20/06/2012 17:47:08
redzar County: Offaly Posts: 95
A friend of mine is telling me that Clonmore Harps were up in front of the Leinster council again last night because of a dispute with neighbours and Meath club Ballinabrackey over players. Anyone know whats going on ? It was Rhode last year and now their at it with a different county.
21/06/2012 09:35:42
dubbled County: Offaly Posts: 82
the story is clonmore are 'not at it with a different county this year' as you put it redzer.clonmore contacted ballinabrackey a number of times over the last couple of years regarding them breaking an agreement that was made back in the 90's at leinster council over them playing players from clonmores catchment area.ballinabrackey were blantly and publicly ignoreing the agreement so clonmore informed the offaly co board,the co board then sent it to leinster co.clonmore were asked the other night would they sit down with ballinabrackey along with meath co board and offaly co board to try sort it out and clonmore agreed to this,this also ensured that for the moment the chairman,secatary and the players involved didnt get a huge suspension which lenister co were going to hand out the other night. redzer you seem to have some sort of problem with clonmore,your comment 'It was Rhode last year and now their at it with a different county' to me suggest's that you think clonmore go round looking for disputes with other clubs,all clonmore are doing is trying to ensure that they have as many players who are from the area available play for them. the following is a comment from you on another topic 'Now dont take this the wrong way dubbled as i know how well clonmore harps have done being such a small club with very limited numbers.I wish clonmore all the luck but to be honest its going to be very hard to survive depending on players from outside the club.' so clonmore cant survive depending on players from outside the club but are wrong to fight for players in their own area.i suggest you get all the facts before putting up comments that contradict your previous comments,and then make your mind up.
21/06/2012 10:49:51
ok dubbled,i see your point but to be honest about it and this is coming from my friend in ballinabrackey that these lads will never play for clonmore or rhode underage and the fact that clonmores underage structure is outside the parish is a total joke.on the subject of rhode well do you think they will give back the good ones ? look what happened with the mc paddens they were turned away by ballinabrackey and rhode held on to them.rhode take all clonmores good players,everyone knows this dubbled.clonmore are doing nothing here only trying to stop young lads from playing football which is a disgrace.we had the same problem with lads and they all moved on because they didnt want to play with us.what happened next ? we won a senior championship ! clonmore will accomplish nothing by stoping young fellows from playing football they will only become unpopular ! lets face it dubbled,clonmore are depending on other clubs like edenderry and johnstownbridge to win championships and this wont last.my friend tells me that the harps will be gone in 3 years and to be honest i hope so.
21/06/2012 12:38:29
method County: Offaly Posts: 10
Would have to agree with redzar on this.Clonmore have loads of players from other clubs any no one objected to those players. Edenderry showed last year that if players want to go let them go sometimes your better off with out them. The people in quetion will probably never play for Clonmore so let them off
21/06/2012 17:15:09
Harpsgael County: Offaly Posts: 1
It's a sad day redzer when you wish a club to close up the harps are very proud gaa people. Our club was originally formed in 1914 and I can assure you that it will be around for 100 more years,we got 6 players in 7 years from different clubs and are we are very proud of them to be members of our great club.two hadn't played football in 3 yrs and 1 hadn't played football in 10 yrs there own clubs wished them the best of luck with us .This will be my only post because I'm to busy training will all my friends and family,our gates are always open to people from our catchment area players and family's to get involved with our club.oh and a small note mini harps is starting the 1st Sunday in July for all boys and girls in Clonmore, garr,corbetstown,carrick,killone for all ages up to 10.all welcome and in these recessionary times there will be no cost to any parents the club is looking after everything.
