Attendances 2017

Replying To centrefield99:  "Was there any attendance given at the Galway and Donegal game?"
Around 10,500 I think.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 25/07/2017 13:17:09    2023186

11,774 at limerick v cork under 21 munster final tonight

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/07/2017 21:45:05    2024174

very proud of our support last night, had 9-10k there last night in a brilliant but incredibly tense atmosphere, that more than a lot of senior championship games, absolutely phenomenal support,

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 27/07/2017 10:15:00    2024325

Replying To janesboro:  "very proud of our support last night, had 9-10k there last night in a brilliant but incredibly tense atmosphere, that more than a lot of senior championship games, absolutely phenomenal support,"
god knows what yee will get if yee start getting your act together on a consistent basis at senior level

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 27/07/2017 19:27:04    2024611

Replying To alano12:  "god knows what yee will get if yee start getting your act together on a consistent basis at senior level"
we got 40k in croke park for clare game in 2013, mind you we were munster champions and had belief
i remember back in 2000 bring 8k to mullingar for 21s football final , we got 600 for seniors v wexford

but yeah your right watching the celebrations wed night make you wonder what it would be like if (and its a very big if ) we ever won liam

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 28/07/2017 09:37:26    2024767

What's the expected attendances for the weekend games in Croker this weekend?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 28/07/2017 10:03:14    2024781

The attendance in Croke Park today for the Monaghan V Down & Kildare V Armagh games was 38,900.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 29/07/2017 21:26:09    2025534

Replying To fainleog:  "The attendance in Croke Park today for the Monaghan V Down & Kildare V Armagh games was 38,900."
My prediction for tomorrow is in range of 55 - 60k. Will be a lot of Mayos and Rossies there. Lads travelling that I have never seen at a game before.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 29/07/2017 22:06:02    2025565

Replying To facethepuckout:  "My prediction for tomorrow is in range of 55 - 60k. Will be a lot of Mayos and Rossies there. Lads travelling that I have never seen at a game before."
I predict 70000 plus today. The gaa is alive and well, forget the begrudgers.

A Another (None) - Posts: 192 - 30/07/2017 10:28:28    2025738

An excellent attendance of 65,746 at the matches in Croke Park today, Kerry V Galway & Mayo V Roscommon.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 30/07/2017 19:33:49    2026137

Replying To fainleog:  "An excellent attendance of 65,746 at the matches in Croke Park today, Kerry V Galway & Mayo V Roscommon."
Yep. Great support from the 3 Connacht counties. With our hurlers out next Sunday and expecting a huge Galway crowd fair play to the large Galway support as the marginals often choose hurling over football. Ros and Mayo had massive support.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/07/2017 20:51:09    2026195

Replying To A Another:  "I predict 70000 plus today. The gaa is alive and well, forget the begrudgers."
You weren't far off!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 31/07/2017 01:35:40    2026352

Replying To fainleog:  "The attendance in Croke Park today for the Monaghan V Down & Kildare V Armagh games was 38,900."
Nearly 40k for a qualifier doubleheader of a Saturday!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 31/07/2017 01:37:10    2026353

Replying To kiloughter:  "Yep. Great support from the 3 Connacht counties. With our hurlers out next Sunday and expecting a huge Galway crowd fair play to the large Galway support as the marginals often choose hurling over football. Ros and Mayo had massive support."
The Mayo and Ros supporters made the day yesterday. On their own, they would've sold 50K+.
I know it's been said before, but Mayo supporters are phenomenal. Not just the numbers in which they regularly travel, but the noise they make in getting behind their team is very impressive. You could argue that they're helping the current team hang in there at the moment.
I know in Galway we have our reasons for our relatively poor football support, but we can still do an awful lot better.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 31/07/2017 09:45:19    2026441

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The Mayo and Ros supporters made the day yesterday. On their own, they would've sold 50K+.
I know it's been said before, but Mayo supporters are phenomenal. Not just the numbers in which they regularly travel, but the noise they make in getting behind their team is very impressive. You could argue that they're helping the current team hang in there at the moment.
I know in Galway we have our reasons for our relatively poor football support, but we can still do an awful lot better."
Agreed but from my experience following both codes Galway fans tend to be more vociferous at hurling games than the football equivalent (unless the latter are going very well). On the Mayo thing one has to appreciate how this team have connected with their support. Some Mayo folk just are crazy about this particular team and if you read the article in the Malachy Clerkin article in the Times on Saturday this says it all. i remember being at a Mayo Ros qualifier in Castlebar in the mid noughties ish and there was 7k at it. Reality is that their support has mushroomed because of their consistent presence at the business end of the championship and they are very committed. When we were going well in the late nineties early noughties we had massive support that went down hill big time after 2003ish.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 31/07/2017 11:28:42    2026535

Looks like all online Tickets sold out already for Saturdays Football Quarter Finals

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 31/07/2017 21:22:02    2026958

Replying To janesboro:  "we got 40k in croke park for clare game in 2013, mind you we were munster champions and had belief
i remember back in 2000 bring 8k to mullingar for 21s football final , we got 600 for seniors v wexford

but yeah your right watching the celebrations wed night make you wonder what it would be like if (and its a very big if ) we ever won liam"
Was working in Limerick back in 1996......the hype was incredible, my manager was a great patrickswell man Tim O Neill....one of the best 12 months of my life spent in Limerick would love to see them win an all Ireland......1973 is an awful long time for a traditional hurling stronghold to be waiting same as Galway and Waterford....great scenes after the final last week

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 31/07/2017 21:32:40    2026969

Seems the gaa may have shot themselves in the foot by witholding too much tickets for clubs and not selling through public sale and declaring the game sold out far too early in the week, as over last twenty fours plenty of tickets have returned from the north and gone on public sale and may not get sold as a result of their declaring it sold as a result of people not knowing. Silly silly schoolboy error

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2017 13:17:08    2028898

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Seems the gaa may have shot themselves in the foot by witholding too much tickets for clubs and not selling through public sale and declaring the game sold out far too early in the week, as over last twenty fours plenty of tickets have returned from the north and gone on public sale and may not get sold as a result of their declaring it sold as a result of people not knowing. Silly silly schoolboy error"
Do not worry too much, tickets.ie always said further tickets may become available, when you see
them selling tickets in the Upper Section 325 Hogan Stand there should not be too many tickets
left to sell.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2017 15:04:59    2028965

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The Mayo and Ros supporters made the day yesterday. On their own, they would've sold 50K+.
I know in Galway we have our reasons for our relatively poor football support, but we can still do an awful lot better."
Roscommon well outnumbered mayo support last Sunday.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 04/08/2017 17:30:33    2029035