Harty Cup: Ardscoil Rís open title defence with victory

October 17, 2018

Limerick's Cathal O'Neill. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

The 2018/19 Harty Cup (Munster Post Primary Schools Senior 'A' Hurling Championship) has got underway with five games taking place today.

Ardscoil Rís opened their provincial title defence with a 0-18 to 1-9 victory over Cork side Gaelcholáiste Mhuire An Mhainistir Thuaidh in Mallow. Limerick's sole representative on the 2018 Minor Star Awards Hurling Team of the Year, Cathal O’Neill posted 0-8 from placed balls for the holders.

Elsewhere, in Group A, Coláiste Cholmáin, Fermoy ran out comfortable 3-18 to 1-11 winners against Nenagh CBS in Cashel. James Kearney, Brian Roche and substitute Padraig O’Leary bagged the goals for the east Cork outfit.

De La Salle, Waterford edged St Flannans, Ennis by 2-11 to 1-12 in Group B where 2018 finalists Midleton CBS received a bye.

Hospital's John the Baptist proved too strong for Our Ladys, Templemore on a 2-22 to 1-13 scoreline in Group C.

Finally, in Group D, Christian Brothers College, Cork hit six goals past Castletroy College, Limerick in an impressive 27-point win (6-19 to 0-10).

2018/19 Harty Cup round 1 results

Group A
Ardscoil Rís, Limerick 0-18 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire An Mhainistir Thuaidh 1-9
Coláiste Cholmáin, Fermoy 3-18 Nenagh CBS 1-11

Group B
De La Salle College, Waterford 2-11 St Flannans College, Ennis 1-12

Group C
John the Baptist, Hospital 2-22 Our Ladys, Templemore 1-13

Group D
Christian Brothers College, Cork 6-19 Castletroy College, Limerick 0-10

Most Read Stories