Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from supersub15

Dublin Senior Football Team - 11 Like(s)

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I have to agree with you, a few guys went for kick about in a wide open space they put nobody in danger. They are people breaking rules everywhere in the country but the media and government are picking and choosing who they are outraged by."
Journalism in general is going nowhere fast, presentation with little content. Dublin made the headlines because they are hot property and everyone's property in the sporting world, if a player got a parking ticket it would make national headlines, if Dessie Farrell got a speeding ticket he would be abrasively scrutinized on "Prime Time Investigates". Because the decision to go to the beach wasn't sanitized doesn't mean it was a health & safety issue, those 9 lads were humiliated by the media, all in the name of selling papers, sure there was nothing else going on except one or two small issues attached to the Beacon and Coombe hospital that all. The Gordon Elliott issue, photo of him sitting on a dead horse, two years later was leaked to the media to do maximum damage, and they bought it, however it was sorted and it came to an abrupt speedily end, thankfully. This photo was leaked, the media bought it, the rest is ever so slightly blemished history. We should all draw a line in the sand and move on.

supersub15 (National) - 03/04/2021 10:33:22

Dublins Demise - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "In all honesty, I couldn't care less about less about being relegated, it's the NFL but besides that it's Dublin, we do things our own way, win or loose. I'm I'm being really honest, I'm looking forward to it, sick of playing the same teams and going to the same grounds every year, be great craic down in Div 2. Be some craic when RTÉ start showing live Div 2 games."
Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say.

supersub15 (National) - 27/02/2022 21:40:45

GAA on TV - 7 Like(s)
After 17 pages of "RTE", is the time right for " RTE the movie." - Cast - Director General. - GeniusGerry (Kerry) ------------------------------------ aka. Dee Forbes RTE Weather. - Breezy (Limerick) / Joe Brolly ------------ aka - Jean Byrne / Joe Brolly Finance spokesperson. - GreenandRed (Mayo) -------------- aka - Enda Kenny News - catch22 (USA - wicklowsupport (Wicklow) ------- aka. George Lee. / Eddie Hobbs Prime Time. - Marlon_JD (Tipperary) ----------------- aka. Miriam O' Callaghan / N/A.? Telly Bingo. - eoghan6688 (Galway) / sam1884 (UK) ---- aka - Declan Buckley. Agri. Spokesperson. - KillingFields (Limerick) ------------ aka - Fran McNulty Into The West - TheFlaker (Mayo) --------------------------- aka - Gabriel Byrne London Correspondent. - Cockney_Cat (UK) ----------- aka. - Sean Whelan Can you cook. - Canuck (Waterford) ----------------- aka. - Mark Moriarty The meaning of life. - KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) ------------ aka - Joe Duffy. Epilogue ; - No offence meant, just a bit of humour, badly needed.

supersub15 (National) - 22/09/2020 18:15:53

Can We Bring Back The Red Thumbs To The Forum. - 7 Like(s)
I really can't see anyone not in favor of the red thumb, why would they unless they are sensitive, super sensitive, paranoid etc. sure why not, it's only a thumb not a finger.

supersub15 (National) - 09/04/2021 21:32:56

RTE And This Constant "Henry Shefflin Is The Greatest Hurler Of All Time To Many" - 7 Like(s)

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "No Offaly man in your list. It's an opinion re Henry Shefflin in today's era, there have been players down the years who could be regarded as the greatest player ever. A matter of opinion."
There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc. The only one show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that. Darragh Maloney should have got that slot in the first place, Tommy Martin is another reasonably good presenter. Equalisation is a non runner in RTE apparently. Fairplayalways (Offaly) was only giving his opinion on one issue and he put it across reasonably well, it gave me the opportunity to expand a little re Joanne Cantwell / Sunday Game.

