Wicklow county board set for changes

November 30, 2018

Wicklow supporters at Joule Park, Aughrim.
©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

The Wicklow convention is set to be a busy evening as a number of contests are set to be held for positions at the top table.

The most notable contest looks to be the chairman’s position as current incumbent Martin Fitzgerald is being challenged by former Wicklow senior hurling manager Michael Neary.

Fitzgerald is no stranger to contests as last year, he saw off the challenge of Rathnew’s Bobby Dignam to hold on to his position.

County secretary Chris O’Connor will return to his position unopposed as will vice-chairman Mick Hagan. Assistant secretary Bridget Kenny has indicated that she will not be seeking another term, but there have been no nominations for the position.

The county treasurer role will also see a contest as Alan Smullen who is treasurer at the moment will be challenged by Rathnew’s Patrick Doyle.

Kieron Kenny is set to step down from his role as PRO and there are three names in the running at the moment, Bridget Kenny, Ellen O’Neill and Eddie Leonard.

A Hurling Officer will be added to the executive and the names in the hat for this position are Owen Doyle, Don Hyland, Michael Neary, Michael Moran and Michael A O’Neill.

Most Read Stories