Home Football Hurling Counties

Kildare - Team to play Meath
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>]
Page 3

26/06/2012 14:44:16
cilldara13

Rob Kelly is a talented footballer alright... but he lacks the mobility to play midfield at the highest level. Good mobility is key to playing midfield, the days of having two big slow men catching high ball are gone. Example... Dublin's midfield, two fast mobile players who break high balls. Its all about the breaks lads...
26/06/2012 17:08:22
kefan

I also think Rob Kelly is underrated. He's had his fair share of injuries over the last few years I know but I think he's one of the best options we have for midfield. Against Donegal last year I thought he was great in midfield and one of our best players that day. I wouldn't drop him now after his performance against Offaly.
26/06/2012 18:20:21
stekhli

1 Connolly

2 Kelly
3 Foley
4 McGrillan one of the strongest lines in the country , top class players all of them

5 Bolton
6 O'flaherty
7 Lyons

8 Kelly
9 Flynn

10 Doyle
11 Conway
12 O'Neill

13 O'Flahety
14 O'Connor
15 Kavanagh

seems like this will be the team Geezer will go with , very strong everywhere , I presume Rob Kelly will retain his place in midfield after an impressive showing against Offaly , I presume Daryll Flynn will indirectly replace Eoin Doyle , Flynn is a very improtant cog in the Kildare machine and I suspect he'll start the rest of Kildare's championship games from here on in , or at least I think he should , half forward line looks good with Callaghan waiting in the wings to replace whoever's not performing , Full forward line still doesn't look great with it consisting of two half forwards and a midfielder , but still an effective line who can make and take scores and with players like Fogarty and Smithy waiting on the wings Kildare aren't too bad in this line but could be stronger all the same , think the Lillies will win this one to set up a mouth watering clash with ourselves hopefully , fingers crossed we'll take care of the yellowbellies
26/06/2012 18:50:49
if_in_doubt

Spot on with that team stekhli, exact same as what I would go with myself.

Flynn's importance in midfield can't be stressed enough, strong and powerful and won't let himself be bullied in any physical battles.

Rob Kelly had a great game against Offaly, fielded some terrific ball, deserves to start the next day but ultimately should end up back in the forwards when possible. Paidi O'Neill is hugely underrated I feel, the amount of work he gets through every game, ground covers a serious amount of ground and along with Callaghan and O'Flaherty is vital in winning breaking ball and starting forward moves.

If Callaghan is indeed fit enough, as good a player, and as important as he is I'd hold off on starting him. The one player who could be in danger of losing his place is Kavanagh if Leper does come in. Like Smith he's very hot and cold. Can be great some days, against Meath the odd time, kicking great scores but the next he'll just drift in and out of the game and make little impact.

The likes of Fogarty and Dowling will hopefully be putting lads under serious pressure for starting spots, then add in Rob Kelly moving back into the forwards when our midfield injuries clear up and we've a very dangerous looking front six.
26/06/2012 20:18:55
Count_Awesome

I think midfield is where we are most in danger. We'll need Lyons and Bolton to be fairly on the money when it comes to the second ball
27/06/2012 08:03:58
St.Conleth

Like the team selected too Stekhli but who would you leave off for Leper because it's looking very likely he'll be playing ? Tough one !
27/06/2012 09:03:21
ruff1106

Im really looking forward to this game. One of my biggest worries is the fussiness of the referee Michael Collins. He waves cards around like confetti and and sends players off for minor incidents. I hope someone in authority has a word in his ear before Sunday. PS. Good luck to the juniors tonight.
27/06/2012 11:07:06
doublehop

Would be very surprided if that team is the one that starts on the day. But we won't know until around 1:30pm on Sunday.
27/06/2012 11:18:04
butters1990

The team has been named for Sunday:

1 Shane Connolly

2 Hugh McGrillen
3 Michael Foley
4 Peter Kelly

5 Eoin Doyle
6 Morgan O'Flaherty
7 Ollie Lyons

8 Emmet Bolton
9 Robert Kelly

10 James Kavanagh
11 Mikey Conway
12 Padraig O'Neill

13 John Doyle
14 Tomas O'Connor
15 Eoghan O'Flaherty

This will more than likely be the team on the programme as Geezer doesn't normally name the team until Thursday night.
27/06/2012 14:47:56
lilywhite1

I think we will only get to know what team starts as we head into Croke Park.
27/06/2012 18:06:49
stekhli

Ye to be honest its very likely Daryll Flynn will come in with Eoin Doyle making way , Emmet Bolton will move to wingback with the midfield consisting of Rob Kelly and Flynn , with Flynn or even Bolton perhaps tracking these frequent runs Graham Reilly is so fond of making through the centre of defences
27/06/2012 18:17:10
BettystownRoyal

Kildare fans, which line do you think is your strongest? I think your full back line is.
27/06/2012 19:15:34
doublehop

Well based on past performances the full-back line with two All-Starts obviously stands out but a half forward line with three of Conway, Doyle, Callaghan or E.O'Flaherty is very underrated and has an awful lot of football in it. People will probably laugh at me talking up Kildare's forwards but all of those players have shown their ability to take big scores and play extremely well in other positions. Our inside forwards haven't always been consistent but further out we are spoiled for choice.
28/06/2012 08:48:24
sammaguire1

28/06/2012 09:51:37
lilyban15

I can't believe we're going to take the hurling route to clear SJ for Sunday. Who's in charge here? It is a cheap shot and we will never be forgiven for abusing rules to this extent. Someone please call a halt to this.
28/06/2012 10:06:27
sammaguire1

but remember the gaa messed him around by taking 6 months to make a decision and then waited till st kevins championship game was over untill they made a decision. how cheap was that? I tink the gaa deserve this. they messed him around no end after all
28/06/2012 10:10:56
St.Conleth

sammaguire1

heard that sj played 5 mins of a hurling match and is now eligible for the meath game. any truth to this?

Sam, the game isn't on till saturday evening. The biggest attendance ever for a Coill Dubh v Eire Og match is expected. Might have to move it to Croker
28/06/2012 10:18:58
bobjaffacake

If kildare go this route with seanie johnston it will be a new low for the gaa
28/06/2012 10:21:29
sammaguire1

heard that since st conleth. this is the only way he will become eligible anyway for this year
28/06/2012 10:39:07
sashman

1 Shane Connolly
2 Hugh McGrillen
3 Michael Foley
4 Peter Kelly
5 Emmet Bolton
6 Morgan O'Flaherty
7 Ollie Lyons
8 John Doyle
9 Robert Kelly/ Daryl Flynn