Kerry Investment paying off?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/kerry-step-up-their-pursuit-of-excellence-1.2220057

Another trophy in the cabinet for Kerry tonight winning the u21 Munster and odds on favourite to win u21 AI

Throw in they have won last 3 minor All Irelands, 3 Hogans Cup. Dr Crokes winning club All Ireland and their clubs dominant at intermediate and junior club level. With the Kerry Group investment over last year few years it is no coincidence Kerry are starting to dominate football at all levels. We will soon see them take over the mantle from Dublin and fair play to them, They have produced great young players like Killian Spillane, Andrew & Jack Barry, David Clifford, Dara Moynihan, David Shaw, Jason Foley, Shane Ryan and Micheal Burns who will be superstars in next year or two . Is Kerry investment paying off??

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 29/03/2017 23:20:18    1972984

Replying To Gael85:  "http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/kerry-step-up-their-pursuit-of-excellence-1.2220057

Another trophy in the cabinet for Kerry tonight winning the u21 Munster and odds on favourite to win u21 AI

Throw in they have won last 3 minor All Irelands, 3 Hogans Cup. Dr Crokes winning club All Ireland and their clubs dominant at intermediate and junior club level. With the Kerry Group investment over last year few years it is no coincidence Kerry are starting to dominate football at all levels. We will soon see them take over the mantle from Dublin and fair play to them, They have produced great young players like Killian Spillane, Andrew & Jack Barry, David Clifford, Dara Moynihan, David Shaw, Jason Foley, Shane Ryan and Micheal Burns who will be superstars in next year or two . Is Kerry investment paying off??"
IF and WHEN these lads win an U-21 and then move on to win a Senior All-Ireland we can sing their praises - for the moment they're just a decent young team but there's plenty of counties around that have decent underage teams.

Dublin's record underage isn't exactly terrible now is it? And yer clubs do very well for themselves too.

So the GAA/AIG/Skoda/Super Valu/Ballgowan and the other 20+ sponsors gravy train is oiling the Dublin machine nicely.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/03/2017 09:36:57    1973023

Replying To Gael85:  "http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/kerry-step-up-their-pursuit-of-excellence-1.2220057

Throw in they have won last 3 minor All Irelands, 3 Hogans Cup. Dr Crokes winning club All Ireland and their clubs dominant at intermediate and junior club level. With the Kerry Group investment over last year few years it is no coincidence Kerry are starting to dominate football at all levels. We will soon see them take over the mantle from Dublin and fair play to them, They have produced great young players like Killian Spillane, Andrew & Jack Barry, David Clifford, Dara Moynihan, David Shaw, Jason Foley, Shane Ryan and Micheal Burns who will be superstars in next year or two . Is Kerry investment paying off??"
Be sure to clean out the free cars before we take them off ye ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 30/03/2017 09:58:56    1973030

Be sure to clean out the free cars before we take them off ye ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts:1178 - 30/03/2017 09:58:56 1973030

Why surely you guys would prefer a good Massey Ferguson ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/03/2017 10:22:15    1973039

Kerry were superb last night, a joy to watch.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 30/03/2017 10:31:52    1973042

If by investment you mean hard work, good coaching by the clubs, 5 GDA's , schools combined with natural God-given talent of the players then yes you could say it is paying off, albeit with a long way to go of achieving the ultimate aim of the Sam Maguire or even the Clarke Cup for that matter

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 10:42:24    1973047

Replying To Damothedub:  "Be sure to clean out the free cars before we take them off ye ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts:1178 - 30/03/2017 09:58:56 1973030

Why surely you guys would prefer a good Massey Ferguson ?"
I'm more of a David Brown man myself

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 10:43:55    1973048

Well there is something to loo kforward too....after the Dublin dominance we can expect a Kerry dominance :/

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 30/03/2017 10:56:27    1973051

Australia will come plundering the rural county from the southwest.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 30/03/2017 10:57:05    1973053

Yep all those millions they have received from Club Kerry or whatever its called is now paying off. Sure it had to eventually. Weren't Kerry up there with Mayo last year and the last few years for total spend on county teams.
Sure look all that money has to come to fruition eventually doesn't it.

