Kerry - The tradition and the History

vinny murphy played hurling for kerry and they wanted him to play football too as he was starring in the county championship down there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/06/2012 15:55:41    1192816

Liam give it a rest lad.......always suspicious when i read posts starting out with just thinking what do ye think etc.
Any goodwill generated last year after yere win is well gone at this stage. I have to laugh when people start jumping on the Kerry corpse when they think its cold- Oh ye of little faith......time will prove me to be right - what goes round comes round.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 12/06/2012 16:04:14    1192831

Dublin lads get off the stage about outsiders playing, ffs tonight are you having a laugh, pre heffo era the majority of dub winning teams were culchies, it was a complete farce them titles are tainted and nobody will tell me different.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 12/06/2012 16:08:07    1192836

hill16no1man

vinny murphy played hurling for kerry and they wanted him to play football too as he was starring in the county championship down there

He wanted to play for Kerry not the other way round

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 12/06/2012 16:23:09    1192856

traleeexile

Any goodwill generated last year after yere win is well gone at this stage.

What good will? There was no good will and especially not from ye lads apart from some of the better Kerry posters on here. There was no good will on the Kerry boards or on gaa boards in general. We aren't liked. Nothing new there. Mehhhhhh!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/06/2012 16:35:33    1192866

traleeexile

Any goodwill generated last year after yere win is well gone at this stage.

What good will? There was no good will and especially not from ye lads apart from some of the better Kerry posters on here. There was no good will on the Kerry boards or on gaa boards in general. We aren't liked. Nothing new there. Mehhhhhh!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/06/2012 16:35:35    1192867

Yes, what 'good will' was all this ye speak of?? (Funny how kerry never seem to lose a match but rather seem to think they 'threw it away'!...Eh, just keep on telling yerselves that lads!).

Ye begrudged us back then and made excuses for yerselves rather than acknowledge that the better team won!!.....Hence the cold bowls of cumuppance dished up ever since by Ol Snuffy to soften yer coughs for ye!!

Arrogance will always be met by cumuppance....like the fight between good and evil!!

All Ireland Final: 6 mins to go.....yer 4 points up and then ye conceed 1-03 for to lose by a point to a Dublin team so confident in itself that they didnt even celebrate when McDanger scored his goal!! Read it and weep!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/06/2012 16:49:19    1192888

Snuff you once again change the subject when your wrong and have been outdone ................. 37 All Irelands ............. Read it & Weep as you say ;P

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 12/06/2012 16:53:11    1192890

Liam you have stirred a hornets nest here pal.

I firmly believe there is no debate here as besides the maths, Munster bar Cork is an out and out hurling province and Cork are the most dual county in Ireland.
An open draw down the years and they would have nowhere near the titles they have now.

But it is what it is and they do have a proud enviable record. (still haven't beaten us though)

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 12/06/2012 17:06:52    1192906

moomoo

hill16no1man

he wanted to play hurling for kerry yes and so did corcoran ,o dwyer and o brien want to play hurling for dublin.
as for football he said he could have played for kerry and won an all ireland or two but he said he would rather two more years with the dubs and thats what he di

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/06/2012 17:19:49    1192916

Lads ye Jackeens are getting carried away , How would you spot a Dub with Culchie parents??

His over 5ft 5 in height

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 12/06/2012 18:02:37    1192956

EnolaGay

1192494 I blame the Normans. They come up with the idea of dividing us into counties and provinces. If they had made Kerry smaller and put more counties in Munster, then they wouldn't have half as many All-Irelands. It's been a conspiracy all along!!

Little point blaming them. All the Normans did was turn 5 old traditional provinces into 4. Which expanded Leinster, by adding Meath/Westmeath/Louth etc to Leinster. Munster was always roughly that size. And most counties were crafted or set up from the Earldoms or tribal boundaries anyhow.

Maybe its the Kerrygold :-)

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 12/06/2012 18:32:14    1192983

If monaghan and dublin swapped picks as regards clubs and numbers i wonder how diff our historys would be...

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 12/06/2012 18:48:41    1192999

hill16no1man

moomoo

hill16no1man

he wanted to play hurling for kerry yes and so did corcoran ,o dwyer and o brien want to play hurling for dublin.
as for football he said he could have played for kerry and won an all ireland or two but he said he would rather two more years with the dubs and thats what he di

He was never going to play for Kerry and was told that by Kerry management he went back to play for Dublin then

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 12/06/2012 19:08:28    1193013

The cream always come to the top so what province Kerry were
in it wouldnt make a difference

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 12/06/2012 20:02:10    1193063

Liam, with all due respect, when did we play in 8 consecitive AI finals? I must've been out for that feat! As for the dual county bit from snuff, what was the last? 1938? You're just feeding these lads ammunition!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 12/06/2012 20:41:44    1193095

Dubes says

the 70/80s ..... leinster was dub/meath unless carlow/longford/kildare/wicklow were amazing during that era which i'll let you know they were NOT

Surprised how a Kerry man can acquire selective amnesia

That was one other county in Leinster who happened to win quite a few Leinsters in the 70/80's and 3 All Irelands. U should remember 2 of them !!!!!!!!!!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 12/06/2012 20:58:23    1193112

Great history, great tradition absolutely but no humility, respect, decorum or decent sporting behaviour whatsoever in defeat. They can win well and then patronise others as they did to Ulster sides for most of the 70's and 80's but when teams beat them it's always someone else's fault, some other reason and some big conspiracy why they lost. I respect their past glories, I have no time for their constant whingeing and disgraceful behaviour and excuses when they lose. Tyrone were the team of the last decade, they bossed Kerry whenever they met but still they couldn't and wouldn't give Tyrone their rightful place as Kerry's masters; as a result they have lost many fans and admirers in Ulster over the past decade.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 12/06/2012 21:25:58    1193125

My god these Kerry people are the biggest sore losers ever, they get bet by the rebels and they all come out of nowhere to abuse everyone and tell everyone how superior they are to everyone else. They have no class it's true what uncle O Se says about them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/06/2012 21:36:26    1193129

realdub only when u said it i went back and saw my typo, meant to say 6 not 8
but I am sure u knew that........??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 13/06/2012 09:04:02    1193188