Kerry v Mayo

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think Tyrone played 10 games in 2008? But if we get to the final we will hold the record due to extra time etc I believe.

It has been some journey this year....will count for nothing if we don't win Sam and that is the stone cold reality. We need Sam. I have not done a tap at work today thinking about the game....mad to get going !!!"
It was 2005 that Tyrone played 10 games. .

Down
Cavan
Cavan
Armagh
Armagh
Monaghan
Dublin
Dublin
Armagh
Kerry

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 25/08/2017 16:18:09    2037646

Kerry team named and just like I said on here during the week fitzs has picked the same team as last Sunday bar donnacha Walsh is in for the injured Mikey geaney.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2017 20:31:13    2037729

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team named and just like I said on here during the week fitzs has picked the same team as last Sunday bar donnacha Walsh is in for the injured Mikey geaney."
Big boost for Kerry having Donnacha Walsh back, I can see JOD having a big game, he didn't like being replaced the last day, will Rochford stick with AOS at fullback? the media pundits all seem to think so, I think it's madness from a mayo point of view, Fitz will be delighted to see him wasted there again.
Kerry by 3+

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 25/08/2017 21:18:52    2037744

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Big boost for Kerry having Donnacha Walsh back, I can see JOD having a big game, he didn't like being replaced the last day, will Rochford stick with AOS at fullback? the media pundits all seem to think so, I think it's madness from a mayo point of view, Fitz will be delighted to see him wasted there again.
Kerry by 3+"
It's a massive boost having donnacha Walsh back .

And I don't think mayo will play O'Shea at full back and neither does Eamon thats why we picked the same team , the only Change that we needed rochford will make for us tomorrow and that's by moving O'Shea to centre forward where we expected him to be last Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2017 21:49:17    2037753

Mayo unchanged but it means nothing at this stage

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 25/08/2017 21:57:53    2037757

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's a massive boost having donnacha Walsh back .

And I don't think mayo will play O'Shea at full back and neither does Eamon thats why we picked the same team , the only Change that we needed rochford will make for us tomorrow and that's by moving O'Shea to centre forward where we expected him to be last Sunday."
Donnacha Walsh, right and fit, is a big boost, is he ready? nothing better that a game to test a hamstring, All Ireland Semi is not a where you want to be checking-out your suspect hammer, I'm sure he will start if he is to play at all, don't want to bring on a sub and take him off again, bit of desperation here however, any aggravation of the injury and he is out of the final if Kerry win tomorrow.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 25/08/2017 22:06:37    2037760

Whatever way Mayo line out tomorrow the one thing I fully expect is that the lads will continue on their upward curve. Kerry will be intent on putting themselves into the driver's seat but the game last week will also bring Mayo on, so I expect to see an absolutely intense performance from the first whistle to the last. The day will suit the footballing instincts of both teams and both can play the game in different ways without significant personnel changes. Donacadh Walsh will bring an improvement to the Kerry half-forward line and midfield if 100%, but if he's not there that will be found out fairly quickly. What surprised me most the last day (bar AOS at fb) was that both teams started the game as listed. What odds that'll hold tomorrow? I predicted a 4-6 point win for Mayo last Saturday and the consensus since is that this result should have been achieved. I think whatever happens there will be a plan to reduce Donaghy's influence. Midfield will again be tight for both sides and both will press eachother at the back as much as possible. A big question is whether either or both sides will deploy a sweeper. Neither will want to do this, but if it yields an edge it will be done. I think that the way Mayo are playing has changed compared with the earlier games. They're now far more direct. If they can bring their runners into the mix a bit more than last day Kerry's defensive anxieties could resurface. The key is staying on the front foot. I still think Mayo by the odd point in 5.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 25/08/2017 23:14:15    2037797

Replying To sligo joe:  "Donnacha Walsh, right and fit, is a big boost, is he ready? nothing better that a game to test a hamstring, All Ireland Semi is not a where you want to be checking-out your suspect hammer, I'm sure he will start if he is to play at all, don't want to bring on a sub and take him off again, bit of desperation here however, any aggravation of the injury and he is out of the final if Kerry win tomorrow."
Donnacha is a physiotherapist so he knows more about hammers then most of us, so I'm sure if he feels he's good to go then he's good to go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/08/2017 00:53:20    2037815

Travelling to the big Smoke and feeling good, hope the lads can pull through today.

God speed ye mighty men from the Kingdom, Ciarrai Abu!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/08/2017 09:29:53    2037849

You can never know with a hamstring how right it is until the white heat of battle comes on and the adrenaline is up and muscles are at maximum stress. Only then will you find your answer.
Could be it's right, could be it isn't 100 %. I think there's a small bit of desperation involved in this selection. Kerry were shown up last day when Walsh wasn't there to shore things up at vital times and it'll be interesting to see what difference he brings if fully fit.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/08/2017 09:55:29    2037858

Gonna be another epic. I think Mayo will have learned a little more than Kerry from last week and may have a bit more room for improvement.

Mayo by 2 or 3.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 26/08/2017 10:51:20    2037871

Chewing on my undies now closer to the game is getting!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 26/08/2017 11:26:29    2037883

Bad omen for Mayo is that Kerry have not lost a replay in the All Ireland series since 1972 final replay to Offaly. I think that's correct anyway if anyone can confirm.

I'm sure Mayo don't pay attention to these omens or curses, its not like they have stopped them in the past -).

Nice fine day in Dublin lets hope for another good weekend of football.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 26/08/2017 11:34:58    2037888

Unfortunately this is the end of this Mayo side IMO

Kerry by 6

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 26/08/2017 14:52:50    2037954

I suspect Kerry will win this today, looking at Mayo's kick-out strategy the last day and freedom in front of the Kerry goal, you would expect Kerry to have more room to improve for the replay. If Mayo decide to kick up the middle today, they will need Aidan O'Shea up in midfield to combat David Moran.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 26/08/2017 15:02:39    2037956

Kerry have forgotten to play any forwards

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 26/08/2017 15:11:55    2037959

Who was the Kerry man there with his knee in Boyle's head....looked nasty.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/08/2017 15:20:39    2037960

Kerry's persistent cynical fouling is sickening. They are making no attempt to tackle - they just pull and drag all the time.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 26/08/2017 15:20:39    2037961

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Kerry's persistent cynical fouling is sickening. They are making no attempt to tackle - they just pull and drag all the time."
Both teams are at it, ref not blowing on Mayo that is all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 26/08/2017 15:26:20    2037962

Kerry are very shaky and lacking in confidence - Mayo will win this unless Kerry get to grips with their nerves.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 26/08/2017 15:27:14    2037963