Dunphy on the Dubs

Personal story from Monday.
As some of you will know I have a baby son born very premature, but doing well , and he attends crumlin on a regular basis , by chance he has had appointments on both Monday after the 2 all ire. We were heading to hoops, when out of a ward came Micheal fitzsimons and McCarthy with Sam maguire, herself been originally a dub (I know I can't get over that I married one either ) lol just kidding hon :)
Anyways they gladly took a photo with herself Sam and our son, two nicer guys you couldn't hope to meet, I naturally shook their hands and congratulate both , I had a bit of banter with Micheal telling him that my boy would lift Sam one day FOR MEATH. Again I don't know many of the team but if these 2 lads are anything to go by, then Eamonn is talking out of his rear end.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/09/2017 20:12:09    2049711

Hardly much of a story.

The Dubs are no different than any team when it comes to having lads on the team full of themselves etc.

Same with every team.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 23/09/2017 20:26:22    2049718

Replying To gotmilk:  "Does Dunphy not live in that area?

Anyway I'm sure there are one or two that are not nicest, just like i'm sure there are genuine, nice and good hearted people on that team. A team is made up of a collection of individuals with different personalities. You will always get on better with some people than others no matter what you do. I'm sure you have all played on teams, worked with or socialised in circles with people you just don't like. Maybe Dunphy came across someone who wasn't a nice guy, maybe they are a nice guy but just weren't his cup of tea.

Anyway it is of no relevance. Dunphy made a sweeping statement, no heed should be paid to it. I don't understand the Dubs losing their rag either defending every Dublin player to the hilt. There are fermanagh players that I know that are idiots, there are others that are nice guys. Dubs, no need to take it so personally."
My main point about them is that they're hardly gonna be loved outside of Dublin.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 23/09/2017 20:40:55    2049723

Replying To gotmilk:  "Does Dunphy not live in that area?

Anyway I'm sure there are one or two that are not nicest, just like i'm sure there are genuine, nice and good hearted people on that team. A team is made up of a collection of individuals with different personalities. You will always get on better with some people than others no matter what you do. I'm sure you have all played on teams, worked with or socialised in circles with people you just don't like. Maybe Dunphy came across someone who wasn't a nice guy, maybe they are a nice guy but just weren't his cup of tea.

Anyway it is of no relevance. Dunphy made a sweeping statement, no heed should be paid to it. I don't understand the Dubs losing their rag either defending every Dublin player to the hilt. There are fermanagh players that I know that are idiots, there are others that are nice guys. Dubs, no need to take it so personally."
Got milk over the years we had let's be polite lads of dubious character , not the nicest on or off the pitch , this bunch are not like that , I'm not saying that as a Dub I'm saying it as someone who has been in their company .its not sticking up for them for the sake of it.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/09/2017 20:41:45    2049724

Replying To Damothedub:  "Got milk over the years we had let's be polite lads of dubious character , not the nicest on or off the pitch , this bunch are not like that , I'm not saying that as a Dub I'm saying it as someone who has been in their company .its not sticking up for them for the sake of it."
who do you have in mind haha!

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 22:27:10    2049757

Replying To hill16no1man:  "the soccer boys seem to be running scared at the minute with roddy doyle now dunphy trying to have a go.
id ask the question has dunphy ever even met messi?
highly unlikely i would say, in that case how would he even know what type person messi is?
of all the things to accuse this team of being full of themselves has to be madness.
they have seperate guys who are ambassadors for suicide prevention, mental health and addiction problem.
the manager flew a plane to uganda for concern and goal last year after the all ireland final.
on several occasions throughout this year they have helped out in the capuchin day centre for homeless people.
they have taken the trophy specificaly to children who are suffering with life long illness on match days to let them celebrate.
another player does ted talks to help people who are suffering with depression and are at low points in their life."
FFS stop, I'm wiping my eyes. They should all be given halos

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 23/09/2017 23:09:04    2049778

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "FFS stop, I'm wiping my eyes. They should all be given halos"
Sort of answer one would expect with cock the first part of their name

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/09/2017 23:32:17    2049783

Big surprise Dunphy issuing his slightly contrarian view.I accept the Dubs were pretty cynical at times last Sunday but so were Mayo and so would any other team trying to win Sam.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 24/09/2017 13:44:56    2049870

Replying To realdub:  "Good ol' Dunphy, I remember during the 80s he wrote something regarding Brian Mullins. One day shortly after they crossed paths at the entrance to Independent House in Abbey St and Mullins let him know what he thought of him and Dunphy scarpered on down the road shitting himself lol :D"
I wouldn't blame him for scarpering. Mullins was bad enough when there was a referee there to rein him in