21/06/2012 18:24:11
congratulations harpsgael on your first comment on the offaly hoganstand,i wish the mini harps all the best but deep down it wont work,the only sad thing is that clonmore would be happy that a young lad could not play football with his friends and family rather than play with you.you and all these clonmore people would stop a young child playing football with his friends and family,your motto,if he or she does not play with us they dont play at all.very classy lads.you are bringing shame on offaly football by stopping kids playing football with their parish club.a very very sad day for offaly gaa,at least us reds never stopped any lad from playing,we gave out 17 transfers two years ago,simple fact,they dont want to play for a club they are no good to a club.hope clonmore see common sense and leave these kids alone.
21/06/2012 19:08:21
first of all clonmore are not stopping anyone from playing gaa,all they are doin is trying to ensure that the rules that ballinabrackey,meath co board,clonmore harps and offaly co board agreed to at leinster council yrs ago.as i said before clonmore contacted ballinabrackey over this issue so that it wouldnt come to this stage and got assureances from them that it would stop,but it hasnt,it only got worse. as for the underage structure,it's outside the parish because of numbers and when you have 10+ from clonmores area going to ballinabrackey what chance have you of keeping it in clonmore? with regard to rhode og yes i do belive that there will be no problem,because for a start the players are not rhodes to be 'given back',the facility is there for clonmore harps underage to play with rhode og,the very same as young lads from croghan do,if a player moves to rhode then he is quite entitled to look for a transfer and if everything is in order then there would be no objection as was the case with p dunne and d bannon.On the other side there is 1 young lad at the moment playing with rhode og and getting on very well but his father has been asked on numerous occassion's would he send him to ballinabrackey,he told them that he knew the lad would be illegal,he was told not to worry about it that they'd get away wit it,so will you ask your friend why they are doing this? clonmore are being made out to be the bad ones in all this,but still they are the ones who have try'd to sort it out without bringing in co boards etc and ballinabrackey just ignored it. redzer there is no one from johnstownbridge on the harps panel!as for the edenderry lads i already explained about them on a pervious topic,so get over the fact that they are clonmore players!. method there arent loads of players from other clubs at clonmore,out of a panel of about 25 id say 5 maybe 6 transfered from other clubs,there was no objections because there were no grounds for objection,so to me your poin is invalid.as for these lads probably never playing for clonmore,does that mean that clonmore should just give up the fight and risk never haveing players comeing up? It's as simple as this;if you are from the offaly side of the parish clonmore harps is your club.thats what was agreed to by all involved yrs ago,and not only clonmore wont entertain anything else,leinster council feel the same as was proved a few yrs ago when someone try' to get the rule overturned.
21/06/2012 20:12:45
one simple question dubbled and it either a yes or a no.if some of these young lads ask to play with ballinabrackey instead of rhode & clonmore will clonmore allow it ? or will they stop him from playing football ? simple question so its a yes or a no ! or what would you do personally ? would you say if they dont want to play with us let them off ? or would clonmore try do what they did with the mc padden twins ? its a simple answer dubbled so lets hear it !!!
21/06/2012 21:03:19
seeing as you only seem to understand simple things,personally id say no you cant transfer,i cant answer for clonmore but id imagine it'd be the same because clonmore were warned by offaly co board back when the last dispute happened to never conceed players again to ballinabrackey. Now for the compilated answer for everyone else,clonmore harps cannot stop any of these lads playing football.The only ones that can stop them is ballinabrackey,it is up to them to let these lads know that they cant play with ballinabrackey because they are from the offaly side of the parish therefore illegal and if they want to play football clonmore harps is their club.It's not like any of them do or have lived on the meath side,if they ever did or if they move to the meath side there would be no problem at all,i belive clonmore would have no objections to transfers IF that was the case.
22/06/2012 09:15:01
method County: Offaly Posts: 10
Dubbled its not all about the area you are living in most of the lads playing for clonmore at the moment are not living in clonmore. The macpaddens moved to the area years ago and played all their underage football with rhode so when it came to play senior the wanted to play for rhode clonmore were not happy and made that very clear.This year a young lad from rhode transfered to clonmore he lived in rhode played underage for rhode but the rhode club did not stop him going.rhode have a brilliant underage structure that clonmore players have benefited over the years and every clonmore player won championships with rhode.Why these players would chose the ballinabrackey set up over that is their choice if they want to play for the bracks they will find some way around it and thats just the way it is.
