smacks of flying by the seat of the pants."
Cue for them to hide cases? In what way could a County Board possibly hide a confirmed case of COVID-19? If there's going to be an inter-county championship then of course this is the only way that it is possible. Should Cavan play Donegal in Ulster, and Donegal are in lockdown due to a large number of clusters in the county, then Donegal simply must forfeit if there is no time to reschedule. That's patently obvious. It's not a punishment, it's a responsibility.

SurelyToGod (National) - 25/08/2020 10:32:35

Best Of This Generation - 3 Like(s)
One name, Michael Murphy. Even if he was a goalkeeper I think he'd still be the name. The best and most versatile footballer of the century. Without him, Donegal wouldn't have won anything in the last 10 years and the likes of Ryan McHugh, Frank McGlynn, and Neil McGee would be remembered as nothing other than second-tier footballers who could have won something had they been from Tyrone. It's unlikely that anyone reading this ever has or ever will watch a better footballer play in a Donegal shirt.

SurelyToGod (National) - 03/10/2020 16:27:43

Those Peter Harte Black Cards - 3 Like(s)
I don't believe feel the need to comment on this particular case, but I have serious misgivings about the cumulative black card suspensions in inter-county football, and in the current championship structure it can lead to further inequality between teams. Black cards accumulate through league and championship campaigns. Say a player, for example Hugh McFadden of Donegal who was captain and ever-present in the league campaign for Donegal, picks up two black cards in the 8 league matches that year. Now, he goes into championship, wins Ulster with Donegal playing 3 matches (potentially 4 if there is a preliminary), and then he plays 3 Quarter Finals which all have equal importance because there's only 1 home game. Semi-Final comes around and he picks up a black card. Hugh McFadden misses the All-Ireland Final. 3 Black Cards in 15/16 matches. Now say Kerry, who like Donegal, have the luxury of being able to rest players in Spring and only bring some key players in in May/June. If a Kerry player gets black carded in EVERY championship game, and they win their 8X-th Munster Championship, he will not serve a suspension until the 2nd Quarter Final match. He's back playing in the third quarter final, and goes on to pick up a black card in that match, and the following semi-final. He's still eligible for the final, and guess what with Kerry 2 points up and the opponents clear through on goal in the dying seconds, he pulls a Sean Cavanagh on it outside the box, gets a black card with minutes remaining and leaves the opponents with a 20m free facing an impossible shot against a 14man wall in goals. The black card in itself, does not serve its purpose as it still allows for the Sean Cavanagh pull down without punishing on the scoreboard, we all understand that now. But the accumulative black/red card rule also doesn't serve its purpose as it suits the teams that can afford to rest players in the league, and those that have shorter runs to get to the All-Ireland series. Technically, a player from Leinster and Ulster could get 4 black card suspensions in one championship campaign. This is impossible for a Kerry/Cork player.

SurelyToGod (National) - 10/07/2019 11:07:18

NFL 2021 - 3 Like(s)
Sometimes I speak to people at matches, at training, at work, in the pub, or even online, and come out of it thinking "boy I really don't know much a about football at all" such is the breadth of knowledge and insight. Then I read comments on here (once in a blue moon) which reassures me that yes, I know enough...

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - 02/06/2021 14:55:29

Venues For All Ireland Final & Semis - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "At the end of the day it should be up to the players where they want to play. After all, they are the ones who put in the huge sacrifices required for our entertainment. I can guarantee you every single player wants to play in Croke Park."
I can guarantee you that players from Donegal would not rather a 8 hour round trip to play in an empty Croke Park. There's no team busses, they have to drive themselves, catch yourself on! They would much rather a neutral venue where both sets of teams are limited equally and fairly in their preparations. I would sincerely doubt that Cork, Mayo, Galway would either.

SurelyToGod (National) - 11/11/2020 12:40:40