Antrim Forum

Popular Posts from Naysayer

Your county win the All Ireland or Ireland win the Euros... which? - 4 Like(s)
It is not for others to say who is Irish or not, it is for the man himself/ woman herself if Irish blood runs in the veins. Some of the greatest Irishmen and Irish women were not born on these shores. Some of the biggest let downs/ sell outs/ traitors have been born on these shores. Personally I welcome all who can and do call themselves Irish and I despise this hierarchical notion that some have. Some people forget where we as a nation came from.

Naysayer (National) - 08/06/2016 13:35:38

Poppy on shirts - 2 Like(s)
Hot topic I appreciate but at the same time just when I thought the whole Poppy thing had been maxed out we now have the English and Scottish FA's going head to head with FIFA/UEFA over wearing them on their shirts and probably NI will follow along as they usually do. When clubs supporters make gestures like this the clubs are normally fined but the difference here is that it is the team and not the supporters who are making the gesture and as such the consequences could be greater. In its simple form the poppy should not offend anyone but at the same time it has been highly politicized over the last 10 years +. I am not a massive fan of this FIFA/UEFA ruling but at the same time the rule exists and has been implemented, granted with a few exceptions when UEFA decide it suits them - the one example that springs to mind being after the death of Nelson Mandella and how all Champions League games were preceded with a tribute to him. Also to me there is a certain reek of double standards here from the GB football public in that teams or players who have not participated in the recent fad of wearing poppy shirts in GB have met with much abuse for not doing so as if it was breaking a rule yet here we are seeing an open intention to flout long standing rules in world football and a complete self-righteousness to go with it. To me, following a decade or more of poppy fascism we are seeing an escalation in the deterioration of the true meaning of what it should be about.

Naysayer (ElevenASide) - 03/11/2016 12:10:01

The main thing that needs to change ? Mentality - 1 Like(s)
This thread is really about suggesting the reason Dublin are dominant right now is because they have a top mentality while others do not have the same mentality and instead are trying to roll out sad excuses for not being at that level. If they would stop crying and get their mentality sorted then they would stand an equal chance of success. Self indulgent bullshit if you ask me . A debate about mentality would have everyone agreeing that to be winners you need a strong mentality. In fact one of the things Dublin have addressed in recent years is their mentality. It helped getting the monkey off their back lifting their first All Ireland in years and I always felt that when they got one they would start adding more rapidly. If anything they had been massively under achieving for too long. If the absence of a correct mentality is what is causing you to under achieve then addressing that will cure your problem but if you have not got the correct structures, lack talent, lack funding etc then addressing your mentality, while helpful, is unlikely to see you lift an All Ireland in September.

Naysayer (National) - 02/07/2016 11:30:15

Football League Match Predictions - beat Naysayer. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To bumpernut:  "We're concentrating on hurling, handball and rounders this year naysayer"
ha - and as usual a strong representation in the latter stages of the main football championship.

Naysayer (Antrim) - 26/09/2016 14:02:53

Sligo v Antrim - 1 Like(s)
Far from the worst draw though in the sense of somewhere you can go and make the weekend of it. Always enjoy a wee run to Sligo.

Naysayer (National) - 14/06/2017 16:17:05

Tyrone's tackling-is it legal? - 1 Like(s)
Booooooorrring

Naysayer (National) - 16/06/2016 10:46:23

Your county win the All Ireland or Ireland win the Euros... which? - 1 Like(s)
That's like asking would I rather shag Megan Fox or Jessica Alba - I would be happy with either (if I were single - in case my wife is reading ;) ) but I know neither is going to happen.

Naysayer (National) - 08/06/2016 11:16:08

Euro 2016 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Medway the English take it to a whole other level I agree but McCarthy has been treated badly by Dunphy and others. I would say McCarthy is a better player than Dunphy was in his day. McCarthy is there trying his best. He didn't walk out on us during a World Cup like one of our management team In which we had a real chance of going far. Now that was a real crime. So I say don't let the McCarthy criticism become a witch hunt."
Totally agree - I am disgusted at the way certain players are being singled out - we are there for a short time and now have one game to save ourselves early elimination - McCarthy came into the tournament carrying an injury and it was always going to be difficult for him to be 100% flying but criticism as a result is hardly going to be the tonic required for him or teammates to perform better in such circumstances. Leave that up to the English who had Kane and Sterling written off after one game.

Naysayer (ElevenASide) - 21/06/2016 13:03:38

Meath vs Antrim - 1 Like(s)

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "So Antrim have rejected our replay offer. Damned if we do damned if we dont."
In light of the offer being for the day before Antrim play their Ulster semi-final I would say it is a bit disingenuous. This Saturday is one week since either team last played and at least one week before either play again. What happens away from the pitch does not carry anywhere near the same relevance in my opinion. Personally I would like to see a date that accommodates both parties to have a fair crack at it but I really do think Meath are now playing silly buggers.

