Attendances 2017

There will be lots of Dubs in Tralee so without tickets, a Tralee publican with a decent size premises could have an evening and a half if he has the match on a big screen with a ballad band afters !!

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 17/02/2017 12:15:10    1957705

Replying To waynoI:  "If there is one thing I dislike about this era of Dublin dominance, its our uneducated, idiotic fools that run our (albeit, unofficial) social media accounts on facebook. The sense of entitlement would make you cringe beyond belief. I absolutely went through one of them the other day who had the audacity to suggest Kerry county board where being "greedy f*****s" for putting a 5 euro charge on u16's when they didn't do it for the Mayo fans last Saturday , That particular post was removed sharpish after they where put in their place by facts.

The reason there is a 5 euro charge is simply the law of demand versus supply. There is more demand than the supply can cater for, That's why this game is an all ticket affair. That's why under 16s have to buy a ticket for a 5r. Kerry county board greedy ? Well, On what planet would a county board move a game where they stand to receive a lot of revenue from 25-30,000 people going to a game, to a much smaller venue with less than half that capacity ? In what logical way does that make any sense ? How would Kerry CB benefit from that decision, It doesn't. It defies logic

Fact of the matter here is that the TV right of the Allianz league are with Eirsport and TG4, It transpired that Eirsport won the right to show the game live, They can only show live Allianz league action on a Saturday evening. Hence why the game was moved to the Saturday evening. Because of the time of year, floodlights will be needed and there are none in Killarney so there was no alternative but to move the game to Tralee. That's the reason behind the venue. No greed on the Kerry county board who stand to lose 150,000 euro cause of this.

As for the gobshite Dublin fans who booked Killarney assuming that's where it would be played, Well, the "provisional" fixtures for the league came out on the 13th of September, In the article it said that ALL venues, times and dates are not confirmed and subject to change. It was only on the 22nd of November, a full 10 weeks later, that the fixtures, venues, times and dates where confirmed, and from day one of them being confirmed the game was penciled in for Tralee.

Its not Dublin as Hill16army and DublinGAA on facebook who are being put out here, Its Kerry I feel sorry for."
Well said Wayno and we have an unofficial fans site too on Facebook that would be shut down if I had my way.

Complete and utter tools who are clueless on those fan pages. They remind me of the types who go on Joe Duffy or dare I say it the Nial Boylan show.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 17/02/2017 12:44:45    1957720

For any dubs who've booked accommodation in Killearney, stick with it.

Have the craic in tralee then hopefully on a minibus back to killarney. It's only half an hour, same time it takes to get from dublin city centre out to carrickmines or malahide. And most of the hotels in killarney have residents bars too so ye can keep the party (or post mortem - my money is on kerry) going into the early hours.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/02/2017 13:13:58    1957725

Replying To waynoI:  "No.

It can't

Eirsport picked this as one of the games they want to cover, the only time they are given is 7pm on a Saturday evening, bearing in mind the time of year, floodlights will be needed, there are none in killarney, which is why the game is set for Tralee."
So effectively the gaa are putting tv money ahead of catering for supporters who want to attend the match.
So much for the allianz league slogan
#be there all the way#
That to me is not right on both sets of supporters or neutrals who may have wanted to go to see these two teams.
If eir wanted the game they should have been made show it on the Sunday from killarney if they knew in advance otherwise let tg4 show it like they did the last two times we played Kerry in the league.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/02/2017 18:52:31    1957798

6,214 in pairc ui rinn for Cork v Dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/02/2017 21:26:33    1958421

7006 in Pearse Stadium for Galway vs Wexford.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 19/02/2017 23:52:18    1958468

Waterford v Tipp 7,344
Clare v Kilkenny 7,395

These are serious crowds at league games about 28,000 between the 4 big games this weekend and that is not including u16's of which there are many, must have been close to 35,000 in total attended these games. The league is really growing in popularity and the championship seems to be going the other way.

I think the provincial championships should revert to straight knock out and the league effectively fulfilling that roll. You make the AI quarter final by virtue of winning your provincial championship or through your finishing position in the league.

It would involve revamping the league a little and maybe moving its season forward a few months but surely this simplistic solution tops all the crazy proposals being bandied about where you would need to be Einstein to work them out.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 20/02/2017 09:47:37    1958532

11,657 in castlebar for mayo v roscommon

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/02/2017 07:39:58    1960781

Replying To hill16no1man:  "11,657 in castlebar for mayo v roscommon"
Was talking to a man on one of gates last night and apparently u-16s are not counted. More like 15-16000 there last night. I really wish the GAA could get attendances right. For all ththe talk about attendances falling in championship the league continues to go from strength to strength

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 26/02/2017 10:17:26    1960818

Well said Wayno and we have an unofficial fans site too on Facebook that would be shut down if I had my way.
Complete and utter tools who are clueless on those fan pages. They remind me of the types who go on Joe Duffy or dare I say it the Nial Boylan show.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7974 - 17/02/2017 12:44:45
How ironic you complaining about them when your on a forum posting anonymously etc...

