Kerry - The tradition and the History

In fairness, how good was Leinster between 1966-2001 anyways? They probably would've handed out a few more hammerings along the way to win their All-Ireland's. Fact is, the best 4 teams always make the semi finals, Kerry won semis, won finals, boom, that's all that really matters. ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 12/06/2012 13:22:43    1192606

If, If, If ............................ Snuff when come back when ye have 36 ;)

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 12/06/2012 13:39:02    1192628

Liamwalkinstown

Cute Kerry Hoor, u dont think the Dubs would have beaten Cork between 1966-2002.......???
Really......???

Not as often as you might think. Cork had a serious side in the 70s, they just came up the greatest team of all time and that was the end of the year. Dublin were poor in the 80s really bar one of two years.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 12/06/2012 13:39:18    1192631

Snufalufagus
Whenever the arrogance is gone and some humility appears in its place......the cumuppance will stop being dished out!!

Where is the dubs humility? Ye scrap by kerry once in the championship and now all of a sudden ye know what's what? You can be sure cumuppance will be dished out, although you may be surprised where it will be dished out to... That day when snuf disappears from HS again is not too far away. Last time you were gone so long Im surprised you didnt forget your password.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/06/2012 13:50:44    1192651

Mickey Harte had an article last year in the Irish News about Kerry's record and stats etc. He compared Kerry/Cork in Munster to Galway/Mayo in Connaght in that they didn't have many games to play to reach the AI. He questioned why the other 3 teams didn't have as many AI's as Kerry? He also stressed that you can dress up stats whatever way you want. Down in the 60's were the first 'Tyrone' and some signalled the death of Kerry football then, we all know what happened since.

DanBreen (Kerry) - Posts: 73 - 12/06/2012 14:17:55    1192678

Please tell me liam who are these amazing teams in the other provinces that your on about?? In the 70/80s cork were highly regarded as the 2nd best team in ireland so that means that munster had the top 2 in that time. In the west its always been Galway/mayo, leinster was dub/meath unless carlow/longford/kildare/wicklow were amazing during that era which i'll let you know they were NOT and ulster was pretty poor in that time really apart from Down the odd time, so maybe that answers your question liam, Kerry infact had to beat the best to get into the semis and from there on you can only beat the best of the rest. Look at national league honors and let me know who have the most titles in that, but sure thats probably flawed some how as well....

dubes (Kerry) - Posts: 69 - 12/06/2012 14:18:05    1192679

"You can be sure cumuppance will be dished out, although you may be surprised where it will be dished out to"
TheMaster , 12/06/2012 at 13:50
------------------------------------------
'Where' will it be dished out?.....Oh wait, Yes I heard there were gangs of locals going around Swinford looking for me!!
I better not go there so!!......I used to go out with a mot from there once actually!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/06/2012 14:19:45    1192684

Ciarrai Abu , 12/06/2012 at 13:39
-------------------------------------------
Come back when yer a 'Dual County' and not just 'one code wonders'!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/06/2012 14:22:04    1192687

1. Tyrones second AI win took them '10' matches in that championship!
2. Down have indeed been like Tyrone when it comes to championship football against kerry....their ever constant masters!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/06/2012 14:36:29    1192701

Snufalufagus

Ciarrai Abu , 12/06/2012 at 13:39
-------------------------------------------
Come back when yer a 'Dual County' and not just 'one code wonders'!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Since when are Dublin a dual county?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 12/06/2012 14:39:28    1192705

HaHa Your some man for changing the subject Snuff! Sure look i'll let you add your hurling and football AI's together ................. Oh wait still no where near 37 AI's (Incl. our 1 for Hurling in 1891) :D

As i said before get back down off your pony and come back and talk to us when you have 37 AI's ;P

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 12/06/2012 14:51:50    1192718

Thats the point you have confirmed for me Ciarrai!!.....Its easy wher yer a 'one trick pony' as opposed to true promoters of the games of the 'whole' association!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/06/2012 15:02:35    1192732

Let me get this right
so ure telling me the Dublin team of the 70's.......was the THIRD best team in Ireland at the time..........
Your serious Kerry lads?

Jaysus ye really cant take a bit of analysis that might not fall at ye're feet atall can ye!!!!

So the Dubs team that won the All Ireland in 74,76 & 77 and played in 8 All Ireland Finals in a row....was not even the second best team in the country

Is that what your telling me now? And this is from Kerry lads I would regard as proper decent reasonable informed lads......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 12/06/2012 15:07:41    1192742

Snuff would you stop .... your only making yourself look silly! Look at the facts my boy, more money pumped into your teams than any other county yet your senior hurlers still include lads who do not even hail from Dublin, that must be rather embaressing for you?

Snuff you make all the excuses for your ignorance and avoidance of the facts you want but they are all there and plain to see ............. i'll say it one more time for you ............. Come back to me when you have 37 All Irelands :D

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 12/06/2012 15:12:36    1192752

Fair play to the Dublin lads showing there class again.. put the boot in after defeat.

Kerry will bounce back....

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 12/06/2012 15:26:11    1192770

...and I will tell you to come back when you are not a 'one code wonder'!!

As for outsiders....was great to see a Lucan man as part of the team that beat ye on Sunday. Sure we have been exporting Dubs to ye for years even starting with Dara O'Cinneide, ye even tried to get one of our lads to hurl for ye a few years back by changing rules! We even had a Dublin man lift Liam McCarthy for Tipp!!
Ah sure dont be talking to me about outsiders lad!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/06/2012 15:28:29    1192772

Anyone saying I am "Putting the boot into Kerry" can you please show me where? I have never been anything but uber respectful to the Kingdom in my ten years on this website, and to say i am putting the boot in just for asking a simple logistical question is utter utter nonsense
And some kerry lads then will say the boys up North have a chip !!
This is farcical stuff!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 12/06/2012 15:37:29    1192786

Snuff i clearly have hit a bit of a nerve with you there, i do feel for you with your county pouring huge sums of money only for lads not from Dublin be donning the Jersey for your hurlers, it must be nothing short of embaressing!

I'll say it one more time for you Snuff .............. Come back to me when you have 37 AI's :D

But sure you continue to ignore the facts that are there for all to see my boy as it just reinforces the fact to everyone on here that Kerry un-comparable success grinds on you, which brings a smile to everyones face :D

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 12/06/2012 15:46:26    1192800

Kerry posters, hand on heart, which Kerry team do you think were better - the Kerry team that did the 4 and 3 in a row in the 70's and 80's or the current squad from say 2000 onwards that have won 5 All-Irelands in the last 12 years and appeared in all finals in that time bar 3?
Personally I think the current crop simply on the basis that the current championship opposition and its format is more competitive than what it was back in the 70's and 80's.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 12/06/2012 15:53:19    1192811

Good old Snuf changing the subject when he's wrong. As i said since when are Dublin a dual county? Because one hurling All Ireland at all grades in 50 years would say other wise

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 12/06/2012 15:54:33    1192814