Antrim Forum

Popular Posts from bumpernut

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 11 Like(s)
Haven't been on here in a while...I see our regular free state unionists are getting worried...

bumpernut (National) - 29/05/2021 23:45:37

No Tricolour or National Anthem at GAA Matches - 5 Like(s)

Replying To realman2:  "No, its a complete storm in a teacup. Amazing that Brolly has managed to mobilise such angst about a complete non-issue."
get off your high horse will you, this discussion has been going on from before brolly's article

bumpernut (National) - 05/12/2016 16:32:17

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "[quote=tearintom:  "[quote=cavanman47:  ""[For the north of Ireland
The UK's annual subvention is just over €10bn annually. When seen from the perspective of the North, with its total GDP of under €50bn, it looks like a significant figure - but when seen from the perspective of Dublin, it is not insurmountable. The usual way financial markets assess whether national expenditure and debts are sustainable is the debt/GDP ratio. Northern Ireland would cost less than 4 per cent of the Irish Republic's GDP annually. Of course, even this manageable figure would end up lower because the combined Irish GDP of the Republic combined with the North would be well over €300 billion, reducing the subvention as a percentage of income yet more. In pure budgetary terms, there is little doubt that the Republic's economy could absorb the North and this is before the commercial dynamism of unification kicks in. And the above doesn't even factor in the strong likelihood of continued financial contributions from the UK, as well as the EU and perhaps US, towards a post-unity Six Counties." - David McWilliams But why would we listen to him, eh?"]Maybe because he was the same fella who thought the bank guarantee was a great idea when Brian Lenihan asked him? Im all for a united Ireland even if it will mean a bit of monetary pain in the short term likely for everyone on this island. But i also believe that the GAA should not be taking an official stance on it and one of the reasons being keeping the GAA out of it means its much more likely in my opinion. Like it or not a united Ireland is going to require a social surrender in many ways which in my opinion would be totally worth it. The Unionist population fear a complete eradication of their culture and view the GAA with high suspicion so having the GAA take an unprecedented approach of campaigning on a political matter will in reality have them pull totally against the idea. For a United Ireland to happen and to work its going to take years of working together and acceptance of all sides with as i said above a degree of social surrender on all sides, a broadly recognised National Sporting organisation actively pursuing a political agenda would have the exact opposite affect to what it wants and whats needed ie: bringin all communities together, i mean think of a broadly Unionist organisation with no poltiical engagement doing the opposite and fighting against a United Ireland on the flip side? We would end up getting nowhere. We should continue to pursue our organisations goals in an open and conciliatory manner for the good of the island as a whole and welcome dialogue and debate on what role we can play across the entire island for all people of all backgrounds, creeds, beliefs and religion and will do all we can to continue to do so no matter what ever happens in regards to a United Ireland. IMHO keeping the GAA out of it makes a United Ireland more probable which im all for."]Great post. I would love a united Ireland in the right circumstances. The current opportunistic grab for it being spoken about by SF is not the right way to go about it. That's not an unrealistic proposition for a Nationalist member of the association to hold. Even before getting into the economic factors, the intricacies of which are beyond my expertise, that could have members being turned off the idea. I care about Ireland, I care about the state that has been put together, I care about the people in the North on all sides who suffered through decades of violence and where the situation is increasing in volatility right now. I don't see there to be a compelling reason for the association to get itself involved now. From a strategic point of view is having the GAA onboard even an advantage?"]Heaven forbid a political party being opportunistic!! I want a united/new Ireland and I want it asap. This discussion is now front and centre of political discussions in the north and those who are happy to wait for unionist approval are in for a long wait. I and many others will not be waiting on that approval. The GAA is an Irish nationalist, cultural and sporting organisation and it has every right to pursue the aims of the organisation.

bumpernut (National) - 08/03/2019 23:53:16

GAA Athletes For A NO Vote - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I will be destroyed for this but......
Mickey Harte has no business even commenting on this issue as it has nothing to do with him. He is not resident in the ROI. This referendum is for ROI not Ireland as a whole."
Good man you're predictable if nothing else.

