29/06/2012 09:50:58
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 3150
I wouldn't be so quick to condemn daytona. From GAA people I've spoken to, the vast majority are not comforatble with the situation. It seems to you that loyalty matters a lot but that obviously only counts when it's being loyal to Kildare, does it? There's no 'I' in team, get behind them 100%, etc... These are all things Johnston didn't do for Cavan. The unconditional support you're asking from daytona is something Seanie didn't give to his own county.
And now he's here. If we don't give what he couldn't then we're not welcome at matches? There's something seriously wrong when the unity of Kildare supporters, the reputation of the county, the chances of Kildare born players and now the integrity of our senior hurling champoionship are all been brushed aside for this one man. We'll all go the matches, I'm not going to be forced out by it. It's my county after all. But don't expect me to stand up and applaud if he comes on as a sub.
29/06/2012 10:00:00
daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 2114
I have no bother cheering for Johnny and Dermot......But what happens when they retire and the lads coming thorugh aren't as good as what's in other counties?
Do we go out recruiting again? We're on a slippy slope with this one lads.
I was not at the junior game. Didn't make it. Would belittle those lads. Real Kildare men every single one of them.
Question: If you play for a junior club, Rathcoffey for example (just an example I have no affiliation to them) would you transfer to a club in South Kildare that you have no ties to, don't work in the area but the club are senior and have a good chance of winning silverware. Should this be allowed to happen? And would clubmen be happy with this?
29/06/2012 10:04:37
And another thing is lads,
If he does come on for Coill Dubh for a minute I never want to hear Kildare hurling people moaning about how badly the hurling is treated and promoted in Kildare again. It's belittled enough at the moment without this kind of carry on.
29/06/2012 10:35:08
lilyban15 County: Kildare Posts: 58
I also understand where Daytona is coming from. I will support the lads, but I have said it before that if we win a trophy this year on the back of one of the most blatant abuse of GAA transfer rules ever, then I will have mixed feelings instead of being able to really enjoy it. If we don't win anything this year, a year when expectations have never been higher, then the rest of the GAA would will feel that poetic justice has been served.
29/06/2012 10:45:19
sedico County: Kildare Posts: 1131
Seriously ye are going on like this sort of thing hasn't happened before. Its happening in Clubs in Kildare already is it not? Where was your moral outrage when it happened then? You had an avenue though your club to deal with this issue when it popped up in Kildare so did you use that avenue?
29/06/2012 10:45:49
murof County: Kildare Posts: 294
How would a 5 mins appearance for Coill Dubh belittle hurling in Kildare? Think about it for a few minutes in a calm and reasonable manner and you will see it is nothing more than a friendly gesture from the hurlers to a colleague who is committed to playing club football with their sister club St Kevins. I'm sure that plenty of those players have played for both clubs in the past. If a hurler transferred to Kildare and wanted to play for Kildare but could not until he played club championship then surely St Kevins would willingly have accomodated him. And if they had it would not have made the news outside Kildare and it would not belittle the football or threaten the ethos of the GAA. Try and keep it in perspective lads, its not the end of the GAA as we know it.
29/06/2012 10:57:32
29/06/2012 10:45:49 murof County: Kildare Posts: 202
1204720 How would a 5 mins appearance for Coill Dubh belittle hurling in Kildare? Think about it for a few minutes in a calm and reasonable manner and you will see it is nothing more than a friendly gesture from the hurlers to a colleague who is committed to playing club football with their sister club St Kevins. I'm sure that plenty of those players have played for both clubs in the past. If a hurler transferred to Kildare and wanted to play for Kildare but could not until he played club championship then surely St Kevins would willingly have accomodated him. And if they had it would not have made the news outside Kildare and it would not belittle the football or threaten the ethos of the GAA. Try and keep it in perspective lads, its not the end of the GAA as we know it.
What a load of rubbish. He can play for Kevins without playing for coill dubh. What will the lads from Allenwood and Robertstown who also play for Coill Dubh think? Once again, The whole of the GAA cover themselves in glory.
29/06/2012 11:19:57
Well if Coill Dubh are losing that game by a point or two with a few minutes to go, what then? In effect, voluntarily reduce yourself to 14 men to facilitate an inter-county transfer that some of the panel probably don't agree with? If it was your club in championship action would you be thinking, oh what a friendly gesture that is. If I was a player who had been training for months and I was taken off for him I'm not sure I'd come back the following year.
29/06/2012 11:39:23
I think he'll start and be taken off doublehop. That would solve that problem.
You would have to question the integrity of the managment of that team though.
29/06/2012 11:45:49
howya007 County: Kildare Posts: 3
29/06/2012 10:00:00 daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 1967
Question: If you play for a junior club, Rathcoffey for example (just an example I have no affiliation to them) would you transfer to a club in South Kildare that you have no ties to, don't work in the area but the club are senior and have a good chance of winning silverware. Should this be allowed to happen? And would clubmen be happy with this?