22/06/2012 11:06:40
method,with regard to the players in question it is about where they are liveing,they are on the offaly side of the parish so if they want to play gaa clonmore harps is the club they have to go to,thats the ruleing that came from the gaa, not clonmore and ballinabrackey agreed to that.Its not like there is a structre in place for these lads to transfer to ballinabrackey,its a county boundry that divides the parish.Now if we were all allowed chose where we play our gaa,the gaa might aswell do away with all boundry's alltogether meaning that you could play for whatever club in whatever county you wish,would that solve the problem? I dont think so,you would end up haveing a worse and bigger seranio than what went on recently in kildare. Yes a lad transfered to clonmore from rhode and rhode have to be commended for not objecting,he is a good footballer and the harps are glad to have him,just so you know i am not one of the older genaration thinkers from clonmore that dont like rhode,i applaud the set up with rhode og,i have had family play with them and at the moment have a close family member playing. when it comes down to choice,when there was no clonmore harps if i wanted to play gaa i HAD to play with ballinabrackey,i didnt have a choice and i can tell you we wernt treated to well when we were there,a brother of mine and a friend were dropped at the bridge between clonmore and castlejordan one night after being off playing for the bracks,after every other player was droped at their door!
22/06/2012 14:45:04
As i said dubbled,your motto is they dont play for clonmore they dont play at all,you would not be bitter or anything.
22/06/2012 15:57:31
I'm not the least bit bitter redzer,in 2010 i went and supported ballinabrackey from their county semi final untill the all ireland semi final,just in case you might think its because of what i said about the 2 lads being droped at the bridge,the man that was driveing the bus is a good family friend and has been for the last 10 yrs or more,i have no problem with any person in ballinabrackey and i also have relatives there,in fact there are peolpe fairly close to me on the list of illegal players. I think if anyone is bitter its you redzer,it seems to me you are only looking at the issue from your 'friends' point of view,i have answered any questions you asked of me so will you ask your 'friend' the questions that i put to you earlier,oh and ask him about the club in meath bringing ballinabrackey up over illegal players aswell,whats his opnion on that? If i come across as bitter then so be it,I know that i'm not,everyone is entitled to their opinion,all i want is for them opionions to be formed on fact rather than what you might hear from a friend of a friend.
23/06/2012 21:25:05
KELF County: Kildare Posts: 764
I cant understand why redser etc dont seem to be supporting the idea of Offaly players playing with Offaly club.
Keep up the fight Clonmore
25/06/2012 14:05:40
tellitasitis County: Meath Posts: 15
To be honest lads I don't think there's going to be any winners here because leinster council will make a ruling that will not take into consideration the unique situation that both clubs find themselves in. In reality Dubbled you can argue the point that Clonmore are not the ones who are stopping young lads from playing football but the reality is that these lads will not play for the Harps, do you really think Ballinabrackey are forcing these lads to stay, your argument is that they are Offaly men but how many times have you seen any of these lads wearing the Offaly colours or shouting for them in big matches. At the end of the day it's they lads themselves that will decide whether they will leave the game or not, has anyone from Clonmore actually asked the lads if they want to play with yourselves or not, I would think not, because you already know the answer to that. It' a pity this is all being brought up again I would have thought that the younger generation would have more sense but seemingly not, now don't get me wrong Ballinabrackey is not blameless in this either as they should have sat down with Clonmore and sorted it out before it came to this, every dog in the street knew it was going to happen but both clubs chose to turn a blind eye and hope it would go away.
