Home Football Hurling Counties
National - Kerry - The tradition and the History
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>]
Page 1

12/06/2012 09:52:39
Liamwalkinstown

Just a simple question, and I would be very interested in the opinions of the better Kerry posters here like RKF.
Now absolutely no one questions Kerry's place as the eminint football power in Ireland. Year after year, Decade after decade Kerry churn out quality teams with quality players and more often than not they are a joy to behold. I have Kerry blood in me so I have a soft spot for The Mighty Kingdom anyways.
But.............
Given that up to the turn of this Century, Kerry often had only to win 3 real games to win an All Ireland, sometimes only 2 back when the Connacht/Ulster champions were semi final fodder, and seing as Dublin or Meath, Tyrone or Galway would have often had to win 5/6 games to even get to a final in the first place....
Is their record just a little skewed? Is their haul a little compromised by the old provincial system?
Could it be argued that teams with less All Irelands had to do a lot more to win their All Irelands than Kerry did to win theirs?

If say Dublin had been in Munster from 1966-2001, and Kerry been in Leinster.....how would the record books look now I wonder?

Is this a fair question lads? I am NOT having a go at Kerry for the sake of it, this is not an attack on Kerry Football. I just think its a fair question and it could be a decent debate.
12/06/2012 10:08:30
Snufalufagus

....for them the war is over now!! Let them rest whilst in their twilight years and reflect upon past glories in peace!! Dont kick a dog while he's down....it does no good to do so!!

12/06/2012 10:16:18
hill16no1man

helps them get to semi finals no doubt but once your there you have to beat the best teams and their teams that did won all irelands did that so answer would be no the nest team always wins
12/06/2012 10:22:37
Real Kerry Fan

If my granny had ***** she would be my uncle!
12/06/2012 10:44:15
Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Liamwalkinstown

Just a simple question, and I would be very interested in the opinions of the better Kerry posters here like RKF.
Now absolutely no one questions Kerry's place as the eminint football power in Ireland. Year after year, Decade after decade Kerry churn out quality teams with quality players and more often than not they are a joy to behold. I have Kerry blood in me so I have a soft spot for The Mighty Kingdom anyways.
But.............
Given that up to the turn of this Century, Kerry often had only to win 3 real games to win an All Ireland, sometimes only 2 back when the Connacht/Ulster champions were semi final fodder, and seing as Dublin or Meath, Tyrone or Galway would have often had to win 5/6 games to even get to a final in the first place....
Is their record just a little skewed? Is their haul a little compromised by the old provincial system?
Could it be argued that teams with less All Irelands had to do a lot more to win their All Irelands than Kerry did to win theirs?

If say Dublin had been in Munster from 1966-2001, and Kerry been in Leinster.....how would the record books look now I wonder?

Is this a fair question lads? I am NOT having a go at Kerry for the sake of it, this is not an attack on Kerry Football. I just think its a fair question and it could be a decent debate.

I'm fairly sure Dublin would not have beaten Cork too often in that period.
12/06/2012 10:51:25
yew_tree

Its a valid point I suppose but Kerry have produced the best footballers in Ireland. You could say the same about Kilkenny Hurling who due to their own Brilliance have killed an interest in hurling for a large amount of supporters and counties
12/06/2012 11:22:46
tj09

It could be counter argued that with themselves and Cork you have consistently had 2 of the top 3 teams in the country competing in the one province. I feel the two have somewhat kept each other in check down through the years with Kerry obviously doing the better, but Cork often enough getting the better of them so that they did not have it all their own way, Im not sure there is any other county than Cork that would have done better in limiting Kerry. People often dismiss Limerick Clare and Tipp as being a complete waste of time but had any of these 3 counties been in any of the other provinces they could well have a good few more titles than they now have. yet being in Munster with the big two they rarely get the break they need as one or both of Cork and Kerry will be AI contenders most years.
12/06/2012 11:28:43
Liamwalkinstown

ah come one RKF, no need to get mighty about it!!
I do think its a valid opinion!
If Down/Galway of the 60's had swapped provinces with Kerry I wonder how many All Irelands each would have won
12/06/2012 11:37:17
EnolaGay

I blame the Normans. They come up with the idea of dividing us into counties and provinces. If they had made Kerry smaller and put more counties in Munster, then they wouldn't have half as many All-Irelands. It's been a conspiracy all along!!
12/06/2012 11:40:04
51longago

In fairness they would have a lot more if they had played nearly every championship game inc s/f and finals in their home ground.

Both Kerry and Dublin are overrated in terms of their proud history, it has been very unfair system down through history, it is slowly getting balanced out now but still needs a major revamp to give equal opportunity to all.
12/06/2012 11:55:39
royaldunne

51 in fairness. I have never seen croke park as a advantage to dublin. Look at late 80s and early 90s where by far the 3 best teams in country were meath dublin cork. dublin did not win as many ai titles as they would have now with back door even though they played them all in hq. Its a fair point liam they prob would not have won as many if they were in leinster but on flip side if back door was in they more likely would have won more.
12/06/2012 11:59:40
kerrykerry

front door or back door Kerry have won the most
12/06/2012 12:13:36
legendzxix

12/06/2012 11:59:40
kerrykerry

front door or back door Kerry have won the most

That's it, we have. We've also competed in the league year after year where it's the same mountain for everyone to climb.

Tyrone and Dublin tried to lead the way with a motion for provincial champions to get a second chance, why isn't there more support and discussion around the country about that?
12/06/2012 12:18:27
Liamwalkinstown

Cute Kerry Hoor, u dont think the Dubs would have beaten Cork between 1966-2002.......???
Really......???
12/06/2012 12:20:50

Bit by bit these 'dublin knocking kerry' threads/posts are appearing.

Will ye ever learn?
12/06/2012 12:22:45
51longago

Royaldunne, i'll put it this way so.

If MAYO played every game at McHale park, i promise you we would have AIs, sin e.
12/06/2012 12:29:03
Snufalufagus

If MAYO played every game at McHale park, i promise you we would have AIs, sin e.
51longago , 12/06/2012 at 12:22
----------------------------------------------------------
No you wouldnt because ye have never been good enough!!.....All it would serve to do is make the 61 years look even more appalling!!

12/06/2012 12:32:14
Snufalufagus

Bit by bit these 'dublin knocking kerry' threads/posts are appearing.
Will ye ever learn?

TheMaster , 12/06/2012 at 12:20
------------------------------------------
Whenever the arrogance is gone and some humility appears in its place......the cumuppance will stop being dished out!!

Simples!

12/06/2012 12:34:26

I still provincial winners should get a second chance if the get bet in the quarter final. Ye right 51 of course you would have.
12/06/2012 13:00:21
Culchie

I absolutely firmly believe that Kerry should be removed from Munster immediately. Their being here is completely unfair.

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>]
Page 1

please login or register to post a message