St Patricks GAA notes

April 24, 2017

Congratulations to County Wicklow Hurlers who finished strongly to edge out London on a 0-17 to 0-16 scoreline in the last of the Christy Ring Cup first round ties at Arklow on Sunday. Wicklow are away to Kildare in the next round of the Christy Ring Cup. What a win for Wicklow especially our own Eoghan O'Mahony, Gerry Connors, Andy O'Brien and George O'Brien and Michael Neary.

Our Junior A footballers travelled to Shillelagh in Round 4 of the Division 3 Football League to take on the home side. After 21 minutes of the second half with St Pats leading 2-10 to 1-05 referee Darragh Byrne appeared to have abandoned the match having issued three red cards and two black cards to Shillelagh players while our own lads had received a black card and a red card following two yellows. We now await the decision of the CCC.

Hard luck to our Senior hurlers who made the trip to Greystones in the Spring Senior Hurling League Round 1 with an understrength team who were on the wrong side of the final scoreline: Eiré Óg Greystones 3-14 St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow 0-10

Well done to our U17 hurlers who welcomed Michael Dwyers to Dunbur last Monday and ran out winners on a scoreline of 4-15 to 3-7.

Well done to our u7 and u9 boys who have had a busy week with hurling Go Games in Kilcoole on Tuesday and football in Laragh Friday who did the club proud with coaches Bosco, Ian, Donal, Christian, Gary and John Joe.

Hard luck to the County minor ladies who were defeated in the minor b shield final. We are so proud of our 3 girls Captain Rioghna McGettigan, Erynn O'Brien and Rachel Armstrong.

Well done to our Junior ladies who had a comprehensive win over An Tochar during the week.

Our U16 girls have been busy. St Patrick's ladies Gaelic 4 Teens all had a great time taking part in the LGFA Pilot Program focussing on Teenage Players at Croke.

At the weekend the girls travelled north to take on the Ulster Champions who had invited the club. A cracking game of football was witnessed by all in attendance with the final score in Belfast 7:11 to 8:08.

Our U14 Girls footballers made the short trip out to the Merry Meetings to play our neighbours Rathnew LGFA in the league last Thursday evening. Everything was excellent, a beautiful & pleasant evening, a super surface/pitch at the 
 Rathnew venue and loads of vocal support from both sets of supporters, who certainly enjoyed a fine game of football over the hour. Goals by Holly Mc Sorley (2) and Molly Sweeney, combined with points from Leanne O Neill, Jennifer Madden and Katie Shea gave us a 3-06 to 2-05 half time lead. Only some great defending from Julie Phelan, Kirsty Dunne, Lauren Gregory Claire Sammon and Goalkeeper Eimear Kennedy stopped the Village girls from getting scores which could have seen them ahead at half time. We managed to get a foothold in the game early in the second half and points from Katie Shea, Christina Ashley, and Leanne O Neill settled us down. But our opposition were not going to take defeat lightly, and bounced back with a goal and a point to keep a hold on our "coat tails". Lauren Gregory won a penalty in the 49th.min and Lauren herself dispatched the penalty into the top left hand corner, which would have done the "Gooch Cooper" proud - an unstoppable effort. Points followed from Holly McSorley, Christina Ashley and Eabha Mooney which saw us leave Rathnew with an eight point victory. Fair play to Tommy Murphy's Rathnew girls, they never gave up and kept us on our toes right to the end. We will look forward to their return visit to us in Dunbur Park in June.  Final Score: Rathnew 3-07 St. Patricks 4-12 
Scorers for St. Pats: Holly Mc Sorley (2-2), Molly Sweeney (1-1), Christina Ashley (0-4), Lauren Gregory (1-0 pen), Leanne O Neill (0-2), Katie Shea (0-2), Eabha Mooney (0-1)

Team : Eimear Kennedy, Georgia O'Connell, Julie Phelan, Kirsty Dunne, Claire Sammon, Katie Shea, Lauren Gregory, Leanne O'Neill, Jennifer Madden, Hope Downey, Holly McSorley, Ari Bazigou, Molly Sweeney, Lucy Rampersaud, Niamh Kavanagh. 
Replacements: Layla Hitchen for Jen Madden, Heather McInerney for Hope Downey, Holly Corrigan for Niamh Kavanagh, Christina Ashley for Georgia O'Connell, Eabha Mooney for Katie Shea, Kim Humby for Ari Bazigou, Nadia Lassarri for Lauren Gregory, Jessica Reynolds for Lucy Rampersaud.

