POR, Jack or Joe?

According to his interview for yesterday's programme Andy said the panel is cut to 36? Didn't hear who's gone.

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 06/02/2017 13:57:51    1952726

Replying To Meath909:  "Andy McEntee said in his interview that Joes shot stoping would worry him but yet he's brought in because of his size and he's able to kick a ball out makes no sense there's club keepers out then way better then Joe and even Hannigan how Na fiannas Shane Geraghty isn't in there is baffling great shot stopper massive kick out and a big lad"
Hannigan could not be blamed yesterday and in response to your post "Joe not a good shot stopper but there for his kick out", Hanningan kick out yesterday reached the opposition 40 but whats the point when we don't have anyone that can catch a ball in the middle of the field. Not the goalkeepers fault. I agree that if they want a third goalkeeper then young Burlingham should be in but if I was him I wouldn't want to sit on bench for year, better that he is with his club.

castleroyal (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 06/02/2017 13:59:11    1952728

And what about the one kick out that he kicked from navan end and it was like a sand wedge straight up in the air and didn't reach the 45 and the one where he kicked it out between 3 Kildare lads when one Meath lad was on his own it's great that he kick out one every game past midfield but what use is it if he can't do it every time there's a kick out not saying he was at fault for the goals I am just saying he's not an inter county goal keeper at this moment and time he has a lot the learn

Meath909 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 06/02/2017 14:41:29    1952760

Replying To Meath909:  "And what about the one kick out that he kicked from navan end and it was like a sand wedge straight up in the air and didn't reach the 45 and the one where he kicked it out between 3 Kildare lads when one Meath lad was on his own it's great that he kick out one every game past midfield but what use is it if he can't do it every time there's a kick out not saying he was at fault for the goals I am just saying he's not an inter county goal keeper at this moment and time he has a lot the learn"
There are lads there with a lot more experience than Hannigan who have a lot to learn also. I think we've far more serious problems at the moment than our keeper...

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 06/02/2017 17:03:20    1952879

Replying To BarneysTie:  "There are lads there with a lot more experience than Hannigan who have a lot to learn also. I think we've far more serious problems at the moment than our keeper..."
Yeah well that's cause we can put paddy orourke in goals solves that problem don't have anyone to put centre field

Meath909 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 06/02/2017 18:34:12    1952930

Replying To Meath909:  "Yeah well that's cause we can put paddy orourke in goals solves that problem don't have anyone to put centre field"
We have a lot of problem areas and goalie is definitely one of them, but there is a lot of exaggerated bias against Joe on here if people are trying to make out some of the other candidates are head and shoulders better than Joe.
I have gone to all 5 competitive games Meath were involved in this year, and Andy was right to try and see if there was better than POR and find a new back up, The GK position has been an issue and probably POR is the best option for starting goalie, but on the evidence I saw in all 5 games so far Joe Sheridan was the best back up by a long shot. In my opinion in relation to kick outs he was much better than the other 2, when the forward was one on one bearing down on goal, when Joe came out because of his sheer size it lessened the angle and the ball ended up in the side netting. Even the three kick outs he took when Joe came on in the Louth game, Meath gained possession from all three. I am very reluctant to
criticise any player on here but after yesterday I am even more convinced, Joe should be our 2nd keeper.
I am amazed about all the negative comments on here in relation to Joe playing in goals especially when none of the other 3 including POR could be classed as been a whole lot better than Joe, its not as if the other 3 have been so much more outstanding in that position, it is unfortunate that Joe is not younger, but for me regardless of age I would always try to put the best players on the field whether they might be considered by others to be too young or too old. There are goalies in the premier league way older than Joe. I have no problem with people having their own preference on who should be in goals but totally discounting Joe they must have some other agenda because based on the evidence of the 5 games so far there is certainly no justification. I admire a manager willing to be ridiculed so in order to try things out. Trying Joe out in goals was certainly not the disaster a lot of people on here would lead you to believe.
We have problems all over the shop that have to get sorted and Andy will have to come up with a lot more creative solutions to improve things, fair play to him for taking it on, I wouldn't be 100% happy with some of his selections but of course there are often reasons we are not privy to, lets give him time to try and build. That doesn't mean you throw the baby out with the bath water.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 06/02/2017 20:07:05    1952980

I think POR is the most intimidating of our goalies for an opposition player bearing down on goal; and still somewhat agile. How many times do you see players that aren't classy finishers kick a ball straight at a goalie through a lack of composure when presented with a chance running at the goals or panic somewhat when facing a big goalie. POR's size makes the target that bit smaller; he even has a good record with penalties. Of course a goalie has to do much more, but he does most things well. He is probably the best all-rounder from what has been tried.

Yes, goalies play into their 40s (in soccer) but they have always been goalies (not outfield players) and most are tall, lean and agile.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 06/02/2017 20:43:42    1953012

Replying To Meath909:  "Andy McEntee said in his interview that Joes shot stoping would worry him but yet he's brought in because of his size and he's able to kick a ball out makes no sense there's club keepers out then way better then Joe and even Hannigan how Na fiannas Shane Geraghty isn't in there is baffling great shot stopper massive kick out and a big lad"
I was told that he wouldn't make himself available.

jake1 (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 06/02/2017 21:29:37    1953040

I would suggest that when Paddy O`Rourke returns he will be tried in the middle of the field.I think he does well there for the club

The Brickie (None) - Posts: 208 - 07/02/2017 09:31:56    1953158

Replying To The Brickie:  "I would suggest that when Paddy O`Rourke returns he will be tried in the middle of the field.I think he does well there for the club"
thats been tried before keep him in the goals

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 07/02/2017 10:21:50    1953178