Camogie All-Stars: A night to remember for Kilkenny

November 06, 2016

Kilkenny captain Michelle Quilty lifts The O'Duffy Cup

All-Ireland Senior champions Kilkenny dominated the 2016 All-Stars team sponsored by Liberty Insurance, taking eight places on this year's selection presented by Camogie Association President Catherine Neary at the Citywest Hotel last night.

All-Ireland runners-up Cork received three awards along with Semi-Finalists Galway who also received three, with Wexford completing the line-up with one award.

Amongst the winners for the Cats in defence were goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, left corner-back Collette Dormer, as well as Anne Dalton and Meighan Farrell in the half-back line. Miriam Walsh was selected in midfield whilst in the forwards Denise Gaule and Julie Ann Malone were selected in the half-forward line with their captain Michelle Quilty selected at right corner-forward.

Wexford's Kate Kelly collected an incredible ninth All-Stars Award to equal Gemma O'Connor at the top of the All-Stars Roll of Honour. The Wexford legend took the full-forward spot after an outstanding year which saw her finish as the Championship's top scorer with an amazing tally of 5-49.

The Mackey twins, Pamela and Katrina of Cork, completed an All-Stars double for the second time by capturing the right corner-back and left corner-forward spots respectively. It is their third All-Stars Award each, having achieved the feat together in 2012 as well. Midfielder Orla Cotter completed the Cork contingent, winning her fourth All-Stars Award in the process.

Galway's Sarah Dervan collected an incredible fourth All-Stars Award in-a-row at full-back, whilst Rebecca Hennelly at right half-back and Aoife Donohue at left corner-forward made up the rest of the Galway selections.

Kilkenny manager Ann Downey was named as Manager of the Year after guiding the Cats to their first Senior title in 22 years, having played in all of Kilkenny's previous 12 All-Ireland successes.

Denise Gaule of Kilkenny also collected the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior Players' Player of the Year award. Ciara Holden of Kilkenny was the recipient of the Intermediate accolade whilst Eleanor Treacy of Carlow was chosen as the Junior Players' Player of the Year. All three were selected from a shortlist compiled by the WGPA after voting by inter-county players with the awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance.

The 2016 Intermediate Soaring Stars Awards went to champions Kilkenny's Jenny Clifford and Ciara Holden, Cork's Linda Collins and Chloe Sigerson, Aisling Burke of Laois and Jane Dolan of Meath who picked up her fifth Soaring Stars Award.

The 2016 Junior Soaring Stars Awards went to champions Carlow's Eleanor Treacy and Ciara Quirke, Armagh's Ciara Donnelly and Bernie Murray, Dinah Loughlin of Westmeath and Roscommon's Kelley Hopkins.

Speaking at the event, Camogie Association President Catherine Neary said: "The Liberty Insurance Camogie All-Star Awards recognise players that have entertained us all during the 2016 season with their skill, athleticism, determination and commitment. To win an All-Stars Award or a Soaring Stars Award is a wonderful achievement for any player. Congratulations also to the 2016 Manager of the Year, Ann Downey of Kilkenny.

"I also wish to congratulate the Camogie Association/WGPA Players' Player of the Year award winners on their wonderful individual achievements in 2016. This award is a reflection of the esteem that the winners are held in by their fellow players who voted for this year's recipients."

The 2016 All-Stars team sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Goalkeeper: Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Right Corner-Back: Pamela Mackey (Cork) - 3rd Time Winner

Full-Back: Sarah Dervan (Galway) - 4th Time Winner

Left Corner-Back: Collette Dormer (Kilkenny) - 2nd Time Winner

Right Half-Back: Rebecca Hennelly (Galway) - 1st Time Winner (Won Intermediate Soaring Star in 2013)

Centre Half-Back: Anne Dalton (Kilkenny) - 4th Time Winner

Left Half-Back: Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork) - 4th Time Winner

Midfield: Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Right Half-Forward: Denise Gaule (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Centre Half-Forward: Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Left Half-Forward: Aoife Donohue (Galway) - 1st Time Winner

Right Half-Forward: Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny) - 2nd Time Winner

Full-Forward: Kate Kelly (Wexford) - 9th Time Winner

Left Corner-Forward: Katrina Mackey (Cork) - 3rd Time Winner

2016 Intermediate Soaring Stars sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Linda Collins (Cork) - 1st Time Winner

Chloe Sigerson (Cork) - 1st Time Winner

Jenny Clifford (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Ciara Holden (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Aisling Burke (Laois) - 1st Time Winner

Jane Dolan (Meath) - 5th Time Winner

2016 Junior Soaring Stars sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Ciara Donnelly (Armagh) - 1st Time Winner

Bernie Murray (Armagh) - 2nd Time Winner

Eleanor Treacy (Carlow) - 1st Time Winner

Ciara Quirke (Carlow) - 1st Time Winner

Kelley Hopkins (Roscommon) - 2nd Time Winner

Dinah Loughlin (Westmeath) - 2nd Time Winner

2016 Manager of the Year sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Ann Downey, Kilkenny - 1st Time Winner

2016 Camogie Association/WGPA Players' Player of the Year sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Senior Players' Player of the Year: Denise Gaule (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Intermediate Players' Player of the Year: Ciara Holden (Kilkenny) - 1st Time Winner

Junior Players' Player of the Year: Eleanor Treacy (Carlow) - 1st Time Winner


Most Read Stories