Naysayer (National) - 09/06/2016 10:14:52

Shiels and plastic-paddy syndrome - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Brickwall:  "http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/james-mcclean-failed-to-get-football-joke-says-derry-boss-shiels-35161689.html Anyone who believes Ireland's reputation isn't compromised by plastic-paddy syndrome is deluding themselves. Though we're not alone, we have been the prime-movers in creative nationalism and it would be naive to believe we're not tarnished by it. We are free to exploit the rules, plough the diaspora fields and take the DNA rout, but in the final analysis it's difficult to be comfortable with some of our net casting. This little McClean/Shiels spat is being quickly ushered into the funny bin, but Shiels' jibes, intended or not, will touch a nerve, especially for those of us who have lived abroad. I believe at least one parent or two grandparents should be born in Ireland for qualification to be realistic."
Not sure we can go being critical of the diaspora when we had a fair few born on the Island sell us out over the years.

Naysayer (ElevenASide) - 31/10/2016 08:24:47

Meath V Antrim "The Replay" - 1 Like(s)
Now that is how to win a cup. Well done Meath.

Naysayer (National) - 25/06/2016 21:07:18

Belfast, action at last? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Friday morning Quiz. What do the following clubs all have in common? Ballycran Ballygalget Portaferry Carryduff Bredagh Dungannon Na Magha Naomh Colum Cille Ballinascreen Slaughtneil Swatragh Kevin Lynch Lavey Banagher Eoghan Rua, Coleraine Le Chéile"
All accommodated in Antrim hurling, in some cases to the expense of Antrim teams playing at a higher division but to the greater good of Ulster hurling? Am I close?

Naysayer (National) - 16/06/2017 10:17:47

The season so far and what's to come. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Naysayer - yeah Ballymena unveiled their floodlights earlier in the year so presume that's why that game is at 19:30 this evening. Predictions: Senior: St Johns v Ballymena - Johnnies Cargin v Creggan - Cargin Lamh Dhearg v Rossa - Lamh Dhearg St Galls v Portglenone - St Galls Intermediate: Dunloy v Aldergrove - Aldergrove Aghagallon v Moneyglass - Aghagallon Junior: Antrim v St Mals - Antrim Ardoyne v Glenravel - Glenravel"
Cannot see Ballymena turning the lights on if at all possible - either that or there will be an exit fee to cover the cost ;)

Naysayer (Antrim) - 01/09/2016 13:25:06

Casement Park - 1 Like(s)
No harm Gary but the way you have been going on you would think that this Stadium is being built in Edinburgh or else the main mode of transport is the bicycle. Reason I know it is not bicycle is because of the supporte safety concerns around Owenbeg is relation to motor vehicles and inappropriate parking and pathways.

Naysayer (National) - 04/06/2016 17:30:58

Mayo v Tyrone - 1 Like(s)
I give Tipp a stronger chance now than I would have last week. Thought both teams on Saturday demonstrated some major weaknesses. I hope I am wrong but Kerry Dublin could be our final. However many thought the same when Donegal played Dublin a couple of years ago only for Kerry to have other ideas. That said neither Tipp or Mayo have the know how of Kerry. Regardless I am edging for supporting Tipp and Kerry in the semis but would not be too disappointed to see Mayo contest the final. Dublin will lift a few more titles yet so going against them in the interests of variety plus I think there is a better chance of Kerry losing the final, especially as they will have already played the final.

Naysayer (National) - 08/08/2016 15:14:19

Belfast, action at last? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To bumpernut:  "I wonder then how Rossa and Davitts, 2 Belfast clubs, made it to the Feile this weekend as Antrim's representatives if Belfast clubs are all completely useless at coaching."
Less of that chat bumpernut - you don't want to get this funding withdrawn.

Naysayer (National) - 16/06/2017 12:05:25

One law for Dublin and another for Laois Armagh - 1 Like(s)

Replying To janesboro:  "http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=257077

This is interesting. Laois v Armagh clashed with Ireland game and was not moved.
Dublin v Meath and Westmeath v Kildare will be moved - its the correct decision. But makes you wonder why Laois v Armagh was not put on a bit later. Make you wonder would it have been moved if it wasnt Dublin involved

As i will be up in Belfast for Antrim v Limerick on Saturday I will probably watch the Northern Ireland v Wales match somewhere in Belfast which will be good,

well done Ireland , thrilled ye won, great performance"
I would recommend a bar close to the ground - maybe the Rock Bar at the bottom of the Whiterock - just make sure you are well versed in 'Land of my Fathers' :) link

Naysayer (National) - 23/06/2016 08:24:33

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I think replay will be the outcome I hope not though very unfair on Meath after those getting trophy"
To be fair the whole escapade is very unfair on both squads from Saturday - a good balls up all round.

Naysayer (National) - 07/06/2016 08:26:59

Replying To jokerofthelane:  "I think this farce just shows what the GAA think of the lower tier counties. If there was any doubt about the score line it should have been addressed Saturday night. I think Meath will have a hard time getting back up for it and I think so will Antrim. Letting both teams play in the round robin would have been a fair resolution."
jokerofthelane I think you are correct here - while the focus is obviously on Meath it is an unsettling situation for us to be in also and the way it has panned out Meath will be going into the replay with a massive feeling of injustice which could make them a very dangerous animal indeed.

Naysayer (National) - 08/06/2016 08:15:23

Replying To waynoI:  "Meath are being ripped off here. Bang out of order."
waynoI elaborate.

Naysayer (National) - 08/06/2016 08:20:05