bumpernut (National) - 23/04/2018 12:45:04

Martin McGuinness RIP - 5 Like(s)
I see the wannabe Englishmen are as sad and childish as they are deluded. I consider you similar to the bigots up here and across the water who have been gloating all day on social media. It is obviously a hugely sad day for the McGuinness family but also for nationalism and republicanism as others have said. Hopefully the respect and admiration from his community will outshine the bigots and will help the family get through the difficult days and weeks ahead. I certainly never agreed with everything he did in recent years, however, I understood it and he never lost my respect. He was a formidable foe on the streets and around the negotiating table....a soldier with a steely eye and a peacemaker with a warm hand! RIP Martin

bumpernut (National) - 21/03/2017 17:01:47

Non-Sport Superthread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Never sat down and watched the whole thing but know what it's about. . .it's grim alright! On the topic of movies, Dunkirk is excellent and needs to be seen on the big screen so get to a cinema while it's still there!"
I'll politely decline the offer to watch it....i could picture the scene as they land on the beaches with rule Britannia or the theme tune to the dambusters blasting away in the background. At some stage maybe someone will remind them that it was the Russians who won the war and also did the bulk of the dying

bumpernut (OtherSports) - 31/07/2017 11:24:51

Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Laois76:  "It's embarassing Bumpernut! Any post i put effort into generally gets unnoticed, which is perfect, i post for the sake of the post. Then a one line statement. WTF?"
Yep you're better keeping it short and sweet Laois....Ive the attention span of a gold fish myself! Ironically a post having a 'pop' at GAA players on a GAA forum is one of the most popular posts in a long time. Methinks there's eggchasers about! :)

bumpernut (National) - 28/09/2017 15:12:40

Total Indifference! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "Antrim is not a stronghold of Gaelic football. So what right have you to post on this game?"
Sorry about that, we'll not make any further comments....apologies on behalf of all Antrim posters for having the temerity to express an opinion. Maybe you could clarify which other counties can and cannot contribute further to this thread.

bumpernut (National) - 14/09/2017 15:32:06

Replying To joncarter:  "Im sure there are plenty of immigrants being taken care of in British hospitals, immigrants get sick too dont they? Youve also got the increased competition for things like social housing, the private housing market, jobs etc. Its just stating a fact that the more people there are in a country, the more pressure is put on its infrastructure. This doesnt in any way,shape or form mean that immigrants are bad people. its just the way it is. Are the "vast majority" of immigrants well educated? News to me, and if they are their intellectual acumen is truly going to waste as most immigrants, here in Galway anyway, work in areas that require almost no education or training (taxi, retail sector, unskilled factory work,fast food outlets etc.) And as for the cuts, I would have thought a pro EU man like yourself would be behind austerity measures."
Oh the irony of you speaking about poor education

bumpernut (OtherSports) - 16/07/2016 23:20:44

Antrim hurling RIP - 3 Like(s)
Firstly congrats to Carlow, they were the hungrier, sharper, fitter and ultimately best team on the day. There was and has been very little between both counties over the last 10 years or so. Similarly with Laois Kerry, Westmeath and Meath more recently we are capable of beating any of them on any given day but equally we have suffered similar amounts of losses. The team of the 80s and 90s im afraid are long gone and this is the level we are at and have been for quite a while. Theres no point having delusions of grandeur we will yoyo between 1B and 2A in the league and likewise the qualifier group and Christy Ring in championship. We simply aren't producing enough quality at underage level and haven't had a decent team from the early 2000's which funnily enough provided the spine of the current senior team. As for whether or not Antrim Hurling is dead or on life support, the rural clubs alone will keep it going. They will always be fine numbers wise as they have the village identity which ensures most kids growing up will pick up a stick. They also unlike nearly all Belfast clubs with one or 2 exceptions have their current senior players and ex players who will always coach and ensure their teams play to a decent standard, certainly clubwise Belfast hurling is in dire trouble though and in the next 10/15 years could be reduced to 4/5 clubs which is a shambles given the population levels. There is sadly a worrying lack of interest in the game, even at adult level now, with lower league Belfast hurling teams folding regularly or dropping down to divisional level because they cant field teams mid week when they have to travel outside Belfast. In fact Division 3 and 4 this year had to be restructured because of Belfast clubs pulling out at the last minute. In fact If you also speak to those clubs still playing in these lower leagues they are also struggling to field when it comes to playing away from home. At juvenile level as naysayer has said there's no coherent strategy to primary school hurling with most kids not able to even hold a stick ffs. Schools aren't interested, due to cost of equipment and lack of interest from teachers. Clubs in the main are paying lip service to schools coaching because they have no-one willing to give up a couple of hours work. The County Board seemingly have no interest or guidance or theyre too busy fire fighting elsewhere. The ulster council response is to send one of their coaches for 5/6 weeks every year as a tick box exercise. The sad reality is you very rarely see kids with hurls in their hands in the street now unlike when we were kids. Just as an example of the lack of interest, my 10 year old daughter had her sports day last week and came third in her class in the poc fada. She has never played a game, as she has no real interest either, however, the reason she came third in a class of 25/30 kids was the majority of the kids, both boys and girls couldn't hit the ball at all. Sadly Im quite sure similar stories were and will be replicated across quite a few primary schools in Belfast for sports days.

