Rebel sing-song "a clumsy, embarrassing mistake" - Cavanagh

July 11, 2019

The Tyrone players get set for the team photo ahead of the Round 4 qualifier clash with Cavan in Clones

Sean Cavanagh has branded the leaked video of the Tyrone team’s rebel sing-song as “embarrassing” for the county.

Following last Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC qualifier victory over Cavan in Clones, a parade organised by the Lisgenny Flute Band passed the team bus on Main Street, Aughnacloy with video footage emerging of some of the players singing reel ‘Come Out, Ye Black And Tans’.

Writing in his column for the Irish Daily Star, Cavanagh branded it a clumsy, embarrassing mistake.

“Mickey (Harte) will be annoyed, I’ve no doubt. Obviously he’d have been on the bus himself,” the three-time All-Ireland winner wrote.

“It’s probably embarrassing for him as well as the team, and our county. A clumsy, embarrassing mistake you’d like to think wouldn’t be repeated along the line.

“Colm (Cavanagh, brother) is in the video, and I know Colm would be similar to myself, he wouldn’t be politically-minded. I haven’t got a clue of the words of the song, and I know rightly Colm wouldn’t either.

“The fact it happened has been driven by a couple of lads with a ‘clowning-about’ mentality, if I’m honest. But look, it’s also not a good reflection of a team, or our sport as a whole. It’s not something you’d want to be.”

Join the hoganstand.com match tracker this weekend for live coverage of the All-Ireland SFC Super 8s and All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals.

Most Read Stories