Where to now?

What hope have we, our manager is delighted and happy with 5/6 points defeat because we are beneath opposition. How and mor importantly who can change the mindset of the players. We have wasted 4 years , we can not afford to waste a minute longer

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2016 12:09:52    1834574

Sadly it could be Division 3.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 14/03/2016 13:41:07    1834637

Here gosson calm down, nothing will be solved on a forum. Relegation is inevitable and unless there's a stellar championship MOD will be gone by year end.
Unfortunately the inherent problems in Meath GAA wont go with MOD.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 14/03/2016 13:51:31    1834643

Is there really any need to start a new thread about this? Would the "Reality check" thread not serve the same purpose?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 14/03/2016 13:55:05    1834644

Owenbeg to support the team. They need the supporters to get behind them. And hopefully the clown in the back row of the stand yesterday will stay at home and enjoy an Easter Sunday dinner with his family while listening to the dulcet tones of Brendan Cummins and Mattie Kerrigan.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 14/03/2016 14:10:37    1834654

RD likes to spread his rage across as many threads as possible.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/03/2016 14:15:53    1834657

Jack what happened there I was on the other section and didn't hear but seen a quite irate young lad and was he pulled in after??

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 14/03/2016 14:38:39    1834667

Unlike what Meath CB did when the stifled any objections to this ludicrous reapportionment, I will not be silenced by a few (very small minority) who want this charade to continue
To answer afearbegs question the reality check forum is based around players abilities this one is based around mods abilities or lack of as is plainly obvious. And who should we be looking at to try and reverse the decline of team in last 4 years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2016 14:51:57    1834681

Not only will I be in Laois bit also Derry , I will support my county until the day they put me in ground and never be happy with a 6 point defeat by a division one team who are actually a division two team, but hey lets not burst the deluded ones bubble.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2016 15:00:54    1834685

Unlike what Meath CB did when the stifled any objections to this ludicrous reapportionment, I will not be silenced by a few >> you're a real revolutionary RD. Posting anonymously on a forum. Martin Luther King, Che Guevara et al wouldn't have a look in.

If you feel so strongly then why don't you get out there and protest publicly? Of course that would mean showing your face...

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/03/2016 15:02:28    1834688

Well barneytie. Many actually majority here would know who I am, I use my real last name, and actually went to school with a few on this forum. I will gladly protest at the shocking state that CB and mod have brought to Meath football and furthermore demand the removal of both due to their collective incompetents.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2016 15:26:07    1834712

Go on so RD - where/when will this protest take place and what form will it take? Fliers? Banners? Plane flying over Portlaoise with a 'MOD OUT' banner attached? Let us know. Looking forward to seeing it in action.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/03/2016 15:45:07    1834722

'If you feel so strongly then why don't you get out there and protest publicly? I think everyone needs to cool down as it is still only a game of football!!!. To protest publicly is to make the whole county look silly and appear like the many soccer clubs across the water- I'm not aware of supporters within the GAA picking a team or management. My final advice again is to cool down and enjoy the good weather

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/03/2016 15:45:48    1834724

If RD can get a plane with any kind of banner over Port Laoise or Derry,I would be very impressed! :D

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/03/2016 15:59:41    1834734

Might be worth giving Trim Flying Club a phone call. See if they can help.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 14/03/2016 16:46:48    1834757

To me RD is expressing his frustration about the decline in Meath football. I share that frustration as a long time supporter. Planes and trains just serve to distract from the real issue. In my view there are 2 main reasons for our current status. Poor talent pool for some time now is one reason. We have only a couple of players at inter county status.Let's not kid ourselves. to be fair to management it seems everyone has been given a chance to show their worth. That is the only plus for management though. Otherwise it is painfully clear that MOD is completely out of his depth ,and has shown no signs of improvement whatsoever. I completely agree arrogance and incompetence by the CB around his re appointment last year was the final straw. Where from here ? If a repacement can be found for MOD ,then it should be done NOW before the championship. If not ,then the appropriate s brought in NOW. It was done for Banty with no fuss,and players found Evans helpful. Any manager is there to maximise the material at his disposal. MOD has failed on that score . Team has no confidence,thus no spirit or belief. Thanks MOD for trying, but we have to move on now. I assume you can do without the pressure that this year will bring

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 14/03/2016 17:34:32    1834788

I might remind everyone here that the county board is elected by the clubs and the delegates they send, an awful lot of the same delegates spoke in favour of Mick O'Dowd being retained, issues arose over the rule book and the fact that nominations were not allowed but the recommendation was an extension of O'Dowd's term not a new appointment and when that was put to the floor he was unanimously returned, where didn't the club delegates speak up if feelings were so high? Why didn't they vote against his return? They were quick enough to dump a good man back in 2010 for no good reason but they all now sit on their hands? I'm not a county board man, although I have found this incarnation more progressive than previous, but lads ye would want to cast a cold eye on your club delegates rather than come on here crying over the county board. As I said before picking club delegates should be one of the most important selections at an AGMbut instead it is often left to the end where some of the more mature club members are picked and are sent off for a nights craic once a month to Dunganny. And we wonder what's wrong with Meath football???

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/03/2016 18:44:57    1834830

Hobson's choice isn't really what I would call a democratic process in the circumstances. Maybe if it was an annual/bi-annual review, but no MOD had come to the end of his 3-tear term. It is a pity that major positions at county board level are just in the hands of club delegates (even if some hold a vote (or not) among members within their clubs on certain matters). Barcelona have socis, but how many club-members in Meath GAA circles actually have any say in reality. Are they suppose to be seen and not heard - go with the flow. If you're not a member of any GAA club, you have no voice, despite the fact you may support the Meath team far more than the majority who are. Lets face it, plenty of senior people in Meath GAA clubs never go to Meath games. Club comes before county, just like party before country in the Dail.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 14/03/2016 19:28:19    1834852

Agreed a good man was dumped as you say in 2010. Last year delegates did not have the opportunity to vote on his re appointment. As you say they sat on their hands instead. However,that is history now. From here maybe EGM of county board is justified. By this time next year supporters will have spoken with their feet. Everything is possible. Where there is a will there is a way!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 14/03/2016 19:44:02    1834865

Richie

I always asked why didn't the clubs make a fuss? Where the delegates happy with the last few years ? Bizarre

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/03/2016 20:09:13    1834878