supersub15 (National) - 31/05/2021 12:47:43

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 7 Like(s)
There is no chance the concerts will be cancelled because of the residents objections even though the 5 + 2 events may be good will damaging when rolling out future events, in a roundabout way it sort of reminds me of the sky deal and the way it was ushered through. It's not correct to accuse Garth Brooks of being a money grabber, as the saying goes it takes two hands to clap. To suggest that a fair bit of money raised will ultimately go back to promoting/ developing Gaelic games that suggestion is a bit loose, too loose in fact to get excited about, I can recall 1994 when GB played the point depo albeit to the same noise level and a smaller venue, he came back in 1997 to play croke park with the same noise level (at least) but in a bigger venue, for the life of me I can't recall the same level of objections or concerns back in '94 or '97. For someone to say, Croke Park has been there for far longer than most of the houses is to say the least a little bit insensitive as the residents of those houses are real people all they are looking for is to be treated with the same common decency as the rest of us, personally I don't think that's too much to ask for. The crux of the current problem covers more than noise level, litter, outside toilets or residents being inconvenienced, top of the list imo would be the scrapping by croke park of the original agreement to cap the concerts at 3, it's being replaced with 5 from Garth Brooks, and 2 later in the year from Ed Sheerin. The question being asked is, should the residents association agree in principal and sign up again to croke parks demands, what guarantee is there that croke park won't come back again with a new agreement looking for extra concerts to be added to the existing 5+2.

supersub15 (National) - 02/12/2021 17:36:44

Boards Forum Restructuring - 6 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Hoganstand is not a forum site or a charity. It's a GAA news and information site which includes discussion forums and developed from the magazine. There are ads and some sponsors, maybe they could have localised ads to bring in more revenue. But there's not a lot of posts on the forums, a tiny amount compared to other forum sites like Boards, which of course covers a huge range of topics and ru ns 24/7. So they need to calculate if an upgrade will bring more website traffic via the forum so they can attract more advertisers and/or increase rates for advertisers. Maybe look for some localised ad revenue from club sponsors where clubs could also benefit. Moderation could be better as could eliminating posters with multiple accounts. Ultimarely Hoganstand is here to make money, if you think it should be upgraded and it isn't then try setting up uhh our own discussion forum. Could be an improvement."
"Boards Forum Restructuring", there's nothing wrong with the Forum, rather the problem lies firmly with most of the posters, the Forum imo is controlled with elitism, it's mostly full of egos with the exception of a few, pockets of "Cliques" try to control the forum, if a poster is not from a so called elite or a proven county with success he's not wanted, add to that a poster with 5 digit posts he / she thinks they are the chair of the forum. How many posters from a div.4 county are welcome here, how many therefore actually post here, elitism or cliques don't bother me if I feel like posting something here I will, it's the facility to post that attracts me, not the posters, or the status of the county's Improve your postings, the forum will follow suit.

supersub15 (National) - 24/07/2020 09:10:42

Dublins Demise - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal. But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really. I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals. I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2. Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship. I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."]Firstly can I begin by saying I got a lot of enjoyment out of watching Dublin play their unique brand of football over the years, that was then this is now. Your take on adversities may be well documented mo cara and I'll take your word on that, not that it matters a lot though, at the end of the day it's venial .I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear. You say, "we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful".- very true, then show your gratitude, especially to the people who lent you their support, be grateful for small mercies like relegation just accept it, no brave face required, to be brutally honest and by your own admission when you say, "Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands" you simply can't accept probable relegation, Dublin's success over the years was your fix to keep your ego massaged, your already justifying Dublin's drop to div.2 when you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments. I posted here a few years ago that it was only a matter of time before snobbery and belittling became part and parcel of the amateur gaa organization, I was wrong though, it was already established. Above anyone else, you do care about the threat of relegation that is blatantly obvious, ego and all that, . .

supersub15 (National) - 28/02/2022 21:13:26

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Certainly not. He disposed a few dubs with ease and if the oldest player on Meath team can do that, imagine what the Kerry lads would do. Missed 3 Newman missed 3 Brennan missed 4.osullivan only took one shot and sent it wide. All had a bad day. Why pick out one player?"
- - throw out the shovel, you know the old saying, what comes around goes around, so in your own words, "stop trying to defend the indefensible".