bumpernut (National) - 12/06/2017 12:48:48

Replying To yew_tree:  "If an occupying force in my home town went about killing innocents and I was denied basic civil rights then I would probably joined the IRA myself. Looking at clips on the news of 1970's Northern Ireland and looked like present day Iraq. While the IRA were totally wrong in targeting innocent civilians on this island and in Britain...the targeting of British soldiers in the early years is somewhat understandable. History will remember Martin McGuinness as a peacemaker."
Why is it only understandable in the early years,? the brit army were directly and indirectly, through uda/uvf, still killing catholics in the 80s and 90s, they were still arresting and assaulting people, still raiding houses and terrifying the kids who lived there, still stopping and searching people, still verbally abusing people, still threatening to shoot people, it all didn't just stop one day in the 70s! The reality is unless you lived here then and experienced that then you simply cannot moralise about those who fought back

bumpernut (OtherSports) - 22/01/2017 18:41:38

Replying To Breffni39:  "Admin I think it's time to block any posts about Ormo's invented forum handle. There's nothing constructive about them and they've derailed enough threads at this stage."
he could just change his username to ormo and everyone's a winner!

bumpernut (OtherSports) - 26/07/2016 10:45:55

Does GAA get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby - 3 Like(s)
Mediaman, you've been collating statistics forever but where is any of this going? If you're planning on presenting any of this to RTE or even going down the lines of an online petition then fair play, but you just seem to be complaining without doing anything. Is that not a bit like moaning about the weather? MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts:1055 - 01/06/2016 20:21:20 Medway In my opinion he is just simply highlighting the bias towards rugby in particular for the posters on this forum, nothing more nothing less. It doesn't annoy me, in fact I enjoy seeing the stats prove what most of us think anyhow. At some stage it might also dawn on the egg chasers that they continually fan the flames by posting on this topic more than mediaman himself.

bumpernut (National) - 02/06/2016 10:24:32

No Tricolour or National Anthem at GAA Matches - 2 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Ok I am as proud of the Tricolour as the next man and the anthem in all its glory. I am aware it is only a few short years ago that it was actually banned in the six counties and Paisley referred to it as "terrorist rag". I am also aware successive Irish governments colluded in this nonsense i.e. allowing it NOT to be flown at Windsor Park for International football matches any other country would simply refuse to play on that condition. I am also aware other sport bodies are at best lukewarm and at worst outright hostile to both flag and anthem. BUT there still is a case for maybe a case for discussing it especially if other traditions are willing to reciprocate."
What other traditions? I assume you speak of those from the unionist side, so tell me when they mentioned reciprocation? In fact show me an example of this utopian world where unionists have ever accommodated or recognised my Irish identity without being hauled through the courts.