What do you think is happening to all these junior clubs? Look at the likes of Athgarvan who have young players leaving every year, this is not something new within the GAA and especially not in Kildare.
And doublehop "There's no 'I' in team, get behind them 100%, etc... These are all things Johnston didn't do for Cavan. The unconditional support you're asking from daytona is something Seanie didn't give to his own county. "
Seanie wasn't wanted by his own county and as a top class player wants to continue playing inter-county football. I think its not the transfer that might cause the great upheaval of Kildare football that you are so widely proclaiming but yer attitude and negativity. Now is not a time to be turning against the lillies but giving EVERY player wearing the white jersey full support. I for one will jump and roar just as loudly if johhny or seanie pop over a point to beat Meath on sunday.
29/06/2012 11:53:08
mmkilcock County: Kildare Posts: 77
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 2045
1204757 In effect, voluntarily reduce yourself to 14 men to facilitate an inter-county transfer that some of the panel probably don't agree with?
Who knows? Seanie could turn out to be a very good hurler. He could come on and score a goal to win it?
I've no problem with his transfer. If he comes in and improves this Kildare team theni believe everyone should have no problem. Just leave everthing in the past and MOVE ON
29/06/2012 12:16:15
Look all I'm saying is that someone who is opposed to the transfer might be doing so because of what they think is best for Kildare GAA. To quote Edward R.Murrow, "We must not confuse dissent with disloyalty". I'll still go to all the matches but maybe just maybe all the hassle, all the enemies made within the county and outside, all the messages this sends to young players and fringe players and everything else which will come out getting involved in all of this will not be worth it.
29/06/2012 12:35:59
murof County: Kildare Posts: 294
Sorry daytona, but he cant play championship football with St Kevins because the CCCC delibetately delayed granting a decision until after the Kilcock game knowing that no more championship games were planned until after Kildare exited the all ireland.The information provided to them at that stage was no different to that available when he was granted a transfer. It was a very mean way to deal with a situation they didn't like so now Johnson has found a sneaky way of dealing with that. Personally I would prefer if Johson had not fallen out with Cavan but its wrong to treat him the way they have. How many players will want to leave their own county to play for another? Did the floodgates open in the early 90's when young Kildare players realised that they couldn't beat Dublin and did they try to move elsewhere like Tompkins and Fahy? NO they didnt. The GAA should be mature enough to trust the strong bond to your home county that exists in so many players. And if a few want to move then let them as long as they comply with the rules. He is a Kildare footballer now and working as hard as the rest of them in the squad. I'll still cheer for them on Sunday if he comes on.
29/06/2012 12:59:51
Kildare30 County: Kildare Posts: 433
Does anyone think Paudie Fogarty well get a run out on Sunday? His last visit to Croke Park was a memorable one and he could be the sort of player to burn up a defence later on in a game. His height too would be a big factor. Also expecting M Conway to cut loose a bit more. Great with frees the last day but thought he played well within himself against Offaly!
29/06/2012 13:25:09
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1502
For the true kildare supporter who dont pretend there werent jumping around and roaring when byran murphy got the goal v meath in 98' do not miss the championship matters program replay tonite on rte 2. It shows bryan murphy transfer to kildare and his great meomries of 98' told very well with clips of the leinster final 98' and mick o dwyer is there speaking very highly of the kildare people and kildare gaa and to quote kildare is one of those counties that truely deserve an all ireland he looked at the footage of 98' and smiled said he never saw anything like it in 98 you wouldnt get that in kerry or cork people had cutting up bed sheets bunting in hedges on chimneys also said it was the best time of his career when he managed kildare fairplay to micko. Brought back a lot of meomries looking at the clip the sea of white on the hill the pitch invasion,hope it will be done again soon lads. so DONT MISS CHAMPIONSHIP MATTERS RTE 2 AT 12.20 TONITE
29/06/2012 14:11:06
Well in the GAA, lilywhitemagic, opinions are like farts . Everyone's else's stinks except your own.
29/06/2012 14:23:28
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1502
I know that doublehop everyone entitled to their own It annoys me when people say they wont be clapping or celebrating if kildare win with seanie on the panel as if you werent jumping round in 98' even though byran murphy transfered and to say you wont be celebrating if seanie is on the team and they win is tripe you can say that now on a forum but if kildare did win silverware this year you can bet your a*s you wont be sitting in that very moment thinking that in croke park you will be going crazy!! just like you did in 98!
29/06/2012 14:58:52
sammaguire1 County: Cavan Posts: 172
Result Pages: 1  2  3  4  5  
Page 5