supersub15 (National) - 23/06/2019 20:52:25

Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Pericles:  "Tyrone can't be blamed for winning games played on their terms. Kerry certainly have been kicking themselves and it's no disrespect to Tyrone to point out the obvious. Kerry played with one eye on the final and the tactics they adopted enabled Tyrone to play their own game. I think the Kerry lads thought they'd find a way somehow but instead they found a wall and kept revisiting it. In Mayo we're kicking ourselves for doing the same thing and fluffing so many chances. Even though the 4 week break had Mayo fresh for the final, the first two weeks would have been leaning in the direction of a game against Kerry given the circumstances leading into the semi-final. As a result what the team brought to the final seemed like a work in progress rather than a well worked, coherent game plan. The boring possession game the Dubs evolved is effective to counter how Tyrone like to play, but getting to be that boring takes a lot of time/practice, a lot more than the two weeks Mayo had to work with. Will be interesting to see how Tyrone fares against the Dubs in a knockout game should they meet in 2022. It'll be surprising if the Dubs don't themselves tweak the way they've been playing since 2018. No one likes it and I can't imagine it's much fun for the players either. The bookies see 2021 as a glitch, that's obvious."
I can read your script and between the lines, so - Why Mayo Cant Win An All-Ireland ?, is a provocative thread & title, why not ask for example, why can't Kildare, Monaghan, Cavan, Laois, Roscommon, etc, etc, etc, reach an all Ireland final at least once every 10 years let alone win one, or why can't Fermanagh or Wicklow win at least one provincial senior title, just one, or why can't Carlow get out of div.4, why can't Kilkenny field a Senior football team at least for the National football league, why can't Westmeath stake a claim on being the second best team in Leinster and then challenge the best for a Leinster title every year (ish)? Why is it that div.4 counties and indeed more often than not div.3 counties can say before a ball is kicked that televised games will not be applicable to them,? Why is it that Mayo have to carry the can for all other counties to learn from. Why is it that Mayo as a county breed lads to become household names for some of us to ridicule and criticize as if they are professional footballers, with no families and are stand alone creatures on mega, mega, salaries. Why can't Leitrim win a Connaught senior football title every 2nd or 3rd year and then go on and contest an All Ireland Senior Football Title.? Why not,? all of this would take some pressure off Mayo. Why do I even bother with all this ***p.??

supersub15 (National) - 17/09/2021 19:49:19

The Allianz FL Thread (Division 2, 3 & 4) - 6 Like(s)

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Division 2 as always very competitive and hard to call with top teams taking points off each other."
Looking through this thread, The Allianz FL Thread (Division 2, 3 & 4) It should have been titled, The Allianz FL Meath Thread (Division 2) for the obvious reasons. - - - (it's sort of a wind down weekend joke.)

supersub15 (National) - 22/02/2018 22:43:10

Boards Forum Restructuring - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "If the multible accounts were killed and shite stirrers faced a time penalty block things might improve and posters might stay. As it stands i mainly post on the Kerry page only as lets be brutally honest it is impossible to have a decent debate these days - the forum is becoming toxic and won't be here in twelve months the way its panning out. The thumbs up/down where i understood the concept it actually was the start of the current demise we find ourselves in. I don't think anyone wants a radical ovethaul however actions need to be undertaken to preserve the site - zero tolerance of wums and non productive posts would be a start. In this regard the site could enlist one or two of the longest serving or genuine posters and temporarily promote to editors or sencors to weed out the problems. I can think of one or two here that i would trust in this regard. But actions need to be taken, i for one can't see myself staying much longer if the current slide continues."
It's only in the last week the HS forum was brought into question along with the multiple accounts, the out dated forum the quality of the posts and the language used, they are all valid points however I've been thinking. The covet-19 Pandemic is the real problem, we have no or very, very little International or more importantly national sports, 6 months ago there was heated discussions on here about the possible promotions / demotions in the nfl, there was a postmortum on the mighty Dub's winning 5 in a row, Eire Og getting to the leinster senior football final and then being pipped at the post. It goes to show that sport is our medicine, our anti dote, our vaccine to keep our minds healthy, sport is on its way back, however slowly that may be but its on its way, we will then see the topic on the forum being kicked into touch, the quality of the posts will improve big time, what else is there to talk about if we don't have sport. Good morning to you all. PS. Carlow still need a manager, any takers.??