26/06/2012 09:43:02
tellitasitis,yes you may be right in saying there will be no winners in all this,but to me its not about winning anything,as i said before its about clonmore ensureing that they have as many players from there area that are available to play,play for them. Do i really think that ballinabrackey are forceing them to play?,no i dont ,but i do think that ballinabrackey are not doing enough to let them know that they cant play for them,for a number of years the mentally seems to have been,'we know you are illegal but come and play and we'll see how things go',and i know this is the case,as i said earlier. Ballinabrackey have always known that these lads were illegal but seemed to think we'll keep playing them and then when it comes to a head we'll sit down with clonmore and we'll go through the list of players and get them to conceed the ones that we want like they did the last time it all blew up,so are clonmore supposed to do that?,i certainlly don think so because it'd end up in the same situtation in another 15 yrs. To say clonmore turned a blind eye to the whole thing is wrong,i know the man personally that got in contact with ballinabrackey in late 2009 about this and again in 2010 and he was gaurenteed that it would stop,they may have got in contact again last yr,im not sure,after that i think clonmore trusted ballinabrackey to do as they said they would,but this year it was noticed that more lads were playing with them so what could clonmore do only go further with it. with regard to the younger genaration haveing more sence,i think that they have,i know that the decision clonmore made to bring this to co board was not taken lightly,but clonmore have to take a stand and start afresh from this regarding underage.The mentality that if lads from clonmores area support or have some connection to ballinabrackey and therfore can play for them has to change,the feeling among them people that clonmore dont have their own underage structre and have to go to rhode to play has to change,thats the way it is at the moment and clonmore have no chance of ever haveing their own underage if people keep thinking that way,another thing some people dont seem to know is that rhode og is actually an amalgamation of croghan,rhode and clonmores underage,its not just rhode,and that clonmore are just allowed play with them because they dont have their own structre. There needs to be a better realationship built between clonmore and any family that have kids that want to play gaa and i believe that the younger generation,some of which are there allready can do this,clonmore need to show that they can provide a structre for underage in the area and not just expect parents to know what the story is regarding where the kids should play,because at the moment these parents are only getting 'advise' from one side of the situation that we are now in. Clonmore have to start somewhere doing all of this and now is the time to do it.
26/06/2012 12:15:55
My last comment on this forum,there is only going to be one loser in this and its not either clonmore or ballinabrackey.It will be clonmore or the young children in question,ballinabrackey have more than enough to keep the club going at every level so it does not really matter to them what happens.tellitasitis is correct,there will be no winners only losers whichever way they decide.
26/06/2012 19:45:55
redzer,you'd think if its going to be your last post you woud have made it a good one!!!You're the one that started this topic,but all you have contributed is snide remarks and comments that totally contradict yourself,your last comment the biggest contridiction of all,'there is only going to be one loser in this and its not either clonmore or ballinabrackey.It will be clonmore or the young children in question'. I'll take it that seeing as its your last post you wont be answering any of the questions that i put to you to ask your 'friend',but to be honest i didnt really expect you too.I'd say your very like your 'friend' from ballinabrackey,hideing away and hopeing it'll all be sorted out in your favour,while at the same time makeing clonmore out to be the aggressors in it all.
27/06/2012 14:07:39
CmonAymonow County: Laois Posts: 67
Stick with it dubbled. Fair play to ye. There's a county boundary there and it must be respected.
29/06/2012 20:51:19
fairplay100 County: Offaly Posts: 1
well while i do feel a bit sorry for the harps. one would have to ask why did offaly allow this team to be restarted when they could never survive without forcing young kids to play against there will a club that has no facilitys to cater for underage.ballinabrackey in fairness have a very well orgainised underage structure and has catered for all ages they do not poach players but turn away few they cater for all boys and girls good or bad. this is probably why the kids love playing with them.i would say if clonmore used there heads and asked ballinabrackey to join back up they would not turn them away as no one else here in offaly seems to want them anyway.why not use the harps pitch as a training ground for the bracks .