bumpernut (National) - 01/12/2016 22:50:29

Casement Park - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bumpernut:  "[quote=GaryMc82:  "I just noticed this there now, so i'll assume you haven't been to casement too many times. So all your arguments about casement and the surrounding area are based solely on a Health & safety audit. I'll let you into a wee secret Gary, supporters tended to go for the closest and cheapest option when it came to parking around casement which included parking on footpaths and up side streets, they've even been known to park in front of residents driveways would you believe, all to save a few quid in parking. Now id be very surprised if this audit/report was taking those supporters and their parking requirements into account don't you think bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts:1471 - 09/11/2016 14:38:54 Yes I have been to Casement a few times over a good few years, mostly to games with relatively low numbers attending and I openly support it being developed as a ground, just not for the purpose of being a Provincial Ground. So really I am using this report to strengthen my argument, this project was halted on this basis, so it is a viable report to discuss on here. Planning people carried out a study that found the area is not capable of coping parking vehicles carrying that number of people, and you think It's a joke that I am using it to back up the host of other reasons why Casement is not suitable. Still no answer regarding you connection to the Casement Project I see, perhaps you are a troll on here to try and quell discontent regarding this project?"
You have never been to a big game at casement, so you have no personal experience on whether the area can deal with parking then even though you keep raising it as an issue. Im sure you are aware that the reason the initial planning application was rejected by the judge was to do with the fact that the GAA had not shown previously that the venue could cope with 38000 people exiting onto the a'town road. The reason for rejecting the application was to do with traffic flow and possible congestion, it had nothing to do with car parking was an issue for the judge. Im also sure you know in the latest consultation document they have now established 3 'official' car parking spaces which will cater for those happy enough to pay a few quid."]And on that note im now completely fed up going round in circles.....feel free to carry on until you've bored saffron into submission too. Oh and here I wouldn't want you losing anymore sleep......im really a poorly paid civil servant, albeit with obviously too much time on his hands, I hope that doesn't shatter your illusion of me or my supposed role

bumpernut (National) - 09/11/2016 15:58:36

Non-Sport Superthread - 2 Like(s)
Ffs either live with it or go to a rugby forum where you can discuss how expensive your silver spoon was!! You're seriously boring me now and I for one will continue to abbreviate your name orm

bumpernut (OtherSports) - 06/08/2016 23:57:46

Casement Park - 2 Like(s)
Ah holy f**k... so now its English Rugby whose secretly behind the casement development. Folks please stop responding to his nonsense....we've already endured over 30 pages of paranoia, fantasy and prejudice.

bumpernut (National) - 02/11/2016 10:19:21

Euro '16 heroes' GAA pedigree - 2 Like(s)
Correct Legend, ive had many rows with people up here over the years, not even from a GAA background, but simply nationalists, ultimately justifying it purely for money. They will go on about it being a recognition issue with them playing international football but ultimately we know why they do it and that is for their next contract negotiation. I have never set foot in Windsor Park and never will, yet I live about a few hundred yards from it. I refuse to even acknowledge their team or state and can never understand how or why players born in West Belfast in particular could even consider pulling that jersey on. Liam Boyce for example (ex cliftonville player, from Divis area in lower falls and GAA player for Davitts btw) was chased out of Windsor Park about a year or 2 ago when he and another Catholic player, cant remember his name, went to watch a Linfield v Glentoran/Crusaders match. He has since pulled on the 'Norn Irn' jersey and probably been cheered by the very people who chased him. Anton Rogan was another ex GAA man from West Belfast as was Jim Magilton, Gerry Armstrong and Mal Donaghy. However, there were 2 lesser known lads Gerard Crossley (ex Celtic) and Daniel Kearns who hailed from West Belfast and declared for 26 counties and I have the utmost respect for them along with the 4 Derry lads and Marc Wilson. Thankfully some have principles!

bumpernut (National) - 24/06/2016 10:52:20

Fair play TG4 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "You are 100% wrong. But in keeping with trying to keep thread on topic I wont post all your inaccuracies."
You're doing your best to get this thread closed aren't you westbrit

bumpernut (National) - 13/04/2017 22:56:10

Does GAA get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby - 2 Like(s)
Could those rte employees or egg chasers who have issues with the info being posted please leave this thread Some of us find it informative and your constant denials/excuses and whinging are tiresome!

bumpernut (National) - 19/07/2016 10:49:49