Wont be long now before Kerry are cleaning up at all levels, and it will be Kerry who everyone thinks should be split in two and are ruining the game for the rest of us.....sigh...

wait....what?.......ohh........ohh right...........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2017 11:00:29    1973056

You have got to either match the big spenders or keep quiet I think. No team can get to Sept now without big funding. Simple but a huge dilemma for the amateur game now.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/03/2017 11:19:27    1973064

jesus lads....hold on Kerry have won a munster u21 title. They would likely have won this without a penny in the bank.

We won 3 minors in a row, we may win 3 un21s/20's in a row but that won't mean we will any senior
At the moment the Dubs at senior level are miles ahead of Kerry.
We need freshening up but the young lads wont be able to match Dublin physically yet.
On the off chance Dublin get beaten this year it still wont mean their dominance is over

The Dubs lesser rated players like Small, and Davy Byrne are still young and will be around for a long time yet not to mind Mccarthy, Rock et etc.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 30/03/2017 11:24:25    1973067

Really hope these lads make the step up and prove excellent inter county players they appear at this level to be.

Would be a thing of beauty having Dublin and Kerry going toe to toe with a bit of uncertainty about it.

The one concern i would have for these lads would be the coaching set up, maybe the coaching environment is more contained at Senior level as opposed to U21, certainly some of the players look different ones at the younger level as opposed to senior, the Kerry lads will know more though.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/03/2017 11:25:16    1973068

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "If by investment you mean hard work, good coaching by the clubs, 5 GDA's , schools combined with natural God-given talent of the players then yes you could say it is paying off, albeit with a long way to go of achieving the ultimate aim of the Sam Maguire or even the Clarke Cup for that matter"
Ah yes it's hard work & God given talent when Kerry win but money when Dublin do. Gotcha!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/03/2017 11:42:07    1973075

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Yep all those millions they have received from Club Kerry or whatever its called is now paying off. Sure it had to eventually. Weren't Kerry up there with Mayo last year and the last few years for total spend on county teams.
Sure look all that money has to come to fruition eventually doesn't it.

Wont be long now before Kerry are cleaning up at all levels, and it will be Kerry who everyone thinks should be split in two and are ruining the game for the rest of us.....sigh...

wait....what?.......ohh........ohh right..........."
Club Kerry - could you fill us in on this. I have never heard of it or any type of group you describe even existing

With regards to IC Expenditure - yes it was very high but when you have players based all over Ireland the travel expenses are going to be very high (particularly if the team gets to August, September or even October!) even more so in Mayo's case than ourselves and this would by far be the biggest expense for the likes of Mayo, Kerry & Donegal every year

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 11:47:13    1973077

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ah yes it's hard work & God given talent when Kerry win but money when Dublin do. Gotcha!"
Where did I even mention Dublin? You think with all the success and domination they'd be happy and joyful as opposed to grumpy and paranoid

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 12:04:45    1973086

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well there is something to loo kforward too....after the Dublin dominance we can expect a Kerry dominance :/"
Hopefully Galway to sneak an All Ireland or two in between - just to ensure correct order

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 30/03/2017 12:08:44    1973092

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ah yes it's hard work & God given talent when Kerry win but money when Dublin do. Gotcha!"
Population as well

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 30/03/2017 12:16:48    1973097

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Where did I even mention Dublin? You think with all the success and domination they'd be happy and joyful as opposed to grumpy and paranoid"
You reference dublin & their resources at every oppprtunity.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/03/2017 12:39:01    1973106

Replying To realman2:  "Population as well"
Alas twas ever thus and ever thus shall be.....Shakespeare!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/03/2017 12:41:58    1973110