Home Football Hurling Counties

Galway - Gaillimh V An Lú
please login or register to post a message

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>]
Page 2

07/02/2012 16:38:12
WoodlawnPat

Louth have a nice team.....they'll be tough.
07/02/2012 17:33:12
gaafan79

great win team getting better every game i see them. ryan hadnt a good game but didn't play with them in the fbd so still getting used to the lads around him i suspect .great to c team playing well let it continue
07/02/2012 18:16:59
gfsc

TribesmenGAA football supporter are holding a Competition on the FB page Click here

The Galway County Board has given us two family tickets for the Galway vs Louth match in Pearse Stadium this Sunday at 14:30. The Walsh cup final between Galway and Kilkenny precedes this with the throw in at 12:45.

Follow the details on the page.
07/02/2012 19:51:53
stekhli

will michael boyle be back?
08/02/2012 11:46:53
clifden10

jus let the players do the talkin on the pitch over a period of a league campaign or at least a few games, theres too much of this type of bs about analysing players over a period of 30-60 minutes. we're gonna lose games along the way so less of the knee jerk thats spouted by a large percentage of ye.
08/02/2012 12:55:43
conman2
County: USA

well said Clifden 10 same people will be looking for a New Manager if we lose a game. lol
08/02/2012 13:19:02
MTS

Here here - one lad was saying that he didn't rate Conroy and some other lad talking down Danny C. Ah stop!
Let the players and mgmt do the talking and why don't we support.

That facebook page is good with the match tracker.
08/02/2012 14:34:57
MR
County: Louth

Good luck on Sunday and I am hoping to get over to your lovely City for the game.

We need 1 pt, any chance you could help us out ;)
08/02/2012 14:47:40
Trucker1

@Cliften etc, people are making suggestions, expressing opinions, generally shooting the breeze, I thought that is what forum pages are for?? There is no question of not supporting the team/managment. It would be a pretty boring forum or chat in the pub if no one expressed an opinion. Expressing an opinion may sometimes involves rating one player over another, I doubt any of the players or management would be losing any sleep over the mild opinions expressed here and I think it is good to see there is a bit of a buzz and interest building up
08/02/2012 18:21:19
conman2
County: USA

Opinions are like nostrils, everyone has them, I think Clifden is saying give the ball a chance to be thrown up at least before you start slating, changes will be made no doubt about it, but knowing Alan he will change on the basis of trying something new rather than on just once of performances. Now we are arguing over what we should be arguing over only Galway people LOL. Louth will be another tough test I would take nothing for granted and will be interesting to see if we can put in back to back performances.
08/02/2012 21:16:44
finuge93

Louth will be a tough challenge especially around midfield but galways class up front should prove too much.

Also its great to see Padraig Joyce back for another year. Fantastic player
08/02/2012 21:36:09
Original_JD

Lads, everyone is entitled to their opinion but the first comment here suggested NINE changes to the team that won the last day, a brand new time that played very well and deserves a run of games to help them find their feet. Suggesting changing 60% of any winning team, particularly one that needs time, is madness!!
08/02/2012 22:02:01
galwayman2

Two changes for Louth. Faherty for Breathnach in goal and Sice in for Jonathan Ryan at wing forward.
Ryan didn't get into the game in Derry really but it was his first competitive game for the seniors so he has plenty of time on his side to make his mark yet.
The goalkeeping switch might be a case of rotation during the league I'm not sure.
Having seen Breathnach a few times I think his kick out can let him down a bit sometimes.Also sometimes he is vulnerable to a high ball in around the square. He seems to be an excellent shot stopper though.

It's good to see Conor Doherty named on the subs bench. He was excellent at wing back for the minor AI winning team in 2007. Himself and Tomas Fahy will push hard for the two wing back spots I would say.
It would be great to think that we could get the trio of PJ, Armstrong and Meehan back into the forward line before championship as well (unlikely as it probably is at this stage).
There is definitely the makings of a good side there now.
09/02/2012 09:05:37
mullsdman

Very sensible by the management not to make too many changes. We cant afford to be chopping and changing the team every week. i know its early stages but we need to get the back bone of the team sorted. These guys need games together and i think this team is close to his strongest. Good to see P J back but i think he will be only an impact sub if the forwards keep showing a bit of form. 2 more points on sunday would be nice before the 3 week break but dont take it for granted
09/02/2012 12:00:21
Stan.D.Hogan

Probably the right decision on the two changes anyway as Sice was very good in the second half the last day and the one mistake by the goalie could have cost us the game( He will get his chance again though)

All the forwards starting the next day have a fair chance of starting come the summer along with maybe 4 or 5 others. We are very lucky in that we have a lot of options up there. I think we should give this misfield a run together aswell for at least 3 or 4 more games to get an understanding at this level with maybe the last couple of league games to look at other options. But this pairing is the future.

In the backs Forde, Hanley and Bradshaw will definetly be starting come summer. Duane probably will too but after the last day i dont think he is strong enough yet for centre back. I think putting bradshaw cenre back would take away his attacking ability and leave things too open so he should stay at wing back. Maybe Fahy at other wing back. Anyone know a good centre back in the county??
09/02/2012 12:08:14
withualltheway
County: Louth

when fixtures were made i prayed for an away fixture in this one. simply the best city in ireland. looking forward to visiting. may the best team win. on monday i'll be saying roll on race week.
09/02/2012 13:00:49
tommy k

I think people are entitled to their opinions on how to improve the team by naming certain alternative players to players that are playing poorly. By all means give the younger players a chance to settle in and learn at senior level but for the last decade or so players were getting games without really proving they were good enough or consistent enough despite being given numerous chances to impress. This year at least Mulholland and co have tried to freshen things up which is a positive.
09/02/2012 14:43:40
MTS

Good man withualltheway, call into Taffee's for a few pints on Saturday night.
09/02/2012 14:58:21
Tribesman09

The team is bang on given the time of year, state of play we're at and the birth of a new Galway team. Fair play to Mulholland. He's a winner. Let him work on his project. Excitement and belief developing around this county team. Looking forward to seeing Armstrong and Meehan (if possible) coming back in. Cummins, Martin, Hehir and Ryan all developing nicely. Superb prospects in Boyle, Doherty and Fahy too. We must be very wary of Louth on sun. They are tricky and unpredictable.
09/02/2012 15:02:17
Charlie

I am delighted to see that we have a midfield pairing that look like they are going to get a run of games together. Barry Cullinane and Niall Coleman were an outstanding All Ireland u21 winning midfield and we never persisted with them as a duo at senior level. Hopefully lessons have been learned.

Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>]
Page 2

please login or register to post a message