supersub15 (National) - 25/07/2020 09:20:27

Joe McDonagh Cup 2023 - 6 Like(s)
Who would think there is an All-Ireland senior hurling Joe Mc Donagh cup final in four days' time, Offaly are roasting hot favorites and rightly so even if it is so by the bookies 11/3 and the sporting press, so unless you are in the know you would never think it was Carlow who is the opposition. Offaly are making huge inroads in minor, under 20's, and senior in both codes let it be said and it's great for them to see that. The Carlow hurling board for years has worked tirelessly to keep the hurling flag aloft shall we say, where as their football board counterparts appear to have a different attitude / approach. Since the start of the Mc Donagh cup this year I counted 11 times Offaly were mentioned for one thing or another and their continued progress, Carlow got a mention when they qualified for the final, now why am I bringing this stuff into the arena now, well I read on the Carlow forum where some posters were disappointed that there was no flags flying in the town or for that matter in the county, I will stretch my point a little further in saying, how can we expect our youngsters, of all ages to go to our games, wear the county jersey, have the imagination to fly their own little makeshift of a flag if they continue to see our great little dual county getting the silent treatment or just being ignored, I have never experienced a county that apparently means so little to the gaa and our sporting press in particular. I am not at all looking for Carlow's hurling and football opportunities to get monumental headlines far from it but small pointers that can be related back to the youngsters. Finally, I also noticed a Carlow poster saying he wouldn't be surprised if they weren't aware the game was on. The very best of good luck to Carlow hurlers and management.

supersub15 (National) - 23/05/2023 20:28:14

GAA on TV - 6 Like(s)

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I can understand why people grew tired of Joe Brolly but at the same time, I would have kept him. Rain him in by all means and stop him going off on a tangent when he is suppose to be commenting on the game people have just watched. I don't know if I would refer to it as speaking your mind, it is showing a level of intelligence in relation to the subject you are there to discuss and being able to articulate an independent objective view as oppose to trotting out the same old phrases repeatedly. I swear to God, I could write down what certain pundits and commentators are going to say during the match and in their post-match analysis before either have even begun. It is tired and it is stale. I didn't agree with the GAA giving coverage of games to Sky but the presentation and punditry is better on Sky than on RTE."
I remember the night well when Fionnan Sheahan took exception to Vincent Brown and brought him to task in no small way about his constant bias towards Independent Newspapers, this had been brewing for some time. It was to say the least "heated" and to the point, political correctness not included. It was said Fionnan was banned from the Vincent Brown show, but TV3 denied that and said no he wasn't banned, and why should he be banned. ? I have tuned into the Tonight show with Ivan Yeats and Matt Cooper from time to time, Michael Healy Ray was sometimes a guest on the show along with others, Ivan Yeats and Michael didn't always see eye to eye because of the constant interruptions of Yeats so it festered, until one night Ivan aske Michael his view on something or other, Michael made an honest effort to answer but was interrupted time and time again, later he was asked to comment on something else and the same thing happened, more interruptions, Michael went silent, Yeats said to him,- well are you not going to answer my question, Michael Healy Ray said, (political correctness not included.) - IVAN, I've been sitting here all night looking across at your smug face, grinning over at me like a Cheshire cat, looking across at Cooper as if it was scene from High Noon, you haven't given me the time or the space to draw my breath, say my bit or shoot from the hip, can I remind you Mr Yeats, I was invited on to your show, to contribute, if you no longer need me please say so and I'll up sticks and move on. Michael Healy Ray did not move on, in fact he appeared on the Tonight show a few time after that, Michael made a few nice few friendly comments in Ivan Yeats favour during his last "Tonight show" going into retirement. I can understand why / how some people are pissed off with RTE, in fact the reasons are growing by the week, there are posters here bursting at the seam to express themselves but can't find the words, I'm one of those, I'm not a man of words. Journalism appears to be a contentious issue within RTE, so too is sport, too often in fact and for the wrong reasons, such as the Sunday Game, there is nothing wrong with the Sunday game that cannot be fixed, diplomatically and with a bit of respect. I sometimes like to speak my mind in a respectful way like now when I say Joe Brolly added spice to the debate at any time it was going flat, he was honest and to the point, it was not his way or no way, it was simply his way, more importantly he is a man of honour, that can never be taken away from him. By removing Joe they somehow immortalised him In my mind I feel Joanne is not suitable for the job, and I say that with respect, a short term solution perhaps might be to have dual presenters as in male and female.

