For us to go anywhere we need West Cavan involved

Tomsmith here

I know I am going to say what a lot of people are not wan ting to say and hear in West Cavan and that is that West Cavan needs to start to produce the goods if we are to be a force to be reckoned with.
To the West Cavan posters who are now on the edge of the seat going to reply to me and ready to spew out vitoral I say wait a minute
Has not the standard of football declined in West Cavan in the past 20 years
Has any group/family come close to what the Martins were like 25 years ago, Owen Shaun and John Joe all top class footballers who played for Killdallon.
Has the big decline not been from U 16 to the senior level

Now if you feel I have misstated myself you can correct.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 06/08/2015 14:31:08    1765086

Get your facts right first tom, martins didn't play for kildallon.
Wheres g mckieran j mcloughlin from?
Wheres d raythorne that scored 3 points from wing back in ulster final from?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 06/08/2015 16:21:21    1765185

The Martins played with templeport

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 06/08/2015 17:10:01    1765236

tom throws out the line and the fish bite as usual. :) . unbelievable !

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/08/2015 19:19:20    1765330

Lads, seriously, at this stage have yis not copped, he's on the wind up....

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/08/2015 19:35:18    1765336

Tomsmith here

While I may have been incorrect with where Shaun, Owen Martin played with and indeed I feel John Joe played with some club away up in Dublin.
Not one of you choose to challenge me in relation to about half of the land mass of Cavan not producing the goods for our Senior team.
I feel that rather than catechise Tomsmith ( who at all times promotes the good of Cavan football) for a slip of his mind would Mr Ned Stormcrow and company not be better off trying to right he wrongs that appear to exist in West Cavan.
We need West Cavan to come good and Cavan never won anything without good West Cavan men being involved.
So come on the westies and let the Townies (Cavan Town) see what talent youse have

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 06/08/2015 21:44:01    1765408

MR Stormcrow and Mr Goldrick

Tomsmith here

While I appreciate you have a superiority complex when dealing with the big Town man I do know that some people feel that West Cavan is indeed being neglected by the powers that be in relation to Coaching at underage.
I feel that West Cavan is a Golden nugget that has to be explored from a GAA point of view and that we need West Cavan to backbone or spine the Cavan senior team
What we need id West Cavan as a Divisional team where the West Cavan pride will come to the fore and that will to win and beat say East Cavan or as I suggested the County Championns

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 11/08/2015 19:24:31    1768332

Tomsmith here

I wrote this message about the lack of contribution from West Cavan back in1999 and up to this date not a lot has changed but perhaps with Templeports victory today I may in the not to distant future eat my works.
Well if the have to be eaten I will be delighted to see West Cavan make a greater contribution to the Senior Cavan men football team
Templeports led by some notable names like Dolans and who other than Eoin Martin who has along pedigree line to propel them over the line against Cornafen.
Indeed Cornafen who has some Kerry blood in their ranks curtsey of the Wharton's can hold the head high as this was a great final and Templeport were terrific
So is the West Cavan revival on ??? I don't know but as I posted before (in 1999 ) only time will tell

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 27/09/2015 19:38:30    1792791