Kerry - The tradition and the History

ranafastbhoy

as_ky

I am presuming the argument is that other counties can't compete with kerry's number of titles because Munster is so weak. This argument falls flat on its face though when you take into consideration that kerry have won more all irelands than Ulster and Connaught combined despite the fact they a team from each province were guaranteed a place in the semis each year prior to the qualifiers. Also, just to get out of their province Kerry have to travel down to Cork to play Cork every 2 years. Don't think that Kerry will struggle with talent coming through just because the are not winning titles underage, how many of this great Kerry team have a minor medal?

Thats a stupid point. You;ve completly missed the point in this whole argument. By this point Kerry would have played two sometimes even one game going into that match. Where as the ulster team would have played at least 3 if not 4 games. So in no way are these teams going in to this match with the same fitness levels. No matter how you want to cover it up their is an unfair advantage.

The Ulster teams fitness would be higher. The Ulster team would have the advantage by having more games under their belt while the Kerry lads have training sessions at a lower intensity to try an prepare themselves.
Since the backdoor came in people have been giving out that the provincial winners have to wait around while those who come through the qualifier have the advantage of extra matches. How many times have provincial winners been knocked out at the quarter final stage as a result of not having enough games?
Looks like Ulster has had an unfair advantage all these years.
We've done very well to get to 36 all things considered.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 24/07/2012 13:53:41    1227395

A movie clip showing an exact depiction albeit in a different context of a brief given at GAA HQ last year to all Senior Intercounty Captains prior to the 2011 Championship!

staring:
Tom Cruise as Bryan Cullen
Val Kilmer as Colm 'Gooch' Cooper
The Commanding Officer as 2011 GAA President Christy Cooney

......."there are no points for second place"!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p890hIa1w9k

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/07/2012 13:23:31    1229493

Hurlers gone. Footballers look shakey. Comeuppance starting to knock on your door Snuff?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 26/07/2012 13:32:00    1229505

Lads dont worry about Snuff no matter what he says this thread is entitled "Kerry - The Tradition and the History" which grinds on him on a daily basis hence why he continues to comment on it ......................... 36 All Irelands which is Un-paralleled, as a county has produced the Greatest players of All Time in Mick O'Connell, Mikey Sheehy, Jack O'Shea, Pat Spillane, Paudie O'Se, Darragh O'Se, Colm Cooper ....... The List goes on!

Not only that but they are the most succesfull county of the modern era in terms of All Irelands, All Stars, Awards etc etc ...................

Now Snuff there you go Kiddo the facts for you! Any reply?

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 26/07/2012 16:27:11    1229748

I thought as much Snuff!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/07/2012 08:56:44    1230118

re Kerryman. Yes it can be an advantage if you go in the back door, provided u miss the 6 day turnaround and that the draw is kind to you. If you get a stinker of an away game you can very easily go out. It has happened the very best of the back door teams over the years. Kerry have been v lucky in this department. Yes you can only beat what is put in front of you and provided you stay injury and suspension free, and avoid the dreaded extra time or replays later in the year you are in good steed. ps this current Kerry team have proven themselves this year in that they have beaten quality opposition in Tyrone and are going to vindicate this in Croke park later this year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 27/07/2012 09:07:40    1230124

First point: 23 of the 33 teams that play in the All-Ireland football championship (70%) have to play the same number of games (3) to win their provincial championship. Only 2 of the 6 teams in Munster and 1 of the 7 in Connacht have to play one less. 6 of the 11 teams in Leinster and only 2 of the 9 teams in Ulster have to play one extra game. So based on the stats, it's really not that unequal after all.

Second point: Anyone who argues that fewer matches against (supposedly) weaker opposition is better preparation than more matches against (supposedly) stronger opposition is an idiot and knows nothing about competitive sport.

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 27/07/2012 12:59:47    1230393

Kerry - The tradition and the History and thank goodness for the back door.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 13:09:14    1230409

Snuff when challenged i notice you revert to your other HS alias JimboDub!

P.S. Jimbodub a laughable arguement to say the least ........ care to comment on my comment above regarding the facts of the thread?

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/07/2012 13:41:09    1230477

I leave it up to Kerry men to talk about themselves.

They love it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 13:46:32    1230492

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

1230477 Snuff when challenged i notice you revert to your other HS alias JimboDub!
_________

Yeah you sure are clever alright Mr Spillane jnr... you have me figured out

pfffhhh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 13:51:59    1230508

Kerry - The tradition and the History and thank goodness for the back door.

Ye complain when we win via the front door so may as well go the back door to keep everyone happy.
More game for Kerry means more entertainment for the country.
You're welcome!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/07/2012 13:52:54    1230511

If Dublin lose this year and Kerry go onto win another one through the back door...

We'll still have a better record than Kerry over the last two years.

Thats how daft this current set up is.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 13:57:36    1230523

If Dublin lose this year and Kerry go onto win another one through the back door...

Are u only comparing us over the last 2 years??
Dublin have won 3 All Irelands since 1983. 3 in 28 years?

U obviously havent a clue what ur talking about and are only on this forum to stir s**t

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 673 - 27/07/2012 14:11:00    1230546

Aiden when you've a few more posts under your name you may learn how to read a post properly and within its context before having a go at some-one!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 27/07/2012 14:19:15    1230562

aidan64

Are u only comparing us over the last 2 years??
Dublin have won 3 All Irelands since 1983. 3 in 28 years?

U obviously havent a clue what ur talking about and are only on this forum to stir s**t

Before replying to someone you should always make sure to read their post in full.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 27/07/2012 14:19:51    1230564

Of course I'm comparing it over the last two years.

Kerry as it stands have lost 2 games out of the last two championships

Dublin = 0

It's a daft aul system.

I have huge time for Kerry GAA. Previous threads and posts prove this.

But to turn a blind eye on their current antics just because of their great past is wrong.

Other teams have got lambasted for said antics... and it's only fair that depiste of what has happened in the past that Kerry are brought down a peg or two.

That was shocking stuff on Saturday.. and its been going on for a few years now.

If you want to behave in such a manner then expect to be brought up on it. Many Kerry posters, commentators, former players were only too happy to broadcast it loud and clear..

When it suited them. Thats all I have to say on the subject

All the best

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 14:25:25    1230573

Aiden64 - Dont worry kiddo these Dubs will do anything but admit the truth and accept that Kerry are un-rivalled in terms of success in any era of the GAA with more success that their so called county could dream of!!!!!

Ciarrai Abu!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 27/07/2012 14:25:50    1230574

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

1230574 Aiden64 - Dont worry kiddo these Dubs will do anything but admit the truth and accept that Kerry are un-rivalled in terms of success in any era of the GAA with more success that their so called county could dream of!!!!!

Ciarrai Abu!
________

Yep... good man yourself

Proving themselves as gracious as ever...

Self proclaimed graciousness...

Oh dear oh dear

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 14:32:18    1230582

so called county

It's called Dublin

Is home to tens of thousands of Kerry people... past, future, present.

Your "so called" county namely Kerry might kick a bit of leather around well

It doesnt hold on to its youth as well though. Despite you leather kicking greatness.... hows living abroad then?

My county is called Dublin.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/07/2012 14:37:48    1230592