Allow 17-year-olds play Adult

Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
I have two 17 year old nephews, one in Laois, one in Offaly and they will play 6 or 7 games this year at best. Crazy.
Heraf (Laois) - Posts:307 - 27/02/2017 16:23:01
Change under 17 competitions and give them more games in that. That solves all this.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/02/2017 17:14:14    1961717

cannot fit in U15 or U17 competitions in the calendar
county board barely run off the U16 and U18 competitions

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 27/02/2017 17:35:13    1961730

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
I have two 17 year old nephews, one in Laois, one in Offaly and they will play 6 or 7 games this year at best. Crazy.
Change under 17 competitions and give them more games in that. That solves all this."
That wont happen. This time next year young lads will have stopped playing GAA because of lack of games.

CmonAymonow (Laois) - Posts: 160 - 27/02/2017 17:59:31    1961748

Anyone hear Jarlath Burns on Off the Ball this evening? Made a few very good points some of the naysayers here could take onboard.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/02/2017 23:33:07    1961900

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
Change under 17 competitions and give them more games in that. That solves all this."
Can't speak for Offaly but in Laois there is no under 17 league and the championship is knockout! One game of under 17 football is all some lads will be getting!

Heraf (Laois) - Posts: 316 - 28/02/2017 17:24:03    1962220

Replying To Heraf:  "
Can't speak for Offaly but in Laois there is no under 17 league and the championship is knockout! One game of under 17 football is all some lads will be getting!"
You could bring a motion through your club to the county board to add an u17 league competition.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 28/02/2017 18:43:02    1962264

cannot fit in U15 or U17 competitions in the calendar
manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts:441 - 27/02/2017 17:35:13
you can easily do it if you work at it. Rugby clubs can do it. You have u15/17 on one week and 16/18 the other. you simply stop postponing of games unless there is proper genuine reasons they cant be played.

Can't speak for Offaly but in Laois there is no under 17 league and the championship is knockout! One game of under 17 football is all some lads will be getting!
Heraf (Laois) - Posts:309 - 28/02/2017 17:24:03
If minor changes to 17s then u17 will have more games....

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/03/2017 11:35:03    1962427

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "cannot fit in U15 or U17 competitions in the calendar
manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts:441 - 27/02/2017 17:35:13
you can easily do it if you work at it. Rugby clubs can do it. You have u15/17 on one week and 16/18 the other. you simply stop postponing of games unless there is proper genuine reasons they cant be played.

Heraf (Laois) - Posts:309 - 28/02/2017 17:24:03
If minor changes to 17s then u17 will have more games...."
Grand. So f**k this year's lads and hope that the county board decide to play a few extra under 17 games next year -I won't hold my breath.

Heraf (Laois) - Posts: 316 - 01/03/2017 16:10:40    1962537

Replying To Whammo86:  "
Replying To Heraf:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
Can't speak for Offaly but in Laois there is no under 17 league and the championship is knockout! One game of under 17 football is all some lads will be getting!"
You could bring a motion through your club to the county board to add an u17 league competition."]No you can't - the Laois county board tells the clubs that fixtures and scheduling is a matter for the mysterious "fixture review committee" so send your recommendations in to them where they are immediately ignored and shelved.

Heraf (Laois) - Posts: 316 - 01/03/2017 16:12:43    1962538

Replying To Heraf:  "
Replying To Whammo86:  "[quote=Heraf:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
You could bring a motion through your club to the county board to add an u17 league competition."]No you can't - the Laois county board tells the clubs that fixtures and scheduling is a matter for the mysterious "fixture review committee" so send your recommendations in to them where they are immediately ignored and shelved."]Still sounds like a Laois county board problem rather than a national congress problem.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 01/03/2017 16:31:30    1962548

Replying To Heraf:  "[quote=Whammo86:  "[quote=Heraf:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
You could bring a motion through your club to the county board to add an u17 league competition."]No you can't - the Laois county board tells the clubs that fixtures and scheduling is a matter for the mysterious "fixture review committee" so send your recommendations in to them where they are immediately ignored and shelved."]Still sounds like a Laois county board problem rather than a national congress problem."]not every county has 40 hurling clubs like in Antrim

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 01/03/2017 19:42:04    1962614

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "
Replying To Whammo86:  "[quote=Heraf:  "[quote=Whammo86:  "[quote=Heraf:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
You could bring a motion through your club to the county board to add an u17 league competition."]No you can't - the Laois county board tells the clubs that fixtures and scheduling is a matter for the mysterious "fixture review committee" so send your recommendations in to them where they are immediately ignored and shelved."]Still sounds like a Laois county board problem rather than a national congress problem."]not every county has 40 hurling clubs like in Antrim"]I gave you a potential solution to that problem.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 01/03/2017 22:04:16    1962661

Lads can some of ye try the "preview post" button before posting. Your quoting is a disaster making the thread unreadable.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 02/03/2017 00:01:08    1962684

Hey guys,
Just wondring how to get my son joined up with the miners in Laois. He has great tallent but the manger has never seen him. All help gladly excepted.

