Phrases that commentators use that annoy you!!

Nearly everything Marty Morrissey says.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 13/03/2017 11:23:41    1966644

in soccer , referring to the goalkeeper as a good shotstopper ---- he is a professional goalkeeper - he bloody well should be!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/03/2017 11:31:48    1966650

Replying To waynoI:  "mine is

"returned with interest" ..

any more?? add to the list lads do your worst"
Soccer related not GAA but when a game goes to penalties and they said "it's a shame to end the match like this, penalties are a lottery"

No, they're not. Surely if you can't practise set pieces then what can you practise?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 13/03/2017 11:36:00    1966654

" There was no malice in that"
"Nothing malicious there "

Martin Carney after every foul/tackle no matter what happens.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 13/03/2017 11:50:10    1966663

This is probably irrational but I hate when commentators say "the woodwork" for some reason. Just say the post.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 13/03/2017 11:58:13    1966668

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Soccer related not GAA but when a game goes to penalties and they said "it's a shame to end the match like this, penalties are a lottery"

No, they're not. Surely if you can't practise set pieces then what can you practise?"
Agree totally!

When penalty shootouts were first introduced I could see why people might have thought a long those lines but they've been in most tournaments since the 1970s!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/03/2017 12:01:39    1966670

Replying To janesboro:  "in soccer , referring to the goalkeeper as a good shotstopper ---- he is a professional goalkeeper - he bloody well should be!!"
Its like being an accountant that's sh*te with numbers..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/03/2017 12:09:13    1966674

Replying To Breffni39:  "This is probably irrational but I hate when commentators say "the woodwork" for some reason. Just say the post."
Very few goal posts made out of wood nowadays!

Also, is it just commentators or do people down the country actually pronounce Walsh as Welsh?!?
WTF?!?

It's w A l s h!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 13/03/2017 12:14:03    1966677

he starts on the bench tonight

-how can you start if you are on the bench?

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/03/2017 12:24:08    1966683

Replying To janesboro:  "he starts on the bench tonight

-how can you start if you are on the bench?"
If you're sitting on the bench when the game starts.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 13/03/2017 12:39:45    1966688

Replying To Breffni39:  "If you're sitting on the bench when the game starts."
but if your on the bench you aint starting

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/03/2017 12:49:15    1966692

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Very few goal posts made out of wood nowadays!

Also, is it just commentators or do people down the country actually pronounce Walsh as Welsh?!?
WTF?!?

It's w A l s h!!!"
The parts of Ireland that pronounce it Welsh or Walsh would make an interesting map. Certainly many places say Welsh though it is spelled Walsh. The fact the Irish is Breathanach explains why the a is often pronounced as e.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/03/2017 12:59:00    1966693

Replying To Soma:  "The parts of Ireland that pronounce it Welsh or Walsh would make an interesting map. Certainly many places say Welsh though it is spelled Walsh. The fact the Irish is Breathanach explains why the a is often pronounced as e."
But in Breathnach the first a is the dominant vowel in its pronunciation is it not?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 13/03/2017 13:08:35    1966696

He's very accurate from the free from the hand and off the ground, cue free being missed..... oh well we put the oul commentators curse on him.

a bit of a schmoozle....

and Darragh feckin Maloney, jesus wept..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 13/03/2017 13:24:18    1966700

Replying To janesboro:  "but if your on the bench you aint starting"
You're joking right? It's obvious what the phrase means, "He starts (the match) on the bench" It's really quite straightforward.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 13/03/2017 13:24:20    1966701

Replying To Lockjaw:  "But in Breathnach the first a is the dominant vowel in its pronunciation is it not?"
You're right but I meant more the fact that the name means Welshman. Mildly interesting stuff. A number of surnames in Cork pronounced differently to the rest of the country as well.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/03/2017 13:28:01    1966703

Breathnach is the Irish for a Welsh person.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/03/2017 13:40:50    1966706

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Very few goal posts made out of wood nowadays!

WTF?!?

It's w A l s h!!!"
Or Carl with Carol

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/03/2017 14:06:26    1966723

Replying To Jackeen:  "Or Carl with Carol"
Ha yeah, Canning always says Karol Lacey, which is just straight up wrong. There are Karols though - eg Karol Mannion. Commentators really should not be getting players names even slightly wrong.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 13/03/2017 14:41:13    1966731

Canning also says Dublin like no other person I've heard before

"Dablin"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/03/2017 14:55:56    1966738