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/09/2017 15:41:11    2049898

Eamon Dunphy has an edgy opinion on something. Well I never.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 24/09/2017 19:28:39    2049987

Paul Kimmage tore into Jim Gavin today. Have to say I agree. Love watchinh Dublin play but it's hard to be too enamoured with Jim's robotic show of any emotion.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 24/09/2017 20:30:48    2050016

Paul Kimmage was amazing on Newstalk today. The only journalist with the balls to say that that Dublins attitude stinks. He was at the press conference last week and described Gavin s performance as classless

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 24/09/2017 21:51:49    2050058

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Paul Kimmage tore into Jim Gavin today. Have to say I agree. Love watchinh Dublin play but it's hard to be too enamoured with Jim's robotic show of any emotion."
Very hard to listen to kimmage today and his faux outrage. He is sickening and seems to think he is entitled and Jim Gavin owes him something. I think this begrudgery is simply journalist trying to make a story out of nothing. They do their talking on the pitch and let the journalists write about that.

nextyear (Mayo) - Posts: 60 - 24/09/2017 22:01:50    2050066

was a great game last sunday . two teams giving 100% to win. both teams left it all out on the field. dunphy just jealous at how gaa players giving it all for the jersey . compare it to over hyped soccer players. must be hard for him to take.

kevinmayo (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 24/09/2017 22:17:20    2050072

Replying To nextyear:  "Very hard to listen to kimmage today and his faux outrage. He is sickening and seems to think he is entitled and Jim Gavin owes him something. I think this begrudgery is simply journalist trying to make a story out of nothing. They do their talking on the pitch and let the journalists write about that."
FairPlay delighted that someone out side the county gets it ,many years ago we were the brash in your face cocky city slickers who talked big delivered little , now we deliver big say little and that's not good enough , I met Jim 6 years ago before he had anything to do with the seniors and he hasn't changed a bit ,so we have Davy Fitzwho gets vilified for showing emotion coast even got some this year for having a go at a linesman, then you've Mr cool and that's not right also , leads me to believe fellas haven't a notion what they want other than to talk out of both sides of their gob at the same time

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/09/2017 22:35:21    2050081

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Paul Kimmage tore into Jim Gavin today. Have to say I agree. Love watchinh Dublin play but it's hard to be too enamoured with Jim's robotic show of any emotion."
Jim isn't there to impress you or anyone else with his media duties or personality, he is there to lead this dublin team to the highest level possible and hopefully be successful with regards winning trophies along the way which to his credit he has done. Like it or not, Jim Gavin is one of the modern day great managers and he gets serious amount of hard work, personality and success out of his panel of players year in year out, that's good enough for me

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/09/2017 23:17:04    2050105

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Paul Kimmage was amazing on Newstalk today. The only journalist with the balls to say that that Dublins attitude stinks. He was at the press conference last week and described Gavin s performance as classless"
You really think 'classless' will be a word associated with Jim Gavin when they look back at him in years to come? As for Kimmage and Dunphy, rag mag journalists, if these peoples opinions matter, and they always have a gripe, its a sad world.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 24/09/2017 23:21:12    2050110

Dunphy is .. Dunphy!

Half the time i agree with him. Half the time i don't. I don't agree with his comments on the country being a kip for example.

Maybe a few of the Dubs are up themselves, maybe not. Like Royaldunne i tend to judge people on how i find them, not second hand reports, unless they're from a source i trust 100%.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/09/2017 00:04:42    2050128

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Paul Kimmage was amazing on Newstalk today. The only journalist with the balls to say that that Dublins attitude stinks. He was at the press conference last week and described Gavin s performance as classless"
I only got to listen to it this morning. I'm surprised he didn't have a heart attack he seemed so angry.

I thought it was hilarious.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/09/2017 10:52:38    2050225

Replying To Laois76:  "Dunphy is .. Dunphy!

Half the time i agree with him. Half the time i don't. I don't agree with his comments on the country being a kip for example.

Maybe a few of the Dubs are up themselves, maybe not. Like Royaldunne i tend to judge people on how i find them, not second hand reports, unless they're from a source i trust 100%."
Same here. Have met a few sports people down the years, some of whom were deemed to be arrogant by how they were portrayed in the media. Found them all giving of their time and chatting away with no bother. GAA players , including Dubs, give so much of their time to schools ,clubs and general events that I don't believe they should be judged cos a journo didn't think they were particularly friendly to him. Natural for a sports person or any celeb type to be wary of a journo. Especially one who makes a living out of being controversial and usually at the expense of the reputations of others.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 25/09/2017 11:31:36    2050249