So effectively the gaa are putting tv money ahead of catering for supporters who want to attend the match.
#be there all the way#
That to me is not right on both sets of supporters or neutrals who may have wanted to go to see these two teams.
If eir wanted the game they should have been made show it on the Sunday from killarney if they knew in advance otherwise let tg4 show it like they did the last two times we played Kerry in the league.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11723 - 17/02/2017 18:52:31
But TV money has to be kept and its the same in all sports. Why would/should GAA be different?
Eir have the rights to see the game on Saturdays and contractually cant show sunday so they shouldn't and cant be made show it sunday

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/02/2017 15:56:40    1960991

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Well said Wayno and we have an unofficial fans site too on Facebook that would be shut down if I had my way.
How ironic you complaining about them when your on a forum posting anonymously etc...

#be there all the way#
But TV money has to be kept and its the same in all sports. Why would/should GAA be different?
Eir have the rights to see the game on Saturdays and contractually cant show sunday so they shouldn't and cant be made show it sunday"
But I'm not trash talking or disrespecting people here am I

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 26/02/2017 16:32:28    1961033

Replying To hill16no1man:  "So effectively the gaa are putting tv money ahead of catering for supporters who want to attend the match.
#be there all the way#
If eir wanted the game they should have been made show it on the Sunday from killarney if they knew in advance otherwise let tg4 show it like they did the last two times we played Kerry in the league."
Wait until the super 8 kicks in properly and Sky and Eir or some other subscription channel will order the GAA to play the matches at their time as per contract and then you will see how low Croke Park will go to make a shilling, TV companies have already done this to English soccer now they will want to sink their teeth and flex their muscles over here, do you see how Sky haven't any interest in League of Ireland soccer, why because they won't make money from them

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 26/02/2017 20:53:05    1961266

Replying To yew_tree:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Well said Wayno and we have an unofficial fans site too on Facebook that would be shut down if I had my way.

#be there all the way#
Eir have the rights to see the game on Saturdays and contractually cant show sunday so they shouldn't and cant be made show it sunday"
But I'm not trash talking or disrespecting people here am I"
exactly!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/02/2017 20:57:57    1961277

Donegal Dublin 8,730
Mayo Rosscommon 11,657

Don't know the attendance in Killarney, didn't look huge, seemed like a good gang traveled from Monaghan though. They are great followers, big crowd of them in Cork last year when we played them too.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 27/02/2017 10:14:52    1961459

Replying To dahayeser:  "Donegal Dublin 8,730
Mayo Rosscommon 11,657

Don't know the attendance in Killarney, didn't look huge, seemed like a good gang traveled from Monaghan though. They are great followers, big crowd of them in Cork last year when we played them too."
Our attendance figure didn't include season ticket holders apparently, was definitely more than 8k there.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/02/2017 10:52:48    1961486

many at donegal v dubs?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 27/02/2017 16:02:35    1961675

Kilkenny - Cork 6,906
Tipp - Clare 7,254
Galway - Laois 2,327
Wexford Kerry 2,600

Dub - Waterford / Dublin - Mayo 34,758
Cavan Donegal 6,545

Slaughtneil - Sarsfields 6,123 (Camogie)

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 06/03/2017 09:38:03    1964364

3,500 Armagh v offaly
500 Westmeath v Armagh in NHL with a sizeable number from Armagh
1,100 at St. Patrick's Keady v St Fintan's All-Ireland Colleges Hurling semi- final

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 06/03/2017 13:00:37    1964519

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "3,500 Armagh v offaly
500 Westmeath v Armagh in NHL with a sizeable number from Armagh
1,100 at St. Patrick's Keady v St Fintan's All-Ireland Colleges Hurling semi- final"
They are good Armagh crowds cuchulainn35,

I wouldn't have expected the Armagh footballers would be drawing such numbers still. Shows there is a good hard core. interesting to see hurling is building a bit of a following.

derickmc (Cork) - Posts: 8 - 06/03/2017 14:40:08    1964609

Over 17,000 at tipp v longford last night, decent crowd for a division 3 match;)

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 12/03/2017 10:44:22    1966326