Best Half Back line in Hurling 2000-2010

Has there ever been a more glorious generation of half backs playing at one time?
From Tony Brown to Ronan Curran
Sean Og to Tommy Walsh
Ken McGrath to JJ
Mark Foley to Brian Hogan to John Gardiner
Seanie McMahon to Ollie Canning

The list goes on and on and on and on !
But if you had to sit down and pick 3
Could you, and if so...who would they be

Seeing as I asked it, I will give my own

Tommy Walsh, Ken McGrath, JJ Delaney

It seems unbelievable to not have a cork man! Curran, Gardiner, O'Halpin.....how could one of them not get in, but who do you take out!!
The greatest hurler of the modern Era, Tommy Walsh?
Ken McGrath, a man SO good in every position they didnt know where to play him for a finish (never a full back tho)
JJ - The classiest hurler in Ireland for a generation.

Tis a hard job lads, a hard job

What say ye?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/03/2013 15:28:17    1342511

I agree 100%, you couldn't top anyone of these 3.

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 04/03/2013 15:39:38    1342526

Tommy Walsh
Seanie MacMahon
JJ Delaney

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 04/03/2013 15:40:42    1342529

Tommy Walsh, end of!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 04/03/2013 15:44:14    1342534

Realdub, u need to read the OP again........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/03/2013 15:52:06    1342544

But which county's half back line was the greatest? Walsh/Hogan/Delaney V Gardiner/Curran/O'Halpín V Tony Browne/Brick Walsh/Kevin Moran etc.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 04/03/2013 15:52:24    1342545

Sorry Liam, Tommy Walsh, Tommy Walsh & Tommy Walsh, there! : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 04/03/2013 15:56:03    1342549

Keeper
KK half back line with the 2 lads and Brian Hogan is probably the greatest single half back line to ever play Hurling

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/03/2013 15:57:06    1342550

walsk brick jj.

very hard to pick and hard to leave out so many greats.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1957 - 04/03/2013 16:03:11    1342552

JM
I cant believe a Galway man not having Ollie!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/03/2013 16:04:10    1342554

onlyhurling

Tommy Walsh
Seanie MacMahon
JJ Delaney

I've always been a big fan of Seánie Mac I will admit. However the OP does say the 00s, I know Seánie was still hurling very well from 2000-2004. If the question was 1995-2005 then he'd defo be in imo. That whole Clare half back line was, in my view, the backbone of their success, Doyle, McMahon, Daly.

Good thread Liamo and a very difficult choice to make but I'd probably agree with your original 3.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 04/03/2013 16:14:56    1342563

Liamwalkinstown

JM
I cant believe a Galway man not having Ollie!!!!!!!

Ollie was always more of a corner man in fairness.

Although he did start his inter-county career as a pacy wing forward if memory serves!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 04/03/2013 16:16:06    1342564

MesAmis

onlyhurling

Tommy Walsh
Seanie MacMahon
JJ Delaney

I've always been a big fan of Seánie Mac I will admit. However the OP does say the 00s, I know Seánie was still hurling very well from 2000-2004. If the question was 1995-2005 then he'd defo be in imo. That whole Clare half back line was, in my view, the backbone of their success, Doyle, McMahon, Daly.

Good thread Liamo and a very difficult choice to make but I'd probably agree with your original 3.

To make things easier for myself I'd agree with the original three given by Liam too.

MacMahon, like Brian Whelehan played arguably his best hurling in the late 90's.

Who to pick on Seanie's right side as the other wing back in the best halfback line of that decade would open up an entirely different debate.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 04/03/2013 16:26:29    1342575

Liamwalkinstown

1342550 Keeper
KK half back line with the 2 lads and Brian Hogan is probably the greatest single half back line to ever play Hurling

Best half back line to ever play hurling is simple

McInerney, Keady, Finnerty

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 04/03/2013 16:30:55    1342582

if_in_doubt

To make things easier for myself I'd agree with the original three given by Liam too.

MacMahon, like Brian Whelehan played arguably his best hurling in the late 90's.

Who to pick on Seanie's right side as the other wing back in the best halfback line of that decade would open up an entirely different debate.

Well I think it's fair to say that Whelahan picks himself at number 5 beside Seánie as you've indicated.

The other wing back is a difficult choice and one that may need a bit of pondering! Ciarán Carey was an excellent midfielder as well as centre back and could be in with a shout although he would be slightly out of position.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 04/03/2013 16:31:58    1342584

The best half-back line who have played together over the last ten years would have to be JJ - Hogan - Walsh. Followed very very closely by Gardiner - Curran - Ó hAilpín.

Individually, I would say JJ - Ken McGrath - Walsh.

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 04/03/2013 16:43:39    1342593

MesAmis

Well I think it's fair to say that Whelahan picks himself at number 5 beside Seánie as you've indicated.

The other wing back is a difficult choice and one that may need a bit of pondering! Ciarán Carey was an excellent midfielder as well as centre back and could be in with a shout although he would be slightly out of position.

Liam Dunne and Daly would be two of the more obvious choices I reckon, both won All Stars in that position, think Carey won his for centreback / midfield? An easy way out of a tough decision maybe but it's hard to argue against it I feel.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 04/03/2013 16:52:23    1342604

ya ollie always was a corner back for me. dont remember him playing much in the half backs.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1957 - 04/03/2013 17:15:19    1342620

if_in_doubt

Liam Dunne and Daly would be two of the more obvious choices I reckon, both won All Stars in that position, think Carey won his for centreback / midfield? An easy way out of a tough decision maybe but it's hard to argue against it I feel.

It's an easy way out alright! To the best of my knowledge Carey never lined out on the wing (Limerick posters might be able to confirm?), only centre back or midfield.

Out of the 2 you've mentioned I'd probably go for Dunne, perhaps cause I'm not exactly feeling the love for Anto at the mo!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 04/03/2013 17:35:15    1342647

Tommy Walsh. Brian Hogan. JJ Delaney.

Simple as that. No discussion.

UCDlad (Dublin) - Posts: 21 - 05/03/2013 12:46:18    1343174