Thank you to volunteers Marie O'Brien, Olivia Carey and Mick Murphy who have volunteered to assist with the Club Gear Shop at the club Nursery every Saturday in Dunbur.  

Due to the interest shown in our 'Pink' club supporter's jersey we are going to be placing our first order for them next week with O'Neills. If you want to be included in this order please text your name and jersey size required to 087 6214903 on or before this Monday. Jersey sizes are the same as the jersey sold in our Club Shop on Saturday mornings: 0-6 months, 1-2 years, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10, 10-11, 13, Small, Medium, Large, X-Large, 2XL etc. Prices are €28 for sizes 0-6 thru' 3-4, €30 for sizes 5-6 thru' 10/11, €40 for size 13, €45 for all adult sizes. 

Any Individuals interested in been involved with our club teams for 2017 should contact the Club Secretary at: [email protected].  

The Kellogg's GAA Cúl website is now LIVE for Bookings. Contact County Coordinator Garrett Doyle 083-4357460 or https://www.kelloggsculcamps.gaa.ie/booking/online/  

Cúl Camp dates 2017 in St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town this year are  

Hurling Cúl Camp 3rd July to 7th July 2017  

Football Cúl Camp 17th July to 21st July 2017  

GRMA (go raibh maith agat) is the new GAA Membership Card programme providing benefits and rewards to GAA members. It is a 'thank you' or 'go raibh maith agat' for your involvement in your GAA club, engagement in GAA activities and attendance at games.  

Membership Cards will only be distributed to members who have signed up to GRMA online www.grma.gaa.ie. The programme is only available to adult members (over 18's).  

If you have any further queries, contact the GRMA team. http://gaa.ie/grma or Club Registrar Eddie Leonard  

Ladies contact details for 2017 and training times  

Please note that starting dates will be confirmed by Managers to players/parents.  

Nursery: Joanne Kavanagh 0851682619 with Gary Duffy, Sophia Kavanagh  

Saturdays 11am to 12pm  

U8: Mark Donoghue 0868527767 with Maria Lawlor, Margaret Leonard  

Saturdays 11am to 12pm  

U10: Rob Greene 0861676270 with Stephen McNulty, Damian O'Brien, Suzanne Lawlor and Tara Treanor  

Saturdays 11am to 12pm  

U12: Liam Keogh 0862120100 with Sean O'Brien, Trina Keogh, Clara Jenkinson and Anne O'Keane  

Saturdays 10am to 11.30am and Tuesdays 6.30pm to 7.30pm  

U14: Eddie Leonard 0868349272 with Tara Gorman, Garett O'Reilly and Gerry Walsh  

Saturdays 9.15am to 11am and Tuesdays 6pm to 7.30pm  

U16: Brian McSorley 0862996799 with Brendan Kavanagh, Martin Byrne, Patrice Evans and Georgina Cruise  

Saturdays 9.30am to 11am and Thursdays 6.30pm to 8pm  

Adult Ladies: Robert Hollingsworth 087 617 4046 with Lee Watters, Dave Fitzgerald, Rebecca Hollingsworth and Liz Malone  

Wednesdays 7.30pm to 9pm, Fridays 7.30pm to 9pm and Sundays 9am to 10.30am  

Underage Team Contact details for 2017  

Football  

Nursery Willie Carey 083 8570491  

U7 Bosco Guinan 087 7965284  

U9 Christian Czwalina 087 4184677  

U11 Steven Farrell 086 8147999  

U13 Paul O'Brien 087 9088779  

U14 (Feile) Paul O'Brien 087 9088779  

U15 Paul Fox 087 9447982  

U17 John Smith 086 8130477  

Hurling  

Nursery Willie Carey 083 8570491  

U7 Gary O'Leary 086 021 9447  

U9 John Joe McCoy 087 2388139  

U11 Alan Lawlor 086 2784498  

U13 Brian Gleeson 086 8281124  

U17 John O'Brien 086 4058605  

2017 MEMBERSHIP:  

Memberships are now due, only members who paid before 31st March have a vote at AGM.  