supersub15 (National) - 21/08/2020 19:07:06

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 6 Like(s)
A gentle reminder. A residents group representing people who live near Croke Park has branded the move to let Garth Brooks play five concerts there as "unacceptable". The US country singer was originally scheduled to play two gigs at the GAA stadium in 2022. But it was announced on Thursday morning that Brooks would play three extra dates. It follows a similar row in 2014 which led to Brooks refusing to play any Dublin concerts at all. Brooks said he cannot wait to play the gigs this time around. Colm Stephens from Clonliffe and Croke Park Area Residents Association said An Bord Pleanála (Ireland's independent planning body) previously imposed a cap of three concerts and special events a year at Croke Park. Mr Stephens told the BBC's Evening Extra that local people had previously been made aware of seven concerts scheduled to take place in Croke Park in 2022 but they only found out on Thursday that five would be Garth Brooks. He said: "We voiced our objection long ago and have continued over many years. "We've objected to the breaking of the cap of three concerts that was imposed when planning permission for the stadium was awarded back in the 1990s by the planning board." Mr Stephens said Dublin City Council and Croke Park had granted permission for the four extra special events above the cap. Ed Sheeran will also be playing two concerts at the stadium in April 2022 At a time when social distancing is in high demand because of Covid 19 and other variants Croke park seem to dismiss with ease these factors along with residents in and around Croke Park of their everyday rights including common decency. Croke Park should never have been granted permission to rebuild its stadium at a then cost of over 110 million punts in the heart of a high density dwelling area, I will admit terms and conditions were signed up to but apparently they have been conveniently kicked into touch. Next year there may very well be 9 concerts, the following year 10 or 12 etc, etc, etc. The legally binding contract that was signed up to and rubber stamped by Croke Park on an agreed cap on concerts is now rendered useless, how convenient.

