IFC: Moynalvey blown away by Seasiders

April 17, 2010

Moynalvey's Damien Dixon (right) goes highest against St. Colmcilles in the opening round of the Meath IFC at Ashbourne.
St Colmcille's 4-15
Moynalvey 3-6

Moynalvey's dismal run in 2010 continued when going down by a 12 point margin at the hands of East Meath outfit St. Colmcilles in the opening game of Group A of the Eddie Finnegan & Sons Intermediate Football championship last Friday night April 16th.

The game opened with the best possible start for Moynalvey as they raised a green flag within 60 seconds of the throw in when Daniel Treacy ran into the area to fist home a Mark O'Sullivan free kick. Moynalvey were ahead by double scores in the 4th minute when O'Sullivan converted a free kick, however this was as bright as it got for the men in maroon & white. The coastal side soon found their feet and were slicing through the Moynalvey defence at will. Moynalvey wasted a series of chances in front of the posts to stay in contention before Colmcilles steamed into a commanding lead registering 3-11 on the spin over the remainder of the half, with Moynalvey adding only a solitary point from another O'Sullivan free.

Although the game was effectively out of reach, whatever aspirations Moynalvey had of significantly reducing the deficit were undone when within 30 seconds of the restart a calamity of errors in defence allowed Colmcilles in for their fourth goal of the night. Playing for pride in the second period Moynalvey did raise their game and outscored their opponents over the remainder of the half with 1-1 from O'Sullivan, an excellently converted penalty from James Weldon, and two Stephen Donoghue points.

Those who battled hardest for Moynalvey were Damien Dixon, Mark O'Sullivan & Willie Byrne. A considerable improvement will be needed before the second round meeting with last year's championship semi-finalists Nobber.

Moynalvey - O. Regan, R. Kiernan, P. Donoghue, D. Kane, P. Weldon, D. Dixon, B. Dixon, D. Smith, S. Donoghue (0-2), D. Treacy (1-0), M. O'Sullivan (1-4), D. Donoghue, J. Weldon (1-0), W. Byrne, D. Durkan. Subs used: W. Harnan for Smith, P. Conneely for B. Dixon.

Most Read Stories