Donegal v Galway

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Looking like Galway v Kerry and Mayo v Roscommon in the first of the qualifiers. Some first half by Galway and Armstrong showing how much he was missed in the Connacht final."
First of the quarters*

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/07/2017 20:24:54    2021109

Galway played some fantastic football. Great to see Michael Meehan getting a run in the second half.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 22/07/2017 20:57:16    2021135

jaysus surprised how easy galway won

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/07/2017 20:57:43    2021136

Where did that Galway performance come from, the big match can still happen Galway v Roscommon or Mayo, is this the end of Rory Gallagher term as Donegal manager, 2 very poor performances against Tyrone and today against Galway

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 22/07/2017 21:22:30    2021165

that Comer is a beast of a man. Donegal didn't know what the feck hit them. Well done and good luck to Galway.

As for Donegal, I'd say Rory will be finding it hard to make a case for himself to stay on. Not that i think he is solely to blame. Upholding the standards of Jimmy was always going to be too much to ask.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 22/07/2017 21:27:01    2021170

Donegal need to get a Donegal man back in charge and drop that awful negative, defensive backwards, sideways rubbish; their talented footballers are going to waste.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 22/07/2017 21:34:57    2021183

Replying To SaffronDon:  "that Comer is a beast of a man. Donegal didn't know what the feck hit them. Well done and good luck to Galway.

As for Donegal, I'd say Rory will be finding it hard to make a case for himself to stay on. Not that i think he is solely to blame. Upholding the standards of Jimmy was always going to be too much to ask."
A lot of crying about galway being arrogant now it Donegals turn but TV says very little

champs2012 (Carlow) - Posts: 40 - 22/07/2017 21:39:56    2021192

Lads, correct me if I'm wrong..can't help thinking some of the more experienced campaigners have "downed tools" for Rory judging by this years champioship..

hannigantiptoe (Roscommon) - Posts: 39 - 22/07/2017 21:56:24    2021212

I'll stop short of going on a full rant now until I gather my thoughts but suffice to say I hope that's the last we see of Rory Gallagher in charge of that team. I saw it coming in a way with the Longford performance but that was dreadful beyond words. Lads tried hard until the very end but it's time for new ideas.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/07/2017 21:58:28    2021214

What a f#####g win!!!!!! Bring on the kingdom!!!!!! Yaaaaaaahoooooo!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 22/07/2017 22:15:40    2021230

Replying To tribeinbrum:  "What a f#####g win!!!!!! Bring on the kingdom!!!!!! Yaaaaaaahoooooo!!!!!"
Stay grounded, huge game ahead of ye, Kerry ain't no Donegal that's for sure, but if your play to your potential you'll rattle them goodo!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 22/07/2017 22:24:47    2021234

Mayo v Roscommon
Galway v Kerry

Something's telling me Mayo will come out of this side and make the final..poor enough against Derry/Clare..great battle with Cork today..they seem to be motoring nicely now

hannigantiptoe (Roscommon) - Posts: 39 - 22/07/2017 22:34:51    2021244

Replying To hannigantiptoe:  "Mayo v Roscommon
Galway v Kerry

Something's telling me Mayo will come out of this side and make the final..poor enough against Derry/Clare..great battle with Cork today..they seem to be motoring nicely now"
Once this Mayo team hit the hallowed turf they're a different animal, Kerry beware of the west :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 22/07/2017 22:41:59    2021252

Galway v Kerry

Something's telling me Mayo will come out of this side and make the final..poor enough against Derry/Clare..great battle with Cork today..they seem to be motoring nicely now"
I think Kerry will be in the Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 22/07/2017 22:45:53    2021257

Since Jimmy departed, Donegal have not won one big Championship game.

This-evening, Donegal looked more like pre-Jimmy era which aint good.

Well done Galway, after the shocker against the Rosser, this was a great response. Looking forward to the Kerry game

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 22/07/2017 22:46:09    2021258

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Wow it's hard to believe that Donegal,the team we know as being defensively superb in recent years,has just conceded 3 goals and are in serious trouble at half time with a surely insurmountable task ahead of them in the second half. Galway playing very well to their credit and punishing Donegal when they make mistakes and putting in the hits and really rattling Donegal."
Does this display by Donegal throw a different gloss on Tyrone's win or is it totally irrelevant?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 22/07/2017 22:46:31    2021259

Galway v Kerry

Tiredness might catch Mayo in Croker. They have played two games of over 90 minutes in the last few weeks and some of them have a lot of mileage on the clock. At the same time you'd have to admire their resolve in both of those games.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 22/07/2017 22:48:50    2021264

Galway v Kerry

Good point, just like last year with their performances in the qualifiers but still made the final.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/07/2017 22:52:09    2021269

Replying To hannigantiptoe:  "Lads, correct me if I'm wrong..can't help thinking some of the more experienced campaigners have "downed tools" for Rory judging by this years champioship.."
You've no idea what your talking about, all I can say is rg should never have had any involvement with any donegal team in the first place due to one reason and one only that may emerge in the future hopefully....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 22/07/2017 22:53:05    2021272

Replying To tribeinbrum:  "What a f#####g win!!!!!! Bring on the kingdom!!!!!! Yaaaaaaahoooooo!!!!!"
Brilliant win, the last 8 again for Galway and unlike last were Galway were probably favourites against Tipp ye will go into this one with no pressure whatsoever and could give Kerry a good rattle. Enjoy the beers tonight :)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/07/2017 22:56:14    2021277