supersub15 (National) - 28/11/2021 13:31:56

Dublins Demise - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "A lot of people getting snotty on this thread over absolutely nothing, wilful misreads or bad faith interpretations of posts. The way Dublin are playing they don't deserve Division 1 status, nor are they likely to preserve it. Is this a slap in the face, something to be ashamed of? No. If you're not good enough, you're not good enough. Should Dublin fans be downhearted by the impending relegation? No. Certainly nowhere near as down hearted as they should feel about the prospects of the team in the championship this summer, or the continuing tales of strife in the camp and players stepping away because of it. Should this situation sour the achievements of the last decade? How could it - we were gifted with a team that entertained and came up trumps time and time again. There's nothing but gratitude for that. But we are where we are. Us Dubs have seen up close the ways in which a team build and gels, knows how to win leagues, knows how to adapt, knows how to get up off the canvas and get over the line, to win championships consecutively. We know what it takes, and if some of us are perceptive enough to have seen over the last 12 months that this group no longer has what it takes to do all these things, then we actually might be right. That's not a slight on any other county. If you're reading that into anything that has been said then you're just see what you want to see. We may well get to an AI SF, but the grá, ingenuity and belief required to go one or two better is no longer evident. Knock yourselves out by all means. It's been a long time coming. But rest assured it's very easy to discern an objective poster from a wind-up merchant. Looking forward to pastures new next year."
Gavvygavgav (Dublin, Out of courtesy and 6 in a row Green thumbs below prompted me to reply to your post and the fact that there is an unnecessary void here that's going nowhere fast, however I was part of the Dublin's Demise thread debate. I started posting here on the HS home page a number of years ago to put it out there the damage that the back door system was doing to the weaker counties, as a result a lot of psychological damage was done to the underage youngsters from u-10 up, some of the stuff I posted here was typed with passion as a result my posts went unnoticed with little or no green thumbs shall we say however I persisted and any available opportunity I got I put it out there that the weakest of the weak counties was merely being used as cannon fodder, in no time at all I became an unpopular poster here and I have no problem with that either after all it's not a popularity contest now is it. Now that the special congress has passed its proposals with flying colours I can clearly see the weakest of the weak counties ceasing to perform as a dual county in 3 to 5 years' time, max. So much for all that stuff. The Gaelic Athletic Association, as I prefer to call it, is supposed to be a 32 county family and beyond, being respectably able to share and debate issues that is common to us all, one which happens to be " Dublin's Demise" for a start I think it is very premature, admittedly there is 3 or 4 other counties wearing the same favourites tag that once belonged to the Dub's but a tag is just a tag with no glitter shall we say. When Kerry fell to Dublin in 2011, 2015, 2019 after a replay, no one posted a thread called "Kerry's Demise". Similarly, when Mayo fell to Donegal in 2012, to the Dub's in 2013, 2016 after a replay and 2017 some by heart breaking scores, no one posted here about the impending Demise of Mayo or Kerry, in particular Mayo, look at both counties today they are one of 3 or 4 four counties that's wearing the favourites tag to win the All Ireland senior football title. If I was a betting man I would put my money on the Dub's to start with contesting this years Leinster final anything after that is a bonus. I agree with you about the condition of some peoples noses here, personally I find my self with a handkerchief at the ready, just in case. I wish you well, mo cara, take care and get those Dub's back into shape asap.

supersub15 (National) - 09/03/2022 13:19:10

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And That Twenty Five Million Overspend - 5 Like(s)
The face of the GAA has changed at an alarming rate over the past 20 years or so, it has moved faster in that short time than it moved over the previous 115 years, too much, too soon, too costly, some in monetary cost and some in human cost, human cost as in hearth ache or hearth break. The association as it was affectionately known, is now more of a Hi-Brid organization, one part is professional and the other part is amateur, that's where some of the difficulties lie. Since 1999 / 2000 the changes that have taken place that has affected clubs and counties is countless and counterproductive to the end result of most counties in particular the weaker counties. Clubs / county boards are not shouting loud enough on behalf of their respective club and county team(s). The new playing rules that are proposed are laughable and serve no positive purpose at all, except heart ache. There's good money after bad, millions in fact being spent on Stadiums, on Centres of excellence, on county grounds and other projects all in good faith perhaps, but - - - the changing face of the gaa is in bricks / mortar and proposals that rarely if ever improve the chance of weaker counties of progressing. Overspends within the gaa like what happened when constructing P.U.C is unacceptable, some say that sort of thing is common with multimillion euro projects, but that doesn't make it acceptable. Does anyone realise that the repayments on the final total amount "could" be as high as 6000 euros a month. Where was the phased sign off and phased fiscal checks. Lot's of counties has / had fiscal issues or problems, is Croke Park in a position to bail out any county that gets itself into serious financial difficulties in future, although didn't Croke Park arrange an independent audit of Galway's finances recently, more to follow.?