You can pay your membership subscription directly into the club bank account by electronic transfer if you wish. Simply enter the club bank account details and attach a message with your name and membership type e.g. Smith Family, or your membership number if you know it. Please notify Club Treasurer James Phelan ([email protected]) or Club Registrar Eddie Leonard (086) 834 9272 when you have done this so that your membership payment can be recorded as paid"  

Bank of Ireland  

Main St., Wicklow  

IBAN: IE22 BOFI 9067 3461 6931 54  

BIC: BOFIIE2D  

Registration Morning in Dunbur Clubhouse from 10am on Saturday Morning 29th April for Pieta House, Preventing Suicide and Self Harm Darkness Into Light event which will take place on Saturday, 6th of May 2017 at 4:15 AM at Leitrim Place, Wicklow town. 
You must register online by April 27th to receive a T-shirt, and you must bring proof of registration (either printed or on your phone). 
https://register.primoevents.com/ps/event/DarknessIntoLightWicklowTown 

Congratulations to Club Stalwart Frank Earls on his recent 60th Birthday.

Dates for your Diary:  

25.04.17 (Tue) Round 5 EIRÉ ÓG GREYSTONES V ST PATRICK'S GAA CLUB at 7 30 PM in Greystones Referee: Anthony Nolan

26.04.17 (Wed) 3 ST NICHOLAS' V ST PATRICK'S GAA CLUB at 7 15 PM in St Nicholas' Referee: Liam Cullen

02.05.17 (Tue) Round 5 ST PATRICK'S GAA CLUB WICKLOW V NEWCASTLE at 7 00 PM in Wicklow Town

Code of Ethics Course being run by Wicklow Sports Partnership on Wednesday 26th April in the Grand Hotel, Wicklow at 6.30pm until 9.30pm. 

U17 Football for all players born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 will continue training on Monday at 7.30pm and Friday at 6pm. All welcome.  

U17 Hurling for all players born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 will continue training on Tuesday at 4pm. Bring Runners. All welcome.  

Every Sunday Evening 6pm - 7:15pm St Pats U14 Boys football (anyone born in 2003 or 2004) for some fun games to get the season started in the clubhouse Dunbur. It will be in the hall so wear runners. All U14s welcome  

Each Tuesday U7 indoor hurling from 6-45pm to 7-45pm in the hall. All U7's welcome contact Tomás on 086 1933796  

Each Friday U11 hurling continues in Rathnew Soccer Club Indoor Arena from 7pm.Contact Alan on 086 2784498. Helmets and hurls will be provided for beginners!  

Every Friday U9 hurling continues in Rathnew Soccer Club Indoor Arena from 6-7pm, contact John Joe on 087 2388139 Helmets and hurls will be provided for beginners!  

We had no Winners for our Match 5 and 4 Lotto Jackpots. Don't forget to buy your ticket this week. If you are not in you cannot win! 

Numbers drawn were 4, 12, 13 and 21. The bonus number was 3.  

We had four Match three winners: George O'Brien, Alan Carton, Mick Humby and Aideen Broe/Rory Dineen. 

Thanks to the weekly Club Lotto Sellers who give up their time to help raise funds for the Club. It's greatly appreciated. The next draw is on Monday 10th April in the Clubhouse. Make sure you buy a ticket each week and you could be the winner of our Match 4 prize €2,000 or Match 5 €10,000 jackpot!  

Our sincere condolences to the family of Veronica (Ron) Hagan, Greenhill Close, Greenhill Road, Wicklow Town and late of Ashford & Two Milewater, Co. Wicklow, who has passed away at St. Vincent's University Hospital Dublin. Loving sister of the late Bernadette. Sadly missed by her loving children Steven and Emily, partner Gerry, brothers Mick and John, sister Rosemary, brother-in-law Liam, son-in-law Darragh, daughter-in-law Victoria, grandchildren Ryan, Alex and Ruairí, niece, nephews, extended family, relatives and friends.
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam dílis

Please send any information for club notes to [email protected] before 9pm on Sunday evenings. You can contact St Pats at Facebook St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town or Twitter @StPatsGAAWick

Most Read Stories