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 02/03/2017 16:43:44    1962881

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "[quote=Whammo86:  "[quote=Heraf:  "[quote=Whammo86:  "[quote=Heraf:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties.
You could bring a motion through your club to the county board to add an u17 league competition."]No you can't - the Laois county board tells the clubs that fixtures and scheduling is a matter for the mysterious "fixture review committee" so send your recommendations in to them where they are immediately ignored and shelved."]Still sounds like a Laois county board problem rather than a national congress problem."]not every county has 40 hurling clubs like in Antrim"]I gave you a potential solution to that problem."]and a number of people pointed out the problems with cross border club competitions

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 02/03/2017 17:05:00    1962890

Replying To Dee:  "Hey guys,
Just wondring how to get my son joined up with the miners in Laois. He has great tallent but the manger has never seen him. All help gladly excepted."
He'd need to be approached by a representative from the county board. Most kids on minor panels would have been on development squads over the years having been put forward by their club coaches.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 02/03/2017 17:42:32    1962896

@ Manfromdelmonte

My idea didn't involve cross county competitions.

It involved playing league and championship for every year group. U12,u13,u14,u15,u16,u17,u18 and u19. They play all these age groups in Meath football and all but u19 in hurling. With 7 clubs in the county every team will get at least 7 fixtures in each age grade.

There is no reason these games can't be fit in the calendar.

They can in Meath where the adult teams will play 13 league games, 5 championship group games followed by knockout quarterfinals and also another 4 round cup competition for every team.

There's no excuse for other counties not providing games. If they're not it's a county board problem not a central council problem.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 02/03/2017 23:12:42    1963019

Replying To Whammo86:  "@ Manfromdelmonte

My idea didn't involve cross county competitions.

It involved playing league and championship for every year group. U12,u13,u14,u15,u16,u17,u18 and u19. They play all these age groups in Meath football and all but u19 in hurling. With 7 clubs in the county every team will get at least 7 fixtures in each age grade.

There is no reason these games can't be fit in the calendar.

They can in Meath where the adult teams will play 13 league games, 5 championship group games followed by knockout quarterfinals and also another 4 round cup competition for every team.

There's no excuse for other counties not providing games. If they're not it's a county board problem not a central council problem."
Whammo,

In the UK/London we hardly have enough players to make up teams with the full 4 year age window. U18s are from U15/U16/U17/U18. There are only about 3 clubs in London who can even manage this with 4-5 players from each of the 4 years available. So with little or no teams and a small pool of players our hands are very much tied in how we can create "meaningful" additional games for the players in U17 limbo. Sadly it will only take 1-2 years to kill off the whole U18 age group if we can't get more games for our U17s. We don't have hurling or schools games so overuse/burnout is not a problem. Only the players strong enough would be asked to play with adult teams for obvious reasons.

jimbo66 (UK) - Posts: 22 - 03/03/2017 13:33:48    1963162

Replying To jimbo66:  "Whammo,

In the UK/London we hardly have enough players to make up teams with the full 4 year age window. U18s are from U15/U16/U17/U18. There are only about 3 clubs in London who can even manage this with 4-5 players from each of the 4 years available. So with little or no teams and a small pool of players our hands are very much tied in how we can create "meaningful" additional games for the players in U17 limbo. Sadly it will only take 1-2 years to kill off the whole U18 age group if we can't get more games for our U17s. We don't have hurling or schools games so overuse/burnout is not a problem. Only the players strong enough would be asked to play with adult teams for obvious reasons."
I appreciate your problem. It sounds like more help could be required to promote the game and help it survive. I'd be all for Croke Park being more involved in this.

At the end of the day though London has its own set of challenges. Policy cannot suit every situation all of them time. It's unfortunate that the game in London will suffer but I still think it's for the greater good that this rule has remained intact.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 03/03/2017 14:54:08    1963193