supersub15 (National) - 22/12/2018 22:26:58

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 5 Like(s)
Liffeylad (Dublin) If it's any consolation let me say I'm saddened and aggrieved that you have been subjected to such insensitive posting however anonymous it may be, I'm far from being perfect myself but I know my limits. Good health to you and your dear Mother from here on in.

supersub15 (National) - 04/12/2021 13:24:15

GAA on TV - 5 Like(s)
Whatever the issues are with RTE let it be financial or otherwise the buck stops with Dee Forbes, if she can't handle the issues if any, then the bigger and final buck stops with the minister for communication, that's my understanding of how it works. To fill a vacancy for whatever reason within the organisation doesn't necessarily have to go through an interviewing process, a tap on the shoulder, a text, or a phone call will suffice, that doesn't mean the wrong person gets the job, neither does it mean best suited person gets the job either. Gender balance / quotas I am all in favour of, provided the best suited person for the job gets the job. The person to fill Sean O' Rourke's position was to be filled from three nominated people, Sara Mc Inerney, Miriam O'Callaghan and Claire Byrne, nothing wrong with that, but there's something not right about it when word broke through the media long before Sean O'Rourke had left his place of work, something unethical about that move. Sarah Mc Inerney was chosen to fill the position (albeit temporarily) and good luck to her. It's said Claire Byrne will fill the role on a permanent basis soon. Prime time's David Mc Cullough is a serious professional, he is joining the 6.01 News. He will be a serious loss to Prime time, if, whoever is taking over his job is half as good as David she / she will be a success. I just wonder was / is his move politically thought out. The financial crisis facing RTE is nothing new, in fact it's in our gene, just look at our government, equipted with a rotating Taoiseach,where would you get it, Michael Martin, who was part of that ill fated government of 2011, now in a position to draw down a Taoiseach's pension for two and a half years work, a ministerial pension, a teachers pension, etc, etc, etc. It appears as if there's a two pronged approach to matters within the current affairs dept. A few weeks ago Barry Cowen got himself into a bit of bother for a motoring offence that happened 4 years ago which was apparently leaked.The issue was dealt with on Prime time, the Week in politics among others, he was subsequently sacked as minister for agriculture by Michael Martin, a short few days later, it was announced that Minister Eamon Ryan had decided to add 3 senior advisors to his team at a cost of over 100.000 euros each per annum and possibly 6 more on a lesser salary. The thing that hit me was not one of those that interrogated Barry Cowen about his motoring / driving license offence interviewed Eamon Ryan about his sudden desire to recruit extra senior advisors at the tax payers expense after the formation of our government was agreed, and why you may ask, well Eamon Ryan happens to be the Minister for communication, the very Minister that the final book stops with regarding RTE issues.

supersub15 (National) - 15/08/2020 22:05:13

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 5 Like(s)
A standalone post. It's now seen that RTE is not a squeaky-clean business by the same token neither is the gaa a squeaky-clean organization, both lack openness and transparency, I never implied or am I implying they are dishonest, without openness and transparency you must decide for yourself about their level of honesty. GAA GO is a pay wall used in an amateur sport by an amateur organization for financial gains, it's owned 50% by the gaa and 50% by RTE, RTE own the hardware, software and tech's etc, gaa own the games, their offices are in RTE buildings. When RTE's equipment and stuff is being put to professional use they are entitled to be financially compensated fairly and accordingly whereas the GAA get compensated at the "turnstiles" etc but a pay / view, or pay wall whichever, it's a no, no out of the question. It made a profit of 700,000 in 2020, slightly more than I million in 2022, it's expected to make a much bigger profit in 2023 with gate receipts up so too are the number of games in both codes. Larry Mc Carthy refused to divulge his annual salary when asked how much he was being paid, he said it's not in anyone's interest to know his salary.? When questioned by a journalist recently about GAA Go he refused to answer and walked away. T & C apply but not Openness and Transparency etc. It seems.

supersub15 (National) - 26/06/2023 10:44:33